Ponds Deep Cleanser Cold Cream

4.1

1228 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil, Aqua, Ceresin, Beeswax, Triethanolamine, Behenic Acid, Fragrance, Ceteth-20, Cetyl Alcohol, Carbomer, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylparaben.


on 9/26/2010 6:26:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I just started using this to remove my make up. I have acne prone oily skin I use benzoyl peroxide, AHA and retionl at night, all for my acne and for anti wrinkle/aging efforts. I must use the BP regularly and remove make up or I will break out badly. So, needless to say my face can become very dry and irritated, I do use an Olay moisturizer during the day to put back some of that moisture and get sun protection. I had to discontinue using Alpha Hydrox because it was just too irritating for me because of the BP I assume, and I needed something to remove my Colorstay foundation and waterproof eye make up. I read reviews about this product and thought I should give it a try. So far I am happy with the results. I can imagine if you didn't take it off correctly that the skin would become very oily and greasy, but I tissue it all off using a clean side of the tissue for EVERY wipe, blot with a wet wash cloth and then us my BP and Retinol before bed. It is worked great, my skin isn't as irritated as it used to be. So far when I wake up my skin feels soft and smooth, I will continue to use and if I start to break out because of it I will discontinue and edit my review.
10/04/10 EDIT: Ok I love this stuff now. Takes off my waterproof make up and no break outs. No irritation. Wonderful product for me and my new HG make up remover.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 9/24/2010 11:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is not the Ponds Cold Cream I know and love!! They have reformulated from their simple 6 ingredient formula and added more chemicals. I am heartbroken. :( Both of my grandmothers used this product for years, and their skin still glowed, with barely any wrinkles as they aged.

I recommend, if you are looking for the cold cream your grandmother used to use, at buying the CVS brand- it has the same ingredients, or their is also a cold cream you can buy off of a website called wonderlabs.com that has the old formulation as well.

I am SO disappointed with this change, and if you call to complain they act dumb, and say they have not changed it in any way. As if their customers cannot read the back of a tub.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2010 6:46:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have combo (oily t-zone, dry cheeks), acne-prone skin, so I was previously using an oil-free cleanser (Clean & Clear Sensitive Foaming Cleanser) as well as prescription acne antibiotics and treatments. Recently, my skin was starting to burn after I cleansed (felt like a chemical burn), so I wanted to try a less-drying cleanser. My mom and grandma always used cold cream, so I decided on Ponds Deep Cleanser Cold cream, and hoped it wouldn't break me out. To my surprise, not only did it calm my skin (no more burn feeling), but my acne has also cleared up and I'm not using the prescription acne stuff anymore, either! (I still get one or two pimples a month, but that's down from one or two a day before Ponds!) I also don't have to use a moisturizer (which now I realize I was using before to counteract where all the other products were overdrying my skin. This stuff also removes my makeup (Colorstay foundation and waterproof mascara) like nobody's business! I massage the cream directly onto my face and then use a warm washcloth to wipe away the makeup and residue. I took one lippy of because I don't like the overpowering scent, and the jar is less than ideal, but both are tolerable. I will definitely repurchase this!

Edit: I stopped using this because of all the chemicals in it and have gone to using the Oil Cleansing Method (a blend of castor and safflower oils) instead, and I have had such amazing results that I will never use a commercial cleanser again.


Age: Unknown

Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I tried this, found that it rinsed clean and it has been my cleanser ever since, although I have used Cetaphil for 14 years. I still use Cetaphil in the morning, but I feel indulged using the cold cream at night (even though I don't wear foundation, powder, etc.). I'm not acne-prone, but I'm also not so resistant as to be able to use whatever with impunity, and this doesn't cause any problems for me.


on 9/13/2010 12:48:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

The reformulated version has more chemicals to replace the original seven ingredients. This is too greasy yet drying and bothers my sensitive skin.

