E.L.F. Studio Powder Brush

4.7

1435 reviews

94% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

synthetic, cruelty-free hair


on 12/22/2011 1:36:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I cannot say enough great things about this brush. Soft, dense, effective, multipurpose. Definitely buying more.



on 12/18/2011 9:19:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This brush is so inexpensive, yet so good! I got it at 50% off, so it was $1.50! I use it to apply my E.L.F. Complexion Powder. The only thing I don't like is that I feel like the metal part that connects the handle, loosened up a little bit.


on 12/18/2011 8:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I had this for about 6 months and I use it every time I apply makeup. It can be used for liquid foundations, powders and mineral products. It picks up powders beautifully!
It works magic on my skin. Just dot dot and buff buff! It gives you that flawless look and blends the makeup evenly without any stripes or patches.
I don't even remember how I was applying makeup before I got this. The bristles are soft,dens and at the same time stiff. It's great for multi purpose like contouring, blushing and all over finishes.
The brush looks great and has been holding up without shedding.
I'm hooked for life!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/18/2011 3:30:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this to apply my Revlon Colorstay Foundation, and it leaves my skin looking flawless!! The soft taklon bristles don't irritate my super sensitive skin, and the brush does not shed after washing or during application! Very surprised to find this at such a great price at Target. Highly recommended!


on 12/18/2011 3:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

You really can't go wrong with this brush. First of all it's so cheap! Got it at target for 3 dollars in august. The brush itself is awesome. Super soft and feels like good quality and it doesn't fall apart at all. It is very dense, not fluffy, which is good for applying liquid foundation but I use it for powder. I just swirl it around in a bit of powder and lightly pat it on to my face. I really really like it because I have pretty dry skin, and if I apply powder with fast sweeping motions I get patches of dry skin everywhere. When I just dab it on it doesn't disturb my skin as much. It doesn't waist any product at all either. I really can't even think of something I don't like about this brush, it does everything I want it to perfectly while costing practically nothing especially if you consider how much I use it (1-2 times a day for the past 4 months! and still good as new)

Overall I love this brush and will definitely be buying it again (and again and again). So impressed!


on 12/18/2011 1:24:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I have waited a good 8 months to write this review. I have to first give e.l.f. props on their no animal testing, which is always a plus. This brush has far exceeded my expectations. Thru many, many, many washings, it hasn't shed at all. I mean not ONE hair. Craziness!! I know e.l.f. brushes do get some hate on the MU board, but this powder studio brush applies my liquid foundation like nobody's business and proves wrong the saying that, 'u get what u pay for!' I mean, WOW. Just a dreamy finish I get with my EL Doublewear Light with this brush. I also got these during one of their many frequent 50% off sitewide sale for $1.50, so I got 4 because they're always out of stock. Sooo glad I did! I know e.l.f. has some quality control issues, with some people's ferrules becoming disconnected from the handles, but I haven't had those issues with this, good luck I guess. I do own several MAC brushes, which are my favorite brushes, but elf studio does make some decent, affordable options. I also love Real Techniques! Just in case anyone needs some tips on washing, I wash with a cheap, moisturizing shampoo, which is a rec I got from Lisa Eldridge. (yes she actually answers questions i ask on her blog, love her!) I mix a tiny bit of shampoo w/a tiny bit of water in the palm of my hand, swirl the brush around until it's clean, and then make sure I pull the brush back into its' original shape.(this is KEY to maintaining its' shape) I then put a brush guard on it. They sell brush guards @ Walmart. Ok, obviously I love this brush! I've never tried it for powders, ironically since that's what it's for lol, but I sure do LOVE it for my liquid fdtn.


EDIT: 426/2012- I now own several more MAC (including the 187, 188, & 130) , Sigma (including the F80 & F82, F84), Bobbi Brown, NARS 27 Yachiyo (sp?) brush, and many Real Techniques brushes. While I don't use any of e.l.f.'s other brushes anymore, I wanted to further emphasize my opinion on this brush, now that I own more high end brushes. This really is a fantastic brush!! I still grab for it some days over my MAC 187 and my Sigma F80 or F82, not because it's better, but because it's* just* as good, and I enjoy switching things up! I wouldn't rave about any of the other elf brushes (altho they're not terrible or anything), because my recommendation for inexpensive brushes would have to be Real Techniques, but DO buy this powder brush!! It's really a cheap gem of a brush!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is really a great brush. very dense and doesn't waste product. For the price, this is a total steal. It made my liquid foundation look much better than any other form of application. I've tried foundation brush, stippling brush, sponge, beauty blender ..... Even Makes one of my foundation tat used to look blotchy go on great. Will buy a few more to backup.


on 12/15/2011 10:12:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Dry, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Very dense and soft brush at a low price that is great for liquid foundation. I normally do not love brushes for foundation application but I do like this one a lot. It'll give you a full and flawless coverage. I also use it for blush sometimes. I love this so much that I now have two but my only complaint is that they can soak up a lot of foundation and they can be hard to wash...even my Dr. Bronner's soap have a hard time getting foundation off of the brushes thoroughly!


on 12/15/2011 10:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

even after reading all the good reviews of this brush, i was still pleasantly surprised by it!

it was only $3 at Target-- yay!

i DID notice that not all of these are equal in quality. i looked through the others on the shelf and some had a few loose bristles and the brushes looked kinda squished. so i took a minute to seek out the "best" one :)

after i got it home i tried it out with liquid foundation. i'd never applied foundation with a brush before, and found that this did quite well. however, it DID seem to suck up a LOT of the foundation, so i wont be using it again for that purpose. the result wasnt spectacular or anything, so not worth it.

after washing this brush, i was shocked to see that it didnt lose even a SINGLE bristle! amazing for such a cheap brush! from now on i'll use it for powder :)

i dont regret buying it at all, even though i wont be using it for the purpose i originally intended.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

LOVEEEEE! This is my everyday FOUNDATION brush, yes it says its for powder but it buffs my foundation in amazingly and makes it look so airbrushed. What an amazing brush thats only a few dollars. Purchase it you wont regret it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top