E.L.F. Studio Powder Brush

4.7

1456 reviews

94% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

synthetic, cruelty-free hair


on 1/27/2012 8:11:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Makes my foundation look flawless and it doesnt soak up the product.



on 1/27/2012 6:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use it for my liquid foundation and IT IS MAGICAL ! I love it ! And I'm sure it's good for powder too ;)


on 1/18/2012 11:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best powder brush ever. You can use it for your setting powder or powder foundation, bronzer and blush. Very easy to clean. Cheap.


on 1/16/2012 12:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush. I use it to stipple on my foundation for a beautiful airbrushed finish. My main gripe is the quality control of e.l.f. products. When you buy most of the e.l.f. products you have to proceed with caution. Remember that even though there are rave reviews for this one particular product, you might be buying the bad one of the batch. That's the gamble you take when you buy a cheap product. I bought this brush about 6 months ago and I made sure to open the packaging on a few of these brushes and find the most densely packed brush. In the process, I also checked for wiggling, shedding, and softness. Even then, my brush started to wiggle a few days ago after I dropped it. I fixed it by pushing the brush back down onto the handle and the wiggling stopped. So just remember, this is a fantastic brush, but only if you find the best one.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 1/16/2012 1:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

This thing is amazing for liquid foundation! Before, I used a little stippling brush and that really took a long time to blend everything in. With this, I just put a pump of foundation on the brush, dot it over my face, blend it in, and my skin looks flawless in no more than 2 minutes! And, the brush itself is soft and feels well put together.


on 1/14/2012 8:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my first E.L.F purchase. I bought it when I was on vacation and needed a brush for powder. Most of my brushes are Sonia Kashuk from Target, which is where I got this one. I prefer synthetic brushes because they shed less, feel better on my skin, and do no absorb the product (making it easier to clean as a plus).

I never have used this brush for liquid foundation and probably wouldn't because it is wide and I feel you need more control for liquid. I use it for powder foundation and it blends powder to a flawless finish. I get compliments often when I use it too. It seems sturdy and sleek looking. Black wooden handle, nothing cutesy but more professional. I have hardly had the brush shed and that is one way for a brush to end in the trash, lol. Would buy again and again. Only $3!


on 1/14/2012 7:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Best foundation brush ever made. Just buy it. Buy two!


on 1/7/2012 9:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a very versatile brush, good for powder foundation, blush, or bronzer. It works for liquid foundation as well, but personally I prefer something denser so I don't have to buff the brush on my face for so long to get rid of the little foundation streaks (not that this brush takes super long, but I'm pretty impatient lol).
I like it best for applying blush and powder foundation, because the brush just buffs in both products so nicely. The bristles are nice and soft, and has the perfect density for both products. As for setting powder, I'd prefer something less dense so I don't cake on so much product.
The only downside to this brush is the quality of the handle, the wooden handle that is glued to the metal ferrule loosens so easily, that I find myself having to super glue it back together fairly often. This flaw has to do with ELF's quality control, you might end up with a sturdy one if you are lucky. But even with the flaw, at a price of 3 dollars (plus you can often find it on sale for 50%), this brush is still a steal. Highly recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2012 5:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I decided to buy this brush after hearing so many good reviews on it and that you can use it to apply liquid foundation and any type of powder. I was really excited and I thought I was going to fall in love with this brush and never have to buy other expensive brushes. When I first used it, I didn't really like it because it didn't blend my foundation flawlessly and didn't feel that amazing on my skin. After using it for a week, I decided to switch back to my Sonia Kashuk flat top brush for my liquid foundation and that worked like a dream. That brush is 10x softer than the ELF brush and is better with applying liquid foundation. Now I only use the ELF brush for press powder to set my makeup. I would only recommend this brush if you want an affordable brush to apply your powder which I think it does a decent job.

If you're just starting with makeup & on a budget, I would still recommend you to buy the Sonia Kashuk flat top brush for liquid foundation which's only $15. Personally, I don't think $15 for a GOOD foundation brush is too much money if you ask me.


on 1/7/2012 9:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't know if i got a bad brush or what. Everyone seems to love it however when I first got this brush it was shedding and i thought after a few washes it would be ok. I gave it 3 months and it finally got so bad i had to throw it away. At least it was only $3!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


189 Face Brush
32 Reviews
bronzing brush
33 Reviews
Blush Brush
21 Reviews
Core Collection
226 Reviews


Back to Top