MAC Blot Powder

4.2

1170 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Silica, Kaolin, Water, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Coconut Acid, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxid lllol


on 1/7/2009 2:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I recently bought this, so I can't speak for long term use, but this is what i'm thinking so far.

It does control oil fairly well, I can still get a shiny T-zone if I ran or after about... 5-6 hours, but just another small amount of product and it's gone. It doesn't have ANY coverage, which is what I wanted, it looks unnoticeable on me and isn't cakey or powdery looking. Performance wise- all is good, but the price is a bit steep for a powder, 120 shekls which is like a day and a half on work.
But all in all, it's the best powder I've used and I think I will buy again if needed.

BTW- I just LOVE the slick all black simple packaging <3



on 1/7/2009 2:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have *highly* sensitive, rosacea, combination skin. My skin seems to love this powder! I used to use "stay matte" powder from Clinique, but their color selection doesn't go very far into the fair range, so I had to make do with a color that was a bit too dark for me. I love MAC blot in "light". It's nearly white, it is so fair. It doesn't add a lot of color, goes on *very* smoothly (it appears to be dimethicone-based, so has that "primer" smooth quality to it), and isn't as "dry" and "chalky" feeling as the clinique. It also doesn't seem to oxidize like Clinique powders, so my face stays nice and pale, doesn't get darker as the day goes on. I also notice that I don't have to blot the combination areas of my skin as often with it on, so oil-control also appears superior. Overall, I'm very happy with this product, no complaints. I will continue to repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2009 10:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have combination skin which can get quite oily and so face powders are difficult to get right. Blot Powder seems to do what it is supposed to, it stops the shine and it isn't too cakey. Do apply with a brush though as the powder puff doesn't work well. MAC need to sort out the colours though, I bought 'Medium' and it is very pale. A little tip: it also works well as an eyeshadow primer for anyone who gets oily lids : )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2009 1:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is excellent stuff to reduce shine. I love how the blot applies well over my laura mercier tinted moisturizer without changing the color of the tint. It gives my face a nice finished look. It is also okay to apply it after using bronzer/blush since blot is somewhat sheer. The main recommendation I have is to throw away the little sponge it comes with!!! That thing is trash and always rips apart after a couple of weeks. It also isn't the best way to apply the powder since it interferes with my moisturizer/foundation. Definitely, definitely use a powder brush to apply!!!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This MAC Blot Powder does its job. It is mediocre to me. MAC Blot Powder does take away shine and it holds up well in high humid places (I used to live in Miami) but I'm not impressed with it because there are cheaper pressed powders that do the exact same thing. Use a powder brush to apply this blot powder or else, you will look cakey. The MAC Blot Powder doesn't oxidize on my combination oily skin but I guess it depends on your skin type. I took away one lippie because after I apply the Blot powder, it leaves an unnatural pink tone on my yellow based Asian skintone (MAC NC 25-30, Shiseido O40, Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Light#4 Nude, Covergirl Aquasmooth Buff Beige). The MAC Blot Powder shade I have is Medium Dark (Yeah, these shades run light....if you're around an NC 25-30 like me, you should get the Medium Dark). Due to the high price, I wouldn't buy this product again. I prefer my Milani Pressed Powder in Beige because it has more yellow undertones or the Maybelline Dream Matte Powder.


on 1/3/2009 1:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure how i feel about this product. It does it's job. it's smooth, not ashy not chalky. I use it over my mac studio fix concealor.It's just a blotting powder that does its job.


on 12/31/2008 7:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this product, It's perfect to keep in my bag and blot onto my skin. Then I can go hours without thinking of checking it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/25/2008 4:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product, have been using this for years.Since my skin color is so hard to match, i really dont have a powder in my color .I can wear the blot alone, which works great with my oil skin.Can wear it over my bobbi brown foundation to set, which gives me a flawless face. It use to look a little ashy when i would first get it, but i realize that u have to use a brush,i use a kabuki at first, let it oxidize, and then can use the sponge. I tried select press and studio fix, and it contains talc which always makes me look ashy, so blot powder is the best, dont know what i would do without it.....


on 12/16/2008 5:33:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this a few weeks ago, along with the M.A.C full coverage foundation. I have REALLY oily skin, and when i say oily i mean oil-rig-leakage going on. I also have quite blotchy skin, which means around noon i look more slippery than an eel and redder than a tomatoe. Not finding this an attractive look, i hoped this would touch up my foundation nicely. It doesnt. Im not sure if this is because i chose the wrong shade (the blotting powder comes in 3 shades; fair, medium and dark, i think) and the powder is a few shades too light, but it did nothing to hide my blotches; just made me look cakey and washed out (im thinking maybe i did choose the wrong shade after all...) anyway, i digress. this is primarily a blotting powder. it does blot up oil, to a degree, but no amazing results, and nothing long lasting. The powder puff is also pretty useless; if you do buy this powder, id advise using your own. I lost this at a kings of leon gig the other night and i definitely wont be buying it again. Im sure theres better powders out there for less.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/12/2008 12:55:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I can't live without this product. I have combination skin and i have yet to find a foundation that doens't require me to blot a few times throughout the day. I have this in Medium Dark and it is the perfect blotting powder. It comes in the signature black mac compact which i use all day to check my makeup or to apply lipstick (or to blot obviously) and it takes away the shine and oil instantly without caking on powder or making you look dull. i find blotting papers a little gross and i don't like to deal with it, and this is perfect for me and it lasts FOREVER. I just make sure to wash the sponge (or the cotton pad thing whatever it's called) every once in a while so you don't build up bacterial and breakout from it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top