E.L.F. Studio Powder Brush

4.7

1451 reviews

94% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

synthetic, cruelty-free hair


on 1/14/2012 8:33:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is my first E.L.F purchase. I bought it when I was on vacation and needed a brush for powder. Most of my brushes are Sonia Kashuk from Target, which is where I got this one. I prefer synthetic brushes because they shed less, feel better on my skin, and do no absorb the product (making it easier to clean as a plus).

I never have used this brush for liquid foundation and probably wouldn't because it is wide and I feel you need more control for liquid. I use it for powder foundation and it blends powder to a flawless finish. I get compliments often when I use it too. It seems sturdy and sleek looking. Black wooden handle, nothing cutesy but more professional. I have hardly had the brush shed and that is one way for a brush to end in the trash, lol. Would buy again and again. Only $3!



on 1/14/2012 7:07:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Best foundation brush ever made. Just buy it. Buy two!


on 1/7/2012 9:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a very versatile brush, good for powder foundation, blush, or bronzer. It works for liquid foundation as well, but personally I prefer something denser so I don't have to buff the brush on my face for so long to get rid of the little foundation streaks (not that this brush takes super long, but I'm pretty impatient lol).
I like it best for applying blush and powder foundation, because the brush just buffs in both products so nicely. The bristles are nice and soft, and has the perfect density for both products. As for setting powder, I'd prefer something less dense so I don't cake on so much product.
The only downside to this brush is the quality of the handle, the wooden handle that is glued to the metal ferrule loosens so easily, that I find myself having to super glue it back together fairly often. This flaw has to do with ELF's quality control, you might end up with a sturdy one if you are lucky. But even with the flaw, at a price of 3 dollars (plus you can often find it on sale for 50%), this brush is still a steal. Highly recommend!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2012 5:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I decided to buy this brush after hearing so many good reviews on it and that you can use it to apply liquid foundation and any type of powder. I was really excited and I thought I was going to fall in love with this brush and never have to buy other expensive brushes. When I first used it, I didn't really like it because it didn't blend my foundation flawlessly and didn't feel that amazing on my skin. After using it for a week, I decided to switch back to my Sonia Kashuk flat top brush for my liquid foundation and that worked like a dream. That brush is 10x softer than the ELF brush and is better with applying liquid foundation. Now I only use the ELF brush for press powder to set my makeup. I would only recommend this brush if you want an affordable brush to apply your powder which I think it does a decent job.

If you're just starting with makeup & on a budget, I would still recommend you to buy the Sonia Kashuk flat top brush for liquid foundation which's only $15. Personally, I don't think $15 for a GOOD foundation brush is too much money if you ask me.


on 1/7/2012 9:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I don't know if i got a bad brush or what. Everyone seems to love it however when I first got this brush it was shedding and i thought after a few washes it would be ok. I gave it 3 months and it finally got so bad i had to throw it away. At least it was only $3!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Other, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

OMG, where do I start with this brush? Its soooo soft and amazing. I use it for everything!!! I apply liquid foundation with it, then I set my foundation with it and i apply blush and bronzer with it !!! its amazing, its work every damn penny and I want to buy like 9473 more of these brushes. Thank you ELF!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2012 10:44:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Honestly this is the BEST brush I have ever used. You can apply not only powder but foundation. It's not rough and it doesn't shed. Its very well made. Very strong and seems like it will last a long time. I have reordered a few more because I will use this brush for the rest of my life!


on 1/4/2012 9:46:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

. To every lovely who wrote a review on using this brush for non powder use........ I Thank You.
Got a Elf haul online and one of the picks was this brush. The performance for applying liquid foundation is phenomenal and, it's 3 bucks!
Applying with the SPB gives a smooth, even and enhanced finish. I have tried this on foundation gave up on and with this brush its given it new life.
The flat top brush has not shed on me (washed it many times)
and is soft on my skin.
Target carries it and I'm getting back stock on this baby

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/3/2012 2:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this brush everyday when I apply my powder, and i must say that it does an amazing job! It's a great brush that's extreamly cheap, which is super great! Haha :)


on 1/2/2012 10:35:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use it with my msfn and blending out blushes. Its amazing! Great coverage, super soft, nicely dense, washes great, not expensive AT ALL....

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Back to Top