L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(149 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.62%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Melony on 3/19/2012 2:06:00 AM more reviews by Melony

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have porous hair which was dyed lighter about four years ago. I'm trying to get back to my natural hair colour. The bottom 3-4 inches of my hair is lighter than the hair on the rest of my head. It is not that noticeable as my hair is naturally medium reddish brown with blonde patches and extremely curly, however every 3-5 months I put through a semi-permanent colour to tone the light patches down and blend everything together. I don't like using permanent colours because they always seem to bleach my hair a shade or two back (noticeable when the colour fades out, which always happens with my hair). I usually use L'Oreal Casting - I'm not completely happy with the results I get but Casting seems to be the only quality semi-permanent dye left on the New Zealand market. Casting tends to skew toward reddish undertones in most of their browns, and always turns out much darker than the box picture which is probably due to my hair type. That's fine, it usually fades reasonably quickly (2-3 weeks). This time however, I am completely unhappy with the result.

My usual brown was unavailable, so I picked up a colour called 'Brownie' which looked like a warm chocolate brown with red undertones. The result: very dark, purple-red hair! It's Mahogany or Cherry, not Chocolate. It's not even a warm or natural red - it's cold-toned. I have tried shampooing my hair every day but so far the only thing that's faded a bit is the bleached patches at the bottom of my hair - which now look pinkish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starbabii on 2/16/2012 1:35:00 PM more reviews by starbabii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I used the colour 360 black cherry on my brown (dyed) hair. I don't really like using permanent colours anymore because of past uses and the fact that it can ruin fine hair easily and i like to change my hair colour often.

I did every thing the instructions told me to do (except i left the colour on my roots a few minutes longer to even out the colour) and i have to say i was really impressed with the colour. And one thing i like most about it is that when the colour stars to fade it always goes a nice colour, not a orange or pink like you might think. There was actually no smell from the hair dye it actually smelt pleasant because of the no ammonia

I would definently buy this again because it is great coverage for different coloured roots and the colour that came out on my hair was quite similar to the picture on the box. It depends on your previous hair colour really. (i wouldnt recommend using it if you were bolnde thought).

i have has this hair colour on for about 8 weeks roughly and its still looking good. Its only just starting to show my roots.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 salice23 on 1/30/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by salice23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have naturally incredibly thick, shoulder length ash blonde hair that I originally went to a salon to go to a dark chocolate brown colour, with red tones (a nice $200 exercise, which I do not wish to repeat). When my colour started to fade, I jumped on the home dye bandwagon. After a few trial and errors with various dark brown dyes (I had black hair at one stage), I switched to Solfine Crema Colour, which really isn't as good as it's cracked up to be (in my opinion). So, recently, I have been trying to put a bit of purple in the underneath layers of my hair. My hair may have been too dark (was a reddy brown brassy colour at the time) to take in the purple, and I was getting fed up with having a brassy colour.

And that's when I stumbled upon L'Oreal's Casting Creme Gloss in Plum (316). I purchased it (after debating between Plum and Black Cherry), took it home and decided "screw it, I'm just going to use it all over my hair instead of the underneath layers". The colour turned out quite well - looks a little black in no lighting/low lighting, but in the light is a lovely rich shade of purple, and my previous red colour shines through at the tips slightly, which is pretty much what I wanted! My hair feels incredibly glossy and smooth and smells quite nice! The only thing I didn't really like about this dye was the application - I had to squirt it into a bowl and then use a hair dye colour brush (like they use when hairdressers bleach/colour hair) to apply it. But that's just the way I felt more comfortable doing it. It took me about 30 minutes to put the colour all over (I was running around, doing other stuff), and I left it in for 30 minutes, which is not what the instructions say, so don't go ahead and take my word of advice :P

I love the colour, I really do. Hopefully it will last the promised 28 washes! I just kind of wish they made this in a permanent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Weltfremd on 1/24/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by Weltfremd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I routinely dye my hair black and have done since I was about thirteen. I never had any problems with shades because well, black is black. The reason this one is so high up on my list of favourites is because of how beautiful it makes my hair. It's unbelievably shiny, soft and generally much healthier looking after using this dye and the effect lasts for quite a while.


I live in hope that they'll finally make a permanent version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anotherpartofme on 1/14/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by anotherpartofme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried 412 (Iced Cocoa) and I really liked the results. My hair was dyed with a dark brown permanent color half a year ago so I have big roots now (my natural hair is a bit lighter). I left this on like the instructions say and it came out exactly like on the photo. It didn't look black though unlike some people here, I was hoping for a darker shade! The color was really pretty and shiny but It's been 2 months since so it has washed out completely by now. I've bought another box and am going use it again!

p.s.: I tested the color like it says on the box and left it behind my ear for 48 hours before I dyed. There was no reaction so I felt safe to use it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachkat on 1/14/2012 12:39:00 AM more reviews by rachkat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tried 319 plum visitingIreland last year. I Loved it! Color is perfect everytime. I dye my hair every 4 weeks. 15 minutes on the roots 5 minutes on ends and my hair is past my shoulders and thin.
Unfortunately can't find a dark purple semi permanent in Canada, so my family ships this over to me. Thank god! I took a lippie off because it and the conditioner stink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NK207 on 1/11/2012 2:13:00 PM more reviews by NK207

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using the color 500 for the past 2 years now, coloring my hair every 6 weeks as my roots show very easily. This is also why I go for a semi-permanent, as there will be no line in where the roots show, and it doesn't damage the hairas much. I have naturally super straight hair and it absorbs color very easily. This review will be from start to finish of the process, on the color 500.


