MAC • Blot Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.2(1130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chloeclover on 9/27/2008 11:07:00 AM more reviews by Chloeclover

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The best blot pressed powder out there. I have very acne prone and oily skin and this just does the job of creating a natural matte finish to your foundation. I just use this when i need to reapply my face makeup. Its great for oily skin!

EDIT: Won't be repurchasing because the price is ridiculous, I'm currently using Maybelline Dream Matte Setting Powder, which works just as well :D and Costs $6-7 bucks

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TheWorldsDresser on 9/24/2008 11:18:00 AM more reviews by TheWorldsDresser

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I was outrageously underwhelmed by this product. Don't get me wrong, it does it's job, but no better than similar drug store blots (specifically NYC's Translucent Powder). Mac's blot comes in a lovely sleek, black case and I wish it was the HG for me that it is for some folks. I usually love mac items, but this one just does not do much for me. It also gave me a few bumps (ack!) and I'm stongly considering just digging out the product and reusing the (awesome) case for something else.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bellatrix13 on 9/22/2008 7:30:00 PM more reviews by bellatrix13

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have to admit I'm impressed with this powder! I didn't think I'd ever find anything to help with my shiny forehead, but this stuff does the trick. It works better than any other powder at controlling the oil slick on my face. I use an Estee Lauder foundation underneath, then brush some of this on lightly with the Mac dry foundation brush. Works like a charm!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lpaul on 9/21/2008 8:49:00 PM more reviews by Lpaul

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is an absolute HG for me!! I always have this on hand. I keep it in my little makeup bag in my purse and carry with me everywhere. A little goes a very long way and it keeps me shine free for a loooong time! Must have!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 psforever on 9/12/2008 4:47:00 PM more reviews by psforever

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

I really recommend this product to those who are looking for something to blot their face throughout the day, or even set their makeup once it is applied. I have been using this for over 2 years now and I absolutely love it. I am on my 3rd compact now since this lasts a really long time for me. I have oily skin and this is perfect for blotting and taking away the shine. I dust this with a powder brush all over my face once I have applied my mineral foundation to set the makeup. Then, I use it throughout the day whenever I feel that my face is too oily or shiny. It is excellent at absorbing the excess oil off of my face immediately. This is one MAC product that I cannot live without. I highly recommend it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 iwasntlazyinmay on 9/12/2008 12:36:00 AM more reviews by iwasntlazyinmay

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

DETAILS:
-comes in a black compact with mac on the front, pressed form
-comes with a mirror and puff
-five colors to choose from except that it doesnt really shift your shade, just removes oil. colors range from light-deep dark
-retail: $21.00 US DOLLAR
-measures 12 g

DESCRIPTION FROM MAC WEBSITE:A unique pressed powder designed primarily to provide shine control without adding any noticeable colour or texture. Sets foundation, finishes faces. For use in professional situations and for frequent touch-ups. Blot Powder contains Mica and Silica to adsorb excess oils and reduce shine on the skin's surface. Can be applied with the puff that comes in the compact or with a powder brush like #129 Powder/Blush Brush. Perfect for touching up Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation throughout the day.

PROS:
-does keep oil at bay most of the day.
-touch ups are usually 1-2 times/day depending on what you do. from my experience i've had to only touch up once.
-compact, easy for traveling and touch ups
-puff is handy if you change it once in a while to avoid bacteria growth
-much better than oil sheets imo. i use too many oil blotting sheets where this you can just use a powder brush or your puff and touch up once.

CONS:
-price
-flimsy packaging. might break
-might have to touch up a few times depending on your skin. i have combination skin and haven't had too much trouble
-might look too powdery with the puff application. brush is a lot better to use (try a retractable powder brush from target*sonia kashuk*)

OVERALL:
great for oily skin especially in the t-zone. i just touch up in that region and i'm good to go for the rest of the day. today i touched up at 3pm and it is now almost 10pm and i'm still matte. love this product! will repurchase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 noisykit on 9/10/2008 10:52:00 AM more reviews by noisykit

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have been using this for years and I always carry one in my purse. I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cavalierkcs on 9/8/2008 9:51:00 PM more reviews by cavalierkcs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was deciding between a 3 and a 4 on this..... It does help control oil, but not as much as I was hoping, I still have blot with Clean and Clear papers several times a day. I usually apply after my EL DW foundation to set it, but I will get oily through the day. I like that it is a very fine powder compared to some DS brands. I will probably repurchase as there is probably no powder out there that will be my magic solution *SIGH* I recommended getting the medium even if you are fair, even the medium seems a bit white/chalky on my fair skin. It usually blends in quickly, but sometimes it can make me look a bit pasty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 olika on 9/8/2008 7:24:00 AM more reviews by olika

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

It is the best pressed poweder I have had. It does manage to control the oilies on my combination skin, although I would normally need to re-apply towards the end of the day. The colour is great, it's almost invisible (I use shade Medium), yet it gives a perfect matt finish. I even use it when I have tan, it goes on perfectly, mattifies, but doesn't show up on the face.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 GlitterxGold on 9/5/2008 4:26:00 PM more reviews by GlitterxGold

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Best pressed powder I have ever used! I have combination skin that gets oily on my nose. This is the only powder that I've never "had to" reapply during the day. I can't believe it. The weird thing is the Light looks too light in the compact, but when you put it on your face, it's just right. The packaging is really nice too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Pressed Powders products