Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5238 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Flinta3 on 3/11/2003 6:45:00 PM more reviews by Flinta3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

i bought this like 3 times, to make sure i didnt just get a BAD tube, i guess they all are runny, wet, and the brush is horrible, it made my lashes look like i had none! they all got stuck together and ran to hide......shame, since all other maybelline mascaras are so great!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ErinK on 3/11/2003 1:23:00 PM more reviews by ErinK

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I too never understood the hype about this. Too wet and messy and builds no length or volume. My lashes stuck together when I used this. Hate it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 catrpillrgirl on 3/11/2003 2:02:00 AM more reviews by catrpillrgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I don't understand why this is voted "Best" in so many magazines..I get some every so often because I figure that I must be doing something wrong, since so many people claim to love it. Nope..it's always the same for me, a flaking, clumpy mess..the clumpiest. I won't buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Viesha on 3/10/2003 9:14:00 PM more reviews by Viesha

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this product because of the rave reviews in magazines. I didn't expect it to be waterproof because I don't use waterproof, but what I got was a runny mess before the end of the day. Fortunately, one of my friends swears by it, so it went to her.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sexysusie8 on 3/9/2003 7:38:00 AM more reviews by sexysusie8

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I like to try different mascaras to try the latest products. Ive tryed so many different brands but i find thismascara works well and lasts for a long time. It is quite thick tho and can go clumpy if I put too much on. I would recommend tht you use a lash comb directly after applying a coat of the maybeline mascara to seperate ur lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JLackey88 on 3/8/2003 2:41:00 AM more reviews by JLackey88

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I must have a thing FOR Maybelline mascara because I use Great Lash and Full and Soft and LOVE LOVE LOVE them both.

I like the boring basic packaging because it is "no gimmicky trendy up to date package ... just a GREAT LASH,"

My mom used this stuff for years so this was naturally my "first" mascara ever and that was about 7 years ago ... I have tried many others that I like also, but this is the one that I always go back to ... love that you can layer it ... or wear it with one coat. Depending on the look you are going for! All in all I believe that Great Lash lives up to its hype.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theluscioushellcat on 3/8/2003 12:23:00 AM more reviews by theluscioushellcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

How in the world people "swear by" Great Lash and it winds up in InStyle year after year, I'll never understand. If you want flakey, clumpy, itchy, fake looking nasty mess on your eyelashes -this is your product. Run, don't walk to the L'Oreal counter and get one of their formulations. Voluminous, Lash Intensifique or FeatherLash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KristenL on 3/7/2003 9:43:00 PM more reviews by KristenL

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This mascara did absolutely nothing for my lashes, except weigh them down. Oh, and it did separate them...but so much so that they had absolutely no volume. I have NO clue why this is the "make up artists' staple" in their bags...mine went straight to the trash bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spazgirl on 3/6/2003 9:04:00 PM more reviews by spazgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this mascara. It's too thin and the wand is clunky. I tried to give mine away at the office and it was very hard to do. No one wanted it. I think it got thrown out. I don't understand why it always comes up as a top favorite in all those beauty polls. Yech.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kjfisher on 3/3/2003 9:34:00 AM more reviews by kjfisher

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I think if you are having clumping problems with any mascara you have to make sure the brush is not overly coated before using. It surprises me that this is the complaint about Great Lash, because it's the only one that DOESN'T flake and over-clump for me. I use non-waterproof, maybe that's it. Anyway... I think it's a great everyday mascara, lasts forever (actually better after the first week, less product on the brush). I've tried all the high-priced models and nothing to me is any better (most are worse). It's a good thing that it stays wet and never gets stiff or hard, because then you can go over it with the brush and separate the lashes for a very nice, natural effect. I often sleep in it, and I still don't smudge or get raccoon eyes! It's funny that so many people have different reactions to things, huh?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products