Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5339 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


on 7/4/2003 1:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I read great reviews of this mascara in various magazines, so I went out and bought myself a tube of the black. Sticky, clumpy lashes, and the mascara smeared after only a few hours. A cheap product, and it shows only too well...mostly down my cheeks.



on 7/4/2003 1:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

To add my own redundant remarks about this utterly horrid mascara... I hated it. It was dry, flakey and brittle, but kind of tacky at the same time. It was so gross to have it on my lashes. It felt like gooey swamp water with Sahara sand mixed in it. It was clumpy, it smudged big time, and it looked slutty. I've obviously been on a different planet b/c I've only heard this hyped up a couple of times, but then I'm not a faithful mag reader, either. Next time you want to look like a crack whore, practically clawing at your lashes because they feel so horrible, this is the buy for you. I only wish it were possible to give zero lippies for a product! This one would be one of the few that should not even be rated! I think that some chemist should be drawn and quartered for creating such a CRAPPY mascara.


on 7/2/2003 11:05:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I am amazed at all the positive press this mascara gets. Maybe it's nostalgia for a time when this mascara might have been the best of a poor bunch to chose from, but these days you can do FAR better than this. It clumps very badly (imagine all of your lashes clumped into one big lash -- not what I was going for), smudges, and flakes. It's just plain bad. I do think you get a better result if you wipe the wand off, but I'm too busy to be bothered with that on a daily basis. Thumbs waaaaay down.


on 7/2/2003 4:13:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

It's not great, but it's not awful.. it doesn't really do anything special, but color your lashes. It clumps really bad with me. Not to mention it dries out really fast, so you have to keep buying more and more of it. I wouldn't buy it again, because I don't think it does anything too great to my eyelashes.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I know this is supposed to be one of the best mascaras around but everytime I give in and try it, I just end up giving it to my sister or it just dries out as I am not impressed. I consider this an standard mascara, inexpensive and good if you don't have anything else to use.


on 6/29/2003 2:42:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Other

I first read that naomi watts used this mascara so I thought I 'd try it. and what a surprise i got! the stuff comes on and goes off really easilly and you really do end up with a "Great Lash(es)"


on 6/28/2003 1:36:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I LOVE this mascara. I have long, thick lashes naturally so I cannot/do not use thickening or lengthening mascaras--they clump on me. This mascara is super cheap, and gives great definition without clumping or looking fake. Get the curved brush.


on 6/26/2003 6:52:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

i occasionally try the latest rage in mascara (most recently L'Oreal Double Extend), and yet i keep coming back to the good ol' Pink & Green!

i use the basic, non-waterproof formual, the "original", if you will. always in Black (Very Black or Blackest Black).

i never have problems with clumpiness, dry lashes, flakes, or any other common mascara woes. for those who DO have those problems with this or any other mascara, i recommend you try this trick: fold a piece of tissue paper loosely around the base of the wand, and quickly pull the wand through the tissue to wipe off excess (if you hold the tissue firmly but loosely and swipe the wand quickly, you won't get tissue stuck to the brush).

i would almost bet that people who have trouble with mascara are probably not wiping off excess product, pumping the wand (that puts air into the tube and dries out the mascara), and/or using it after it's too old. oh, and technique is everything. i think mascara is the most difficult makeup product to learn to use correctly.

anyway, for those of you who hated this product, it just means there's more for me! :)


on 6/26/2003 4:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought the "curved brush" version of this, and was pretty dissapointed after hearing so much hype about it. It didn't do anything fabulous to my lashes, just extended them a bit. Unlike other reviewers, though, it was not at all clumpy or goopy for me. Just wasn't anything special.


on 6/25/2003 11:16:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Um, this is absolute crap. It does the opposite of everything it claimed it would do. I got this in a swap so I'm not upset about spending money on it. :) Please do not get this!


Popular Mascaras


Double Fix
133 Reviews
Back to Top