Maybelline • Great Lash Mascara • Mascara

rated 2.1(5266 reviews)

Average Rating.2.1
Would buy this product again.26%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 daisychain02 on 5/21/2003 5:32:00 PM more reviews by daisychain02

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I was SO happy to find that my views on this mascara seem to be the general consensus - I too was sucked into buying it by the rave reviews in magazines and by makeup artists, and had also wondered if they were on Maybelline's payroll. Thanks to everyone for affirming it isn't just me who found this is a terrible, terrible product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* natalielane on 5/21/2003 2:42:00 PM more reviews by natalielane

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

It flakes. I have this in a waterproof and a regular formula, and they both flake. It does lenghten and curl my lashes, but mostly any mascara will do that for me, I have long lashes without it. Plus unlike Lancome and Dior, I need more than 1 coat of this. Will be sticking with higher end mascaras from now on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 kopo on 5/17/2003 1:25:00 PM more reviews by kopo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I hate this mascara! It does nothing to my lash except giving me 'panda eyes'.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gambitlizard on 5/16/2003 2:35:00 PM more reviews by gambitlizard

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is a staple in just about everyone's collection. Great product at a great price. Makes lashes long, thick and dark without clumping. One of my faves.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 HidePinkSpider on 5/14/2003 3:47:00 PM more reviews by HidePinkSpider

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

This is just one of those failed mascaras i've been using. Its not even "waterproof" even though it claims to be. Instead, i have smeared mascara at the end of the day. Most mascaras make my lashes look great, only for a short while. So i do not recommend this mascara because it is simply not long lasting. And for Asians, it is so important to have long eye lashes.. This one does its effect only to a certain extent. Maybe something from the Lancome or Chanel range would be better for long-lasting and lengthening effect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Kogyaru_Geisha on 5/14/2003 10:28:00 AM more reviews by Kogyaru_Geisha

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not going to lie, this isn't the worst mascara in the entire world but it most certainly isn't the best there is. I bought this because of all the raving and because I liked the whole pink tube/green lid concept (Yeah I should know better).
I bought this in black and my mom bought it in dark brown. Anyway it's hard to apply, I generally zigzag my way from the bottom of the lash to the top while applying mascara but with this one I really had to zigzag a lot and it becomes frustrating so you press harder and you end up getting mascara on your eyelids. Frankly I like the packaging but nope I won't buy it again... And to answer one of the people below I have long and full eyelashes to start with and in the end of the day I'm better off without it. Oh well maybe it selects the people it wants to work with...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 4Pooky on 5/14/2003 1:54:00 AM more reviews by 4Pooky

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

This is just not good. I bought it because people rave about it but I think that you have to have perfect lashes to start with for this to work. I have terrible lashes that grow in odd directions and stick straight out...don't hold curl at all. This mascara seemed to accentuate my 'genetic flaw' and did nothing at all for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ciji63 on 5/13/2003 2:25:00 PM more reviews by Ciji63

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Add me to the list of people who will never understand why this mascara gets such high reviews from magazines and make-up artists. Are they applying it differently than us regular people do? All I know is that it smears and flakes on me and almost no other mascara does that on me - not to mention, it doesn't even make my lashes look good!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 starbound25 on 5/13/2003 12:41:00 PM more reviews by starbound25

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

this works great for me, have medium length lashes, I always come back to this since it works so well. for me anyway

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Pakegal on 5/13/2003 12:23:00 AM more reviews by Pakegal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

As much as I was hoping this would be a great product for me, it just wasn't. The brush wasn't working for my short, sparse lashes. It clumped and didn't make them look even a lil' bit longer. But since there are so many good reviews for this mascara I figured it must be good for someone, so I gave it to my friend, who has long, full lashes, to try and her lashes came out looking fantastic! Just like she was wearing falsies. She even said that that was the best her eyelashes ever looked. Soo.... if you have fairly full, medium to long lashes give this a try, if you have sparse, short lashes use something else like Full N' Soft.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Maybelline products

More Mascara products