Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5288 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* hitiger on 5/6/2003 1:05:00 PM more reviews by hitiger

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I am writing this review on behalf of my mother. As I watched her purchase this mascara for the umpteenth time the other day, it occurred to me that I'd never seen her with anything else. So I asked, "is that the only mascara you've ever used?" and she told me she'd tried another by Almay a few decades ago and and immidietly went back to her Great Lash. now, tell me, how can a product like that be bad?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jiltedjbird on 5/6/2003 12:40:00 PM more reviews by jiltedjbird

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I agree with the other reviewer who thinks Maybelline must be paying people to say this stuff is great. That has to be the explanation because this stuff is crap. It's flakey, takes too many coats to get results, and I feel like I look like a heroine addict after 8 hours of trying to pick the flakes out of my eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 smarwright on 5/2/2003 1:42:00 PM more reviews by smarwright

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great mascara! No lumps, few clumbs, and lasts for hours without smudging! It coats my hard to colour lashes perfectly. This looks very natural. It doesn't add that much volume or curl or anything. (Note: I brush off mascara wand on a tissue and use an eye comb afterwards.) Probably the best mascara I've tried!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kathe on 4/30/2003 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Kathe

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Contact lens wearers, beware! And non-contact lens wearers, also beware! This mascara smears incredibly! It also runs all over the place when you're wearing glasses as well -- or no eyewear at all! (I do know that Maybelline used to sell a formula in a black tube called Great Lash Pro Vitamin. This formula smeared considerably less. However, I haven't been able to locate the black tube for a couple of years.) I don't have a problem with the wetness or texture of this mascara, but it is also a mystery to me why so many makeup artists adore it. I dare them to actually wear this formula themselves for an entire day -- Instant Goth!! Every other Maybelline mascara I've tried is far superior to this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 maryasha on 4/29/2003 7:51:00 PM more reviews by maryasha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have to agree with the previous reviewers - this mascara is pretty bad. I've been reading a lot of good things about it in InStyle over the years, and finally bought waterpoof and regular mascaras in black. The quality is pretty cheap, on top of it it made my eyes so irritated that I had to run out to the drug store at lunch and get eye makeup remover to take this mascara off. I don't really understand why all the magazines rave about Great Lash?????

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shells on 4/29/2003 2:57:00 AM more reviews by Shells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Ok, I've been holding off on reviewing this for whatever reason but I'll add my 2 cents. This stuff is bad bad bad! It's been the same since the 70's, I guess that should've told me something. Maybelline *must* be paying magazines, celebs, MA's off to say they use this. It's just so horrible. Did NOTHING for my lashes but made them look nasty and clumpy. It's the first mascara I'd describe as 'sticky' and it flakes like crazy. I hate this stuff. Awful Awful Awful. I can practically LOOK at peoples lashes and tell that they've used this, they've got the horrible brittle tarantula clumpy nasty lash look. So sad. ~*Fling!*~ There goes mine into the trash can.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 DJCee on 4/29/2003 2:05:00 AM more reviews by DJCee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Fine   Eyes: Other    

I am very picky with mascara and I just don't like any drugstore mascaras, but this is the worst of Maybelline mascara and they are all bad. If this was the last mascara on earth I would go without. AND I looove mascara so thats saying a lot.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Lislaz on 4/29/2003 1:07:00 AM more reviews by Lislaz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Also heard the hype and eventually got it in the mail for free!

Still -- hated it.

Clumpy, gloppy and messy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tombraider1970 on 4/29/2003 12:58:00 AM more reviews by Tombraider1970

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was so relieved to read that I was not the only one who hates this mascara! We've all been brainwashed to believe this is the best drugstore quality mascara on the market. Not so! It's clumpy and looks gross. I've tried it more than once, and each time I remember why I tossed the last tube! If you can still find it, Maybelline's Lash By Lash is way better!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 krampus on 4/29/2003 12:17:00 AM more reviews by krampus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this mascara years ago and I hated it. But I decided to give it another try, because I can't stand all of those fibre-y mascaras that flake all over the place. This is a really liquid sort of mascara, and it works best with two coats. I agree that it is not the most water-resistant mascara in the world, but at least I'm not always picking those annoying gobs off the tips of my lashes anymore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products