Make Up For Ever • Duo Mat Powder foundation • Powder

rated 3.9(295 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 glowww333 on 12/26/2012 4:57:00 PM more reviews by glowww333

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I will not repurchase because powder foundations do not work for me. I have a lot of very very fine hairs on my face and powder foundation just goes on top of them and I look like I have flour on my face ;) however, this is a great product, I still use it on top of my liquid foundation when I want extra strong hold (all day events). It is smooth, pigmented and not chalky. If powder foundations are your thing, I for sure recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 domisol on 12/26/2012 2:06:00 PM more reviews by domisol

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is amazing when used as a setting powder on top of your favorite foundation. It keeps shine at bay for hours! I use a powder brush and apply a light coat over my foundation. Flawless and Shine-free. It lasts forever and it is worth every penny of the $34.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 annie108 on 12/24/2012 1:12:00 PM more reviews by annie108

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This powder foundation works really well for me. I apply with a kabuki brush and usually use it on top of moisturizer and BB cream (skin79 pink label). This leaves me with matte but not dry skin with an even skintine that still looks natural. In a pinch I can use it alone and apply with the sponge, but that gives a heavier, drier finish. I have pretty sensitive and very acne-prone skin, and this doesn't irritate me or clog my pores at all.

This lasts through the workday for me, but if I'm going out in the evening I do need to touch it up, especially on my forehead. Shade 200 is perfect for my pale, peachy skin.

The only negative to me is that I blow through this soooo fast. I use it up much faster than any of my other products. It's expensive to start with, so frequent repurchasing is painful, but it's worth it to me for the effect it gives.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 blu3 on 12/13/2012 9:44:00 PM more reviews by blu3

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm kind of on a love-hate relationship with the duo mat powder. I have it in 207 (golden beige) at the moment though i tend to fluctuate between 205 (medium beige) and 207. I have oily skin (especially my T-zone, it's a slip n slide) and am acne prone. When first applied, it does indeed look very matte and it feels very light. Though, within a few hours I'm pretty shiny again. So the promise of "long-lasting" doesn't live up. In the few months I've used it I haven't broken out (which a lot of brands have made me do). Also, you don't get very much product. I'm the kind of girl who can make a bottle of liquid foundation last almost a year, and my powder foundation at least 6 months, but within just 2 months, I already hit pan. Would I repurchase? For now...until I can find a better alternative.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 suebeehoneyz on 12/9/2012 4:13:00 PM more reviews by suebeehoneyz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this powder foundation! I just made the switch from MAC's Studio Fix (which I have been using for the past 4 years). I was always shiney with the SF. But with MUFE - I stay matte and my skin looks more refreshed!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* viennah on 11/16/2012 9:45:00 PM more reviews by viennah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love this powder. I sampled SO many before buying. I found other powders to be too sheer, too thick, too cakey, and they would settle into pores and lines making them more obvious. I became convinced my oily skin just hated all powders... until this one came along. The coverage is just right: it goes on smooth and light, but is buildable. I can use it over a liquid foundation for serious coverage and incredible staying powder, or I can wear it alone. Even when I wear it alone it covers beautifully and lasts. It never cakes or settles. It gives my skin a lovely texture and keeps the oilies at bay. The colour (200 - Beige Opalescence) matches my NARS Sheer Matte Foundation in Gobi very well. I've had this for almost a year now and I wear it often, but I still more than half left. I will be repurchasing when I (eventually!) run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tobermory12 on 11/12/2012 12:50:00 AM more reviews by tobermory12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Excellent face powder for oily skins. Sets foundation or can be used alone for light coverage. Very good at absorbing oil throughout the day with minor touch ups. I have not had a problem with the powder darkening as it absorbs the oil. I have tried Benefits Hello Flawless and MAC Blot Powder, and prefer this for the colour match to my skin. I will definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bountiful23 on 11/8/2012 8:15:00 AM more reviews by Bountiful23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Black    

After searching high and low for a good powder foundation, I think I may have found it with this product. I have tried Studio fix, Revlon, Cover fx and countless other foundations, but this finally does the trick for me. The undertones in this makeup are dead on for me. I tend to have a warm orange undertone, not red and not yellow. All the powders seemed to be either too red or too yellow. This is PERFECT. When the MUA tried it on me I was shocked, maybe because I was used to being disappointed. I came home and tried it on (because sometimes the lighting can make a BIG difference) and it was perfect again. It was so natural looking. I am so relieved. I also has not caused any breakouts. I do wish it was a little cheaper, but sometimes you have to pay the price for something that works. I am an NW45 in Mac foundation, and 216 in MUFE.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sayakhansa on 11/7/2012 9:16:00 PM more reviews by sayakhansa

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

DRY. DRY.

This is admittedly my very first powder foundation. I got the colour 209 which makes me look like an oompa loompa within a couple of hours. This can be confusing, when first applied, this goes on chalky, powdery and heavy. A few hours later, I would turn into an oil slick. Ick. I don't get all the love. I've tried using a kabuki brush and wet sponge, dry sponge, whatever. It's still dry, chalky, yet it makes me greasy in a few hours. The coverage is pretty good but it slides off very quickly. Will never repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ccede on 10/23/2012 2:40:00 PM more reviews by ccede

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know whether to love this or hate this. I used to be a huge MAC addict and only used studiofix powder (I'm an NC45). I switched to MUFE in early September. When the makeup artist at Sephora applied it on me, I liked it a lot. It was combined with the MUFE primer. The makeup felt very lightweight compared to MAC, barely there and looked natural.

In the morning, I apply my moisturizer and primer, followed by this powder and MAC mineralized concealer. I don't apply bronzer and instead use a mineralized bronzed blush by MAC. The time of completion is 6:30 A.M.

By 12 P.M., I'm pretty shiny and have to use MAC pressed blot powder and blotting sheets. I have to again retouch by 5 P.M.


I don't recall having to retouch so much with my MAC...it stayed pretty matte throughout the day. The only pro that this has compared to MAC is that it offers a very natural color, whereas MAC leaves me looking a bit grayish. Also, this offers better buildable coverage.

I've also noticed that I this causes me to break out in tiny bumps..my MAC didn't do that, which may be surprising. I hope that my skin can just get used to this powder..

I'm almost running out, and I'm not sure if i'll repurchase it. This lasts way shorter than MAC's studiofix and is way more expensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Make Up For Ever products

More Powder products