Bare Escentuals Bare Minerals Original Mineral Veil

3.7

1076 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

NEW INGREDIENTS>>> Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Corn Starch Modified, Zinc Stearate, Magnesium Stearate. (+/-): Iron Oxides (Ci 77491, Ci 77492, Ci 77499). OLD INGREDIENTS>>>Zea Mays (Corn) Starch, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Magnesium Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Methyparaben, Propylparaben.


on 2/7/2008 3:51:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I think I LOVE Mineral Veil. It can work well under your foundation - but I use it mostly as a finishing powder to help set your foundation. I switched to Everyday Minerals for my foundation [BE foundation irritated skin after several months of use]. I might test out some of their powders, but I doubt I will find something I'll love as much as the Mineral Veil [if I do - I'll write a review about!]



It feels cool to the skin. Silky soft. Refreshing on my face. Mineral Veil helps to minimize my pores. Doesn't irritate my skin. Definitely helps with oil control. I still might have to blot once during the day - but I do carry some Mineral Veil around in the BE compact should I have need. It doesn't do the "cakey" thing that powders can do throughout the day. It just feels good to have on. No smell. No problem with eyes or lungs [by inhaling]. I do use a Flawless Application Brush to put this on and it does work - however I am also searching for the ultimate powder brush.


Be Warned - it can be messy to tap into the lid - but you have to use a restraining hand. It does seem to last a good long time - a plus when spending the coin for it.


The only reason I give this 4 lippies due to possible mess during application as well as cost - $18 is a bit high. But the product really is a gem so perhaps it's worth it!



on 2/3/2008 7:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I think this is the best of the Bare Escentuals products. It goes on light and blends well. It is the reason for the soft glow when using the minerals. This really is nothing more than a finishing powder, albeit a very nice one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2008 2:21:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Excellent as a primer and finshing powder with the bare minerals foundation. Without mineral veil I find that the bare minerals foundation can sometimes go a little shinny. Really lovely fine light powder - I occassionally just wear this on its own.


on 2/3/2008 2:03:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ummm...I dont understand the point of using this product. I used it for about a couple of weeks and stopped when I tried to cut down on my makeup time. I had started using it because I thought it would give me that "flawless look". But, after I stopped using it I realized that it didnt really do anything, or I would have noticed the difference and started using it again. I think the Bare Essentuals Rose Gossamer does more for your face, I use it over my blush and it gives me that glow!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/1/2008 9:35:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I fell in love w/ Bare Minerals for a while, then I realized its just too much work to get it on "just right" Too little and there is no coverage, too much and you look like a clown. I have since switched to tinted moisturizer w/ some loose powder and its 10x easier. The "glow" with this is kind of too obvious.


on 1/25/2008 12:44:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I really like this product. As others have said, there is a somewhat pinkish hue to the powder but that works great for my complexion.

I apply it after putting on my blush and/or bronzer. It seems to tone down the blush and just set my face evenly, for a more natural look. I have pale skin and too much color on my face looks clownish.


on 1/21/2008 9:40:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I first bought this when I tried the package deal of mineral makeup with bare escentuals. The main problem is that even though it is tinted, it has a pinkish hue. I'd prefer a yellowish one. I bought a second one even though I don't use their foundation anymore and keep it around. It is okay. It's not my HG of powders but if I run short and need it, it may be my 'go to' powder in a pinch.


on 1/19/2008 1:11:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My HG loose powder! Mineral Veil has a perfect velvety texture that eliminates shine and requires few touch ups. I work and go to school so I apply it at 6 am and then generally touch up once around 3 or 4pm before work. This lasts until 10pm when I leave work. What more can you ask for? Oh yeah...better packaging for travel! My one complaint ;)


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

UPDATE: this apparently has cornstarch in it and I found out that this was the cause of my breakouts. Ugh...

I got this as past of the Bare Escentuals starter kit about 6 months ago. This is the only BE product which I actually enjoy using. It's simply a lightweight translucent setting powder with some oil-absorbent properties. This is very versatile and would probably work for most skin types and skin tones. I wear it on bare skin with just some concealer underneath for problem spots. Not a "flawless" look, but it does make me look quite decent. That said, I probably won't repurchase, this whole "minerals" hype just never really caught to me. The search for a HG loose powder continues.


on 1/17/2008 6:45:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I love my mineral veil.

I have very oily skin in the t-zone. By using mineral veil, I am able to not look like an oil mine.

The best part is how translucent it is so it blends right into the skin and does not feel like you are wearing anything at all.


Recommended for Normal Skin



Top Rated Bare Escentuals Products

image

Eye Brow powder

113 reviews
image

Fruit Cocktail

57 reviews
image

Vanilla Sugar

61 reviews
image

Mineral blush

58 reviews
Back to Top