MAC • Mineralize Skinfinish in Lightscapade • Highlighters

rated 4.2(181 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* audmac on 8/25/2012 4:10:00 PM more reviews by audmac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Hazel    

Mine is like the third picture- mostly whitish with a little of the colored veining in it. It is pretty on- very natural highlighted look that I really like. This one and perfect topping are my fav highlighters and I alternate between them.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tygerlilee84 on 7/17/2012 10:35:00 PM more reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I have been trying a lot of highlighters lately. I've had a difficult time getting one that works. Albatross was way too gold. Whisper of gilt too dark and yellow. Nars Copacabana illuminator too thin and greasy looking. Anyway, at first I didn't like this all that much. But after using it for a couple months it's really grown on me. It doesn't seem that special, just a light highlighter that's colorless and not too disco ball but not greasy looking either. I wouldn't pay tons for it on ebay though. I'd try Hard Candy Tiki bronzer or Lorac perfectly lit if you can't get this. They may not be dupes but they are great highlighters.
Edit: 3/23/13 I've seen a lot of "finishing powders" come out like the NARS light reflecting setting powder or guerlain meteorites. I decided to try and use this in a similar fashion. So after I do all my makeup, very last I use a little extremely lightly all over my face. It's a fun change and it helps liven up really matte foundation.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ivoryjade on 6/1/2012 4:49:00 AM more reviews by ivoryjade

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

HG highlighting product! This is so beautiful - not only in the pan, but on my cheeks it also looks gorgeous. Unlike Soft and Gentle, it's not a total glitterbomb. It creates a very natural glow and I've received compliments on both my skin and makeup since I've added this to my everyday routine and I couldn't be happier! It looks fantastic with my PPP skin (NC10), I'm not sure how it fairs for darker skintones but for pale girls this is a winner. Highly recommended!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Crimsonbury on 5/31/2012 12:06:00 AM more reviews by Crimsonbury

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Love this stuff! I've been searching for a while, and I think I've found my HG highlight. I sweep it across my cheekbones and brow bone to give myself a healthy, glowy look that looks natural and not shimmery and fake looking. I tried MAC's soft and gentle, but it was too shimmery for my taste, it looked quite silver-y and over powering. It would be better for a night out, or when there is very dim lighting. But I can just use Lightscapade for that by just applying a bit more than usual. It really does give me the perfect glowy and dewy look. I was sold on it 100% when I got 3 compliments by friends on the same day saying I looked very glowy and tan (I wasn't wearing any different makeup than usual expect for this highlight, plus I'm quite pale...). It is rather expensive, but there's a ton of product, this will last forever. Most other highlights (like nars albatross) are around the same price but have half as much product. The only problem is that I'm scared that I'll drop it and it will shatter and I'll end up wasting so much product. I wish it was half as big and half the price, it would be more convenient in my opinion, but I won't complain too much, this stuff is the best!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kkate142 on 5/29/2012 11:46:00 AM more reviews by Kkate142

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this product, I just purchased a couple weeks ago.I love the way it looks almost dimensinal on my skin and great on top of my blushes. I love how it is swirled because it looks cool.I also like how it is not to shimmery but provides a glow.I would reccommend this to everyone who likes highlighters, this one will probabaly be purchaased mulitple times by me.And it also looks extra nice when applied with a MAC 168, just for a tip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* artemistzitzikilakis on 5/24/2012 3:48:00 AM more reviews by artemistzitzikilakis

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Right now I love this. Make no mistake, this is subtle shine compared to BB shimmer sticks, LM, Dior, TF, etc. highlighter. It does have veining but maybe not as much as the picture. This is perfect for ender the eye area/upper cheak area and down the nose, on the chin, right on top of blush. It is subtle and that is a good thing for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Siongyen on 5/19/2012 5:32:00 PM more reviews by Siongyen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm brand new to MSFs so this is my first one I have ever bought. I got this a couple of weeks ago and I'm absolutely obsessed with it. The one I recieved was via post, as I bought it online from Mac. Initially mine did not have alot a veining going through it, however I find as I am using the product more and more colours are becoming apparent. There are blue and peach threads that were not there when it was new. So from an asthetic point of view its becoming more beautiful to look at it as I use it up. I know all MSF are unique but there must be some others out there that are doing this as well?
The product on my face itself is absolutely beautiful, its so subtle, and makes my skin glow. With some of my other highlighters I have to use a really light hand but with this I know I can just plonk it on my face and I won't look like a glitterbomb. Its also beautiful as an eyeshadow too.
I love this MSF so much I bought a second one from a Mac store and asked the MUA if I could pick one with lots of veining in it. The second one I have is alot more pretty to look at, and as weird as it sounds I just like pulling it out and looking at it, its so beautiful in the pan.
I know this product in the 2011 and 2012 collection has got negative reviews as it is not comparable to the 2006 lightscapade but personally I think if you, like me are new to the MSFs thing then you will love this regardless. For me it was the thing missing from my makeup collection.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* albs on 5/15/2012 1:22:00 PM more reviews by albs

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I purchased my Lightscapade with MAC's Reel Sexy collection. I've seen comparison photos between recent Lightscapade releases and the originals, with the originals looking much more veined and colourful. The display sample at the counter was very beige with hardly any veining at all, but I had my heart set on finding a lovely highlight so I asked if they had any with more and I haven't been disappointed with the one I purchased. It's not quite as colourful and marbled as the pictures I've seen of older versions but it is absolutely lovely all the same. It's shimmery without being glittery and gives my cheekbones a beautiful sheen. It's exactly what I was looking for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 lovinvanilla on 5/5/2012 5:49:00 AM more reviews by lovinvanilla

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this a few days ago from the Reel Sexy Collection and it's my first MSF ever. The overall colour is definitely pretty light and not very veined, though I picked out the most coloured one they had. I was a bit surprised at how dusty it is! When I used it with a very soft brush, product dusted up like crazy. :(


The finish looks lovely and not too shimmery on my cheeks, which is good since I have combination skin and by pores can look big. Not with Lightscapade though. NARS Albatross was a lot more glittery and too gold for me. The wear isn't too great, maybe 6 hours. When I apply this in the morning, it has pretty much disappeared by evening. I liked this on my eyes below the browbown as well. I don't think I'd get this again though, the texture is just not that great. Based on all of the rave reviews I was just expecting more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MSEMR2010 on 4/19/2012 9:50:00 PM more reviews by MSEMR2010

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have mixed feelings about this. Lightscapade doesn't wow me, but it works perfectly with cool toned colors I own. I think this will work better on me in the winter when I'm less tan.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Highlighters products