Clinique • Almost Lipstick - Black Honey • Lipstick

rated 4.1(1146 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Tweetch on 1/30/2008 4:27:00 PM more reviews by Tweetch

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Very sheer on my lips, which have a fair amount of pigment on their own. Some shine, not overly glossy. Punches up my own natural color just enough so that my lips don't shriek "LIPSTICK!"; they just look rosy and healthy. Subtly brightens my face (fair skin with pink tones, gray-blue eyes, blond hair). A little drying; I would probably wear this more in the summer when hydration isn't as much of an issue.

Overall, a great daily lipstick, very natural.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* musicalhouses on 1/27/2008 7:39:00 PM more reviews by musicalhouses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. I find the gloss slightly too intense, so the lipstick version is really lovely. Of course with just 1 swipe it doesn't show up at all (bummer) so I do wish it was just a bit more pigmented so I wouldn't have to do more than 1 swipe to get the perfect colour, cos there isn't much in the tube so it IS quite a waste..But that said, I really do love the colour once I swipe it around 2 - 3 times. It's lovely! It's a plum-tinted brownish red on me, and I'm fair with Asian colouring. For that I would spend the money buying it full priced, but of course being a creature of budget I'm scouring ebay now. And yes I'd rebuy, am watching ebay while I'm typing this :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* darkharbour on 1/26/2008 5:21:00 PM more reviews by darkharbour

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This has been around forever, and for good reason. No product can lay claim to being the one MLBB shade that works for all, and this is no exception. But this could work for many. And, one's interpretation of enhanced natural lipcolor changes with the times. This was introduced years ago, when vividly colored lips were the norm. Then, it was revolutionary. Now, not so much. What this is: sheer, earthy red stick lipgloss. It is not creamy, matte, shimmery or opaque.Scary in the tube (almost maroon) and soft plum-red-brown on the lips. What I love about it is the feel on my lips. Light, but buttery, and it makes my lips soft. The narrow stick makes it easy to apply and build color. One stroke, blotted, would be very natural indeed. And, it has no taste or scent.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* suey421 on 1/25/2008 7:47:00 PM more reviews by suey421

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I wouldnt call this almost lipstick, its dark enough to look like lipstick but its not dark in a bad way. I like red lipsticks but always have problems wearing it because its too bold. This product is dark enough to look like you have some serious color on your lips but not so dark you need precise application or else your lips look deformed. It has a nice smooth texture which makes it different from regular lipstick. It is not heavy or goopy, just a nice moist coverage with excellent color. Would def buy this again but wouldnt go so far to call this a must have product. If you are like me and reluctant to wear reds out of fear of looking like a clown, try this and I think you will be happy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* waterfreak on 1/23/2008 3:33:00 PM more reviews by waterfreak

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this lipstick because of the packaging and the fact that it's not a thick lipstick, but a very light feeling one.....however I hate the color. It looks really bad on me. Maybe my lips are a little too naturally pigmented, I don't know. When I put this on, it makes my lips look much smaller, no matter how I apply it. It also seems to wear off really fast. I've even tried layering this a few times to see if I could build on the color. It didn't make it look any better. I was looking for an alternative to wearing chapstick all the time when I'm not wearing lipstick. I'm definitely not a lipgloss person, so this would have been an excellent product for me if the color match had been good.


My lips are always dry. I did notice that this lipstick helps a great deal with the dryness. But at $15, I think I can find something else that does the job for less but yet is more high-end than chapstick. This product does feel great on my lips.....it feels way better than any chapstick yet it feels lighter than lipstick. I am so bummed.....I was hoping this would be my HG "other lipstick", but I'll keep searching. Perhaps I can find another color in this same line that will work for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* boourns on 1/23/2008 3:02:00 AM more reviews by boourns

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I always end up hating the things I really, really want to love. This is such a cult favourite! I wanted it to be MY favourite, too! Let's start with the good: Love the slim packaging (pocket friendly, easy to apply), love that it's sheer but buildable, love the subtle sheen. Now, the drawbacks: Hate that it wears off quickly, hate that it dries out my lips to the point that you can actually see them shrivelling for want of hydration, and most of all... hate that it makes me look like a prostitute. There. I said it. This shade is not so universally flattering after all. Perhaps I am the exception that proves the rule, but sheer or not, it cannot be denied that this is, at it's heart, red lipstick. If you love and feel comfortable in red lipstick then maybe you'll be down for that but yeah... don't assume it will work for you just because people claim it works on everybody! Nothing works on everybody. That's the moral of the story here, I guess.

11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lba619 on 1/20/2008 6:32:00 PM more reviews by lba619

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

NW25, Lt. Brown, Blue/Hazel, Combo, No Breakouts. This is my all time HG lipstick! The perfect color for all skintones. Not too heavy or to sheer, just right! Love it, and have repurchased several.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 susemb on 1/19/2008 3:02:00 AM more reviews by susemb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've bought this lipstick so many times that I've honestly lost count!! It's one of my standard, go to any time, go with anything trusted products. It's sheer (hence the almost bit of the name), nothing like it looks in the stick and fabulous!

I hate to admit that I've usually got at least two of these in use at any time (work bag, home, handbag etc etc) and recently had to toss one that had somehow gone bad! VERY unusual for me!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rp1017 on 1/11/2008 4:38:00 PM more reviews by rp1017

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Wow this is a gorgeous color. I recently saw in the pictures section someone that was as pale as me (lighter than an NW10) and was wearing Black Honey and I thought the color of her lips looked gorgeous with her coloring, so I knew that I had to check out this shade (OMG where have I been as this shade has been out like forever and I never had the desire to look at it, but I finally did and so glad.) This is so beautiful and makes my lips look full and pouty and I lightly pat on the color which gives me enough color and it looks perfect. I am so glad that I purchased this today - the quality is excellent, the color is gorgeous and Clinique's pricing is very reasonable. Highly recommend this shade for PPP's.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* swirly_whirl85 on 1/8/2008 4:02:00 PM more reviews by swirly_whirl85

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a Clinique Gift with Purchase in the fall and I love it! It looks scary and dark in the tube but looks gorgeous on my pigmented lips and it complements my tan-coloured skin very well. It is an excellent Fall and Winter shade but might look too harsh in the summer sun. The only thing I don't like is the packaging, as the tube is not staying on very well anymore :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products