Ponds Deep Cleanser Cold Cream

4.1

1235 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil, Aqua, Ceresin, Beeswax, Triethanolamine, Behenic Acid, Fragrance, Ceteth-20, Cetyl Alcohol, Carbomer, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylparaben.


on 10/19/2010 12:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Cold cream is a throwback for me - I remember my mother and grandmothers slathering their faces with it at night. It was their only cleansing/moisturizing ritual - very simple. It gets off my makeup and leaves my skin soft, not greasy. I wipe it off with a warm, soft, wet cloth (a clean one each time).
EDIT: I've been using it for a few weeks now and my skin has never been softer. It really feels moist down to the deeper tissue. The only negative for me is that you have to use so much of it (2-3 scoops per use), so even though a jar is cheap ($6), one needs to buy it a lot more often than a regular cleanser - and it's not great for days when you're really oily and need more cleansing.



on 10/18/2010 11:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is just great! Unlike most you guys, i dont have a problem with the jar. I use a q-tip, dip it in and then apply w/ the qtip on my eye lids, lash lines ect., rub it in w/ qtip and then wipe it off with a napkin. ALL my makeup comes off, even the waterproof stubborn forever lasting eye makeup. This stuff is scented but its not over bearing at all, i HATE scented stuff, but i can stand this. I actually forgot this stuff was scented until i read someones review and had to get my jar and smell it. ha, this stuff is my HG. and i dont have hg's. =]


on 10/15/2010 2:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the original Ponds Cold Cream - the classic cool.
I LOVE THIS. It removes everything, since it IS oil based, and it is very moisturizing. Originally, I would use the tissue off method: apply on my face liberally, use tissue to remove (but only one side of the tissue per small section of my face. never rub one tissue all over.) then repeat.
But now I prefer a different, less greasy method: wash my face with normal make up removing face wash, then apply Ponds and remove it with a warm/wet wash cloth. Or the Ponds first and face wash second.


on 10/12/2010 9:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this everyday to clean my face when I wear makeup. It takes everything off and leaves my skin very soft. It's helped my skin get it's natural moisture back while gently yet effectively!


on 10/5/2010 4:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

it doesn't removes my water proof make-up that much..
and this has a strong fragrance and is not mild to my skin.
i prefer Albolene cleanser to this one. or Mac cleansing oil is much better


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Yes, I hate the shape of the jar too. It's hard to get every bit out when the shape of the jar curves under the jar opening (does that make sense?).


Here's how I use this product: I scoop some out with a cotton pad and rub it all over my face until it's oily. I wipe my face with a new cotton pad until all my make up is off, sometimes I need to use two cotton pads for this process. My face is still oily at this stage and I smooth some St. Ives Apricot Scrub on my face (maybe half a teaspoon of scrub, maybe less). I gently rub it around my face avoiding my eyes. After that, I lather some Pears soap (or Dove sensitive soap if my skin is dry) in my hands and apply the foam to my face. I wash this all off with warm water.


I have tried the warm wash cloth method and I find that it doesn't clean the Ponds off my face as effectively as when I combine Ponds with St. Ives. Since I used to combine St. Ives with Sorbolene, Ponds works just as well (maybe it's a bit thicker... and the jar was cheaper).


I have combination-sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2010 12:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Cant comment on how well it removes makeup, i only wear light eye makeup . I tried this for 2 days and my face felt way to greasy. after using this , and my face was a bit red after using it.


on 9/26/2010 6:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I just started using this to remove my make up. I have acne prone oily skin I use benzoyl peroxide, AHA and retionl at night, all for my acne and for anti wrinkle/aging efforts. I must use the BP regularly and remove make up or I will break out badly. So, needless to say my face can become very dry and irritated, I do use an Olay moisturizer during the day to put back some of that moisture and get sun protection. I had to discontinue using Alpha Hydrox because it was just too irritating for me because of the BP I assume, and I needed something to remove my Colorstay foundation and waterproof eye make up. I read reviews about this product and thought I should give it a try. So far I am happy with the results. I can imagine if you didn't take it off correctly that the skin would become very oily and greasy, but I tissue it all off using a clean side of the tissue for EVERY wipe, blot with a wet wash cloth and then us my BP and Retinol before bed. It is worked great, my skin isn't as irritated as it used to be. So far when I wake up my skin feels soft and smooth, I will continue to use and if I start to break out because of it I will discontinue and edit my review.
10/04/10 EDIT: Ok I love this stuff now. Takes off my waterproof make up and no break outs. No irritation. Wonderful product for me and my new HG make up remover.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2010 11:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is not the Ponds Cold Cream I know and love!! They have reformulated from their simple 6 ingredient formula and added more chemicals. I am heartbroken. :( Both of my grandmothers used this product for years, and their skin still glowed, with barely any wrinkles as they aged.

I recommend, if you are looking for the cold cream your grandmother used to use, at buying the CVS brand- it has the same ingredients, or their is also a cold cream you can buy off of a website called wonderlabs.com that has the old formulation as well.

I am SO disappointed with this change, and if you call to complain they act dumb, and say they have not changed it in any way. As if their customers cannot read the back of a tub.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2010 6:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have combo (oily t-zone, dry cheeks), acne-prone skin, so I was previously using an oil-free cleanser (Clean & Clear Sensitive Foaming Cleanser) as well as prescription acne antibiotics and treatments. Recently, my skin was starting to burn after I cleansed (felt like a chemical burn), so I wanted to try a less-drying cleanser. My mom and grandma always used cold cream, so I decided on Ponds Deep Cleanser Cold cream, and hoped it wouldn't break me out. To my surprise, not only did it calm my skin (no more burn feeling), but my acne has also cleared up and I'm not using the prescription acne stuff anymore, either! (I still get one or two pimples a month, but that's down from one or two a day before Ponds!) I also don't have to use a moisturizer (which now I realize I was using before to counteract where all the other products were overdrying my skin. This stuff also removes my makeup (Colorstay foundation and waterproof mascara) like nobody's business! I massage the cream directly onto my face and then use a warm washcloth to wipe away the makeup and residue. I took one lippy of because I don't like the overpowering scent, and the jar is less than ideal, but both are tolerable. I will definitely repurchase this!

Edit: I stopped using this because of all the chemicals in it and have gone to using the Oil Cleansing Method (a blend of castor and safflower oils) instead, and I have had such amazing results that I will never use a commercial cleanser again.


Back to Top