Ponds Deep Cleanser Cold Cream

4.0

1244 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil, Aqua, Ceresin, Beeswax, Triethanolamine, Behenic Acid, Fragrance, Ceteth-20, Cetyl Alcohol, Carbomer, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylparaben.


on 10/27/2010 11:13:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm using cvs cold cream now. This is not the ponds I know and love. This was my all purpose, go-to cleanser ever since I started wearing makeup almost 30 years ago. It feels and smells different now. Usually I stock up on sale and after a year and a half later I tapped out. Bought a big tub a week ago and with a sense of sadness I feel I must move on. I like to deep clean once a week and as usual, I wiped off with tissue and massaged some on. Gave me clogged pores because it did not rinse clean after I steamed my face with a warm towel. I never used a separate cleanser with this and maybe I should have. It certainly got everything off but the whole purpose of using this for me is the leave on moisture and washing it off completely with another cleanser defeats the purpose. The old Ponds was gentle, incredibly moisturizing and never ever gave me clogged pores. This did not leave me with a healthy glow because it did not moisturize sufficiently enough for my dry dry skin. Oh, why, why did you have to go change?

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 10/27/2010 2:15:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I switched to this product to remove my makeup when I was going though a phrase of dry skin. It works ok, but I think it didn't quite remove my very stubborn Shiseido sunscreen so I switched back to baby oil for makeup removal in the end. Also, I think the product wasen't quite lasting, I got it in the smaller jar of 3.5OZ/ 99g, but it seem to run out pretty quickly. I can't remember how long I used it for, but it mustn't have been more than a couple of weeks and now there's only 1/4 or less than that left. As to the concerns with regards to hygiene due to the pot design, I recommend using Q-tips/ cotton swabs to get the product out without having to dip your fingers in.




Update- I did come back to this product and alternate it with baby oil to remove makeup. It does remove Shiseido sunscreen after all. I have decided to up it from 3 to 4 lippies, and yes, I re-purchased in the large sized tub.


Would I re-purchase?


Yes, I think I actually would should I have another bout of skin dryness as it is a luxurious treat to feel the cream on dry skin.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use the cold cream as my first step to removing makeup. I dip a few cotton pads into the jar and smooth it over a wet face and rub it in. I wash it off with warm water and cetaphil then use EVOO or another pure cold pressed oil to remove any other makeup and then rince with cetaphil and warm water again.


This is a thick white cream with a pleasant fragrance (even though I prefer fragrance free). I'm not a fan of the packaging, the jar makes it impractical and unhygienic to use.


It removes the majority of your makeup if you use the cold cream twice and follow with a cleanser twice. It leaves you face feeling moisturised.


I will not be repurchasing this because I find natural oils are more effective at removing makeup and am more comfortable with the ingredients.



on 10/24/2010 10:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Did remove my makeup, but my skin never really felt clean. I would not repurchase..


on 10/24/2010 9:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Works SO well, but it irritates my skin! It has to be the parfume, (which, by the way, smells awful. Much, much too strong.) My skin itches like no other, and it's been two days I've used this. Major bummer.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2010 6:05:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am 18 with combo acne prone and sensitive skin and this is the only stuff I let touch my face. You might think using a mineral oil products is counterproductive, but there is no efidence supporting peoples claims of mineral oil clogging pores. It IS HOWEVER proven to be non-acnegenic. Please understand any skincare item has the potential to be pore clogging. It just depends on the person.

Ever since I started using this product my skin has healed, become restored, less red, and perfectly balanced. I have acne that is slowly but surely going away (cystic acne takes a loooong time) I havent gotten any new breakouts wince using this and going on birth control. MY blackheads are gone and my face is soft and glows. While I would love for my scars to fade more rapidly my skin is DEFINTELY vastly improved.

This is a tried and true product people. There is a reason that this stuff has been around more than 100 years and its because it WORKS!

In my routine I massage it in for a about five minutes and buff it off with a warm washcloth. The remaining layer of product stays on your skin and moisturizes it...reducing your need for a seperate moisturizer.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2010 6:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am part of the minority. Yes, this product does live up to its reputation as far as it's makeup removing capabilities are concerned. With a full face of makeup, no matter how much I have on- it removes every little bit off down to the last speck. I know this for sure because I use a glycolic toner to treat my acne- normally when I swipe it over my face, trace amounts of makeup show up on the pad. However, when I use Pond's cold cream, nothing appears on the pad. It is certainly efficient. However, this product loses points due to the irritating parfum ingredient present in it (I could not find the fragrance free version anywhere). When I use this product my skin is left beat red, my acne inflamed, and my eyes sting so badly that I can feel my eyes burning for hours through the night. Considering the product is marketed as a- gentle for all skin type makeup remover- I feel it does not live up to this huge claim.


I am surprised I had such an unhappy reaction to the product considering it's stellar reviews. Many people claimed it even made their acne go away (I suspect that those people suffered mainly from cosmetic acne, not hormonal). In short here's my breakdown:

PROS: (1) removes all traces of makeup. (2) leaves skin feeling soft and smooth to the touch, even the next day when you wake up.
CONS: (1) irritated skin. (2) clogged pores. (3) inflamed acne. (4) badly irritated eyes, no amount of eye drops could sooth them.


Judging by the reviews, this product is either a real hit or a bad miss. I suppose this product is good for most, but for those who truly have very sensitive acne prone skin- approach with caution. Otherwise, if you generally have normal to dry skin, I could see why you would easily fall in love with it.
Happy Shopping

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2010 5:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE Pond's Cold Cream!! Since I have started using this my skin has cleared up. It really breaks down and removes all of my makeup while leaving my skin soft.


on 10/20/2010 8:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I use this to take all my eye make up off. It works fantastic. My eyes don't sting at all, it's super gentle and effective.


on 10/19/2010 12:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Cold cream is a throwback for me - I remember my mother and grandmothers slathering their faces with it at night. It was their only cleansing/moisturizing ritual - very simple. It gets off my makeup and leaves my skin soft, not greasy. I wipe it off with a warm, soft, wet cloth (a clean one each time).
EDIT: I've been using it for a few weeks now and my skin has never been softer. It really feels moist down to the deeper tissue. The only negative for me is that you have to use so much of it (2-3 scoops per use), so even though a jar is cheap ($6), one needs to buy it a lot more often than a regular cleanser - and it's not great for days when you're really oily and need more cleansing.


Back to Top