Clinique Almost Lipstick - Black Honey

4.1

1182 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

castor seed oil, cetyl ricinoleate, glyceryl triacetyl ricinoleate, candelila wax, carnauba wax, polyethylene, tocopheryl acetate [ yellow 5 lake (ci 19140), red 33 lake (ci 17200), red 28 lake (ci 45410), red 6 lake (ci 15850), blue 1 (ci 42090), iron oxides (ci 77491, 77492, 77499), red 7 lake (ci 15850), mica, bismuth oxychloride (ci 77163), red 30 lake (ci 73360), carmine (ci 75470), manganese violet (ci 77742), red 22 lake (ci 45380), titanium dioxide (ci 77891), red 21 lake (ci 45380), yellow 6 lake (ci 15850), red 27 lake (ci 45410), orange 5 (ci 45370), red 36 (ci 12085)]


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is a really pretty color. It gives my lips a nice berry tint. It also feels comfortable like a balm and gives a nice sheen. The only thing I don't like is it's lack of staying power. Other than that, I really like it.



on 5/6/2008 3:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love the color but the staying power is awful! Slippery


on 5/3/2008 7:18:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This has a really nice texture and staying power but the color - supposedly universal - looks like crap on me. I'm NC30 and I have tried so hard to make this work, but it washes me out and looks horrible with my hair/eye/skin coloring. Oh well. I keep hoping Clinique will make these in other shades...


on 5/3/2008 4:12:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I think this is an easy go-to color and formula for most skin tones. It just works with the natural blush of your natural lip color ... but enhances it beautifully. It leaves my skin with a hint of gloss without feeling goopy. It feels comfortable like a lip balm, but better! Luv luv it!


on 5/1/2008 4:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Leaves a nice tint on the lips. I like it because I'm usually not the lipstick type.
Packaging is nice, BUT the cap has come off a few times in my purse - wish they could make it sturdier.
Value for money - lasts a heck of a long time, especially since I don't wear it often.
I was hesitant to buy this, in fact I only bought it when it was on offer, because I had bought a tube of Almost Cocoa in 2003 and didn't fancy the colour very much. But I can see why Black Honey is the "cult classic". It certainly does more for your lips!

Would buy it again, wish it left a glossier sheen though.


on 4/28/2008 5:02:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Amazing color! Don;t be fooled by how dark it looks in the tube. It goes on like a glossy lipstick in the most perfect plummish color. Absolutely perfect for looking natural. This lipstick is the one I turn to for every day. I am a redhead with fair skin and warm tones look best on me, but this dark plum is the perfect match for any occasion.


on 4/27/2008 10:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have been using this since my junior year of high school. I am fickle when it comes to lipsticks, but this has been a staple in my purse for, well, 13 years now. On me, it looks extremely natural - kind of like my lips only better. I don't find it drying at all - in fact, in a pinch, I'll use it if I've somehow forgotten my chapstick (actually, I've used it as a blush on more than one occasion too). My only issue is that I do wish that it lasted a little longer.


on 4/26/2008 8:06:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Black Honey has a great, "safe" color that seems to flatter just about everyone. It goes on sheer but builds well, and the lasting power isn't too bad. While I like the shade, the formula seems a bit cheap to me and is sticky and drying, as many others have mentioned. I will not repurchase as there are other brands that have a similar shade in a higher-quality formula.


on 4/26/2008 2:56:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I just purchased this about two weeks ago. I wear it everyday. It gives lips that healthy, almost-raspberry-but-not-quite look. It's just a really pretty, sheer color and it doesn't feel sticky or drying. Other reviewers have said it dries them out. Then again, I do always wear rosebud salve on top, so maybe it is a little drying, I'm not sure. But I love it. it's a little expensive, but I think well worth it. The girl at the counter told me it was a "cult classic" and Julia Roberts wears it, which could have been her marketing strategy, lol, clearly...it worked.


on 4/25/2008 10:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love love love this lipstick. Very sheer, but adds the perfect amount of color and shine. (Might not be great for darker or warmer complexions.) Not only does this flatter my very fair complexion, it makes my teeth look whiter. The only drawback is the price.


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
216 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
27 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top