NARS Jungle Red

4.6

60 reviews

86% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/7/2007 8:52:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

The best red-- and it doesn't turn pink after you put it on. Wears well and is fairly matte, yet moisturizing. Every now and then I can't find it and I panic. I hope Nars never stops making jungle red as I have finally found the perfect red.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The perfect bright retro bombshell red! Intense color, no shimmer but not dull matte. Stays put, and has some moisture but not too greasy. A bit on the bright orange side of red, as opposed to the blue side. My favorite lipstick for a darker, more blue-red lip is Chanel's Shanghai Red. (I'm NC40, Asian.)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This semi-matte red lipstick is my total HG, and I live in fear that they will discontinue it! I am on my 7th tube right now, and I wear it every day with the matching Jungle Red lipliner. I buy them 3 lipsticks and 2 lipliners at the time, and they are not cheap but they ARE worth it! I work in sales, so I need lipstick that doesn't constantly need reapplying, has a color that stays true all day and won't feather; this answers all those criteria. I have very, very fair skin (I am #2 in Giorgio Armani, Shell in Estee Lauder Double Wear, Porcelain Ivory in Laura Mercier), blue eyes, and dark brown hair if that's any indication. This is my very very favorite EVER.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2006 10:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

This lipstick is not, as someone here wrote, 'bright red' - on me it's more orange-red, it has a tone of terracotta which I did not expect nor want. Someone also wrote that it makes her teeth sparkling white, but unfortunately it does not do that to my teeth :)
But all and all, it's a nice lipstick and a nice color!
The staying power though is unbelieveable, it lasts almost all day without any touch ups!
One lippie off for not living up to my expectations.

I'm not sure if I would buy this again, I think (besides the color) that it's a little too matte, I wish it was more creamy and shiny.

The chase for the perfekt lipstick continues!


on 2/20/2006 9:18:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Great formulation, just not the right red for me. Bright orange-red, very matte.


on 12/8/2005 11:40:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Jungle red has an accompanying lip liner in the same exact shade making the perfect red lip that much easier. This red is blue based and is fairly bright, definitely the classic screen siren red. If you prefer something a little bit more subdued but still very red, try Red Lizard, which I think is infinitely more easy to wear and flatters most skintones, Jungle red will not flatter everyone, but those who it looks good on REALLY look good in it.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/29/2005 10:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm suprised that this great red has received so few reviews, especially given the Nars love on the boards. That being said, this is a medium cool-toned red that really brightens skin and leaves teeth looking whiter. Unlike many reds, this shade also works for a daytime look when paired with neutral eyes.


on 7/2/2004 9:51:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a gorgeous cool-tone red RED, straight out of a 90s Madonna video. I have pale (NW20) skin with fairly neutral tones, so can pull off both warm and cool looks. The great thing about this red is that it 'wakes up' your face and really brightens your skintone, even without makeup. It also has the advantage of making teeth sparkle. The finish is very matte, and a bit dry, so I like to put a touch of lip balm underneath it, but the matte look is very nice with such a loud color--I think shine with this would be overkill, and a bit passe. Apply this with a lip brush, since precision is key with such a dramatic color.


on 6/16/2004 6:54:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

As a girl with yellowish undertones, I wasn't overlly awed with this one. It is very blue so if you are coll toned, this might be something for you. It wasn't bad but it was just not for me. As always, it has a great formulation as do all NARS lipsticks

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/5/2003 7:28:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Wow, I can't believe this hasn't been reviewed yet and I can't believe that I had this on my list ready to swap away! I received this and had only tested it on my hand, thinking it to be too bright for me because I thought I could only wear brick reds. I decided to give it a try on my lips because I really need a red lipstick for an event coming up. This is a gorgeous red, it brightens my whole face, even without makeup on, I looked awake and pretty! Makes your teeth look really white as well, no oranginess in this one! Jungle Red seems to be a color that would look good with pink or neutral shadows. The formula, like most Nars lipsticks is also a dream. For reference, I'm a yellow-toned, warm PPP, red hair, brown eyes. :-)


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
184 Reviews
provocalips
56 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top