Olay • Hydrating Beauty Fluid • Moisturizers

rated 4.1(240 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misspris26 on 7/12/2012 9:04:00 PM more reviews by misspris26

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My mom and nana swore by this and had great skin. I love the smell and the feel on my skin. It truly moisturizing. It smells so good I look forward to applying it. I like that it's old school Olay, the most famous one. I recall my mom and nana's were in a gorgeous glass bottle with the oil of okay lady on it. Just takes me back. Love it

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lydiaxaidyl on 6/29/2012 2:43:00 PM more reviews by lydiaxaidyl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Really wanted to like this product since it left my skin feeling smooth and supple; however, it really irritated my cheeks so I had to stop using this after a few days.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 carabara84 on 6/27/2012 8:53:00 AM more reviews by carabara84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This lotion was too irritating for my sensitive skin. I used it for a few days, and while it hydrating nicely, it left my face red and irritated by the end of the second day. I don't know if it's the fragrance or what, but I couldn't tolerate it. I was hoping for find a cheap alternative for my $35 I spend every few months on Korres Yoghurt Cream, but alas... thats the one I always run back to when nothing else works.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Icyvixen on 5/18/2012 2:31:00 AM more reviews by Icyvixen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

pleasant frangance, quick dried-out, leave a smooth skin, good in tropical climate, affect gently to my skin.

I'm in love with this product

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SparkleBunny37 on 5/18/2012 1:31:00 AM more reviews by SparkleBunny37

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Olay Beauty Fluid is a considered one of the brand's classic products. Beauty Fluid is meant to "replenish skin with moisture that soothes dryness". Olay also claims that Beauty Fluid will "moisturize to reveal softer, smoother, more supple skin, restore natural beauty of the skin, and help diminish the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles". This is a mineral oil, petrolatum, and glycerin based moisturizer, which is probably a turn off for some. This moisturizer features a "light, non greasy formula that's dermatologically tested and non-comedogenic". Unfortunately, Olay products are tested on animals, please keep that in mind when purchasing their products. I can't find information on where Olay products are made. Olay Beauty Fluid is available in two sizes, I currently have the smaller 4 fl oz bottle, which I purchased at Rite Aid for $7.99. The larger size, which I usually purchase, sells for $11.99. This is a product I've been using on an off for about 5 years.
Olay's Beauty Fluid comes in a rectangular, plastic, white bottle that appears pink because of the color of the fluid. Topping off the pink-ish bottle is a black plastic cap. Removing the cap reveals a small hole for dispensing product. It's really easy to over-dispense this moisturizer, and the hole tends to gum up and clog. Not a fan of the packaging. The bottle gives a fair amount of product info, but no ingredient list. Boo. The bottle is level 5 recyclable. Normally I don't mention the recyclable number, but not every recyclable program accepts 5's. Mine doesn't. Perhaps Olay should consider making their packaging a little more environmentally friendly. I also wish the Olay girl was on the bottle. She's embossed on the top of the cap, but that's not prominent enough for me to notice.
Olay's Beauty Fluid is a thin, pink lotion. It feels very cool and silky on the skin. I wouldn't say that it feels oily or greasy, but it definitely has an emollient, light, moist feel on the skin. Beauty Fluid sinks in very quickly, and you experience the results right away. I love how incredibly smooth and soft my skin feels immediately after application. Something about this moisturizer is super softening and deeply moisturizing, but still very light on the skin. The glycerin maybe? Despite having mineral oil as the fourth ingredient, this moisturizer doesn't have an oily texture. Honestly I prefer moisturizers with mineral oil in them. Don't hurt me. It never breaks me out or irritates my skin. Besides I've read a couple articles on the purification process of mineral oil, and how it's not carcinogenic, and other mineral oil myths, but that's for another post.
So as for the claims of giving smoother, softer, more supple skin? Totally legit in my book. I feel like of the moisturizers I've used over the years, I get the best over all results from this one. My skin changes instantly when I start using this one. It's so much softer right away.
Honestly I can't speak for the products anti-aging qualities. I haven't aged yet. I don't have wrinkles and only have the finest of lines. Roommate jokes that I still look 15 because I use this. Perhaps it's true. I know a couple older women who use Olay's Beauty Fluid, and all of them look younger than what they are. My mum uses this, and she certainly doesn't look 60+ (not sucking up, for reals). Maybe they all just have good genes, I don't know. The jury is out on the subject of anti-aging.
Olay's Beauty Fluid has a pretty strong scent that's kinda like a mix of baby lotion and roses. It reminds me of my mum, so I find it oddly comforting. However it's very potent and definitely not good for someone who is scent sensitive. The scent seems to linger on the skin for a couple minutes after application and gradually fades away.
I'm a big fan of Olay's Beauty Fluid. I can tell why it's considered one of their classics, and why they've been making it for so long. I've been using it for several years, mostly switching between this and Olay's Complete Daily Moisturizer; preferring Beauty Fluid. The results this moisturizer gives me are wonderful. My skin can't possibly get softer, or feel more moisturized. I have never had dry skin when using this moisturizer (and it's great for healing chapped lips). It obviously has anti-aging powers, since I haven't aged since I started using it when I was 15. Maybe it will keep me looking like a teenager forever! That'd be cool. Anyway, I'll continue to repurchase Olay's Beauty Fluid. The results, combined with the affordable price tag make this, in my humble opinion, the best drugstore moisturizer.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mkinthecity on 4/16/2012 3:27:00 AM more reviews by mkinthecity

