Pro Activ • 3-Step System • Skincare - Face

rated 2.6(3379 reviews)

Average Rating.2.6
Would buy this product again.34%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 lenlen9 on 2/12/2014 3:07:00 PM more reviews by lenlen9

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This did not work for me at all. I have moderate acne that flares up every now and then and this system didn't even make a dent to it. The only thing it managed to do is dry my skin up and the acne is still there even after several months of use. Only Retin-A worked for me but it's a hassle because it's prescription only however I'm going to stick to what I know works. This was a huge waste of money! I gave it one star because I had such a difficult time cancelling my shipments and even though it was "supposedly" cancelled and I wasn't getting any more shipments, I still got billed for it. I have had to contact my credit card to dispute the charges. Real predatory if you ask me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 auxxyy on 2/5/2014 2:51:00 AM more reviews by auxxyy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

These works great for me with the green tea moisturizer, definitely a better system than proactiv plus, which I also used.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 danaaaa on 2/3/2014 7:04:00 PM more reviews by danaaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

The only product that has worked amazing for my skin. I havn't had the best skin for years now and now after using Pro Active I can leave the house with absolutely no make up on and feel fine!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 JessieAnneH on 2/1/2014 9:21:00 PM more reviews by JessieAnneH

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Hello fellow beauty enthusiasts,

I am going to share my journey with Pro Activ with you, and how it has literally been damaging my skin for 4 years and i didn't even know it until recently.

I do not have acne, but i do get break-out on my T-Zone once every few months

I started using Pro Active when i was in 8th grade. My mother noticed i was getting a really bad break out on my fore head. So she ordered it, and i loved the results. I only got one- two blemishes literally every 3-4 months, which was amazing. So i continued to use it through out high school. As i approached senior year of high school, it seemed as if it was not working any more. When i examined at my skin it looked horrifying, and not with breakouts or blemishes ,but bigger pores and damaged looking skin. It has literally been deteriorating the health of my skin. I have done research that there are toxic ingredients in many facial cleansers including Pro Active. One main ingredient, Benzyl Peroxide is good for acne, but not particularly good for the skin overall. Yes this is such a controversy these days because it may help acne or break out. In the long run the people may be displeased using such products like these, like myself.

I do have oily skin that breaks out, but not acne. I am not telling people with acne not to use it, but know that there are unfortunate consequences that happen when using this product over a period of time. Also individuals like my self who do not have acne to begin with should not even consider buying it.

For over a year now i have been starting to use more healthy, non-fragrance, and non-toxic facial routine. I will just say that i have found products that work even better for my skin! I don't break out and my skin even has a healthy glow to it now!

Remember your skin soaks in 60% of what you put on it, make sure that ingredients are good for you!

I wish every one the best for their skin!





    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Tuney07 on 1/24/2014 3:22:00 PM more reviews by Tuney07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

As many of you considering to try Pro Activ, I struggle with acne almost on an everyday basis. I decided to try it and at first it worked decently and I even got compliments on how my skin was improving. Fast forward a few months and it started drying my skin out along with acne flare ups. I went to one of the kiosks to ask questions about the dryness at my local mall and the lady sold me the pro Activ moisturizer with SPF and also tried selling me other stuff but I only bought moisturizer.

For some reason my skin still didn't improve and after using it for a year I felt like it just kept getting worse and worse as if it stopped working for me. I had to let it go and go back to my beloved neutrogena products.

I wouldn't recommend Pro Activ but if you're interested in trying it out, go for it just keep in mind that the infomercial makes it seem affordable but that's only for a 25 day trial. The 50 day trial kit that I bought twice cost around $50-$60 something for the cleanser, toner and lotion. That's kinda pricey if you have to keep repurchasing every couple months. There are some ppl who have benefitted from this stuff such as the lady who worked at their kiosk. Her skin was beautiful and she said she had been using it for 10 yrs. I just think their ingredients may be a bit too harsh. It might work better for severe acne. I do enjoy some of the acne free products such as their sulfur mask. It's a dupe for the pro Activ refining mask. Do your research before getting sucked in and save $!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 suukyi on 1/24/2014 3:07:00 PM more reviews by suukyi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

