Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1054 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 dggal on 10/15/2007 8:10:00 PM more reviews by dggal

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't use the BE foundations but really like the mineral veil which I use over other foundation. When I use this as a finishing power, it really helps to set my foundation but more importantly does a great job of making my pores look much smaller and less noticeable (and I have huge pores). This powder does tend to accentuate any dryness or surface flaking on the skin so it's best to make sure you moisturize and use foundation primer beneath. I have oily skin so I use and oil free moisturizer and BE primer which works beautifully. The only thing this powder doesn't do is control oil at all. I haven't noticed any less oiliness using this powder but I do notice my skin looks less smooth and pores bigger when I don't use the mineral veil.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mellimello on 10/14/2007 8:10:00 PM more reviews by mellimello

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I LOVE this stuff. I use it almost every day, even when I don't feel like wearing any foundation. I like how light it feels on my face and how it makes me look glowing. I've gotten my mom, grandma, and pretty much everyone else I know hooked on this. It's just perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Poutiful on 10/12/2007 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Poutiful

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Right now this is my go-to loose powder. I prime my face with Milk of Magnesia, use L'Oreal True Mtach foundation, then finish with Mineral Veil. This combination has actually gotten me "Wow, your skin looks flawless!" compliments for the FIRST time in in my life!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeuplovaa on 10/6/2007 3:37:00 PM more reviews by makeuplovaa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from a friend who's tight with sephora. I loved it so much and first and wanted to keep loving it, but sadly i realized that it made my skin much too sensitive, and therefore, EVEN MORE acne-prone than before. See, i used to use it to absorb excess oil in the morning. (My T-zone). then i noticed a bunch of white/black heads on my nose and whiteheads in between my eyebrows, above my nose. I stopped using the only thing i ever used on my face, mineral veil, and i noticed the breakouts ended. i didn't even want to test it again because it looked so embarassing and red and bumpy, it was hideous. i loved it so much and i can't find anything else to replace it. BareEscentuals broke my heart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gimmeglamour on 10/3/2007 4:17:00 PM more reviews by gimmeglamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. I bought it a few months ago, and still have plenty left. If you use Bare Minerals as your foundation, you definately need to use the Mineral Veil as well, because not only does it set the makeup, and last all day, but it really does give your face a flawless finish, that's very pretty, and will get you plenty of compliments =]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blue_rose47 on 9/21/2007 10:05:00 PM more reviews by blue_rose47

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The overall finish of this powder was acceptable for me, albeit a bit too shimmery under the sun. I have combination skin, but with moisturizer underneath it, it didn't accentuate dry patches, and while it didn't do much to hide my pores, it didn't accentuate them, either. What brings me to dislike it is that it made me break out - I didn't really expect it to, as I'd thought MMU was supposed to be good for skin (oh, the naivete...) I will not repurchase.
EDIT: I'm currently trying this again because, well, I found it lying around and decided to give it one more chance. I'm using it over CG clean makeup (liquid/fragrance-free), and it gives a nice soft finish. I'll see how it fares in the next few weeks. I still won't repurchase because the results don't quite justify the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twinmom1008 on 9/21/2007 10:10:00 AM more reviews by twinmom1008

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product is the key to the beautiful looking finish with BE foundations. Love it, won't be without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IIsujinII on 9/15/2007 8:44:00 PM more reviews by IIsujinII

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i have oily skin and this keeps my face matte almost all day. it used to be that i do my makeup at 7am and by 9am, my face was an oil slick. but with this, im good till like the end of the day practically (unless it's real humid and hot). i wasn't a fan of BE because their foundation made me look so powdery and cakey. but this is great..just be careful not to put too much on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ranger2 on 9/12/2007 1:11:00 PM more reviews by ranger2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I tried this product after reading some good reviews, and I never have problems with breaking out and this product made me break out bad! I tried it a few times, and every time I broke out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jjtexasgirl on 9/7/2007 2:56:00 PM more reviews by jjtexasgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use Bare Escentuals mineral foundations, until I relocated to another area of the country and I suddenly realized it didn't work for me anymore. However, the Mineral Veil is still a favorite of mine. It's some of the finest milled I've ever used and even used on bare, moisturized skin, it's wonderful without leaving a super powdery look like some powders can. Even though I've moved on from Bare Escentuals, I still love the Mineral Veil and have converted some friends, too. Beware, however, I hear they have a new version out called Feather Light or something and it has sparkles in it. Just be aware when you're purchasing. The original Mineral Veil has no sparkles in it at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products