Neutrogena • Oil-Free Acne Stress Control 3-in-1 Hydrating Acne Treatment • Treatments

rated 4.0(500 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 oooHUNTRESSooo on 7/11/2012 3:07:00 PM more reviews by oooHUNTRESSooo

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Neutrogena claims this product both fights acne and moisturizes.
The first claim is true, but the second isn't. I wouldn't really describe this as a drying treatment, but my skin definitely doesn't feel moisturized. And I'm quite oily and not prone to dehydration in the summer. This doesn't bother me because it's currently very hot and I am in no need of moisture, but I'm not sure I will continue using this in the winter or if I will have to combine it with something that actually does give a bit of water to my face.

As far as the acne fighting part goes, it does what it promises. After a few days of using this, I have felt less bumps when touching my face, my pores became less clogged, which resulted in an overall improvement of the look and feel of my skin.
Mind you, I am not too ance-prone. My cystic acne and painful inflammation days have, hopefully passed, never to return again. I am, however, prone to small bumps and my pores get clogged very easily, although I clean my face regularly, without being too harsh.
The only real problem I have with this treatment is that it stops working after a few weeks. This is not uncommong for me. All treatments containing either AHAs or BHAs become less effective over a short period of time so I have to switch between the regularly. I am currently combining this with Avene Cleanance K, which is an AHA-based treatment. Every 2 weeks, I stop using one, and switch to the other. This has been working excellently, I have very few bumps and my skin has been reacting very well to this regime.

This treatment doesn't aggravate my skin, it's not irritating and it smells very nice and fresh.
All in all, I would recommend it for people who don't suffer from dehydration and want an effective BHA product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gracy775 on 7/5/2012 9:37:00 PM more reviews by gracy775

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I relly love this lotion! I have tried a lot of different creams and lotion, but nothing beats this one! Altough with my acne toner, it can be a little tiny bit drying, it really helped me control my break outs. I can have like...4-5 pimples at a time on my nose, but now, I can get max 1!
Still, it does not help with redness, so...can I only give this a 4.
The 2% of Salicylic acid is also a plus...but if you have other acne products, I wouldnt suggest using this...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Maddy24 on 7/4/2012 8:31:00 PM more reviews by Maddy24

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

this worked well on my skin for about 6 months, but has suddenly stopped working, i must have developed a tolerance to it. It never dryed my skin out, and seemed to control the oil. It worked best for me in large quantities, morning and night. it never completely got rid of my acne but did help a little bit. If you dont have terrible acne this would work well for you, unfortunately it was not strong enough for me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 snowwhitewithredhair on 7/4/2012 1:45:00 AM more reviews by snowwhitewithredhair

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

This stuff is the worst! I bought it in the first place because I saw all these good comments about how it works over night and they don't have to wear foundation anymore. But those comments were on the neutrogena's website, so like a dummy I bought right before a trip and it made my acne so bad that I had three pimples the sizes of balloons and it hurt my face and I had to put tons of makeup on! And during that trip I got purposed too! I wish I could sue, I now have acne scars so I have to foundation now when I didn't before!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* caramelkiss19 on 6/30/2012 10:21:00 AM more reviews by caramelkiss19

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I wanted to love this, and did for awhile for a few reasons. I loved the way it felt, the gel-like texture and most of all the way it smelled and made my skin feel. But over time I noticed this wasn't helping, it was clogging my pores rather than clearing my face. I am very clog-prone and something in this ruined an otherwise wonderful experience. Could use a definite reformulation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MysteryButterfly on 6/24/2012 12:21:00 AM more reviews by MysteryButterfly

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

So ive been using this for about a month now. at first my face started to break out a little. mainly on my forehead but thats pretty normal. i always get pimples and most products with salicylic acid give me pimples on my forehead. but after a while i didnt break out as much. and now no more pimples on my forehead. my skin has been behaving pretty well and have been clear lately. so 2 nights ago i took a break from this and my pimples are back... i dont think i will ever stop using this product. love it<33 its so light and doesnt make my combo skin oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 bubble44 on 6/21/2012 8:10:00 PM more reviews by bubble44

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

The total WORSE product i have ever ever ever used! within days my skin looked the worst it ever has done, blocked my pores leaving my face covered in blind pimples.... i wouldn't ever use this product again even if i got paid to.... shocking results!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 AleneM on 6/17/2012 6:11:00 PM more reviews by AleneM

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This broke me out. I am very sensitive to sunscreens and this was no exception. But I actually didn't like anything about it anyway. I didn't feel like it really did anything for me and my skin was oily by mid-day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 koushi on 6/11/2012 3:17:00 AM more reviews by koushi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this product as it helped to deal with my heavily clogged pores. (Its active ingredient is 2% salicylic acid, which delves deep into pores to exfoliate.) Even though fragrance is often a no-no for skincare, I didn't mind the scent of the treatment, and I liked the ease of use of the squeeze bottle and the fact that you can see how much is left. I also like the feel of the product on your skin and how quickly it absorbs; there is no residue and no menthol like a lot of other Neutrogena products do. The price is also a bonus. I can't seem to find this at grocery stores anymore and it's out of stock at Neutrogena's website, so it may be getting discontinued.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 billie999 on 5/26/2012 12:20:00 AM more reviews by billie999

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Tic tok....tic toc.....


Been using this product for a month. My acne still looks horrible....the same if not WORSE than before I used this. I have seen no benefits from this. I don't know if a month is too soon to say but oh well. I am looking for a product that will clear my skin up faster than this. One month, still no sign of clearing up....I'm moving on to another product.

Will never buy again.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Neutrogena products

More Treatments products