I LOVE the CVS version of this, as it contains the original ingredients. My grandmother wouldn't recognize what is now called Pond's Deep Cleanser Cold Cream--it's a cheap imitation of the real thing, and Pond's should be ashamed.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2010 11:13:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I am using this for an eye makeup remover. I take a pea to dime sized amount, close my eye, massage it in, then use a Kleenex to wipe off. Makeup GONE. Eyeliner, Eyeshadow, Mascara... instantly. I've used Almay Eye makeup pads, Offbrand eye makeup pads... those all require me to hold it on my makeup for like 60 seconds to get it all off. But with this it's just about instant, 20 seconds or so. The liquid eye makeup removers burn my eyes to death. Not to mention the pads/liquids are $6-$7. Pond's at my Walmart was about $5 and seems FAR more economical with the amount you need. Not waisting a whole bunch on a pad since you are applying it directly to your eye. If you are worried about bacteria in the jar, I wash my face first THEN scoop my finger in the jar- my hands are clean from my face wash. I <3 Pond's.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/10/2010 2:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Love it! I've been using this exclusively (no other cleansers, toners, moisturizers) for the past week and my skin has never felt so great. I haven't had any new breakouts and it's cut down the redness of the cystic acne I had broken out with before using it. I hasn't gotten rid of the acne, unfortunately. But I'm gonna stick with it and see if it tames the breakouts. I definitely gets everything off: makeup, dirt, paint, etc. I have combination skin, usually with very oily t-zone and chin and uncomfortably dry cheeks. This stuff makes my skin feel even, cheeks less dry, nose and chin less oily. I just slather it on and wipe it off with a warm, wet, clean washcloth. Oh, and for those worried about contaminating the pot with your fingers... WASH YOUR HANDS FIRST!!!! You should always wash your hands before washing your face in any way to prevent the spread of bacteria from your hands to your face.


on 9/10/2010 11:53:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

THIS IS MY HG MAKE UP REMOVER! I've actually tried quite a couple of brands (both high end and drugstore), so believe me when I say it really does live up to its cult following.


Not only is it really inexpensive, it effectively removes every last hint of my makeup (including stubborn areas like mascara) while leaving my face feeling cool and supple like a baby's bottom. I have dry skin, and I've noticed that it has made my face relatively more moisturized, though I wouldn't go so far as to say that it has made a drastic difference.


Some may find this product too greasy; but what I like to do is slather the cold cream all over my fully made up face, use a cotton pad to wipe all makeup off (going in a second time with the first two steps on my eye area once more to remove all traces of makeup thoroughly), before washing my face with warm water (this is to open up my pores and melt the greasy residue left behind) and a facial cleanser.


My only complain, however, would be its jar-like packaging which makes it slightly unhygienic as you never what kind of bacteria may be left behind to manifest in the product when you delve your fingers into it. Also, it can get quite inconvenient when the product is close to hitting pan, as it makes it difficult for my fingers to scoop product out from the bottom of the jar.


Overall, I'd still recommend this to anybody and everybody, as it is a dirt cheap yet effective product that is definitely worth trying out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Oh Pond's Cold Cream. My Grandma had an archaic jar of this for years, so when my mom suggested it I was like "bump that business." I have very sensitive skin and I wouldn't call it acne prone but I definitely have breakouts every once and a while. I wear a medium/heavy coverage foundation, waterproof mascara, eyeshadow, liquid liner...- basically everything that is super hard to get off your face, I wear. So, I decided to try it. I'm glad I did, no wonder its been around for 500 years. Pond's cold cream gets ALMOST anything off. It takes a little work to get everything off my eyes, but it melts it enough to where it comes off pretty dang easily. This is definitely not a product that I would ever use alone, you really should be using a very good cleanser afterword. I also like to use this as a heavy duty moisturizer like in the winter or after I used a mask.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have combination/oily skin and this hasn't given me any problems with acne or clogged pores. So far, so good. I use it nightly, sometimes even in the morning. It removes every bit of makeup & my skin feels very soft and smooth after. It contains mineral oil which most people steer clear of, but I really like how this product makes my skin more supple. I really like vintage beauty products. The price is right too.


Back to Top