Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1052 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Poutiful on 10/12/2007 3:41:00 PM more reviews by Poutiful

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Right now this is my go-to loose powder. I prime my face with Milk of Magnesia, use L'Oreal True Mtach foundation, then finish with Mineral Veil. This combination has actually gotten me "Wow, your skin looks flawless!" compliments for the FIRST time in in my life!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 makeuplovaa on 10/6/2007 3:37:00 PM more reviews by makeuplovaa

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from a friend who's tight with sephora. I loved it so much and first and wanted to keep loving it, but sadly i realized that it made my skin much too sensitive, and therefore, EVEN MORE acne-prone than before. See, i used to use it to absorb excess oil in the morning. (My T-zone). then i noticed a bunch of white/black heads on my nose and whiteheads in between my eyebrows, above my nose. I stopped using the only thing i ever used on my face, mineral veil, and i noticed the breakouts ended. i didn't even want to test it again because it looked so embarassing and red and bumpy, it was hideous. i loved it so much and i can't find anything else to replace it. BareEscentuals broke my heart.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gimmeglamour on 10/3/2007 4:17:00 PM more reviews by gimmeglamour

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love this product. I bought it a few months ago, and still have plenty left. If you use Bare Minerals as your foundation, you definately need to use the Mineral Veil as well, because not only does it set the makeup, and last all day, but it really does give your face a flawless finish, that's very pretty, and will get you plenty of compliments =]

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 blue_rose47 on 9/21/2007 10:05:00 PM more reviews by blue_rose47

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The overall finish of this powder was acceptable for me, albeit a bit too shimmery under the sun. I have combination skin, but with moisturizer underneath it, it didn't accentuate dry patches, and while it didn't do much to hide my pores, it didn't accentuate them, either. What brings me to dislike it is that it made me break out - I didn't really expect it to, as I'd thought MMU was supposed to be good for skin (oh, the naivete...) I will not repurchase.
EDIT: I'm currently trying this again because, well, I found it lying around and decided to give it one more chance. I'm using it over CG clean makeup (liquid/fragrance-free), and it gives a nice soft finish. I'll see how it fares in the next few weeks. I still won't repurchase because the results don't quite justify the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 twinmom1008 on 9/21/2007 10:10:00 AM more reviews by twinmom1008

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This product is the key to the beautiful looking finish with BE foundations. Love it, won't be without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 IIsujinII on 9/15/2007 8:44:00 PM more reviews by IIsujinII

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i have oily skin and this keeps my face matte almost all day. it used to be that i do my makeup at 7am and by 9am, my face was an oil slick. but with this, im good till like the end of the day practically (unless it's real humid and hot). i wasn't a fan of BE because their foundation made me look so powdery and cakey. but this is great..just be careful not to put too much on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ranger2 on 9/12/2007 1:11:00 PM more reviews by ranger2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I tried this product after reading some good reviews, and I never have problems with breaking out and this product made me break out bad! I tried it a few times, and every time I broke out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jjtexasgirl on 9/7/2007 2:56:00 PM more reviews by jjtexasgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to use Bare Escentuals mineral foundations, until I relocated to another area of the country and I suddenly realized it didn't work for me anymore. However, the Mineral Veil is still a favorite of mine. It's some of the finest milled I've ever used and even used on bare, moisturized skin, it's wonderful without leaving a super powdery look like some powders can. Even though I've moved on from Bare Escentuals, I still love the Mineral Veil and have converted some friends, too. Beware, however, I hear they have a new version out called Feather Light or something and it has sparkles in it. Just be aware when you're purchasing. The original Mineral Veil has no sparkles in it at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tramrak on 9/6/2007 10:36:00 PM more reviews by Tramrak

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

if you should ever decide to try just one thing from Bare Minerals, this should be it! this powder is amazing in every way. first of all, it is super ultra light as air in texture, and it is SO finely milled that i can even use it to set concealer under my eyes w/o it settling into fine lines. this is unheard of for me, and i'm only 24 so i don't even have any visible fine lines, but any time i put any other kind of powder near the under eye area it looks like i just flashed forward 20 years! since the MV is so light, you can dust it all over your whole face and it doesn't add any kind of powdery looking layer, it just kills shine and sets your makeup and makes you look flawless. when used along w/the Bare Minerals foundation, it takes away the extra shine and really does help you to look softer and somewhat airbrushed. i don't have large pores, so i don't know if it really does help them, but i think it would. i can't say i like the packaging, it's messy and you can't take it ANYwhere w/o all the powder coming up through the sifter and settling in the upper area (and you can't get it back down to the bottom, either!). this should result in the loss of a lippie but i can't do it, the MV is too good to be rated only 4 lippies. a definite must have for every woman's bathroom!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chocodcocoa on 8/29/2007 4:38:00 PM more reviews by chocodcocoa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this stuff! It sets my makeup, absorbs oil, gives me a nice matte finish. It evens out my skintone as well on days when I don't feel like wearing foundation. The powder can get a little messy at times, but usually it's not a problem. I love mixing the original mineral veil with a little bit of the feather light mineral veil... that gives me a beautiful glow instead of a matte finish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products