Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment • Treatments (Face)

rated 4.0(506 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BothCoasts on 8/27/2012 10:12:00 PM more reviews by BothCoasts

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Interesting thing about this product:
.
I have normal skin that doesn't really break out all that often (knock on wood). It just gets a little dull and dry--a sign, according to my derm, that I should exfoliate. So I tried this stuff 2-3 times per week and it makes my skin a little softer, and a little brighter. It's not life-changing, but for me, it doesn't have to be. Thus, I recommend it.
.
My husband has ridiculously problematic skin--cystic acne (still!) that never really appears as pimples, but causes all sorts of painful pressure beneath the skin. And oily to the hilt--like, white pillowcases are dingy within a week (I'm really sorry if you were eating when you read that!)
...And he's stolen my tube. I won't say that it cures his skin problems because his issues are probably the sort that only respond to Hail Mary professional measures, but he says that it seems to work "well enough" to keep things "at bay."
.
So there you have it--two hits, one bottle.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cocolovescocopuffs on 8/16/2012 10:56:00 PM more reviews by cocolovescocopuffs

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I think this a great option for a BHA. It keeps my skin clear without drying it out too much. It is also a good price for 2 oz ($6). It has a light scent and feels smooth. I pretty much can't live without it. I barely get acne anymore *\o/*

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mppaul23 on 8/11/2012 8:55:00 AM more reviews by mppaul23

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it from the first application! Okay I haven't used acne treatments since high school so I wasn't sure what to expect. I just wanted my skin to be healthy. Well this treatment feel really good going on and doesn't dry or flake my skin. I clean first with the Oil Free Acne Wash with pink grapefruit then follow with this and a spot treatment. So far it make my skin feel wonderful and I anticipate my once a month acne flare ups are a thing of the past or at least less noticeable. I would definitely buy again, this is a keeper.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Neume on 8/6/2012 10:49:00 AM more reviews by Neume

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I wrote off Neutrogena products back in high school because they were always so drying. Now at 24 years old I'm still struggling with occasional breakouts, and after reading the great reviews here I decided to give it a chance.

About $6-7, depending on where you go, you get a well-packaged squeeze tube with a screw on cap that does not leak with travel. The product itself is very thin and liquidy, which was a turn off at first but I found allows you to spread a small amount of product over a very large area, so really only a pea size will do for face and neck. The liquid is slightly cooling and refreshing to the skin and does not sting. It claims to contain 2% Salicylic Acid. I use 1-2 times a day after cleansing.

While this hardly did anything for my face breakouts, it worked WONDERS on the acne on my back! Ever since I started using it on my back I haven't had a breakout in over 2 months!! This is unheard of for me. I just wish it did the same for my face. Otherwise, I highly recommend and plan to repurchase.



UPDATE:
Still no breakouts on my back! And the breakouts on my face are significantly less. I have added this to my permanent regimen. As a note, Amazon.com offers this as a subscription delivery, meaning they will send you one every month (or whatever time interval that you choose) for a discounted price. I get mine for only $5.12. This may be helpful as this is kind of hard to find.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 cccchloe on 8/3/2012 11:11:00 PM more reviews by cccchloe

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted to like this product after reading about it on beautypedia.com. If i take good care of my skin using the right products, i can have beautifully clear healthy skin. If not, I can be plagued by pimples and cystic acne that take forever to go away, not to mention the marks they leave behind. I noticed my skin responded really well to acne.org's AHA lotion, so I bought this when I was at the pharmacy because it is cheap and I wanted to try a BHA. This ranked at one of Paula's top BHA products.

First, the scent. I know scents are not good in skincare, but i have to admit that i enjoy them and they are a guilty pleasure of mine, to be honest. The scent of this product was gag inducing. It smells like bad artificial watermelon gum. It's not a deal breaker for me if the product works, but wow it is nauseating, so I can't even imagine what it would be like for someone who gags over more "enjoyable" scented products.

The big problem with this product for me is the silicone in it. Paula Bedoun seems to love and encourage silicone in every product, and she includes it in her serums. My skin just does not agree with it. The more I used it, the more subsurface bumps I could feel appearing under my skin, just like every other silicone based skincare product I've used. I did not see any benefit whatsoever from the salicylic acid. I can only tolerate foundations with silicones (do they even make foundations without silicones?) maybe because I wash my face really well at night.

