Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1080 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 2/17/2008 8:29:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am doing the EXACT same as TCGirl below my post! lol. Thats too funny! I too started using Mac Studio Fix Fluid (THE BEST!) and use Mineral Veil over it. I am ADDICTED to Mineral Veil, its such a great product!!!



on 2/16/2008 5:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Although I no longer use Bare Escentuals on a regular basis (I've since switched to MAC Studio Fix Fluid because I think liquid foundations just cover better and have better staying power), I still like applying Mineral Veil at the end of my makeup routine for finishing touches. In fact, I even carry some around in Bare Escentuals' Flawless Face Case. It's just a nice loose powder that when applied, won't change the color of your underlying makeup (like foundation, blush, bronzer, etc.)


on 2/9/2008 7:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

EDIT: although BE will always have my heart I have been converted to Everyday Minerals Silk Dust which is silimar to be but has better oil control and is better priced.

i do like this but as a primer not a powder. using it as a primer i apply BEFORE my BE foundation...i know it sounds backwards but try it! primer is supposed to smooth out pores reduce shine (which is what mineral veil does) so why apply it last? and it makes my BE foundation last longer when applied first. so i do like this but i consider it a primer b/c of the way i use it. its pretty good as a powder on a humid day for touch ups as well. versitile and lasts forever since you only need a little at a time. i usually set my BE foundation with a very light mist of evian spray giving me a creamy looking lasting finish.


on 2/9/2008 1:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Mineral Veil is a good loose powder, and it's great over BareMinerals Foundation. It's light, free of parabens, oils, fragrances, etc., and never looks cakey or chalky. There are a few other loose powders I prefer to this, but this does what it should so I'll probably repurchase.


on 2/7/2008 3:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I think I LOVE Mineral Veil. It can work well under your foundation - but I use it mostly as a finishing powder to help set your foundation. I switched to Everyday Minerals for my foundation [BE foundation irritated skin after several months of use]. I might test out some of their powders, but I doubt I will find something I'll love as much as the Mineral Veil [if I do - I'll write a review about!]



It feels cool to the skin. Silky soft. Refreshing on my face. Mineral Veil helps to minimize my pores. Doesn't irritate my skin. Definitely helps with oil control. I still might have to blot once during the day - but I do carry some Mineral Veil around in the BE compact should I have need. It doesn't do the "cakey" thing that powders can do throughout the day. It just feels good to have on. No smell. No problem with eyes or lungs [by inhaling]. I do use a Flawless Application Brush to put this on and it does work - however I am also searching for the ultimate powder brush.


Be Warned - it can be messy to tap into the lid - but you have to use a restraining hand. It does seem to last a good long time - a plus when spending the coin for it.


The only reason I give this 4 lippies due to possible mess during application as well as cost - $18 is a bit high. But the product really is a gem so perhaps it's worth it!


on 2/3/2008 7:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I think this is the best of the Bare Escentuals products. It goes on light and blends well. It is the reason for the soft glow when using the minerals. This really is nothing more than a finishing powder, albeit a very nice one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2008 2:21:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Excellent as a primer and finshing powder with the bare minerals foundation. Without mineral veil I find that the bare minerals foundation can sometimes go a little shinny. Really lovely fine light powder - I occassionally just wear this on its own.


on 2/3/2008 2:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ummm...I dont understand the point of using this product. I used it for about a couple of weeks and stopped when I tried to cut down on my makeup time. I had started using it because I thought it would give me that "flawless look". But, after I stopped using it I realized that it didnt really do anything, or I would have noticed the difference and started using it again. I think the Bare Essentuals Rose Gossamer does more for your face, I use it over my blush and it gives me that glow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2008 9:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I fell in love w/ Bare Minerals for a while, then I realized its just too much work to get it on "just right" Too little and there is no coverage, too much and you look like a clown. I have since switched to tinted moisturizer w/ some loose powder and its 10x easier. The "glow" with this is kind of too obvious.


on 1/25/2008 12:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really like this product. As others have said, there is a somewhat pinkish hue to the powder but that works great for my complexion.

I apply it after putting on my blush and/or bronzer. It seems to tone down the blush and just set my face evenly, for a more natural look. I have pale skin and too much color on my face looks clownish.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Rose Radiance

76 reviews
image

Faux Tan

257 reviews
Back to Top