MAC Blot Powder

4.2

1171 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Dimethicone, Silica, Kaolin, Water, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol, Methicone, Coconut Acid, Phenoxyethanol. May Contain: Mica, Iron Oxid lllol


on 1/8/2009 2:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

HG blot powder!!

I used to only use oil blotting papers because I could not stand how 'cakey' powder felt over my oily t-zone! I gave this a try and wow it's amazing!!! Very light weight, virtually colorless ( I use Med Dark for my NC30/35 skin) and blots the oil like a dream!



on 1/8/2009 12:37:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Love this powder. Doesn't build up or turn orangey throughout the day. The Light shade is perfect, just about colorless on my PPP complexion. Has a great lightweight feel. HG powder!


on 1/7/2009 2:45:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I recently bought this, so I can't speak for long term use, but this is what i'm thinking so far.

It does control oil fairly well, I can still get a shiny T-zone if I ran or after about... 5-6 hours, but just another small amount of product and it's gone. It doesn't have ANY coverage, which is what I wanted, it looks unnoticeable on me and isn't cakey or powdery looking. Performance wise- all is good, but the price is a bit steep for a powder, 120 shekls which is like a day and a half on work.
But all in all, it's the best powder I've used and I think I will buy again if needed.

BTW- I just LOVE the slick all black simple packaging <3


on 1/7/2009 2:32:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have *highly* sensitive, rosacea, combination skin. My skin seems to love this powder! I used to use "stay matte" powder from Clinique, but their color selection doesn't go very far into the fair range, so I had to make do with a color that was a bit too dark for me. I love MAC blot in "light". It's nearly white, it is so fair. It doesn't add a lot of color, goes on *very* smoothly (it appears to be dimethicone-based, so has that "primer" smooth quality to it), and isn't as "dry" and "chalky" feeling as the clinique. It also doesn't seem to oxidize like Clinique powders, so my face stays nice and pale, doesn't get darker as the day goes on. I also notice that I don't have to blot the combination areas of my skin as often with it on, so oil-control also appears superior. Overall, I'm very happy with this product, no complaints. I will continue to repurchase.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 1/7/2009 10:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have combination skin which can get quite oily and so face powders are difficult to get right. Blot Powder seems to do what it is supposed to, it stops the shine and it isn't too cakey. Do apply with a brush though as the powder puff doesn't work well. MAC need to sort out the colours though, I bought 'Medium' and it is very pale. A little tip: it also works well as an eyeshadow primer for anyone who gets oily lids : )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/6/2009 1:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is excellent stuff to reduce shine. I love how the blot applies well over my laura mercier tinted moisturizer without changing the color of the tint. It gives my face a nice finished look. It is also okay to apply it after using bronzer/blush since blot is somewhat sheer. The main recommendation I have is to throw away the little sponge it comes with!!! That thing is trash and always rips apart after a couple of weeks. It also isn't the best way to apply the powder since it interferes with my moisturizer/foundation. Definitely, definitely use a powder brush to apply!!!


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This MAC Blot Powder does its job. It is mediocre to me. MAC Blot Powder does take away shine and it holds up well in high humid places (I used to live in Miami) but I'm not impressed with it because there are cheaper pressed powders that do the exact same thing. Use a powder brush to apply this blot powder or else, you will look cakey. The MAC Blot Powder doesn't oxidize on my combination oily skin but I guess it depends on your skin type. I took away one lippie because after I apply the Blot powder, it leaves an unnatural pink tone on my yellow based Asian skintone (MAC NC 25-30, Shiseido O40, Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Light#4 Nude, Covergirl Aquasmooth Buff Beige). The MAC Blot Powder shade I have is Medium Dark (Yeah, these shades run light....if you're around an NC 25-30 like me, you should get the Medium Dark). Due to the high price, I wouldn't buy this product again. I prefer my Milani Pressed Powder in Beige because it has more yellow undertones or the Maybelline Dream Matte Powder.


on 1/3/2009 1:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure how i feel about this product. It does it's job. it's smooth, not ashy not chalky. I use it over my mac studio fix concealor.It's just a blotting powder that does its job.


on 12/31/2008 7:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this product, It's perfect to keep in my bag and blot onto my skin. Then I can go hours without thinking of checking it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/25/2008 4:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Love this product, have been using this for years.Since my skin color is so hard to match, i really dont have a powder in my color .I can wear the blot alone, which works great with my oil skin.Can wear it over my bobbi brown foundation to set, which gives me a flawless face. It use to look a little ashy when i would first get it, but i realize that u have to use a brush,i use a kabuki at first, let it oxidize, and then can use the sponge. I tried select press and studio fix, and it contains talc which always makes me look ashy, so blot powder is the best, dont know what i would do without it.....


Back to Top