MAC • Paint Pot in Painterly • Eye Shadow

rated 4.3(926 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mizzemmixox on 9/10/2013 7:25:00 PM more reviews by mizzemmixox

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I LOVE this product!!!! I have never used MAC products before and was a skeptic for years thinking that there had to be better or just as good drugstore products for a lesser price. I have REALLY oily eyelids as well as face so I have been struggling trying to find primers that can help my eyeshadow stay on and not crease. I have tried the urban decay primer potion, doesn't work by itself, and also the Too Face Shadow Insurance, and the same deal. They both creased on me after about 1-2 hours and the colours faded also. And I wasn't using bad quality eye shadows either, I have the Naked pallette. So I researched on Youtube and searched oily eyelids and I found a tutorial that told me to try putting on your primer and afterwards put a setting powder on top to soak up the oils. Tried that and it made my eyeshadow last for a couple more hours before it creased but I still wasn't happy. So I searched it again and found someone talking about this Paint Pot and how she paired it with her UD primer potion so I brought it and OMG I can't believe I've ever lived before this product. It doesn't crease my eyes at all! The colour of my eyeshadows do not fade. The other night I applied my eyeshadow at 6pm and didn't get home till 3am and I was dancing etc and my eyeshadow still looked like I just applied it. I would def recommend this product. My routine is I put my primer on, then the paint pot and then I put on the setting powder, after a few mins I then apply the eyeshadow. Sounds like a lot but so worth it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MsCadle on 9/5/2013 7:31:00 AM more reviews by MsCadle

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Works well for me. I use it as a primer and the top shade (highlighting). It creases a little but definitely makes my eyeshadow last longer and look more vivid. I haven't tried other primers bc this one works for me so idk if others are better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jaenanda on 8/16/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by Jaenanda

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is my eyeshadow primer. It is the only one I use, the one I buy over and over again, the product that everything else tried pales in comparison to. This is the product I recommend to my coworkers, my girlfriends, my mom, the aspiring drag queen I net on the streetcar- basically just about everyone.

I feel naked without it. I wear it almost every day. I love the way the color brightens up my eyes and my whole face just by itself, although for me the real beauty is the way it makes my other eyeshadows "pop" and stay on all night (even dancing in crowded smokey sweaty clubs in the drenchingly humid summer months in New Orleans), I never endure "total makeup meltdown" as long as I wear this as a base.

As I get (a wee, teensy bit) older, I do find that the skin on my eyelids is changing somewhat (getting crepe-ier... oh well. it happens)- instead of sweeping and smearing it on as I used to in my 20's (seriously, I have been using this stuff for almost 10 years), I find that I sort of just need to "pat" it on, gently now (probably should have been doing that from the beginning).

I don't know why this works so well for me, and I understand that it doesn't work for everyone, but here's a little bit about my skin to help you decide if this review will be useful for you, one way or another:

My skin is moderately oily. Not a total oil slick but my T-zone does get "glowy" within a few minutes of powdering my nose, and my eyelids are usually a bit greasy when I wake up in the morning. My skintone is a very light olive, more neutral than golden but there are some really "cool" colors that I just can't make work for me. I like the "Painterly" color because it is just a touch fairer than my actual skin tone, and shows up rather neutral-toned on my skin. I can wear it under red, green, blue, silver, gold, or any other color eyeshadow without the color being affected much, although the intensity of the shadow always is.

This is a perennial makeup-bag staple for me.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 moe5474 on 8/4/2013 1:23:00 PM more reviews by moe5474

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have very heavy eyelids that fold over along with really oily skin. This lovely combination makes it nearly impossible to find an eye shadow/base that will stay on my lids for more than a few hours. Most shadows that claim to be waterproof still only last 3 hours at most.

I had my makeup done for my wedding and warned the makeup artist that there was no way anything would stay on from my 11:00am makeup application through the reception that night. I asked if I could get some extra makeup to reapply since I knew it would slide off before we even made it to pictures that afternoon. She assured me that MAC paint pots were the key and even though I was really hesitant (I've heard it all before..."I promise OUR product is the best ever!"), I gave in and trusted her.

Low and behold if this stuff didn't keep my shadow and liner in place from 11:am that morning to 1:00am that night when we finally arrived at our hotel. It's the only thing I've ever found that works for me.

For me, the beauty of MAC paint pots is that you can wear them along or as a primer to hold your shadow and liner in place. I've got these in several colors and honestly don't know what I would do without them.

Definitely my holy grail eye product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cheetahsmonk on 8/1/2013 1:13:00 PM more reviews by Cheetahsmonk

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I fell in L-O-V-E with these shadows! I'm on a mission to buy all of them. It's a good thing that "Century 21" carries them now because the only disappointing thing to me is that the MAC site ALWAYS seems to be out of stock on stuff.
Anyway, When I first touched the shadow, I was worried that it might come on too heavy.
I really don't like that kind of look (just my opinion) but I was wrong. It almost looked like I wasn't wearing any shadow! And my eyes looked perkier, didn't crease & came off when I took it off. (I TRULY hope the MAC company keeps this item well stocked & PLEASE DO NOT DISCONTINUE IT.....) because it DEFINETLY is my FAVORITE!.
Next to the Studio Fix It Foundation & the setting facial mist, I absolutely L-O-V-E these shadows! I'm hoping to buy more next week. I'm sort of on a mission to get all of them! LOL
MAC has a winner with this! Please keep the shades coming! I'd love a Peach type or subtle Burgundy color myself (for a future suggestion)......
Susan G
Bklyn, NY

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andee on 8/1/2013 4:35:00 AM more reviews by Andee

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This is a great neutral wash color that is my goto when I want a minimalist makeup look. It just brightens the eye area without glitter and looks much smoother than powder shadows. It doesn't crease on me and lasts until I remove it. Teamed with some Nars pencil liner and Chantecaille Faux Cils mascara and my eyes look "done" without much effort.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Triggah on 7/31/2013 11:24:00 AM more reviews by Triggah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

MY favorite eyeshawdow base next to urban decay primer. The price is not bad and the product goes a long way. I only use high end products and this is awesome for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Luv4mkup on 7/28/2013 7:58:00 PM more reviews by Luv4mkup

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Hooked for life. Love this alone or under eyeshadow. Your shadow will not move until you take it off. Painterly is a nice subtle non shimmery color that really makes tired eyes look awake when worn alone. It also makes my lids look like I've had a "lift".

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missvengeance on 7/28/2013 3:59:00 PM more reviews by missvengeance

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

HG primer for me. I have been using this for years now and will continue to do so.
I have oily lids that are pretty discolored and this makes the perfect.
If I don't have time to do my makeup then I just put this on my lids, some mascara and I'm good to go.
The only con for me is the packaging, I wish it was in a tube or something more hygienic. I cut the end off a qtip, scoop some product out and put it on the back of my hand.
I highly recommend this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Efeemck on 7/27/2013 5:44:00 AM more reviews by Efeemck

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like this paint pot. It is lighter than my skintone but evens out the pigment of my skin whilst also doubling as a primer. Nice base for a smokey eye or alone for a more natural look!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products