Farouk CHI • 44 Chi Iron Guard • Styling Products

rated 3.3(179 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.50%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 xxAnjelicaxx on 10/16/2011 2:46:00 AM more reviews by xxAnjelicaxx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not sure if this is for Generic Value Product's version of CHI Iron Guard 44, but GVP @ Sally Beauty Supply, makes generic version of many expensive salon products (including their CHI iron) and use the EXACT same ingredients (but pay $5 a bottle) and amount, this is more economical because CHI is expensive. Okay, and it smells and looks just like brand name CHI iron guard and everything, besides it's the same thing. Well, how I apply it is I gently mist it allover my hair and rub through with my palms before flat ironing or brush through, let it dry, and then flatiron my hair by sections. The smell smells like unisex hair spray (I like it) since some straight guys flatiron their hair, instead of flowery fragrance. My hair's health was preserved during flat ironing (other than existing split ends, which seemed smoothed out some), and my hair was smoother and softer and nicer than flatiron WITHOUT thermal protectant (besides protecting it from heat damage). I got the same results and everything with the GVP version as brand name CHI iron guard. If you use enough, but not too little and allow mist to dry on hair (don't iron when damp from spray, fyi) it should not crackle, fizz or sizzle, or leave hair stiff and sticky.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LAsCene on 10/10/2011 7:31:00 PM more reviews by LAsCene

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I really loved this stuff. BUT, I know what happened to it. They changed the ingredients. I have an old one from a few years back and purchased a new one. Nothing like the old one. The new one dries your hair out and make's it stiff. CHI go back to the orginal recipe. The new one sucks!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anje1013 on 9/3/2011 10:23:00 PM more reviews by anje1013

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Product: 5/5 Texture: 5/5 Longevity: N/A Application: 5/5 Packaging: 5/5
I heard good things about this product, so I purchased it to try it out. This product is really great for styling your hair with use of flat irons, blow dryers, curling irons, etc... To use, you section your hair and spray over dry hair, then start using your heat styling tool. The scent of the product is pleasant; the texture is lightweight and non-sticky. When used to curl my hair, the product holds the curl very well. When used to straighten my hair, the product leaves me with a sleek, soft, and smooth look. Overall, I would recommend this product and definitely repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jueykang on 8/17/2011 5:08:00 PM more reviews by jueykang

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I love CHI. I mean, who doesn't? Their line of hair products are amazing, but EXTREMELY overpriced. Well, at least this one is. Heat protectants are important, yes, but there are so many equally good, cheaper ones out there. The product itself didn't dissapoint, but the idea of shelling out $20 per bottle is just too much for my wallet. Sorry, CHI.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amnahp12 on 8/17/2011 4:45:00 PM more reviews by amnahp12

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know what to say about this, as I've only tested it - but here are my thoughts. I went out looking for a silicone-free heat protectant [good luck to me since I live in Canada and we have fewer products stocked here] and ended up buying this - to all of you complaining of how expensive it is, it retails at 21 here! :o RIDICULOUS. Way too excited to try it out, I went home and sprayed it on one side of my head [as per the instructions, of course] and not the other, and then took my flat iron to small sections on both. The first thing I noticed is that one swipe in the unpsrayed side did the trick - I went pin-straight, shiny smooth and silky at 370 degrees with my Croc; on the sprayed side, I went straight, smooth and silky .... after several passes through my hair. And there was still some kink left. Wait what? Okay, so test 2: curling with my straightener, on new sections. The no spray side curled as usual .... the spray side frizzed up and stayed the way it was - pretty straight. My hair doesn't feel weighed down though, I LOVE the smell and a little while later, the sprayed side does seem considerably smoother and straighter. I'm still nervous about the chemicals and cones, since I'm trying so hard to stay away, but I'll bite the bullet to avoid heat damage :) Overall, not worth $20 bucks maybe, but I don't have anything else to compare it to and as long as it does the trick without starchy, heavy stickiness, I'm happy :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MissNRI on 8/9/2011 9:13:00 PM more reviews by MissNRI

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use this spray before using a curling iron. I'm not sure how necessary it is (maybe if you're using a flat iron which gets much hotter, it would be more important) but I haven't damaged my hair from my iron so I take that to mean this spray's working. It's easy to use and doesn't have any weird smell to it or make my hair greasy. It's something good to have.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ferisita on 8/1/2011 6:44:00 PM more reviews by ferisita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product. Although it is expensive I think it really works!!! My hair used to be a mess because i used my flat iron almost every day, and i used the Tresemme thermal protection spray, but after using this I really noticed that it did work, I almost dont get any split end when I use my flat iron. I think that I will buy this again

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Shoppingisasport on 7/29/2011 11:50:00 AM more reviews by Shoppingisasport

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I will tell you a little secret: I just bought a product called FX Wild Harvest Flat Iron spray that I believe is a dupe for this stuff. Only $7 and smells and works great. I like the smell of the Iron Guard but I never understood why it was so expensive. CHI makes amazing flat irons but I don't really like their haircare products. Like I said try the Wild Harvest stuff before you shell out $15 for this. Or buy the smaller size.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 turnthisaround on 7/23/2011 11:43:00 PM more reviews by turnthisaround

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I hate this stuff. I got it along with my chi iron about two years ago. I use it on and off because I really want it to work but it just doesn't. No matter how I apply, the result is the same.

Fluffy/poofy soft yet stiff and unmanageable hair. It's like a cheap hairspray. The hair won't move, my iron doesn't glide over my hair, it almost sticks and it's 3x as hard to straighten.
I made the mistake of putting this on wet hair and letting it dry once and my roots were disgusting; sticky, stiff and oily.

I hear my hair sizzle and it becomes even more stiff after "straightening."

I don't notice the smell..guess i'm too focused on how it causes more damage to my hair.
My hair catches more on the iron, breaks, dries out and crimps.

Worst product ever. Don't buy this. there are serums out there for far less money that do a great job.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DollParts7 on 7/23/2011 9:55:00 AM more reviews by DollParts7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This seems very middle-of-the-spectrum in reviews to me. Personally, I can't stand the smell either. It's supposed to be 'unisex', and I understand that some men do flat iron their hair, and they appreciate not smelling like a flowery woman every time they do (Metrosexuals, woot woot)

However, for me, as a fluffy, pink, powderpuff kind of girl, the scent is gross. And I'd like it to be just a little more feminine. However, the smell actually doesn't stick around that often.

As for the sizzling that I keep hearing, I'm going to say this, you're doing it wrong if your hair is sizzling. That means you've put too much, and ultimately, that means that your hair will end up fried, crunchy, and/or stiff.

So, as some have advised, spray it on your palms and then pat or smooth onto your hair, or do as I do. I divide my very curly hair into sections, and then spray this stuff on. Yes, directly. I comb through it, and then I wait for it to dry.

That's it! Then I use my 410 flat iron (no lower or higher on my cheapie Zoe) and no sizzling. It glides, and my hair is soft and the smell is gone. By the time the entirety of my hair is done, there is hardly any damage and it's soft, smooth, and most importantly, NOT STIFF!

Certainly better than nothing, but why is it that the only heat sprays I've had luck with smell absolutely terrible! Both scents go away, but they're just icky!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products