E.L.F. Studio Powder Brush

4.7

1459 reviews

94% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

synthetic, cruelty-free hair


on 2/1/2012 8:05:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i love this brush! OMGSH. i use it for liquid foundation, powder, blush...it's such a great brush for so cheap! i can't get this where i am but i asked my friend in the US to buy me a backup :) the bristles are dense but soft and they are so good for buffing cream/liquid products into my skin or just evenly applying powder blush.



Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this for powder only and I love it.This flat shape allows you to pick up more product which makes it easier to do you blush it one swipe with picking up too much product.I also find that in a pinch it really does work well for liquid foundation.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am writing this review for ELF Studio Powder Brush as a liquid foundation brush. I have not tried using this for powder.


These brushes apply liquid foundation better than all of my foundation brushes and sponges combined. When I have time, I first spread foundation thickly on the back of my hand so I can get fdn evenly onto the brush. Then I stipple the foundation over my face. If I get too much foundation in one area, I swirl the brush to spread it out. In areas where I have huge pores, stippling helps to avoid the look of the void.


These are dense brushes. And the creamy fdn I use make these hard to clean. I have a few brush cleaners but found none of them get these brushes really clean. At this point, this mix works best:
1 part of salicylic acid faciall wash (because this is always on my sink)
1 part of gentle dish washing detergent
1 part of shampoo
enough water to soak the brush heads (not over the plastic)
I stir the mixture, soak these brushes in the mixture for 30 min, rub the brush between my fingers, then rinse with warm water really well. These brushes also takes a while to dry.
In a crunch, I use Clean&Clear makeup removing foam cleanser or Castile soap to clean these and it works ok though not the best.


I try to wash these brushes after each use because my foundation looks better when applied with fresh brushes. I have a few of these in rotation so I can wash a few in a batch. After hundreds of washing, these never bleached. The ones I got from Target held up extremely well. A few I ordered from the elf online shed a few hairs in the beginning. None of these ever fell of their handle. I guess I got lucky.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/27/2012 8:11:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Makes my foundation look flawless and it doesnt soak up the product.


on 1/27/2012 6:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use it for my liquid foundation and IT IS MAGICAL ! I love it ! And I'm sure it's good for powder too ;)


on 1/18/2012 11:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best powder brush ever. You can use it for your setting powder or powder foundation, bronzer and blush. Very easy to clean. Cheap.


on 1/16/2012 12:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush. I use it to stipple on my foundation for a beautiful airbrushed finish. My main gripe is the quality control of e.l.f. products. When you buy most of the e.l.f. products you have to proceed with caution. Remember that even though there are rave reviews for this one particular product, you might be buying the bad one of the batch. That's the gamble you take when you buy a cheap product. I bought this brush about 6 months ago and I made sure to open the packaging on a few of these brushes and find the most densely packed brush. In the process, I also checked for wiggling, shedding, and softness. Even then, my brush started to wiggle a few days ago after I dropped it. I fixed it by pushing the brush back down onto the handle and the wiggling stopped. So just remember, this is a fantastic brush, but only if you find the best one.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2012 1:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This thing is amazing for liquid foundation! Before, I used a little stippling brush and that really took a long time to blend everything in. With this, I just put a pump of foundation on the brush, dot it over my face, blend it in, and my skin looks flawless in no more than 2 minutes! And, the brush itself is soft and feels well put together.


on 1/14/2012 8:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my first E.L.F purchase. I bought it when I was on vacation and needed a brush for powder. Most of my brushes are Sonia Kashuk from Target, which is where I got this one. I prefer synthetic brushes because they shed less, feel better on my skin, and do no absorb the product (making it easier to clean as a plus).

I never have used this brush for liquid foundation and probably wouldn't because it is wide and I feel you need more control for liquid. I use it for powder foundation and it blends powder to a flawless finish. I get compliments often when I use it too. It seems sturdy and sleek looking. Black wooden handle, nothing cutesy but more professional. I have hardly had the brush shed and that is one way for a brush to end in the trash, lol. Would buy again and again. Only $3!


on 1/14/2012 7:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Best foundation brush ever made. Just buy it. Buy two!


Popular Makeup Brushes


Core Collection
Core Collection
226 Reviews
Buffing Brush
Buffing Brush
118 Reviews


Back to Top