Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5271 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chopstix888 on 4/23/2003 7:55:00 PM more reviews by chopstix888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

didn't do anything for my lashes. for drugstore brands , i will stick with l'oreal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GertGrace on 4/23/2003 7:05:00 PM more reviews by GertGrace

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I was in a pinch and needed eye makeup remover STAT and RiteAid had a special-buy the remover and get the highly publicized and lauded mascara for free. How could I pass it up? After having slimy, gooey, spikey, and ridiculously mangled eyelashes I figured it was just me. But it appears I'm not the only one. How on EARTH can ANYONE, least of all professional makeup artists recommend this??? Sure, it's inexpensive, but spend a few more bucks for a product that actually performs. And, I might just add that the packaging is embarassingly 1980's-and not in a good retro 80's style either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 candicewails on 4/23/2003 2:36:00 PM more reviews by candicewails

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Over-rated. Just because it's the best-selling mascara doesn't mean it's the best. I thought it didn't do anything much at all. Sure it's cheap. But other formulations like Lash Discovery are a whole lot more worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smashing on 4/22/2003 12:58:00 AM more reviews by smashing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have used this a couple times, but I will now forever abandon it. It is so sticky that it makes the lashes totally clumpy. Don't even think of touching it up a couple hours after initial application! You'll look spidery. It's way beyond me why this is always a "favourite."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ouisch on 4/21/2003 7:50:00 PM more reviews by ouisch

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the wettest, non-seperating, unlayerable mascara ever. I cannot fathom why it's always recommended as an artist's favourite. I'm a MA and wouldn't look twice at it, even for the price. No thanks.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 iamkiwi on 4/19/2003 6:04:00 PM more reviews by iamkiwi

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara is okay for everyday use. It's cheap, and it looks good. I got the waterproof kind and it makes my lashes little brittle after a while. All in all, I would use it if there is nothing else around. Otherwise spend the extra money and get something better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 funkykitty on 4/18/2003 1:28:00 PM more reviews by funkykitty

Age: Unknown   Skin: Other   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Violet    

I am so sick of this being InStyle's best of beauty buys! Every year. Sure its ok to use if you are a model and will be in the stuidio for a few hours with a makeup artist touching up your face every 5 minutes. But in the real world? Yes it will give you full, great lashes! But the moment you get your ass outside you will look like Courtney Love on drugs...huge racoon eyes and major smears. Cheap yes, it just sucks and I just cannot stand when magazines always rave about this product, have a CONSUMER test this out, not a make up artist and models, they are not a real test. Have a person work a 12 hour work day and see how it holds up. It doesn't. Run when you see this. RUN!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 creme on 4/18/2003 3:10:00 AM more reviews by creme

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this mascara it really is a good buy. I was going to buy the Urban Decay Sky Scraper but was put off by the price. The mascara looks amazing it easily glids on and I love the packaging. It doesn't leave any clumps. I would totlly buy it again!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Blue_Genie on 4/17/2003 2:01:00 AM more reviews by Blue_Genie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This mascara takes long to dry, will definitely smudge at the end of the day, and clumps quite a bit. The wet formulation will uncurl your efforts with the lash curler.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Houndgal on 4/15/2003 3:36:00 AM more reviews by Houndgal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I also can't understand why magazines like to recommend this product. I buy it only because it's cheap, that's all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products