Clinique Almost Lipstick - Black Honey

4.1

1171 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, cetyl ricinoleate, glyceryl triacetyl ricinoleate, candelila wax, carnauba wax, polyethylene, tocopheryl acetate [ yellow 5 lake (ci 19140), red 33 lake (ci 17200), red 28 lake (ci 45410), red 6 lake (ci 15850), blue 1 (ci 42090), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499), red 7 lake (ci 15850), mica, bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163), red 30 lake (ci 73360), carmine (ci 75470), manganese violet (ci 77742), red 22 lake (ci 45380), titanium dioxide (ci 77891), red 21 lake (ci 45380), yellow 6 lake (ci 15850), red 27 lake (ci 45410), orange 5 (ci 45370), red 36 (ci 12085)]


on 4/17/2008 11:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love the color. Texture is ok. The only thing I don't like is that really emphasizes dry lips.



on 4/14/2008 4:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading all the good reviews on here, I had to get this and now this is one of my new favorites. I was looking for the perfect red classy shade and although it didn't turn out to be what I wanted it to be, it turned out to be better. The color is a subtle berry shade on me, like my lips` normal shade, only better and somewhat darker. Can be used everyday without screaming red and I love the fact that it's moisturizing. As others here have said, it's not very long lasting, but since it's like a chapstick I don't mind reapplying. Love that it can be layered for a more intense look. I'm a PPP (EMs Fairly Light) and it looks great with my skintone. I can image this would look great on pretty much everyone. Of course this got discontinued here in Norway in 2003, so I have to buy it off ebay every time I want it but it's definately worth it. I have no idea why Clinique would stop selling such a great product here. A new HG, this is a staple for me !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/12/2008 11:41:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This may be proclaimed as heresy but Clinique's Almost l/s in Black Honey seems abit over-rated to me. It feels like just another slippery tinted lipgloss and while the sheer color can be layered to desired intensity, it doesn't last long, The saleslady at Belks listed the celebrities from Oprah to Brittany Spears who use this l/s. So what! they have the money to blow when a $4 (bogo) Avon Glazewear would look just as good. I like the product just fine as far as the color and texture etc. It is just overpriced and I am more quality conscious than brand. I won't be repurchasing.


on 4/12/2008 3:41:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am of the opinion that Black Honey looks good on most women. It is my absolute favorite. I appreciate the sheer coverage and find it to be nice and moisturizing. This color makes my teeth look super white and brightens my whole face. I have repurchased again and again.


on 4/10/2008 8:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm East Asian (so yellow toned skin). Fairly light.

One of my staples in lipstick besides Estee Lauder PC Crystal LS in Tiramisu. This one has more color than Tiramisu.

Coverage: Sheer. But just enough color for those days where I feel I look a little washed out and need just a little color.

Color: Looks dark in the tube, but goes on very sheer...kind of a dark berry color.

Taste: It's Clinique, so it doesn't really have taste

Packaging: Silver sleek tube, great....but after a while the top doesn't stay on the tube so that's kind of a pain.

Longwearing: No, but I don't care. I can't find another brand that's cheaper with the same color. If there is one, somebody tell me!


on 4/8/2008 9:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I received this with a GWP. Overall, I think it's a good product, but not great for me. I liked the idea of an "almost lipstick". Quick and easy to apply as long as your lips are in good condition. Good for those busy on the go makeup days. Does not smell gross like Clinique's lip glosses. Nice texture. More pigmented than your average lip gloss, I find it to be like a sheer lip stick. About the colour.. I have very fair skin and the deep berry colour is flattering but nothing exceptional. Just a basic dark berry. I'm not a big fan of berry shades in general, so I will not be purchasing Black Honey.


on 4/7/2008 4:43:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lipcolor takes me back to junior high. Its a great, quick "I'm naturally this pretty" kind of lip color. It is a very earthy, sheer brown berry shade. I like to wear this on my easy, "don't wanna try too hard" days. =D


on 4/4/2008 11:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a beautiful berry stain that can be layered on for a more intense color and suitable for any day or night no matter what the occassion. I absolutely love it and never thought a dark color would actually look so good (!!) on my fair skin <3 It goes with everything without looking "overdone" so this will always be a staple in my purse!


on 4/3/2008 2:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this thinking it was Black Lily, but I decided to keep it anyway. For all the hype, I was disappointed. It's a basic red stain on me (fair, Asian) and although sheer, it looks too obviously red in a way that is unflattering. I feel like I could have achieved the same result with a Bonne Ball lip balm and with more moisture. The slim metal case is gorgeous though. It looks pretty nice when I apply lip balm first and swipe on just a coat or two, but for $12 I expected a bit more.


on 3/31/2008 9:51:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

How have I never reviewed this? This was my very first grown-up lipstick, which I got when I was 14, and I have repurchased it several times in the last 13 years. The coloer is a perfect berry stain - not too bright, not too dark. It just gives my face a nice pick-up. I did take off one lippie for the lasting power - it has the lasting power of a gloss. But, the price is good, and the packaging is sleek and nice. I will definitely be purchasing this again and again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
173 Reviews
provocalips
33 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top