Ponds Deep Cleanser Cold Cream

4.1

1238 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Mineral Oil, Aqua, Ceresin, Beeswax, Triethanolamine, Behenic Acid, Fragrance, Ceteth-20, Cetyl Alcohol, Carbomer, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylparaben.


on 10/21/2010 6:36:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I am part of the minority. Yes, this product does live up to its reputation as far as it's makeup removing capabilities are concerned. With a full face of makeup, no matter how much I have on- it removes every little bit off down to the last speck. I know this for sure because I use a glycolic toner to treat my acne- normally when I swipe it over my face, trace amounts of makeup show up on the pad. However, when I use Pond's cold cream, nothing appears on the pad. It is certainly efficient. However, this product loses points due to the irritating parfum ingredient present in it (I could not find the fragrance free version anywhere). When I use this product my skin is left beat red, my acne inflamed, and my eyes sting so badly that I can feel my eyes burning for hours through the night. Considering the product is marketed as a- gentle for all skin type makeup remover- I feel it does not live up to this huge claim.


I am surprised I had such an unhappy reaction to the product considering it's stellar reviews. Many people claimed it even made their acne go away (I suspect that those people suffered mainly from cosmetic acne, not hormonal). In short here's my breakdown:

PROS: (1) removes all traces of makeup. (2) leaves skin feeling soft and smooth to the touch, even the next day when you wake up.
CONS: (1) irritated skin. (2) clogged pores. (3) inflamed acne. (4) badly irritated eyes, no amount of eye drops could sooth them.


Judging by the reviews, this product is either a real hit or a bad miss. I suppose this product is good for most, but for those who truly have very sensitive acne prone skin- approach with caution. Otherwise, if you generally have normal to dry skin, I could see why you would easily fall in love with it.
Happy Shopping

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.



on 10/21/2010 5:59:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I LOVE Pond's Cold Cream!! Since I have started using this my skin has cleared up. It really breaks down and removes all of my makeup while leaving my skin soft.


on 10/20/2010 8:01:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I use this to take all my eye make up off. It works fantastic. My eyes don't sting at all, it's super gentle and effective.


on 10/19/2010 12:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Cold cream is a throwback for me - I remember my mother and grandmothers slathering their faces with it at night. It was their only cleansing/moisturizing ritual - very simple. It gets off my makeup and leaves my skin soft, not greasy. I wipe it off with a warm, soft, wet cloth (a clean one each time).
EDIT: I've been using it for a few weeks now and my skin has never been softer. It really feels moist down to the deeper tissue. The only negative for me is that you have to use so much of it (2-3 scoops per use), so even though a jar is cheap ($6), one needs to buy it a lot more often than a regular cleanser - and it's not great for days when you're really oily and need more cleansing.


on 10/18/2010 11:01:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This stuff is just great! Unlike most you guys, i dont have a problem with the jar. I use a q-tip, dip it in and then apply w/ the qtip on my eye lids, lash lines ect., rub it in w/ qtip and then wipe it off with a napkin. ALL my makeup comes off, even the waterproof stubborn forever lasting eye makeup. This stuff is scented but its not over bearing at all, i HATE scented stuff, but i can stand this. I actually forgot this stuff was scented until i read someones review and had to get my jar and smell it. ha, this stuff is my HG. and i dont have hg's. =]


on 10/15/2010 2:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This review is for the original Ponds Cold Cream - the classic cool.
I LOVE THIS. It removes everything, since it IS oil based, and it is very moisturizing. Originally, I would use the tissue off method: apply on my face liberally, use tissue to remove (but only one side of the tissue per small section of my face. never rub one tissue all over.) then repeat.
But now I prefer a different, less greasy method: wash my face with normal make up removing face wash, then apply Ponds and remove it with a warm/wet wash cloth. Or the Ponds first and face wash second.


on 10/12/2010 9:04:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I use this everyday to clean my face when I wear makeup. It takes everything off and leaves my skin very soft. It's helped my skin get it's natural moisture back while gently yet effectively!


on 10/5/2010 4:38:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

it doesn't removes my water proof make-up that much..
and this has a strong fragrance and is not mild to my skin.
i prefer Albolene cleanser to this one. or Mac cleansing oil is much better


Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Yes, I hate the shape of the jar too. It's hard to get every bit out when the shape of the jar curves under the jar opening (does that make sense?).


Here's how I use this product: I scoop some out with a cotton pad and rub it all over my face until it's oily. I wipe my face with a new cotton pad until all my make up is off, sometimes I need to use two cotton pads for this process. My face is still oily at this stage and I smooth some St. Ives Apricot Scrub on my face (maybe half a teaspoon of scrub, maybe less). I gently rub it around my face avoiding my eyes. After that, I lather some Pears soap (or Dove sensitive soap if my skin is dry) in my hands and apply the foam to my face. I wash this all off with warm water.


I have tried the warm wash cloth method and I find that it doesn't clean the Ponds off my face as effectively as when I combine Ponds with St. Ives. Since I used to combine St. Ives with Sorbolene, Ponds works just as well (maybe it's a bit thicker... and the jar was cheaper).


I have combination-sensitive skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/29/2010 12:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Cant comment on how well it removes makeup, i only wear light eye makeup . I tried this for 2 days and my face felt way to greasy. after using this , and my face was a bit red after using it.


Back to Top