The lady at the Clinique counter didn't lie to me when she said that Clinique's 3-step acne set works better than Proactiv.
I've used the Clinique product for about 5 weeks, and it didn't completely get rid of my acne.
I guess my acne can be described as moderate to medium. I always get a pimple or two, and every month there's a time when the amount grows to 3-5 zits.
Then, I switched to Proactiv. My acne became worse than I did when I didn't use any products at all. I should have simply used stuff more gentle and nicer to the skin than Proactiv.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Bailey4213 on 1/24/2014 2:53:00 PM more reviews by Bailey4213

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I used this for close to a year or so, and it did nothing for me. It didn't prevent any breakouts or help heal them. The worst thing about this product is I think it is formulated so that if you don't use it for a day or two your skin breaks out so that you have to continue to use it. Plus, we cancelled it & it just keeps coming. I have so much extra that I'm most likely going to sell it on eBay. Plus this stuff burns really bad, just overall a terrible product. I recently switched off of it & my skin freaked out at first but is now a million times better then before . It's just a hyped-up rip off.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sarahjh123 on 1/15/2014 3:55:00 PM more reviews by Sarahjh123

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Proactive did wonders for me! I realized the key ingredient (benzoyl peroxide) is what works for my skin. Salicylic acid (used in most products I tried in the past) makes my acne worse. I use the spot mask over night also and loved it! It helped quickly get rid of any occasionally break out. Proactive did clear up my acne, however I did get small occasionally break outs during my time of month. My biggest complaints are the price and I did notice scars were left behind (which never happened to me) after using proactive, not sure if that was proactivs fault though. I wouldn't repurchase anymore, only because I found AcneFree (the severe kit) works amazingly for me. It is the best similar to proactive system for a great price. It also isn't as drying. I highly recommend you to look into AcneFree before you purchase the proactive system.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 conceal4ever on 1/14/2014 1:46:00 PM more reviews by conceal4ever

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I think that people react to this product very differently. I just wanted to contribute to the body of consumer knowledge about this product through my own experience. I have combination, acne prone skin, and have struggled with my skin since my teens. I am now about to turn 37 and I have been using the proactiv 3 piece system for 16 years. For about 8-10 years proactiv did a fantastic job of keeping my skin crystal clear. I remember the first month my face did feel a bit like it was burning off and I called their customer service dept to complain. I continued to use it as suggested and after about 3 weeks my skin was completely transformed and in about 2 months it was clear as a baby. After about 10 years I think my skin began developing immunity to the benzoyl peroxide and I've had to add Clindoxyl to my skin care routine, but I still trust proactiv to do a pretty good job of cleaning my face. Again, it sounds like everyone reacts differently to this product, I've been lucky to have had a pretty good experience.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 catced on 1/14/2014 12:52:00 PM more reviews by catced

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

So guys, I do not understand how I have not sued proactive yet. I used this for about 6 months when I was about 15 years old, and my moderate teen acne totally healed- I had a flawless complexion. I figured I would stop using it after that because I wanted some color on my skin (it cleared up my skin but made it super sensitive to light). So I washed my face with just the cleanser every night after that.
About two months later, my skin was DESTROYED and I mean D E S T R O Y E D. I had cystic acne EVERYWHERE. IN HIGH SCHOOL. The most embarrassing experience ever. I had to go on the highest dosage of accutane for 12 months. TWELVE MONTHS. And anti-depressants. All thanks to proactive.
What happened after I finished the year of accurate you ask? Well, the cystic acne scarring was so terrible, I had to go to a cosmetic surgeon and- thank god for my parents generosity- had 12 treatments of fraxel REPAIR, which came out to over $15,000. So thank you proactive, for this extraordinarily wonderful experience. Even though the 12 treatments of the harshest facial laser known in the technological world today was over, I am turning 21 in one weeks to date, and my hyper pigmentation, ice pick, and any other type of scarring you can possible think of, still exists on my face. I will never be happy with the way I look. No amount of makeup will ever help me. Thank you. If anyone has had this experience, please message me, I would love to hear about what devastation proactive has endured on your life.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products