Bare Escentuals • Mineral Veil • Loose Powders

rated 3.7(1059 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 ak2376 on 12/31/2007 10:21:00 PM more reviews by ak2376

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

It is a good product, but not as amazing as it sounds. It sets the makeup. Make sure you try it out before you buy... I use the tinted, and I think it's a little too tan for me. I don't know that it "airbrushes away all your flaws". That's an exaggeration. Bare Escentuals is too expensive. I spent almost $100 just for the basics. You can buy equal (or better) mineral makeup for half that. Try Everyday Minerals.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 poebear on 12/31/2007 12:28:00 PM more reviews by poebear

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

good: kept me shine-free and looking matte and put-together. love it! a beauty staple.

bad: expensive, not great packaging for daytime touchups

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 creativethinker on 12/31/2007 11:28:00 AM more reviews by creativethinker

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I was wondering around in Sephora shopping for others and ended up buying a Mineral Veil for myself because I love mineral make up. But I usually never wear the setting spray stuff after you put on mineral make up because my skin is so sensitive. I thought this would be a great replacement for it. It didn't do anything for me. I still look the same as before. No difference. I would not get it again. I will just continue wearing mineral make up without the setting spray or the veil. I am currently wear a natural moisturizer that holds my mineral make up all day anyway. It seems to work well for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* vesuvana on 12/31/2007 10:20:00 AM more reviews by vesuvana

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

Mineral Veil came in the BE starter pack I bought for $50 at Ulta. I like the regular BE powder foundation for evening out the mild redness on my cheeks and chin. I use the mineral veil because it's there, but it really doesn't seem to add anything. I was hoping that it would brighten my under-eye area but it doesn't. The regular powder foundation takes care of any shininess when first applied, so MV is redundant if applied at the same time. If I am more shiny than I care to be, I use one the various powdered blotting papers and that is more precise and cheaper. Maybe MV would be good for someone who gets shiny later in the day and needs a touch-up without adding color.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* funnygirl131 on 12/30/2007 7:02:00 PM more reviews by funnygirl131

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a feathery light setting powder ,I have janes and I think it is alot better IMO. It isnt horrible and I will use what I have ,but probably wont run out of it, because I use it sparingly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chinkable on 12/28/2007 4:06:00 PM more reviews by chinkable

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

If it werenít for mineral veil I would absolutely NEVER use bare minerals. My skin is oily and when I apply BE foundation, my pores look huge. Applying mineral veil makes a huge difference. As far as keeping my face shine free, unfortunately it doesnít do that at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julijalv on 12/27/2007 7:28:00 PM more reviews by julijalv

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Well it feels very natural not like other powders. Skin feels great with it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ninadelsol on 12/27/2007 5:18:00 PM more reviews by ninadelsol

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

For years I used Mineral Veil religiously with my BE Bare Minerals Foundation because I thought it looked good. (Read my other reviews for more on that) Looking back on photos from last year, I now realize how unhealthy my skin really looked - dull, dusty and dead. I quit using BE earlier this year due to the horrible condition my skin was in.

Mineral Veil was basically useless. Why?
- After a few hours my skin was back to normal and very dry around the edges of my nose.
- Does nothing for pores. Absolutely nothing. You can get t5he same results by dusting cornstarch or talc on your skin. That's how bad it is.
- My pores were enlarged and clogged due to all the layering of the powders - BM, Mineral Veil and Warmth. Your pores do not need a layer of clogging dust on them daily!
- It might look good the first few months, but you will end up with damaged, clogged, dull and tired skin within a year or so and you'll pay extra to fix the damage.

Luckily, I stopped using all BE products, and the damage that Mineral Veil and Bare Minerals did to my skin has reversed after countless pore cleaning sessions with masks, lactic acid, and changing my skin regimen.

I will never use BE products again! Don't fall for the brilliant marketing hype!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* addysmom on 12/21/2007 10:06:00 PM more reviews by addysmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

THis is one of the most useless items I have ever tried on my skin. It does not set your MU and it does not help with oil control. It is just like putting pixie dust on your face! Why?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 asolano on 12/19/2007 6:26:00 PM more reviews by asolano

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

This didn't make a bit of difference in how my mmu looked or lasted. As far as I'm concerned, it is pretty much useless for me. It didn't help with the oilies either.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bare Escentuals products

More Loose Powders products