Maybelline Great Lash Mascara

2.1

5390 reviews

26% would repurchase

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

Package Quality: 2.9

Price: $

INGREDIENTS

Water, Beeswax, Glyeryl Sterarate, Triethanolamine, Propylene Glycol, Stearic Acid, Palmitic Acid, Sorbitan Sesquioleate, Methylparaben, Quaternium-15, Simethicone, Quarternium-15, Butylparaben. May Contain: CI 77492, CI77499, 77491 / Iron Oxides CI77007 / Ultramarines, Mica, CI77891 / Titanium Dioxide, CI77510 / Ferric Ferrocyanide, CI75470 / Carmine, CI77288 / Chromium Oxide Greens, CI77289 / Chromium Hydroxide Green, CI77742 / Manganese Violet. CI77742.


on 10/11/2003 4:58:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I can't explain how BAD I wanted to love this. But it's just awful--not even a tolerable product. My qualm is not with how it makes my lashes look (fairly dark and separated--OK but not fantastic). When you apply this, the wet, wet formula will leave splatters of black all over...no matter how careful you are. Then, every 15 minutes or so you have to clean up the dark circles that have formed beneath your eyes. Not worth it! ANY drugstore mascara would stay on better than this. Who wants to spend the whole day wondering how her mascara looks? (and rushing to mirrors to wipe up the mess). Skip it!!!! Strangely enough, my all time favorite mascara, Illegal Lengths, is also Maybelline.



on 10/22/2003 6:38:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have to say this is not as bad as some make out. the colour is a nice rich black, and it defines my lashes nicely. Negative side, it smudges and it doesn't thicken at all, which I like to have whn I go out. Too runny, but good colour


on 10/18/2003 11:11:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

i liked the clinique mascara better, i have the curved bush version of great lash mascara and personally i thought it kinda sucked because it didn't curl my eyelashes(i use an eyelash curler), otherwise it was a good mascara.


on 10/9/2003 7:00:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

My first mascara was greatlash, but this was back when i had no idea how good mascaras could get. I tried this again after hearing tons of raves i tried it again. Good color, BAD brush/formula. Smudgy and not cool at all!


on 10/7/2003 7:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually used to hate this mascara with a passion, until now. Maybelline really did a great job changing the formula with the new "Blackest Black" shade. It is totally different: watery and thin, but not in a bad way (unlike my HG Chanel's thick gel texture). It lengthens, thickens, defines, does not clump, does not smudge, holds a curl and is just wonderful! I never thought I'd be saying this about Great Lash, but I am. My only gripe is that you DO need to replace this mascara in a timely manner (every 3 months or sooner), because once it gets old it's back to the good old Great Lash again: it clumps, gives you spider lashes, turns to tar, and is just a mess... Not that replacing this would be a problem, as it costs around $4-5 at most drugstores. Go with Blackest Black, and make sure to curl your lashes FIRST, and do NOT wait for each coat to dry before applying another. Apply 2-3 coats (or more) in rapid succession and you will witness what I have! PS: It still runs, but I assume that that will never change.


on 10/7/2003 1:06:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is an average mascara, despite the accolades in practically every magazine. I bought into the hype a while ago, as the price of this kept going up. That was before I tried other mascaras and left this one in the dust. Yes, it adds color and definition, but it is not worth all the glory. Way overrated and just okay.


on 10/6/2003 12:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Bad product! Ugly packaging!
Why do many beauty magazine still claim this is a great mascara? I was dooped into trying this product - all I got was clump & flake city! Don't even waste your $5 on this. EDIT: I fell for this product AGAIN! I bought it once when I was in high school and for some reason, I'd forgotten how it gave me terrible raccoon eyes. It still gives me raccoon eyes! It runs very easily, if I even yawn and my eyes water, it will smear. I always wear non-waterproof mascara (namely, CG) and that doesn't happen with the other brands. I followed the advice given by a reviewer here to leave the tube open for a week prior to using, which did help dry it out a bit. All negatives aside, I did give it a 2 because of 2 things: 1) it does apply nicely and builds up the length of the lashes 2) the brush is small enough to reach the corner lashes (I washed off the mascara and kept the wand and threw out the rest). Still the same old hideous pink and green wand though...


on 10/5/2003 1:34:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

It makes me laugh to see all the negative reviews on this one... I though I was the only person who didn't like this stuff! Give me my L'Oreal Voluminous any day over this useless crud. This makes my eyelashes actually look LESS noticeable, I swear. They're already black, thanks, so all it did was make them look stuck together and not in a good way.


on 10/3/2003 5:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Lamest mascara ever. Doesn't build either thickness or length. They sell it for $4 at Target so I tried it because of all the reviews in the magazines which say it is the best deal ever. But even at $4 I felt ripped off after I tried it cause I knew I would never use it again! Paula Begoun at www.cosmeticscop.com was right - this stuff stinks!


on 10/3/2003 2:39:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This mascara never ceases to underwhelm me. No matter how many times I try to like Great Lash, I always end up throwing it in the trash after the second use. I tried the waterproof formula and it was icky. It made my lashes really stiff and clumpy. It is very waterproof, I'll give it that. However, it does smudge a bit under the lower lashes. It's pretty cheap and probably good in a pinch but I will not repurchase.


Back to Top