Choosing color: I think choosing color can be quite difficult, as the color names in Scandinavia for some reason are not the same as the ones in English. For instance, the 500 shade is called medium brown in English, but in Norwegian it says light brown: two completely different colors. Also, the darker colors are quite dark and one should look to other images for color codes, meaning that number 500 = 5 in other shades: look at the boxes at say the excellence, and you get the correct color. 415 = 4.15. Get it? ;) On a sidenote, in scandinavia this is an expensive hair dye compared to other high street/drug store dyes.


Allergy test: ALWAYS do a skin allergy test and wait 48 hours. I take a cotton bud and apply a tiny amount behind my ear, even though I have used the same color before.


Coloring the hair: First you mix the color and the developer by shaking the tube. It does take a while for it do properly mix, and I would leave it on the counter for a little while before starting to color the hair so it has time to develop. I usually wet my hair in the meantime. However easy the mixing is, I hate the packaging on this. The squishy tube is not practical and the nozzle lets out too much dye. The little oval hole in the cardboard box to hold it in place while you section your hair is useless, as the container is too heavy for it to stay in place. The gloves that comes with are waaay to big for me.


I like to start by doing my roots at my hairline first, then moving on to my other roots. Then I apply to the lenghts of my hair by sectioning a small piece of hair and massaging the color into the strands from root to tip. This goes pretty well I think, and even though I have very long hair (almost waistlength) there is always a lot of dye left in the bottle. I apply this to the hair and just keep massaging the color into the hairstrands. Then I let it sit for 10 minutes, not 20 as instructed. I prefer the color I get with this amount on time, as 20 turns my color a dark dark brown. However, DO NOT do this with the lighter colors as it can result in a very unhealthy greenish color (a friend of mine tried this...)


Wash out. Apply conditioner. I let this sit for...a while. I apply it, put my hair in a bun and watch tv/do something else. Rinse out.


Result: Even shade all over. but not flat-looking, as the dye absorbs differently depending on already existing highlight. So if your hair has sunbleached highlights, the color in these will be lighter. This gives a natural looking, very smooth and glossy finish. I do think it looks a bit fake-glossy immediately after, but after 3 washes the excess color is out and you're left with the actual result and it looks natural and pretty.



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 haleyroach on 1/9/2012 12:07:00 PM more reviews by haleyroach

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Right. So at the beginning of this journey I wanted red hair. I have stopped wanting red hair.

I have medium blonde hair that is color treated.

Bought L'oreal Casting Creme Gloss at boots for around 7 quid. Bought the color "amber" as it looked like a nice neutralish auburn shade. Read reviews before using it and decided to do a strand test. Came out cloudy greyish purple. Threw out the box promptly and decided to get the color "Butterscotch" which had better reviews.

Got Butterscotch. Did strand test. No color was deposited. Tried another strand - still no color. Gave up on that too.

Thats when I called L'oreal. I'd be more than willing to use their permanent dyes - I have before and liked them. So I expected to get some sort of discount or voucher after two of their products not working at all.

Nope. Called them up, described what happened. Woman was arrogant and said first "well, your hair is probably too dark to use it" (my hair is at least two shades lighter than the lightest shade on the box). Then, she said "well you cant dye after using a permanent dye". Excuse me? You cant use a semi permanent over a permanent? are you kidding me? Finally, after that she said "well, its a popular line, so most people dont find a problem with it". Um... has she been on the internet? Im not the only one who doesnt like this product.

Anyways, I hung up on her. Ive been dying my hair at home for ten years now and know how hair dye works. My hair was ready to dye and nothing should have stopped it.

Im not going to be buying from L'oreal anymore. I should have stopped at animal testing, and the general suckiness of their cosmetics, but this straw broke the camels back. Customer support should have offered me something after spending around 14 to get no results.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 wildcardinside on 12/8/2011 4:37:00 PM more reviews by wildcardinside

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I havent dyed my hair permanently in two years because everytime I do I hate it and buying this dye has made me wish that I didn;t change my mind and damage my hair for results that I hate. My hair was naturally a medium brown with a goldish orange tine in the sun and I bought this hair dye in "aubrn" thinking my hair would slightly darken and be notieceably redder but let me tell you now the results are weird. In natural lighting (the sun) my hair apears a darkish brown with noticeable redand purple undertones which I dont mind, but as soon as I am inside or in other specific lighting my hair is just extremely dark brown and it looks absolutely terrible. You can't even see the red unless I am outside in the sun. Buying this product has made me make the final decision of NEVER dying my hair permanent again. The only good thing about this product is that it is semi permanent so I'm hoping in a couple of months my hair will be back to it's complete natural colour. I think though in all honesty if it was faded about 2 or 3 shades (say in about a month) that I will be a lot more happy with it. So, like everyone else that has written a review about this hair dye, if you are planning to dye your hair darker, make sure you are aware that the box photo lies. Also, I only left my hair dye on after i had finished dynig it for about 10 minutes and my hair is now more damaged than before and dryer. :\

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 greeneyesies on 11/27/2011 10:38:00 PM more reviews by greeneyesies

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I used shade 323 - Dark Chocolate - on my shoulder-length mid-dark brown hair. After reading some of the reviews here I was a little worried about the result, but everything went as planned and I ended up with nice glossy dark brown hair and all my grey (white) hairs covered nicely. I followed the instructions precisely and, left the colour on just under 20 minutes. My hair isn't 'black' which seems to be a major complaint of people using the darker shades - it's the colour promised on the box. I think it helps that my hair is in generally good condition and I wasn't trying to drastically alter the colour , just boost what was there and add richness and depth to it more than anything. I always think that trying to alter your colour more than a couple of shades up or down with a box dye is inviting disaster, especially if it's over already very stripped, coloured or treated hair. Anyway, I'm very happy with the result and will definitely buy this brand again. Maybe I'll experiment with another of the darker brown shades but I would happily use Dark Chocolate again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products