MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish in Lightscapade • Highlighters

rated 4.2(191 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 TheSilverSnowflake on 3/2/2013 11:53:00 PM more reviews by TheSilverSnowflake

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

This is my HG everyday highlighter. I donít have a lot of highlighter experience, but almost everything I tried was very discoball. (I like glitter, but not in my normal routine.) This was the first MSF I bought and it was very much worth it. I purchased mine from eBay since theyíre discontinued again I guess, and Iím not sure which release it is from. But it has very good veining, lots of pink, gold, and blue. I use it on my cheekbones primarily, and sometimes my brow bones. Iím NW5/15, so the color itself pretty much disappears into my foundation without too much blending, but the shimmer shows up very nicely under good lighting. If youíre looking for an understated highlighter that doesnít take a lot of work, see if you can get one of these. I agree with one of the previous reviews that you could probably use a white shimmer eyeshadow and get a similar effect, but the amount of product you get with an MSF is huge, so I find the expense pretty justifiable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kurbiskonigin on 2/10/2013 1:16:00 PM more reviews by Kurbiskonigin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Oh. My. God. I love this stuff. I went into MAC while on vacation recently and told the MAC artist I was looking for a bunch of new things. One thing I was looking for was something I could use as a face highlight, but also on my eyes. (I go through eyeshadow highlighters like water. They use up so quickly!) Just a universal highlighting product. She brought me out this.

I fell in love instantly. It's the perfect highlight. Not too gold, not too pink or blue. Very neutral, very light, & very natural. It picks up the sunlight on your cheeks and brow bones like a halo effect. It lasts (on me, anyway) all day. Doesn't settle into lines or highlight imperfections. (It seems to blend them away.) On the eyes you can pack it on for a vibrant, opaque shimmery effect (like using a neutral-white shimmer eyeshadow) on the lid or dust it on lightly on the brow bone for a natural effect.

Definitely worth the money. This will last me forever!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ohcaitlin on 1/19/2013 9:41:00 PM more reviews by ohcaitlin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Worth every penny! I love this product. I use it as a brow highlighter, along the temples in moderation, in my inner eye corners, and on my Cupid's bow - especially when wearing a bold lip. Fantastic for us porcelain skinned gals.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 xKamilax on 1/2/2013 3:02:00 PM more reviews by xKamilax

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is my HG highlighter! It is AMAZING! A friend of mine recommended it to me so I bought it straight away, I use this every single day under my eyebrows and under my eyes sometimes on my nose. And it gives an amazing finish! I LOVEEEE LOVE THIS. If you were thinking of buying this. Do it!
PROS
+ AMAZING colour for highlighter
+ A lot of product
+ Will last forever
+ Smells Nice
CONS
- No mirror in the compact :'(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 linachu on 12/20/2012 7:45:00 AM more reviews by linachu

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was the first powder highlighter that I've bought. I've always been skeptical with highlighters because they always look to shimmery or glittery. I quite like it but I don't love it. It looks beautiful on the pan and on the skin. It's a very pale almost white beige that gives a sheen to the skin where applied. You do not need much to get the effect you desire. No crazy discoball face either! I apply this to my cupids bow and cheek bones. Looks lovely in both sunlight and indoor lighting.

I would repurchase, but I don't see myself running out anytime soon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pulsesync on 11/4/2012 1:09:00 AM more reviews by pulsesync

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have to say I'm not that impressed. This perfectly serves its function, but I feel like so would a sheer shimmery white eyeshadow. I tried using Jordana Snowy White eyeshadow and it looked extremely similar. Highlighters have their nuances like all makeup products, and in this case the biggest difference is that the Jordana eyeshadow's white base is more pigmented and you have to use a light hand with it. With MAC Lightscapade, if you only want a natural looking glow, a light-medium hand is fine. It looks like it gives a dewy glow as opposed to LOOK AT MY SHIMMERY DEWY CHEEKS. However, I find myself needing several swipes or a heavy hand so it can waste a bit of time. Then again, I'd rather look not dewy enough than way too shiny. I sort of bought it so I could resell it for a higher price, then I ended up liking it enough to keep. :P

All the same though - I'd be totally happy using any of my other highlighters like CoverGirl Snow Plum (what an unsung hero! This is slightly iridescent white-champagney pink) , Boots Shimmering Lotion, Wet n' Wild Reserve Your Cabana, Wet 'n' Wild Acapulco Glow etc. In no way is MAC Lightscapade something I'd always repurchase, mostly because there are outstanding cheaper options.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 truebluelady on 11/4/2012 1:42:00 AM more reviews by truebluelady

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My HG highlighter. I swear I am in love. It gives a beautiful angelic glow.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kaylsy on 10/14/2012 11:40:00 AM more reviews by kaylsy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

a nice powder highlighter for cheekbones, I wish this was permanent. Use it pretty much everyday with a mac 187 brush

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ilovemakeup90844 on 9/7/2012 8:00:00 PM more reviews by ilovemakeup90844

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

i love this products ,its the perfect highlight color without being to shiny or sparkly it just gives you a healthy glow,will definitely be repurchasing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sianlb on 8/25/2012 5:21:00 PM more reviews by sianlb

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I had high hopes for this product as it was the first MSF I had tried. I was keen to find a highlighter and seeing as this one was raved about after it's first release, I snapped it up when it showed up on shelves again.
I have to say I am all in all disappointed with this product. Firstly, I managed to get a bake with very little marbling in it, there are some blue veins running through mine but hardly any of the coral so if you're buying make sure you're bossy with which one you take home!
Secondly, the product pay off just isn't what I was hoping for and I find it quite difficult to achieve even a subtle highlight. I'm an NC30 so perhaps I am just a touch too dark for this powder? The MUA assured me it would be fine but surprise surprise I think that was all for the sale. It works okay when I use a bit of Mac Fix + on the brush to wet it before applying, but overall that's a lot of hassle and I just don't reach for this often enough to justify the price.

I know a lot of people love this product so don't write it out on my account, but personally I wouldn't repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products