Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5192 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* theluscioushellcat on 3/8/2003 12:23:00 AM more reviews by theluscioushellcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

How in the world people "swear by" Great Lash and it winds up in InStyle year after year, I'll never understand. If you want flakey, clumpy, itchy, fake looking nasty mess on your eyelashes -this is your product. Run, don't walk to the L'Oreal counter and get one of their formulations. Voluminous, Lash Intensifique or FeatherLash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 KristenL on 3/7/2003 9:43:00 PM more reviews by KristenL

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This mascara did absolutely nothing for my lashes, except weigh them down. Oh, and it did separate them...but so much so that they had absolutely no volume. I have NO clue why this is the "make up artists' staple" in their bags...mine went straight to the trash bag!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spazgirl on 3/6/2003 9:04:00 PM more reviews by spazgirl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this mascara. It's too thin and the wand is clunky. I tried to give mine away at the office and it was very hard to do. No one wanted it. I think it got thrown out. I don't understand why it always comes up as a top favorite in all those beauty polls. Yech.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kjfisher on 3/3/2003 9:34:00 AM more reviews by kjfisher

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I think if you are having clumping problems with any mascara you have to make sure the brush is not overly coated before using. It surprises me that this is the complaint about Great Lash, because it's the only one that DOESN'T flake and over-clump for me. I use non-waterproof, maybe that's it. Anyway... I think it's a great everyday mascara, lasts forever (actually better after the first week, less product on the brush). I've tried all the high-priced models and nothing to me is any better (most are worse). It's a good thing that it stays wet and never gets stiff or hard, because then you can go over it with the brush and separate the lashes for a very nice, natural effect. I often sleep in it, and I still don't smudge or get raccoon eyes! It's funny that so many people have different reactions to things, huh?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 shimmmer on 2/28/2003 8:07:00 PM more reviews by shimmmer

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I like this. It seperates, thickens, and even lengthens a little. Doesnt clump. I recommend this only to those who want natural looking lashes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 NancyDrew on 2/27/2003 3:22:00 PM more reviews by NancyDrew

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Makeup artists actually use this stuff? I don't mind drugstore mascaras (in fact, I prefer them so that I don't mind chunking them out every three months) but this clumps and flakes and does nothing for my actually decent lashes but make them a mess!

The package is cute.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* midnightc on 2/22/2003 5:00:00 PM more reviews by midnightc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This gives me raccoon eyes... even if I don't get moisturizer anywhere near my eyes! I don't understand what all the fuss is about.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mriaow on 10/17/2002 10:48:00 PM more reviews by mriaow

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is an average mascara. I don't expect a lot from drugstore brands, but I'm constantly surprised by how many beauty editors and celebrities seem to swear by this. I find the texture to be way too watery- it takes forever to dry and often smudges before it does. Also, the wand bristles are too sparse to create any volume or length.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lisa21 on 2/17/2003 1:08:00 AM more reviews by Lisa21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really don't see what all the fuss about this product is. It clumps like crazy for starters and smears terribly. Save your money and invest in a quality mascara. Cute packaging though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* joannaB on 2/16/2003 12:25:00 PM more reviews by joannaB

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

i wore this for years, on and off, out of habit. the pink and chartreuse, tacky plastic tube, the standard-issue lashes. this stuff is a classic of mediocrity. then i grew up and started looking elsewhere, so i won't be going back to great lash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products