Clinique • Almost Lipstick - Black Honey • Lipstick

rated 4.1(1168 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Forher2me on 4/10/2008 8:27:00 PM more reviews by Forher2me

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm East Asian (so yellow toned skin). Fairly light.

One of my staples in lipstick besides Estee Lauder PC Crystal LS in Tiramisu. This one has more color than Tiramisu.

Coverage: Sheer. But just enough color for those days where I feel I look a little washed out and need just a little color.

Color: Looks dark in the tube, but goes on very sheer...kind of a dark berry color.

Taste: It's Clinique, so it doesn't really have taste

Packaging: Silver sleek tube, great....but after a while the top doesn't stay on the tube so that's kind of a pain.

Longwearing: No, but I don't care. I can't find another brand that's cheaper with the same color. If there is one, somebody tell me!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* smurfkitten on 4/8/2008 9:27:00 AM more reviews by smurfkitten

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I received this with a GWP. Overall, I think it's a good product, but not great for me. I liked the idea of an "almost lipstick". Quick and easy to apply as long as your lips are in good condition. Good for those busy on the go makeup days. Does not smell gross like Clinique's lip glosses. Nice texture. More pigmented than your average lip gloss, I find it to be like a sheer lip stick. About the colour.. I have very fair skin and the deep berry colour is flattering but nothing exceptional. Just a basic dark berry. I'm not a big fan of berry shades in general, so I will not be purchasing Black Honey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 alchemii on 4/7/2008 4:43:00 AM more reviews by alchemii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This lipcolor takes me back to junior high. Its a great, quick "I'm naturally this pretty" kind of lip color. It is a very earthy, sheer brown berry shade. I like to wear this on my easy, "don't wanna try too hard" days. =D

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yumcheesy on 4/4/2008 11:18:00 PM more reviews by yumcheesy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a beautiful berry stain that can be layered on for a more intense color and suitable for any day or night no matter what the occassion. I absolutely love it and never thought a dark color would actually look so good (!!) on my fair skin <3 It goes with everything without looking "overdone" so this will always be a staple in my purse!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 picklegirl on 4/3/2008 2:51:00 AM more reviews by picklegirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this thinking it was Black Lily, but I decided to keep it anyway. For all the hype, I was disappointed. It's a basic red stain on me (fair, Asian) and although sheer, it looks too obviously red in a way that is unflattering. I feel like I could have achieved the same result with a Bonne Ball lip balm and with more moisture. The slim metal case is gorgeous though. It looks pretty nice when I apply lip balm first and swipe on just a coat or two, but for $12 I expected a bit more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* abfabjeanius on 3/31/2008 9:51:00 PM more reviews by abfabjeanius

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

How have I never reviewed this? This was my very first grown-up lipstick, which I got when I was 14, and I have repurchased it several times in the last 13 years. The coloer is a perfect berry stain - not too bright, not too dark. It just gives my face a nice pick-up. I did take off one lippie for the lasting power - it has the lasting power of a gloss. But, the price is good, and the packaging is sleek and nice. I will definitely be purchasing this again and again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 swtkisses on 3/30/2008 2:11:00 PM more reviews by swtkisses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The berry-stain color darkens a few minutes after I apply it, and can be layered for a more dramatic effect. I usually blot it a few times after application so it isn't as dark. I wear it like any other lip gloss, over a thin layer of vaseline. It's moisturizing, like a lip gloss, but is packaged like a chic lipstick. I usually reapply every 4 hours or so if I wear this throughout the day, and have to keep the skin around my mouth moisturized. The mirror-like silver packaging attracts a lot of fingerprints, and it's a bit pricey. Happily, this is one of two lip products I can use without having an allergic reaction.
see uploaded image for product swatch

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MissGoldie on 3/30/2008 1:20:00 AM more reviews by MissGoldie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using Black Honey for many years now and I still love it. It truly is a colour that looks good on almost anyone's skintone.

It gives my lips a boost of colour without being too dark or heavy in texture.

A favourite in my make up bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Anassa on 3/28/2008 6:53:00 PM more reviews by Anassa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

One of my favourite lip colours - I will always have a tube of this in my make-up bag. Gives my lips a lovely red berry colour, is glossy and the taste/smell is very subtle. Doesn't have much staying power, but I don't mind reapplying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mrspeel on 3/26/2008 10:57:00 AM more reviews by mrspeel

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was originally disappointed with this after reading the very positive MUA reviews - but I'm not sure what I was expecting. Returned to it recently when I needed a subtle lip colour and was pleasantly surprised with how much I like it now. It's more of a stain than a lipstick. It's like normal lips, but better. Like others have said, it does deliver more pigment to dry lip areas but it is moisturising, very pretty, and it actually lasts a lot longer than I'd expect it to. Also, I love the packaging - very sleek.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Lipstick products