Ponds • Deep Cleanser Cold Cream • Cleansers

rated 4.1(1221 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 smattituded on 9/10/2010 11:53:00 AM more reviews by smattituded

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

THIS IS MY HG MAKE UP REMOVER! I've actually tried quite a couple of brands (both high end and drugstore), so believe me when I say it really does live up to its cult following.


Not only is it really inexpensive, it effectively removes every last hint of my makeup (including stubborn areas like mascara) while leaving my face feeling cool and supple like a baby's bottom. I have dry skin, and I've noticed that it has made my face relatively more moisturized, though I wouldn't go so far as to say that it has made a drastic difference.


Some may find this product too greasy; but what I like to do is slather the cold cream all over my fully made up face, use a cotton pad to wipe all makeup off (going in a second time with the first two steps on my eye area once more to remove all traces of makeup thoroughly), before washing my face with warm water (this is to open up my pores and melt the greasy residue left behind) and a facial cleanser.


My only complain, however, would be its jar-like packaging which makes it slightly unhygienic as you never what kind of bacteria may be left behind to manifest in the product when you delve your fingers into it. Also, it can get quite inconvenient when the product is close to hitting pan, as it makes it difficult for my fingers to scoop product out from the bottom of the jar.


Overall, I'd still recommend this to anybody and everybody, as it is a dirt cheap yet effective product that is definitely worth trying out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OliveGreenSpring on 9/9/2010 10:52:00 PM more reviews by OliveGreenSpring

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Oh Pond's Cold Cream. My Grandma had an archaic jar of this for years, so when my mom suggested it I was like "bump that business." I have very sensitive skin and I wouldn't call it acne prone but I definitely have breakouts every once and a while. I wear a medium/heavy coverage foundation, waterproof mascara, eyeshadow, liquid liner...- basically everything that is super hard to get off your face, I wear. So, I decided to try it. I'm glad I did, no wonder its been around for 500 years. Pond's cold cream gets ALMOST anything off. It takes a little work to get everything off my eyes, but it melts it enough to where it comes off pretty dang easily. This is definitely not a product that I would ever use alone, you really should be using a very good cleanser afterword. I also like to use this as a heavy duty moisturizer like in the winter or after I used a mask.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 girlfromtahiti on 9/9/2010 1:55:00 PM more reviews by girlfromtahiti

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination/oily skin and this hasn't given me any problems with acne or clogged pores. So far, so good. I use it nightly, sometimes even in the morning. It removes every bit of makeup & my skin feels very soft and smooth after. It contains mineral oil which most people steer clear of, but I really like how this product makes my skin more supple. I really like vintage beauty products. The price is right too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DuchessofGrapes on 9/8/2010 9:57:00 PM more reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am very confused by the high ratings of this product. I have to wonder whether people who are reviewing this product are giving high reviews because of the cult popularity or by the benefits of it. The fact that it has synthetic fragrance (a skin irritant) and mineral oil (pore clogging) should be a neon sign to people not to use it. I decided to give my sister's a try while I was staying at my parent's house on my last visit home as a makeup remover (I knew better than to think that this could ever cleanse my skin). I rubbed it on my face and eyes then wiped it off with a wet washcloth, then used my face wash. It did start to break up my makeup, but I had to cleanse twice in order to get that gooky layer off my skin, the fragrance made my eyes sting, and I noticed little bumps under my skin the next morning. I usually used Clinique's Take Off The Day Balm, and I will stick to it. Not only does this product not live up to it's claim, contains terrible ingredients, but Ponds is also a company that tests on animals. I will never buy this product.

7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 whattaloser on 9/5/2010 12:08:00 AM more reviews by whattaloser

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Even with extremely oily skin and constant breakouts, this product drys my skin so much. it got rid of some of my acne in the beginning and led me into thinking that my skin was naturally dry.. after getting lazy and stopped using this my skin is a lot much smoother! so i'm giving it 2 stars for making me realize that my skin wasn't the worst it possibly can be after all, from the beginning! i still have the acne though. also after using this product .. my cheeks burn. it just burns. even after the first use in a long time. maybe not the best in the jar? gets water inside it when grabbing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 colormechic on 9/4/2010 6:01:00 PM more reviews by colormechic

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have tried using many other MU remover but for the price, this beats out all the rest hands down. I use a lot of eye MU including waterproof mascara/eyeliner, mineral foundation, powder, concealer, brush, bronzer, you name it, and chances are I have it on.

I have combination skin and my face is mostly clear. I am lucky not to have to deal with any acne or breakout problems. Only occasionally, do I get minor skin irritations from wearing makeup over 12 hours a day, 7 days a week!
I would say that those with oily skin might not love this since it does leave a flimsy moisturized feeling even after wiping it off.

I rub this all over my face gently in a circular motion to remove every speck of MU traces on my skin, followed by a thorough cleaning with a wet face sponge. That's it and I am all set! I love this product and I don't know what I will do without it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mcreechkelly on 9/1/2010 10:51:00 PM more reviews by mcreechkelly

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Best make-up remover for the price. I use this followed by a foaming cleanser and have had great results.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 soclutch on 9/1/2010 10:48:00 PM more reviews by soclutch

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have combo skin, but I rarely have any breakouts. this product will cause them if you use the cold cream without washing your face right afterwards. I usually use this and then I follow up with Arbonne F5 combo/oily skin cleanser (it cleanses and tones). I have never had a problem as long as I washed my face and toned right after. It sucks because you kind of need to do double duty to first clean off your makeup and then clean off your cold cream. I think it is worth it because every makeup remover I have tried has not worked... the same goes for simply washing my face with soap and water. People think their faces are clean, but they really aren't. To truly rid yourself of makeup you really need a product like this..the only problem is that its a pain in the behind to then follow up to get the cold cream off. I give it 3 stars because its a hassle, but as far as effectiveness I give it a 5.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ballinbebe on 8/31/2010 6:26:00 AM more reviews by ballinbebe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Cool   Hair: Black, Relaxed   Eyes: Black    

I bought this product solely because of the high rating it got on here. My experience is proof everyone is different and what works best you, isn't necessarily the best for someone else.

As someone who wears waterproof liquid eyeliner and mascara, as well as eyeshadow - it's a pretty good makeup remover when you rub a dab circularly over your eyes and wipe it off with a kleenex.

On my entire face however, even after I wiped and even washed my face: it was easily the greasiest, pore clogging thing I've ever subjected my combination skin to. It has a greasy residue similar to rubbing lard over your hands and running it under water.

It's a decent makeup removing option, nothing groundbreaking - but I'll probably finish the jar for that purpose, but I would never use this as a full face treatment and definitely won't buy this again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mitzio3 on 8/28/2010 1:14:00 PM more reviews by mitzio3

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I do a lot of theater, and stage makeup and/or face paint can be tough to remove. Ponds cold cream has always been what I've used! I have never broken out using it, and it really removes makeup beautifully! It even removes some of the harder makeup to remove, like mascara and eyeliner. I love this product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Ponds products

More Cleansers products