Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5369 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


on 5/6/2003 5:20:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I don't understand the bad reviews for this. I do buy other mascaras--I don't have a Great Lash bias--but I do return to this mascara often. I prefer Full 'n Soft, but if this is on sale I go ahead and buy it. It doesn't clump or streak.



on 5/6/2003 1:05:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother. As I watched her purchase this mascara for the umpteenth time the other day, it occurred to me that I'd never seen her with anything else. So I asked, "is that the only mascara you've ever used?" and she told me she'd tried another by Almay a few decades ago and and immidietly went back to her Great Lash. now, tell me, how can a product like that be bad?


on 5/6/2003 12:40:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I agree with the other reviewer who thinks Maybelline must be paying people to say this stuff is great. That has to be the explanation because this stuff is crap. It's flakey, takes too many coats to get results, and I feel like I look like a heroine addict after 8 hours of trying to pick the flakes out of my eyes.


on 5/2/2003 1:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great mascara! No lumps, few clumbs, and lasts for hours without smudging! It coats my hard to colour lashes perfectly. This looks very natural. It doesn't add that much volume or curl or anything. (Note: I brush off mascara wand on a tissue and use an eye comb afterwards.) Probably the best mascara I've tried!


on 4/30/2003 7:31:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Contact lens wearers, beware! And non-contact lens wearers, also beware! This mascara smears incredibly! It also runs all over the place when you're wearing glasses as well -- or no eyewear at all! (I do know that Maybelline used to sell a formula in a black tube called Great Lash Pro Vitamin. This formula smeared considerably less. However, I haven't been able to locate the black tube for a couple of years.) I don't have a problem with the wetness or texture of this mascara, but it is also a mystery to me why so many makeup artists adore it. I dare them to actually wear this formula themselves for an entire day -- Instant Goth!! Every other Maybelline mascara I've tried is far superior to this one.


on 4/29/2003 7:51:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have to agree with the previous reviewers - this mascara is pretty bad. I've been reading a lot of good things about it in InStyle over the years, and finally bought waterpoof and regular mascaras in black. The quality is pretty cheap, on top of it it made my eyes so irritated that I had to run out to the drug store at lunch and get eye makeup remover to take this mascara off. I don't really understand why all the magazines rave about Great Lash?????


on 4/29/2003 2:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Ok, I've been holding off on reviewing this for whatever reason but I'll add my 2 cents. This stuff is bad bad bad! It's been the same since the 70's, I guess that should've told me something. Maybelline *must* be paying magazines, celebs, MA's off to say they use this. It's just so horrible. Did NOTHING for my lashes but made them look nasty and clumpy. It's the first mascara I'd describe as 'sticky' and it flakes like crazy. I hate this stuff. Awful Awful Awful. I can practically LOOK at peoples lashes and tell that they've used this, they've got the horrible brittle tarantula clumpy nasty lash look. So sad. ~*Fling!*~ There goes mine into the trash can.


on 4/29/2003 2:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Fine

Eyes: Other

I am very picky with mascara and I just don't like any drugstore mascaras, but this is the worst of Maybelline mascara and they are all bad. If this was the last mascara on earth I would go without. AND I looove mascara so thats saying a lot.


on 4/29/2003 1:07:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Also heard the hype and eventually got it in the mail for free!

Still -- hated it.

Clumpy, gloppy and messy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I was so relieved to read that I was not the only one who hates this mascara! We've all been brainwashed to believe this is the best drugstore quality mascara on the market. Not so! It's clumpy and looks gross. I've tried it more than once, and each time I remember why I tossed the last tube! If you can still find it, Maybelline's Lash By Lash is way better!


Back to Top