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

The classic pink fluid that softens and helps keep my skin balanced and looking beautiful. I look forward to using this on my face and neck every evening. During the day I use the Olay Complete Spf 15 in the normal skin formulation (love that too - see my review!) The bottle is hygienic and great for travel. In this instance, quality does not equate to the price tag of this beauty in a bottle! As this drugstore gem outperforms high-end department store brands that I have tried in the past. Generations of women have used this product and it's still around. That speaks volumes over any claims that can be made by the company. In fact, I've been mistaken for being a decade younger (even more!) than I actually am, which never gets old;) I attribute this perception by strangers to the use of this secret little weapon. I guess it's not so secret after all because it's accessible to everyone. In my opinion, this product is better than advertised! Other products promise more, may have more elegant ingredients, and at a heftier price tag, but none have made my skin look more soft and smooth than this original classic pink fluid.

EDIT 7/12/2012: I had two bumps under my right eye that would not go away for many years. After starting to use this product every day since February (in the evening), I recently noticed that they are gone! I had to do a double take and in different lighting to make sure! I'm so happy and impressed with Olay products! I still have half of a 4 oz. bottle left (I bought a 2 pack about 6 months ago!) My skin looks great - clear, smooth, and glows! I stocked up on the Original Beauty Fluid and Complete version since it was on sale at the local drugstore and had two coupons so it basically came out to be a two-for-one sale when all was said and done! Sale or no sale, I will never be without my Olay...it's that awesome!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katjamiau on 4/7/2012 8:06:00 PM more reviews by katjamiau

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I bought this moisturizer a few days ago because my regular creme broke me out (clinique moist surge). So after reading all the good reviews on here I deceided to give this Olay fluid a try. It's not expensive so I wouldn't cry over the price if I wouldn't like it. Anyway, I put it on in the evening and the next morning i woke up with a face red like fire!! It was burning, I had massive break outs on my neck and my cheeks. My face looked like it was burned with some chemical acid or something :S I don't know what they put in this fluid but one thing is for sure: never again! It took 3 days for the irritation to dissapear:S I looked like a freak and stayed at home for like 2 days because I was embaressed to go outside.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 spedyu on 3/3/2012 5:34:00 PM more reviews by spedyu

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I've read a lot of positive review about Olay so I've decided to give it a try. Unfortunately I was really disappointed. I know it's supposed to be for sensitive skin but as soon as I put it on my face, it started itching, I've never had such a reaction to a moisturizer before. It also made me breakout like crazy. So, I would advice to test it on a small zone before applying it. I guess like any other product it really depends on the skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetdase on 2/21/2012 2:42:00 AM more reviews by sweetdase

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product in the states because we did not have it in Canada, but I actually just saw this at my local Wal-mart the other day, so I believe it finally got brought over.
I use this lotion during the day without any problems. If my face gets oily, it's because I have an oily face :( and even worse if I use an spf. So I think this lotion does a pretty good job at not making my face oily compared to other brands out there. I don't mind the scent. But I believe there is the lotion for sensitive skin that does not have the smell associated with the original bottle. Overall, I think this is a pretty good lotion for every day use. I use a different cream for night but I'm pretty sure this one works just as well at night. However, I think that if your skin is extremely dry, a thicker cream would work better than this. This lotion is good for under make up and for me, it didn't my face shiny. But it could also be that I live in a drier climate. So may in more humid environments, it might work differently. Anyway, I would most likely repurchase. But still haven't found my HG yet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DieMyDarling on 2/11/2012 4:43:00 PM more reviews by DieMyDarling

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had to replace my he beauty products with much more affordable products, and until finding this I've been so disappointed!
For less than $10 I have found my hg nighttime moisturizer! My skin is somewhat sensitive and acne prone on top of being oily and dry, so I was afraid to use anything with mineral oil...but this product actually cleared up the problems other more expensive products had caused.
The smell is strong at first, but I happen to love the baby powder/roses scent, and it fades within 10 minutes or so. My boyfriend loves the smell, although he said it was "loud" before it wore off.
I use quite a bit to get the desired effect...I usually don't like or need the heaviness of creams, but prefer a good dollop of lotion instead. It might feel like it's kind of sitting on top, but I wake up with such clear, moisturized, soft, but not oily skin!!
I noticed my new fine lines disappeared after only a week!
My skin keeps getting better and better--I think it's actually helping the couple of blackheads I had extract themselves--awesome!
I don't like using this during the day under makeup bc it has no SPF...not what I purchased it for, anyway. I tried it under makeup and believe I got a little oilier than usual, but I was moving that day and sweating a good bit.
Overall, I can see why this has been around for so long and won't be looking for a replacement!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Olay products

More Moisturizers products