Clinique Almost Lipstick - Black Honey

4.1

1178 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, cetyl ricinoleate, glyceryl triacetyl ricinoleate, candelila wax, carnauba wax, polyethylene, tocopheryl acetate [ yellow 5 lake (ci 19140), red 33 lake (ci 17200), red 28 lake (ci 45410), red 6 lake (ci 15850), blue 1 (ci 42090), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499), red 7 lake (ci 15850), mica, bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163), red 30 lake (ci 73360), carmine (ci 75470), manganese violet (ci 77742), red 22 lake (ci 45380), titanium dioxide (ci 77891), red 21 lake (ci 45380), yellow 6 lake (ci 15850), red 27 lake (ci 45410), orange 5 (ci 45370), red 36 (ci 12085)]


on 5/1/2008 4:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Leaves a nice tint on the lips. I like it because I'm usually not the lipstick type.
Packaging is nice, BUT the cap has come off a few times in my purse - wish they could make it sturdier.
Value for money - lasts a heck of a long time, especially since I don't wear it often.
I was hesitant to buy this, in fact I only bought it when it was on offer, because I had bought a tube of Almost Cocoa in 2003 and didn't fancy the colour very much. But I can see why Black Honey is the "cult classic". It certainly does more for your lips!

Would buy it again, wish it left a glossier sheen though.



on 4/28/2008 5:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Amazing color! Don;t be fooled by how dark it looks in the tube. It goes on like a glossy lipstick in the most perfect plummish color. Absolutely perfect for looking natural. This lipstick is the one I turn to for every day. I am a redhead with fair skin and warm tones look best on me, but this dark plum is the perfect match for any occasion.


on 4/27/2008 10:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this since my junior year of high school. I am fickle when it comes to lipsticks, but this has been a staple in my purse for, well, 13 years now. On me, it looks extremely natural - kind of like my lips only better. I don't find it drying at all - in fact, in a pinch, I'll use it if I've somehow forgotten my chapstick (actually, I've used it as a blush on more than one occasion too). My only issue is that I do wish that it lasted a little longer.


on 4/26/2008 8:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Black Honey has a great, "safe" color that seems to flatter just about everyone. It goes on sheer but builds well, and the lasting power isn't too bad. While I like the shade, the formula seems a bit cheap to me and is sticky and drying, as many others have mentioned. I will not repurchase as there are other brands that have a similar shade in a higher-quality formula.


on 4/26/2008 2:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just purchased this about two weeks ago. I wear it everyday. It gives lips that healthy, almost-raspberry-but-not-quite look. It's just a really pretty, sheer color and it doesn't feel sticky or drying. Other reviewers have said it dries them out. Then again, I do always wear rosebud salve on top, so maybe it is a little drying, I'm not sure. But I love it. it's a little expensive, but I think well worth it. The girl at the counter told me it was a "cult classic" and Julia Roberts wears it, which could have been her marketing strategy, lol, clearly...it worked.


on 4/25/2008 10:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love love love this lipstick. Very sheer, but adds the perfect amount of color and shine. (Might not be great for darker or warmer complexions.) Not only does this flatter my very fair complexion, it makes my teeth look whiter. The only drawback is the price.


on 4/25/2008 8:06:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My grandmother first introduced me to Black Honey (in a small pot back then) when I was in 5th grade and it's been a long love affair ever since! The Amost Lipstick version is less shiny, but is still the same perfect color. I think just about anyone could wear it -- a browned-down berry that is understated but polished. Sometimes I wish this color came in a lipstick version -- hear me, Clinique?


Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have full well moisturized lips. Minutes after applying this it TOTALLY dried my lips out, creating those ugly "dehydration" lines in my bottom lip. Yuck! In addition to that, it bleeds out of ones lip line like no tomorrow giving that "Hi, I'm 6 and I just drank a glass of Cherry Kool Aid" look. No Thank You! It is just a messy fushia color on my warmer skintone. Ew.

I will not re-purchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2008 11:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I love the color. Texture is ok. The only thing I don't like is that really emphasizes dry lips.


on 4/14/2008 4:33:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading all the good reviews on here, I had to get this and now this is one of my new favorites. I was looking for the perfect red classy shade and although it didn't turn out to be what I wanted it to be, it turned out to be better. The color is a subtle berry shade on me, like my lips` normal shade, only better and somewhat darker. Can be used everyday without screaming red and I love the fact that it's moisturizing. As others here have said, it's not very long lasting, but since it's like a chapstick I don't mind reapplying. Love that it can be layered for a more intense look. I'm a PPP (EMs Fairly Light) and it looks great with my skintone. I can image this would look great on pretty much everyone. Of course this got discontinued here in Norway in 2003, so I have to buy it off ebay every time I want it but it's definately worth it. I have no idea why Clinique would stop selling such a great product here. A new HG, this is a staple for me !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
191 Reviews
Provocalips
74 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top