BeneFit Cosmetics High Beam

4.0

1394 reviews

72% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Propylane Glycol, Sesame (Sesamum Indicum) Oil, Mica, Isopropyl Palmitate, Isopropyl Lanolate, Stearic Acid, Safflower (Carthamus Tinctorius) Oil, Glyceryl Stearate, Titanium Dioxide, Polysorbate 60, Cetyl Alcohol, Jojoba (Buxus Chinensis) Oil, Magnesium Aluminum Silicate, Corn (Zea Mays) Starch, Triethanolamine, Talc, Oleth-20, Iron Oxides, Lanolin Wax, Simethicone, Sorbitan Stearate, Cellulose Gum, Methylparaben Diazolidinyl Urea, Propylparaben, BHA.


on 8/17/2010 2:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

When I got this product I thought it was going to be fantastic. Then when I started using it as a highlighter I thought it was good, but not great. But I have finally figured out how great it is. By mixing it in with my foundation. It is glorious when used that way. It lightens my foundation the perfect amount and gives me that dewy glow that lasts all day!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 8/16/2010 11:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Unfortunately I can't get this to work for me. By no means is it the fault of the product, it just doesn't suit my skintone at all. I'm an NC40 golden undertoned girl and High Beam shows up very metallic/frosty looking on my skin. It deposits a very shimmery silver slightly pink colour which is soooooo unflattering on me. I like Moon Beam but High Beam...ehhhh. It looks so fake. I also find that High Beam makes my skin look greasy whereas Moon Beam just makes me look dewy. Wouldn't repurchase this.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 8/15/2010 1:35:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I went through a Benefit phase, where I was obsessed with their products. One of the first things I purchased from them was this highlighter. I find that this highlighter doesn't live up to the hype and the praise it receives from magazines and other media.

Honestly, if you have oily or combination skin, this isn't the best product to be using. The creaminess seems to accentuate greasiness. While I've never had a problem with other cream products, I find that the shimmer is quite extreme. You need to use an extremely light hand. Don't follow the instructions which say to apply three dots along your cheekbones. I find that for my combination skin, it's quite a lot. One dot, blended out, will give you a decent amount of shimmer without the excessive greasy look. I tend to prefer powder highlighters or more solid creams to liquids because they seem more natural on my skin tone.

The packaging is ridiculous. It's like a nail polish bottle. Because Benefit is known for their good and quirky packaging, these bottle styles they have used for High Beam, Moon Beam, Benetint and Posietint are a little disappointing and make the product hard to use in my opinion.

Finally, I find that it wears off quite easily. By noon, you can't really tell you ever put it on. Overall, I think this product is way too expensive and doesn't deliver. You can get better highlighters for much less than $28 that will last longer. Other high end brands, like LORAC, make beautiful highlighters and cheaper brands, like ELF, make great cream and powder highlighters that will replace this one 10 times over.


on 8/14/2010 1:23:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really enjoyed this highlighter when i first recieved it. It was so great to bring light and shimmer to my face. But that became the problem, I started to look to shimmery, not luminous. This is a great product, but only to be used in very small amounts over a matte highlighter. Sheenless highlighter looks more natural for day. This on top of it at night though would be the bomb!


on 8/13/2010 5:49:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This is a fantastic highlighter, long lasting, easy to blend and gives you a fantastic glow. I used to really enjoy benefit products but not so much anymore this one still remains a fav however.


on 8/13/2010 5:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

When I was a teenager, I was pretty obsessed with Benefit. As I've gotten older, I've found that a lot of the products I used to love are done so much better by other brands. They do still have a few star products, though, and High Beam is definitely one of them. It's easy to apply - I just sweep a tiny bit on with the brush and then blend with my fingers - and gives a lovely glow that's shimmery without being over the top and never looks greasy. I use it on my cheekbones, the bridge of my nose, in my cupid's bow, on my browbone, and just the tiniest amount on the inner corner of my eyes, which really makes me look wide awake. It is fairly expensive, but I find that a bottle lasts for ages since you really only need to use a tiny amount of it. Remembering the number of school friends I had that used it as well, it seems to suit most skintones, but probably cool tones in particular. Warmer toned skins could always go for Moon Beam instead if they have doubts.


on 8/13/2010 1:12:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I agree with other postings. This is an awesome highlighter that looks great on cheekbones for special nights out. Also great on eyeslids as a shadow primer, even on lips as a shimmery base.
The color is pretty and the amount of liquid actually lasts a very long time so the price is worth it IMO.
One of the few benefit products i have stuck by throughout the years.


on 8/8/2010 8:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this is worth every penny because its highly versatile, and the bottle will last a LONG time. The packaging is genius. It seals tight, and the brush allows you to pretty much use only what you need, anywhere on your face. I usually mix this with my liquid foundation for a subtle glow.


on 8/7/2010 5:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this highlighter, the only downside is the price, it is a bit expensive still for doing such a good job. It works wonders used on the places where the sun would naturally hit your face, top of the cheeks, temples, etc, it needs to be blended carefully by tapping a small quantity over the make up, but my favourite use is mixing it with my foundation for an overall glow and dewy look, especially in summer. Definitely worth trying.


on 8/6/2010 12:27:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Great product. Nice color, subtle highlighting. On my second bottle now. Nice for C shape around eye.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Sephora Backstage: Carmindy's 5 Minute Face by SephoraEditor



Top Rated BeneFit Cosmetics Products

image

Rockateur

86 reviews
image

NEW BrowZings

71 reviews
image

Dallas

540 reviews
image

Coralista

663 reviews
Back to Top