If you are looking for an affordable exfoliator for acne-prone skin, try acne.org's AHA lotion. It stings the first few times (but I've learned to associate that feeling with the product working), and every morning you wake up with clearer and more even skintone. It comes in a much bigger bottle, and dare I say it is actually moisturizing? For me at least. I don't need to use a separate moisturizer after. The Neutrogena one did nothing for exfoliating.. it did the complete opposite. Clog my pores.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Moneyinthebanx on 7/29/2012 9:58:00 AM more reviews by Moneyinthebanx

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is one acne treatment I will be repurchasing. I don't remember the price being outrageous probably between 4-7 dollars.

The packaging helps to funnel the product to the bottom so you can get every last drop, with this you can even cut the top and scrape out that among the bottom of the tube.


I like that I don't get "peely" with this product and that it helps to clear up my acne.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sileny on 7/28/2012 12:09:00 PM more reviews by Sileny

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is the best drugstore BHA product out there. According to beautypedia, it actually has the correct PH level for the salicylic acid to exfoliate and clean out pores so I gave it a shot. A week later, my skin is smoother and my pores are looking better and not sandpaper-y. The texture is extremely lightweight and gel-like and absorbs very quickly into the skin and doesn't dry or irritate it. The cucumber scent, though, is a little strong for my liking, but it fades quickly.


I used to have extremely oily skin (I'm on accutane now), so I can tell this would be enough of a moisturizer during the summer, but for those with combo or drier skin might find it lacking - I have to use a moisturizer afterwards. The small bumps have either faded or on their way to going away. It has no effect on the cystic pimples, however.


Salicylic acid works for acne because it helps with exfoliation so pores don't get clogged by itself (skin not shedding properly). If you find that this doesn't help with your acne, you might have to use an antibacterial treatment in conjunction like benzoyl peroxide (i.e. use BHA in the morning and BP at night). If nothing from the drugstore/counter works then you have to see a dermatologist, like I do. I really just use this as gentle exfoliation to use with my accutane.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 oooHUNTRESSooo on 7/11/2012 3:07:00 PM more reviews by oooHUNTRESSooo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Neutrogena claims this product both fights acne and moisturizes.
The first claim is true, but the second isn't. I wouldn't really describe this as a drying treatment, but my skin definitely doesn't feel moisturized. And I'm quite oily and not prone to dehydration in the summer. This doesn't bother me because it's currently very hot and I am in no need of moisture, but I'm not sure I will continue using this in the winter or if I will have to combine it with something that actually does give a bit of water to my face.

As far as the acne fighting part goes, it does what it promises. After a few days of using this, I have felt less bumps when touching my face, my pores became less clogged, which resulted in an overall improvement of the look and feel of my skin.
Mind you, I am not too ance-prone. My cystic acne and painful inflammation days have, hopefully passed, never to return again. I am, however, prone to small bumps and my pores get clogged very easily, although I clean my face regularly, without being too harsh.
The only real problem I have with this treatment is that it stops working after a few weeks. This is not uncommong for me. All treatments containing either AHAs or BHAs become less effective over a short period of time so I have to switch between the regularly. I am currently combining this with Avene Cleanance K, which is an AHA-based treatment. Every 2 weeks, I stop using one, and switch to the other. This has been working excellently, I have very few bumps and my skin has been reacting very well to this regime.

This treatment doesn't aggravate my skin, it's not irritating and it smells very nice and fresh.
All in all, I would recommend it for people who don't suffer from dehydration and want an effective BHA product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gracy775 on 7/5/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by gracy775

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I relly love this lotion! I have tried a lot of different creams and lotion, but nothing beats this one! Altough with my acne toner, it can be a little tiny bit drying, it really helped me control my break outs. I can have like...4-5 pimples at a time on my nose, but now, I can get max 1!
Still, it does not help with redness, so...can I only give this a 4.
The 2% of Salicylic acid is also a plus...but if you have other acne products, I wouldnt suggest using this...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maddy24 on 7/4/2012 8:31:00 PM more reviews by Maddy24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

this worked well on my skin for about 6 months, but has suddenly stopped working, i must have developed a tolerance to it. It never dryed my skin out, and seemed to control the oil. It worked best for me in large quantities, morning and night. it never completely got rid of my acne but did help a little bit. If you dont have terrible acne this would work well for you, unfortunately it was not strong enough for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments (Face) products