MAC • Blot Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 4.2(1155 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jadekisses on 11/29/2008 2:36:00 AM more reviews by Jadekisses

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This powder is a godsend. It is the best oil control powder i have found. That being said, while its good it isnt amazing.
Pros:
- Keeps oil at bay for at least a half hour or more
Cons:
- Can look ashy or over matte
- I go through this so fast! I bought this about a month ago and i hit pan today and i don't even use it everyday!
- While it controls oil to start with, i have a feeling that it makes me shinier by the end of the day.

Overall its a good powder, and i will repurchase, but im going to continue looking for something with longer oil control

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LovelyThistle on 11/25/2008 10:06:00 AM more reviews by LovelyThistle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Generally an OK powder, nothing great. I find if I use a sponge to apply it rather than a brush or puff that is blends in better and does not leave any chalky look. For the price I expected a much finer milled pressed powder. This is only an average oil control powder nothing spectacular. I find that Jane's Oil Free pressed powder does much better and is smoother on my skin. Since Jane cosmetics are made by Elizabeth Arden perhaps that is why a drug store powder is such good quality.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* itsgail on 11/21/2008 11:59:00 AM more reviews by itsgail

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Well it's about time I reviewed this product. This is the item which started me off as a MAC head, it's arguably MAC's best product. I asked the mu board ages ago what the best anti-shine powder was, and this got the unanimous vote. So off I went to pick it up, with high expectations. I have tried tons of powders- EL aeromatte (1W Transparent- too orange, and din't help shine at all); EL Double Wear powder (OK, but nothing to get excited about...unlike their fdtn, which is wonderful); Benefit Get Even (too yellow, and chalky looking, very heavy finish); Clinique Superpowder Double (too yellow, and chalky looking, very heavy finish, too soft) plus every drugstore powder going. I am very pale and although not super oily, I don't like a shiny face.

In short, nothing I tried in the past had worked- it was either too chalky, mismatched tone or simply ineffective. Enter MAC Blot stage right: and exceeding my unrealistically high expectations... PERFECTION. It's pale (I use Medium), yet leaves no perceptible trace so you can re-apply endlessley and it never ever ever looks cakey. Not sure how they managed it, it's a genius product. I use it with the 129 - please never use the sponge- and it instantly mattifies and gives a gorgeous finish. Stays matte for a good few hours and convenient to carry about for touchups, as it has a mirror - hurrah! (unlike their blushers).

I love this and have repurchased it and backed it up and recommended it, etc. The only bad thing is it doesn't last long in the compact, this stuff runs out quick so you'll have to re-buy regularly, sadly. Shame it isn't sold as a pan refill. However, with nothing else on the market like it by a long stretch (well not in my experience anyhow!) this is the only choice if you want an effective oil minimising powder. Buy it and never look back!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 manny1996 on 11/20/2008 5:41:00 PM more reviews by manny1996

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I don't know how I managed before this powder. I wear the medium dark and it's the perfect shade for my skin. It wears like a dream and controls oil without making me look at all cakey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Reservechic on 11/15/2008 5:48:00 AM more reviews by Reservechic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have this in the Medium shade. I must say that this product is one of the best oil controlling powders I have ever used! It I have used this product on top of foundation and on top of just moisturizer only. And, either way,it works great!!!

It has no scent, it doesn't clog my pores, and it never leaves my skin feeling sucked free of all moisture (no matter how many times I apply it).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nokomi on 11/6/2008 9:48:00 PM more reviews by Nokomi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This does not cake at ALL and doesn't look powdery. It's the perfect powder.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jlhoward27 on 11/5/2008 12:39:00 PM more reviews by jlhoward27

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my favorite powder, it really helps with shine and doesn't break me out. It also never looks cakey on the skin! It's great stuff.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 emwo12 on 11/5/2008 1:18:00 AM more reviews by emwo12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

The best way i can sum up this product is to tell you that i almost panicked when i thought i lost it tonight. Somehow my blot powder got lost in the shuffle from backpack to purse and i spent like an hour looking for it even though i'm not planning on going anywhere tonight. Don't know how i lived without it before, can't imagine how i got by without it before

Edit: I still love blot powder, but i HATE the compact. I'm on my third one right now. not bc i keep using it up, but bc it keeps shattering. This is something that i want to carry around in my purse for touch ups but its difficult bc it breaks really easily. I put a cotton ball in my current one to try and protect it and so far it hasn't broken but i'm still nervous about tossing it in my purse which is really annoying.

Edit: the cotton ball in the compact totally works. I'm still, months later, using the same one as my last edit and it hasn't shattered, and i leave it in my purse which i carelessly toss around all the time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 crash247 on 10/27/2008 6:43:00 PM more reviews by crash247

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best powder ever!!!! If I could only pick one powder to ever have,this would be it.It controls shine like nothing else I've ever tried before.It never looks cakey or makes your face look powdery.I love this and it's my HG.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anqueetas on 10/27/2008 2:45:00 AM more reviews by anqueetas

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I'm a guy with super oily skin everytime i put myskincare and finish with sunscreen in the morning i look very shiney. So i need to find a powder to set everthing and give me a matte look and for a men not given any coverage because people can tell if you put a powder with coverage on. So im research in here and find MAC blot to be very interesting so i went out and buy it. When i use it it was very good give my face look matte till lunch but my nose get a little shiney at lunch. I know nothing can control my super shiney face all day.If i have time i may retouch mac blot at lunch. I find this powder to be my HG powder for men with shiney skin. But i give it packaging quality 3 because i drop it once about 30 cm. height and the powder was brokeup but still usable a waste and very messy the powder leaked out from the compact and dirty my bag. But if the powder was a little more drop resistant it would be perfect. I would like to buy the loose version i think it would sutable for use in the morning and the press for touch up. I use medium dark thought

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Pressed Powders products