Rimmel • Cool Matte 16hr Foundation • Foundations

rated 2.6(57 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.36%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Lil_Mamma_001 on 5/22/2007 1:49:00 AM more reviews by Lil_Mamma_001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I LOVE LOVE this foundation. I bought it for about $4 or $5 bucks at WalMart. I was afraid to get it because it said "mousse" and when I think of that I think of Maybelline's Dream Matte Mousse and that it is very think and cake-y like. I was suprised to find that this goes on like liquid gold, so smooth and very easy to blend. It doesn't look cake-y, it looks very natural. I would say that the coverage is about a medium. It seems to cover my acne marks ok, but then I use my loose mineral powder to set it and I love the look it gives. Once you start to blend it, do it fast becuase it does dry fast. I also noticed it does not break me out and it doesn't intensify my dry areas. I would definatley be buying this one again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chakalakakhan on 5/7/2007 7:06:00 PM more reviews by chakalakakhan

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This product is suprisingly nice! It covers pretty well, and lasts a long time. I like matte foundations and this one is definately matte, giving me that poreless look! The color is nice too. It is yellow toned and does not turn orange or darker like most drugstore foundations. No breakouts from this either

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thumperdeer12 on 3/25/2007 11:38:00 AM more reviews by thumperdeer12

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product hoping to control my very oily, acne prone skin. Maybelline Dream Matte Mousse kept my skin from getting oily, looked natural, lasted all day, and covered by acne. However, it made my sensitive skin break out after a few days. The Rimmel version is better. It controls oil, looks natural, lasts all day (no tranfer!), and covered my acne and acne scars. It does dry quickly, so blend fast! With the cooling sensation, it would be perfect for hot summer days. I really wanted to keep using this product because it is the only foundation I have tried that looked natural on acne prone and scarred skin. However, this also aggravated my sensitive skin after a few days of use. If you don't have sensitive skin, try this product. It's great!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NEVERSATISFIED on 3/13/2007 4:54:00 PM more reviews by NEVERSATISFIED

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Well, this is about the millionth foundation I've purchased hoping to find something that will control my oilies--alas, disappointed again. Even with powder, this did not stay matte on me for more than a couple of hours. The texture seems nice in the pot, but it's hard to blend onto your skin, even with a foundation brush or damp sponge.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 punkgyrl on 2/28/2007 12:27:00 AM more reviews by punkgyrl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I admit this is my very first foundation and bought it cuz of the recent craze with cream foundations that turns to powder when it dries. Since this one had a promotion goin on ($2 off coupon) I thought I'd try this brand.

This product does dry really fast so I find that it's best to work in small areas and do it quick. Also, make sure you moisturize your face beforehand, it lets you work the foundation longer. When I finished putting it on, I notice that my skin really looked flawless! But I should probably say that i have combo skin, oily in the t zone area with a few minor red spots from previous zits. It covered them quite well, but I can't say it's completely unnoticeable. It did look natural though. One thing I noticed was my nose, it normally is very oily and has lots of noticeable pores but when i put this stuff on, almost all of them dissappeared! It also gave me this matte look which I really liked. Surprisingly, this foundation stayed on even when i rubbed my face with klennex. But with soap, it just washes rite off. So far, no breakouts but i gotta use this a lil longer to make sure.

I love the scent in this thing! It smells light but it only lasts for a few minutes. I didn't notice any cooling sensation at all but who carez, it did its job. The packaging is cute too, and very portable so that's a plus. I would probably buy this again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 calida123 on 2/12/2007 8:26:00 PM more reviews by calida123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a very nice mousse foundation. It has a clean, cool feel. The name "Cool Matte" really does describe this foundation! Thus is my favorite foundation, it doesn't even feel like I am wearing anything, and it provides pretty good coverage ( medium coverage ). BTW, I have combo skin (oily T-zone ). It gives me a clean looking complexion. The con of this foundation is the amount you get for the price. At London Drugs it was $10.99, but I used a $2 off coupon. The jar contains only 18 ml, while most foundations are 30 ml. Also, it doesn't stay matte 16 hours. After 3 hours, my nose and the area around it was oily, but with all my foundations I usually have to powder every 2 hours anyways.

EDIT: Sigh... I found that it turned a bit darker and faded as the day wore on.. I tried 3 of the lightest colors, and they were all too yellow or pink.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flamencovixen on 2/12/2007 12:37:00 AM more reviews by flamencovixen

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I was persuaded to buy this foundation because it was BOGOF at my drugstore. This is my first Rimmel foundation (though I have purchased the Stay Matte pressed powder before). I've always wondered about the quality of Rimmel foudnations, especially the color selection. I'm not disappointed at all - I was able to get a good match on the foundation. I got 103 True Ivory. Though it seems a little yellow on my light skin (neutral to warm undertones, NC 25-30), it ended up matching my skin after I blended it.

Once you put it on your skin, you have to blend it immediately because this foundation sets quickly. This foundation will not work for dry skin. It's meant for oily/combo skin, IMO.
As far as coverage, it's medium and when it sets in, it doesn't look heavy or cakey.

There is a slight cooling feeling but it's not unpleasant. As far as the 16 hour claim, I'm not sure if it stays on that long on my combo skin.

Edited 5/4/07: Still wearing this foundation. I wanted to say that the coverage is more light than medium, so if you have old acne scars, you may need a spot concealer after applying this foundation. Also, there is not a lot of product in the jar for the price that you pay. I would definitely suggest that you wait to purchase this foundation until they are BOGOF (Rimmel products are often BOGOF in Walgreens).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Rimmel products

More Foundations products