Clinique • Almost Lipstick - Black Honey • Lipstick

rated 4.1(1153 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ali723 on 2/24/2008 5:04:00 PM more reviews by ali723

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

great lip product. i have used this for a very long time and i still love it. very sheer, no stickiness, and completely softens my lips. this was my "training wheels" lipstick but i cannot let it go.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tanassa02 on 2/21/2008 1:49:00 PM more reviews by tanassa02

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm surprised anyone could find fault with this product. I wish they made all their lip products like this. It's a VERY good general moisturizer, for when my lips need 'topping up'. If i'm consistent with it, then it's excellent. If i've slacked on moisturizing all day, then i've already lost the battle, but that's true for me with ANY lip moisture product out there. But the mere fact that this can keep me going if i reapply once it's been eaten/drunk off, then that says a lot. It's not gonna stay on through EVERYTHING, but it is gonna give you good moisture and conditioning with appropriate reapplication. And the thing that takes it over the top for me is the sheer yet buildable colour it imparts. So when i've applied a little makeup, and want to maintain the look throughout the day (without any fuss), i reach for this beauty. And it make me look as though i'm 'pulled together'. I like it very much, and will definitely repurchase.

One lippie off because it only comes in one colour, AND i'd love it if it were a tad more slick at times.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* urstandingonmytoes on 2/11/2008 9:03:00 PM more reviews by urstandingonmytoes

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

I liked the color it was a very natural color on my lips..nothing like what it looks like in the tube. However, I won't buy this again...the consistency of the product was not even as good as a basic chapstick in my opinion. It wore off so fast I barely had time to put the cap back on before I needed more! ( ok that is an exaggeration, but not by much!) I also didn't like that for coverage I had to use 2-3 coats which left me with a splotchy looking result. I keep my lips well moisturized and exfoliated so this was surprising to me. I liked the color so well I even tried in in their gloss version and that was another bad experience so I just gave up. My 9 year old daughter reaped the benefits and I often see her with a mouth smeared in black honey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MakeupMomma on 2/11/2008 7:59:00 PM more reviews by MakeupMomma

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Clinique's Almost Lipstick in Black Honey is definitely an HG for me; I've used it for over 10 years. It is super-sheer and natural looking and it moisturizes lips without feeling heavy or sticky. Black Honey is a universal shade that would work on most skin tones. In the tube it looks really deep and a bit scary. However, when you glide it on your lips you see a gorgeous brown shade with a hint of red -- a true shade of plum. I highly recommend this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettyyplease on 2/8/2008 9:54:00 PM more reviews by prettyyplease

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous! Nice burst of color, makes your lips look naturally bitten. I can't imagine this looking bad on anybody!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gdriban on 2/5/2008 4:25:00 PM more reviews by gdriban

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Perfect everyday color that doesn't look like you're wearing lipstick. Just gives a hint of color. I'm not sure if it would show up as well on someone with darker skin or more pigmented lips. My skin is pale. This has been a mainstay for me for years.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 HornSister on 2/1/2008 12:20:00 AM more reviews by HornSister

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A beautiful "bitten-lips" red, but the formula is very drying. If I don't put lip balm on top, it sucks the moisture out of my lips. It could be that my tube is ages old, but I do like the buildability.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tweetch on 1/30/2008 4:27:00 PM more reviews by Tweetch

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Very sheer on my lips, which have a fair amount of pigment on their own. Some shine, not overly glossy. Punches up my own natural color just enough so that my lips don't shriek "LIPSTICK!"; they just look rosy and healthy. Subtly brightens my face (fair skin with pink tones, gray-blue eyes, blond hair). A little drying; I would probably wear this more in the summer when hydration isn't as much of an issue.

Overall, a great daily lipstick, very natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* musicalhouses on 1/27/2008 7:39:00 PM more reviews by musicalhouses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. I find the gloss slightly too intense, so the lipstick version is really lovely. Of course with just 1 swipe it doesn't show up at all (bummer) so I do wish it was just a bit more pigmented so I wouldn't have to do more than 1 swipe to get the perfect colour, cos there isn't much in the tube so it IS quite a waste..But that said, I really do love the colour once I swipe it around 2 - 3 times. It's lovely! It's a plum-tinted brownish red on me, and I'm fair with Asian colouring. For that I would spend the money buying it full priced, but of course being a creature of budget I'm scouring ebay now. And yes I'd rebuy, am watching ebay while I'm typing this :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 1/26/2008 5:21:00 PM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This has been around forever, and for good reason. No product can lay claim to being the one MLBB shade that works for all, and this is no exception. But this could work for many. And, one's interpretation of enhanced natural lipcolor changes with the times. This was introduced years ago, when vividly colored lips were the norm. Then, it was revolutionary. Now, not so much. What this is: sheer, earthy red stick lipgloss. It is not creamy, matte, shimmery or opaque.Scary in the tube (almost maroon) and soft plum-red-brown on the lips. What I love about it is the feel on my lips. Light, but buttery, and it makes my lips soft. The narrow stick makes it easy to apply and build color. One stroke, blotted, would be very natural indeed. And, it has no taste or scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products