Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5390 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


on 5/25/2003 10:29:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

It's cheap.... I got it free with a coupon, needless to say it does show it's price.... it runs, it smears, it clumps, it's not really great at all.



on 5/24/2003 10:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Rotten, rotten, rotten. I bought this in an airport store, in an act of desperation. Wet, runny, smeary..did nothing for my eyelashes and I had racoon eyes to boot. Bleech.


on 5/22/2003 10:50:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

eh, this is very standard drugstore mascara. I was impressed the first time I used it, but it does clump after just a few uses. I bought this twice in an attempt to save $$, but it's just not worth it to me. My HG is Lancome Flextincils.


on 5/22/2003 6:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Doesn't seem to do much but colour my lashes. They look just the same after I apply this mascara, just a little darker. I don't see what all the fuss was about. I wouldn't buy another one. It's been sat in my make up bag redundant since the beginning of time.


on 5/21/2003 5:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I was SO happy to find that my views on this mascara seem to be the general consensus - I too was sucked into buying it by the rave reviews in magazines and by makeup artists, and had also wondered if they were on Maybelline's payroll. Thanks to everyone for affirming it isn't just me who found this is a terrible, terrible product!


on 5/21/2003 2:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

It flakes. I have this in a waterproof and a regular formula, and they both flake. It does lenghten and curl my lashes, but mostly any mascara will do that for me, I have long lashes without it. Plus unlike Lancome and Dior, I need more than 1 coat of this. Will be sticking with higher end mascaras from now on.


on 5/17/2003 1:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I hate this mascara! It does nothing to my lash except giving me 'panda eyes'.


on 5/16/2003 2:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a staple in just about everyone's collection. Great product at a great price. Makes lashes long, thick and dark without clumping. One of my faves.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

This is just one of those failed mascaras i've been using. Its not even "waterproof" even though it claims to be. Instead, i have smeared mascara at the end of the day. Most mascaras make my lashes look great, only for a short while. So i do not recommend this mascara because it is simply not long lasting. And for Asians, it is so important to have long eye lashes.. This one does its effect only to a certain extent. Maybe something from the Lancome or Chanel range would be better for long-lasting and lengthening effect.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm not going to lie, this isn't the worst mascara in the entire world but it most certainly isn't the best there is. I bought this because of all the raving and because I liked the whole pink tube/green lid concept (Yeah I should know better).
I bought this in black and my mom bought it in dark brown. Anyway it's hard to apply, I generally zigzag my way from the bottom of the lash to the top while applying mascara but with this one I really had to zigzag a lot and it becomes frustrating so you press harder and you end up getting mascara on your eyelids. Frankly I like the packaging but nope I won't buy it again... And to answer one of the people below I have long and full eyelashes to start with and in the end of the day I'm better off without it. Oh well maybe it selects the people it wants to work with...


Back to Top