Laura Mercier • Brow Definer • Brows

rated 4.4(58 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 gimmemorenars on 6/15/2008 3:03:00 PM more reviews by gimmemorenars

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried every filler, shaper and wax to try and make something of my sparse but unruly and mismatched brows. By far this is the best I have ever tried!

Comes in a tiny little pot, and they advise you to use an angled brush. However I like to use my very firm bristled flat topped liner brush (Pout). I tap the brush to the surface of the waxy cream formula and then press into the brows, after I have brushed them with a clean spoolie. To minimise any drawn on effect I then lightly brush them through with the spoolie to finish. I can also very carefully use my fingers after applying the definer to shape my brows.

The result is natural, defined and held brows with no colour melt off, or deshaping through the day. The pot is small enough to take in your makeup bag, just in case!

I use Warm, which is a pretty good match for my PPP skin and very dark hair.

No hesitation in buying this product again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sushiomelette on 6/11/2008 6:28:00 PM more reviews by sushiomelette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Granted I have only used this product and VL's bibrow pomade/powder, I still prefer LM's over VL's because I don't have to mix the powder and wax together to get the consistency and color that I want. With this wax, I can build up the color I want and control the filling in with my Sephora brow brush. I use the warm color and that works fine with my brow. My brows aren't unruly in the first place, so if you're looking to control yours, this may not be the product for you. This does, however, frame my brows for a well put together look on my face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tagg on 5/30/2008 5:46:00 PM more reviews by tagg

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I hate this stuff.
I have black brows with pale skin. My brows are really nicely shaped and wide enough but the hair is sparse.

I spend a lot of time looking for a HG brow product and have yet to find it. I like the LM pencils OK (although they don't last long enough on me) and I like the MUFE brow stuff (although it's tricky to work with).

This was a waste of money. It doesn't show up on parts of my brows and it clumps on others. I did have a bit more luck using it with a stiffer brush than LM's but overall I despise this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 danastar on 4/28/2008 2:45:00 PM more reviews by danastar

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

At first, I was skeptical about this stuff... but once I tried it I fell in love. With the Brow Definer Brush, application is quite easy, and you can control the amount you are applying. Brow pencils always looked bad on me - this stuff defines them, but in a more subtle way. And, it's yet another LM product which looks like it will last me a long time!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KittySkyfish on 3/25/2008 8:33:00 PM more reviews by KittySkyfish

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this product as a supplemental product to her brow pencil. This is a cream-gel brow tint that's supposed to be brushed directly onto the brow hair to give them color and hold. Laura sells a brow definer brush meant to be used with this stuff, but (hint) I find that the tip of a clean mascara spoolie works much, much better for brow hair application. Seriously. Just use the bristles, not the wire end of the spoolie if it happens to stick out. Works like a champ!
Also, I like to use it to lightly fill in my brows (applying it to the skin underneath the brow hair) after I shape with her pencil. It goes on pretty sheer as far as brow tints go so I can manipulate the product a bit without looking like a *KLOWN*. I've also noticed it applies differently, depending on the brush. Softer, finer flexible bristle brushes don't work as well as stiffer, coarser bristles. The finer bristles don't pick up enough product. I'm using a Ye Olde (badger-bristle) Laura Mercier brow brush from like seven years ago that's much more stiff than her current synthetic, double-ended brow brush. I think NARS makes a badger brow brush - check it out. :)
There are three shades available: Fair, Soft and Warm. Fair is a light golden brown, Soft is a medium golden brown and Warm is an ash-based deep brown. Why she named the greyest shade Warm is beyond me, but there ya go. I'm very pale with medium golden brown hair and ash-toned brown brows and I use Warm. All the other shades were just too colorful and obvious-looking. It pairs nicely with Warm Brunette brow pencil, fyi.
These are pretty durable but not perfect. I've noticed a bit of fading after a long day, moreso than with her pencils. But it lasts longer than her brow powders and it gives a more natural finish filling in my brows with this than if I filled in with just the pencil. Great, one more product to own. :P
Bottom Line: it's a nifty product and great if you can't find a happy middle ground between powders and pencils, or if you really like fussing with your brows. It's not a mandatory item for your collection, though.

14 out of 14 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaz_go on 12/7/2007 5:59:00 PM more reviews by jaz_go

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I also bought this because the MUFE Brow Corrector is too much trouble to use (I have to squeeze it into a pan and have to work quickly as it dries so fast). I was hoping this would be a similar product in a better packaging. Unfortunately, it is difficult to get the product (my Shu OB6 brush worked better than my LM dual-ended brow brush), and it took strong strokes to get anything on my brows. The Warm shade is great though for my dark brown hair. I usually have to mix two MUFE brow colors to get a perfect match.

UPDATE 12/12/2007 - I've reached for this consistently in the past few days and I'm liking it more so I'm adding one lippie. I'm back to using it with the blunt end of my LM dual-ended brow brush by strongly pressing it in. Sweeping motion or brush strokes doesn't cut it. I still wish the product has a moist/soft texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyndiinphilly on 11/21/2007 7:45:00 PM more reviews by cyndiinphilly

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this. I have been using the MUFE waterproof eyebrow corrector and I hate how you have to squeeze it out on your hand or wherever to then apply it with a brush. I figured with this one you could apply right out of the jar. Well, it's very hard to get some on the brush, first of all and it doesn't show up very much at all. Also, pricey for a very tiny jar. I had the darkest color, Warm, which was not really dark enough for me. Another LM product that didn't work for me. I would not purchase again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beaniewienie on 11/14/2007 11:14:00 AM more reviews by beaniewienie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Brow Definer is like a Mac Fluidline for brows. It's a soft cream/gel product in a .09 oz. pot. There are 3 shades. I have medium reddish brown hair & I have the medium shade, Soft. I use my Mac #208 small angled brush to apply it & it looks very natural. No smearing & it lasts all day. It's $20.00 & she does sell a brush to go with it, but I didn't buy that.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Laura Mercier products

More Brows products