Ponds • Deep Cleanser Cold Cream • Cleansers

rated 4.1(1211 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 sherbyham on 8/27/2010 12:12:00 PM more reviews by sherbyham

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

After reading so many great reviews, I was all excited to try this out and was all ready to like it. However, I found the cream too heavy. The residual film left by the cleanser while moisturising, made my face rather itchy and clogged my pores. Am afraid I won't be joining the legion of fans for this cream. [Update: I used the cream on my eczema areas (not face) and it worked really well. My eczema has soothed and cracked/itched a lot less. I'm going to repurchase it as a cleanser for my eczema.]

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* untinnu on 8/26/2010 3:31:00 PM more reviews by untinnu

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Removes make up perfectly (although I wear only concealer and powder).
Broke me out after a few days of use. On my forehead, there were white heads and small red bumps.
Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ladydayholiday on 8/24/2010 12:37:00 PM more reviews by ladydayholiday

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Edit: I remove the mineral oil reside with either a facial cleanser or with baby wipes each time after I use it, and most people will need to do this too!

I'm acne prone and this hasn't caused me any problems so far. In fact, I love the fact that it works so well at removing EVERY SPECK of my foundation and bronzer/blush/eye makeup off of my face, neck and jawline way better than water and soap cleaners do. It gets rid of the sebum oil really well, which most of the time is what causes me to break out anyway. I'm not in love with the scent, but I've read that the cucumber scented cream doesn't do as good of a job as this does. This makes coming home and taking off my makeup feel like less of a chore and more like pampering.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jmberry on 8/21/2010 9:40:00 PM more reviews by Jmberry

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great oil based cleanser for makeup removal. It removes absolutely everything and left my skin very soft and supple. But it broke me out very quickly. I would be cautious if you are acne prone. It also has a very strong rose scent, which I didn't mind but some might. Such a lovely classic product. If it hadn't broke me out I would have kept using it gladly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gabiinchicago on 8/17/2010 1:53:00 PM more reviews by gabiinchicago

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I don't wear MU or SS that requires oil removal very often, but I've found this tolerable when I do, and it doesn't make me break out. I think it would irritate my skin if I used it daily. I don't like the scent, and I hate the tub. I've read that olive oil is just as good, but I haven't tried it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 darly314 on 8/15/2010 12:10:00 PM more reviews by darly314

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I find the Merle Norman cleansing cream much, much better. It is fairly expensive buts lasts longer enough to make the price of a jar not much more than Ponds. It removes every trace of makeup, has never irritated by skin or eyes, and leaves my skin lightly moisturized. Ponds may work for some people but it took too applications for me to get my makeup off. The Merle Norman is noticeably thicker.

I wear makeup, including foundation, 4 to 5 days a week for work (I'm an attorney), though I do not wear very heavy eyeshadow or any mascara, I do wear concealer, lightly applied foundation, blush, eyebrow color (again Merle Norman), eyeshadow, and lipstick. The cold cream and eyebrow makeup are the only two I only buy from Merle Norman. Their blush, lipstick & eyeshadow are somewhat expensive, and I find RawMinerals a better foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mickey5252 on 8/13/2010 3:49:00 AM more reviews by mickey5252

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this as a makeup remover for about a month and it does remove my makeup, but I'm not sure what else I was suppose to expect from this product.... (at least no break outs)

The only reason why I've decided to give this a try was because I've recently read an article about Kelly Minogue saying that her wrinkle-free skin is down to using Pond's Cold Cream, and if you are interested, here's the path for the article:

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/femail/article-1281176/Kylie-Minogue-Ponds-Cold-Cream-keeps-popstar-young.html

I know that I'm being shallow to be sucked in by celebrities claims, but come on, this is very affordable (alot cheaper than what I've been using), although I didn't find it devastating, I've got nothing to complain and I think I'll keep on using it mainly because is cheap and it does remove my makeup without irritating my skin.

Please note that I always wash my face with a foam cleanser after I remove my makeup because I find this product greasy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lynsilulu on 8/13/2010 1:01:00 AM more reviews by lynsilulu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So at first i was skeptical about using this because it is so creamy/oily and i have combo acne prone skin. however!!! wow it takes off all my makeup easily, with no irritation and my break outs have decreased dramatically. sometimes its all i use at night. Just massage on gently all over face and eyes and wipe off with a warm cloth. My skin feels softer and smoother...love it. (and this is coming from a ex La Mer devotee)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 emilyrigby on 8/11/2010 1:41:00 AM more reviews by emilyrigby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My first experience with this was when I was little, maybe five or six...my mom used it, and she slathered it all over my face to remove my Halloween makeup. Ten years later, I was looking for a makeup remover of my own, and she pulled this off the store shelf and handed it to me. I've tried other makeup removers, but I just keep coming back to this. Nothing works better (and it has never irritated my eyes, not even when I've had contacts in). I generally only use it for my eye makeup, but if I have heavy foundation on, I'll use it for that, too. A little goes a long way with this stuff. I use maybe 5 dabs on the tip of my index finger to remove all of my eye makeup, and a thin layer is all you need for your entire face. It's no wonder that people have been using it for centuries.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jellybean9812 on 8/10/2010 2:10:00 PM more reviews by jellybean9812

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really good cleanser. It removes all makeup on my face along with all the dirt and stuff. It leaves my face feeling really soft and kind of oily (which I was fine with, since I have really dry skin). However, within a week or so, I started breaking out. Now, I'm one of those lucky people who almost NEVER get acne. So when I had five zits on my face, I kind of freaked. Now I just use it to get rid of my eye makeup now, since I'm too scared of breaking out again. Wouldn't repurchase.
.
**EDIT: I found a way to not waste this stuff! If you put it on, and then follow up with another oil-free cleanser, it will cleanse, moisturize, and remove makeup from your skin, AND not cause breakouts! Just make sure you cleanse with the other moisturizer enough so your face doesn't feel greasy, just soft. (:

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Cleansers products