Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1046 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 ranger2 on 9/12/2007 1:11:00 PM more reviews by ranger2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I tried this product after reading some good reviews, and I never have problems with breaking out and this product made me break out bad! I tried it a few times, and every time I broke out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jjtexasgirl on 9/7/2007 2:56:00 PM more reviews by jjtexasgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use Bare Escentuals mineral foundations, until I relocated to another area of the country and I suddenly realized it didn't work for me anymore. However, the Mineral Veil is still a favorite of mine. It's some of the finest milled I've ever used and even used on bare, moisturized skin, it's wonderful without leaving a super powdery look like some powders can. Even though I've moved on from Bare Escentuals, I still love the Mineral Veil and have converted some friends, too. Beware, however, I hear they have a new version out called Feather Light or something and it has sparkles in it. Just be aware when you're purchasing. The original Mineral Veil has no sparkles in it at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tramrak on 9/6/2007 10:36:00 PM more reviews by Tramrak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

if you should ever decide to try just one thing from Bare Minerals, this should be it! this powder is amazing in every way. first of all, it is super ultra light as air in texture, and it is SO finely milled that i can even use it to set concealer under my eyes w/o it settling into fine lines. this is unheard of for me, and i'm only 24 so i don't even have any visible fine lines, but any time i put any other kind of powder near the under eye area it looks like i just flashed forward 20 years! since the MV is so light, you can dust it all over your whole face and it doesn't add any kind of powdery looking layer, it just kills shine and sets your makeup and makes you look flawless. when used along w/the Bare Minerals foundation, it takes away the extra shine and really does help you to look softer and somewhat airbrushed. i don't have large pores, so i don't know if it really does help them, but i think it would. i can't say i like the packaging, it's messy and you can't take it ANYwhere w/o all the powder coming up through the sifter and settling in the upper area (and you can't get it back down to the bottom, either!). this should result in the loss of a lippie but i can't do it, the MV is too good to be rated only 4 lippies. a definite must have for every woman's bathroom!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chocodcocoa on 8/29/2007 4:38:00 PM more reviews by chocodcocoa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! It sets my makeup, absorbs oil, gives me a nice matte finish. It evens out my skintone as well on days when I don't feel like wearing foundation. The powder can get a little messy at times, but usually it's not a problem. I love mixing the original mineral veil with a little bit of the feather light mineral veil... that gives me a beautiful glow instead of a matte finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 AndreaLeigh on 8/25/2007 3:36:00 AM more reviews by AndreaLeigh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I like this product, but it makes me itch! I just want to claw my face off after applying. Still, it does set my makeup, keep oil at bay, and lasts all day. I have an oily t-zone and I don't have to repowder during the day after using this. Still, I'd love to find a version that doesn't make me itch.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 winniethemaltese on 8/23/2007 2:43:00 PM more reviews by winniethemaltese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Mineral Veil works very well. I have oily, acne-prone skin and it doesn't make my skin break out. It gives a nice matte finish. Easy application, doesn't feel like its even there!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mascaralove on 8/19/2007 11:08:00 PM more reviews by mascaralove

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Has a cakey finish and is very messy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Oneirix on 8/19/2007 2:41:00 AM more reviews by Oneirix

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This was the makeup I used before I used makeup! Mineral Veil is most definitely is my HG... well I don't really know what to call it. Perfector? I'm absolutely in love with the Bare Minerals Foundation, and the Mineral Veil works like a dream over it (or without it)! It's like having a soft light on you all day. When I'm lazy, I just swipe this stuff over my face and go! It evens out my skin tone and mattifies my shine (although unfortunately not for more than a few hours, but I can't find a single mattifier that works longer than that). Plus it's so light and non-irritating.

I'm very picky about the makeup I apply all over my face because I cannot stand being able to FEEL it at all, and this stuff fits the bill perfectly! However, as with all BE mineral powders, it is NOT good for applying if you are moving in any direction quickly. It gets all over the place and makes you cry. :( Also I think $19 is a wee bit pricey for it, but it DOES last forever, and is perfect for combination skin in my opinion. However, it probably won't mattify if you have very oily skin, and may dry you out if you have dry skin. An addition of SPF would be great to the clear powder, too. Overall, I love the stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jocky80 on 8/14/2007 3:30:00 PM more reviews by Jocky80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I like it better than Youngblood rice setting powder. I have to use this to reduce the shine in BE foundation and as a primer and as a finishing powder. The result i matte, but not as matte as with a talc powder. For oil absorbation an shine control this works! I'm going to start using this with my YB foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stephani99 on 8/10/2007 1:08:00 PM more reviews by stephani99

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the only product from BE that I like and continue to use. It works great as a setting and mattifying powder over any type of foundation, whether mineral or liquid. The only downside is that it can run a bit light so unless you're pale like I am, you risk that whitish-cast. However, they do make this in tinted shades now so everyone should be able to find one that works. Doesn't irritate or itch like the rest of BE products, since there's no bismuth in it. A little goes a long way with a kabuki or MAC 187 brush and I've already repurchased.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products