Farouk CHI 44 Chi Iron Guard

3.3

183 reviews

49% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Polystyrene Sulfonate, SD Alcohol 40-B, Propylene Glycol, Polysorbate 20, PPG-20 Methyl Glucose Ether, Disodium EDTA, Hydrolyzed Silk, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein PG-Propyl Silantriol, Parfum, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Methylisothiazolinone, Ceramic.


on 12/18/2011 1:00:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I absolutely love this product and have been using it for years. A lot of people seem to experience a "crackling" when they use this product...this would be true for ANY heat protectant if you do not allow it to dry properly. I section my hair off then spray this in the first section. Give it about 30 seconds to dry (combing through it to detangle seems to speed up drying time) then I proceed to flatiron the section. I repeat this for each section. Hair type might also play a factor in how effective this product is for you. I am Asian and my hair is slightly coarse; this product works great for my hair type.



on 12/15/2011 8:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this to protect my hair from heat from my chi-iron and from heat when blow-drying. I bought it at Target were I paid $12 but here in Holland you pay like 15 ($20) for the Same product.

I use it before blow-drying or om dry hair before using my chi Iron. It does nothing for my hair. It leaves a grenst, sticker layer on my hair. It doesn't protect my hair from heat. I Would never buy it again.


on 11/28/2011 1:00:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, I'm actually really disappointed that this did nothing positive to my hair, I only hope the one advantage I got was protection from my straightening iron which I'm not even sure I got while straightening my hair. My hair felt dry, stiff like allot of people have said on here, which I'm not surprised because that was exactly how I was going to describe that it did to my hair before even deciding to write a review on it. I still use it cause there is still so much of it left in the bottle, and I'm using it until I can find better alternative till then my hair still needs protection.


on 11/13/2011 4:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I dont reallly know how im supposed to know if an iron guard works? hhaha. but i dont think it makes your hair stiff... and it tastes horrible. js. DO NOT TASTE IT! trust me i did on accident.


on 10/16/2011 2:46:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure if this is for Generic Value Product's version of CHI Iron Guard 44, but GVP @ Sally Beauty Supply, makes generic version of many expensive salon products (including their CHI iron) and use the EXACT same ingredients (but pay $5 a bottle) and amount, this is more economical because CHI is expensive. Okay, and it smells and looks just like brand name CHI iron guard and everything, besides it's the same thing. Well, how I apply it is I gently mist it allover my hair and rub through with my palms before flat ironing or brush through, let it dry, and then flatiron my hair by sections. The smell smells like unisex hair spray (I like it) since some straight guys flatiron their hair, instead of flowery fragrance. My hair's health was preserved during flat ironing (other than existing split ends, which seemed smoothed out some), and my hair was smoother and softer and nicer than flatiron WITHOUT thermal protectant (besides protecting it from heat damage). I got the same results and everything with the GVP version as brand name CHI iron guard. If you use enough, but not too little and allow mist to dry on hair (don't iron when damp from spray, fyi) it should not crackle, fizz or sizzle, or leave hair stiff and sticky.


on 10/10/2011 7:31:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I really loved this stuff. BUT, I know what happened to it. They changed the ingredients. I have an old one from a few years back and purchased a new one. Nothing like the old one. The new one dries your hair out and make's it stiff. CHI go back to the orginal recipe. The new one sucks!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/3/2011 10:23:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Product: 5/5 Texture: 5/5 Longevity: N/A Application: 5/5 Packaging: 5/5
I heard good things about this product, so I purchased it to try it out. This product is really great for styling your hair with use of flat irons, blow dryers, curling irons, etc... To use, you section your hair and spray over dry hair, then start using your heat styling tool. The scent of the product is pleasant; the texture is lightweight and non-sticky. When used to curl my hair, the product holds the curl very well. When used to straighten my hair, the product leaves me with a sleek, soft, and smooth look. Overall, I would recommend this product and definitely repurchase!


on 8/17/2011 5:08:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I love CHI. I mean, who doesn't? Their line of hair products are amazing, but EXTREMELY overpriced. Well, at least this one is. Heat protectants are important, yes, but there are so many equally good, cheaper ones out there. The product itself didn't dissapoint, but the idea of shelling out $20 per bottle is just too much for my wallet. Sorry, CHI.


on 8/17/2011 4:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I don't know what to say about this, as I've only tested it - but here are my thoughts. I went out looking for a silicone-free heat protectant [good luck to me since I live in Canada and we have fewer products stocked here] and ended up buying this - to all of you complaining of how expensive it is, it retails at 21 here! :o RIDICULOUS. Way too excited to try it out, I went home and sprayed it on one side of my head [as per the instructions, of course] and not the other, and then took my flat iron to small sections on both. The first thing I noticed is that one swipe in the unpsrayed side did the trick - I went pin-straight, shiny smooth and silky at 370 degrees with my Croc; on the sprayed side, I went straight, smooth and silky .... after several passes through my hair. And there was still some kink left. Wait what? Okay, so test 2: curling with my straightener, on new sections. The no spray side curled as usual .... the spray side frizzed up and stayed the way it was - pretty straight. My hair doesn't feel weighed down though, I LOVE the smell and a little while later, the sprayed side does seem considerably smoother and straighter. I'm still nervous about the chemicals and cones, since I'm trying so hard to stay away, but I'll bite the bullet to avoid heat damage :) Overall, not worth $20 bucks maybe, but I don't have anything else to compare it to and as long as it does the trick without starchy, heavy stickiness, I'm happy :)


on 8/9/2011 9:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I use this spray before using a curling iron. I'm not sure how necessary it is (maybe if you're using a flat iron which gets much hotter, it would be more important) but I haven't damaged my hair from my iron so I take that to mean this spray's working. It's easy to use and doesn't have any weird smell to it or make my hair greasy. It's something good to have.


Popular Styling Products


Mythic Oil
Mythic Oil
52 Reviews
Potion 9
Potion 9
440 Reviews


Top Rated Farouk CHI Products

Back to Top