Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5237 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 ixmocane on 4/28/2003 5:50:00 PM more reviews by ixmocane

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I bought this because I saw it on so many "best of" lists, but I don't know how it gets on all those lists. It takes lots of time to get even the littlest extra fullness, though it does go on without clumping. I do like this in Royal Blue, but I just use that over my L'Oreal Voluminous for color on the tips.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Catlove on 4/26/2003 12:28:00 AM more reviews by Catlove

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in the new shade 'blackest black'. I do realize everyone has different mascara preferences. I find this one builds nice long soft lashes that are a rich black and glossy looking. BUT and its a BIG but, I wouldn't recommmend it for summer(heat or humidity) wear or anytime when crying might happen. It does take a long time to dry so be careful. I think its a nice mascara if it fits your preferences. Pretty cheap. I buy it on sale and only pay $1.43 for it w/ a coupon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KitKat17 on 4/26/2003 12:22:00 AM more reviews by KitKat17

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I think Maybelline is paying a lot of magazines a lot of money to tout this product. All it's ever done for me is clump and smear.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 luckie6702 on 4/25/2003 6:55:00 PM more reviews by luckie6702

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is my least favorite mascara. I decided I would try it because I had read rave after rave about it in the magazines, but I threw it out after my first use. I left my lashes clumpy, brittle, and unnatural looking. I am seriously considering writing a letter to InStyle magazine about how they should not further advertise this horrible mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jros on 4/25/2003 11:43:00 AM more reviews by jros

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Why, oh why!? I am not sure what kind of lashes the people have who rave about this, but for my normal/thin lashes it is worst product ever made. I end up with three spikes for lashes. And it melts off to become indelible ink under the eye. So much for waterproof.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 geezus on 4/24/2003 11:52:00 PM more reviews by geezus

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

it didn't thicken my lashes at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* chopstix888 on 4/23/2003 7:55:00 PM more reviews by chopstix888

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

didn't do anything for my lashes. for drugstore brands , i will stick with l'oreal.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 GertGrace on 4/23/2003 7:05:00 PM more reviews by GertGrace

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was in a pinch and needed eye makeup remover STAT and RiteAid had a special-buy the remover and get the highly publicized and lauded mascara for free. How could I pass it up? After having slimy, gooey, spikey, and ridiculously mangled eyelashes I figured it was just me. But it appears I'm not the only one. How on EARTH can ANYONE, least of all professional makeup artists recommend this??? Sure, it's inexpensive, but spend a few more bucks for a product that actually performs. And, I might just add that the packaging is embarassingly 1980's-and not in a good retro 80's style either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 candicewails on 4/23/2003 2:36:00 PM more reviews by candicewails

Age: Unknown   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Over-rated. Just because it's the best-selling mascara doesn't mean it's the best. I thought it didn't do anything much at all. Sure it's cheap. But other formulations like Lash Discovery are a whole lot more worth the money.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 smashing on 4/22/2003 12:58:00 AM more reviews by smashing

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I have used this a couple times, but I will now forever abandon it. It is so sticky that it makes the lashes totally clumpy. Don't even think of touching it up a couple hours after initial application! You'll look spidery. It's way beyond me why this is always a "favourite."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products