L'Oreal • Casting Creme Gloss • Hair Color

rated 3.4(152 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.63%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Jobanana on 5/31/2012 7:51:00 PM more reviews by Jobanana

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I had bad experiences with dying my hair in the past with permanents fading to horrible colours so for a long time I would only get my hair dyed by a professional. However, I recently decided to a semi-permanent a go, since it would wash out eventually if I didn't like it and I felt the condition of my hair would be better with a semi than a permanent.

I chose Casting Creme Gloss because it was the ONLY semi-permanent in my area! I had blonde hair growing out and dark mousy blonde roots. I wanted just one all over colour and something similar to my natural colour but less dull and slightly warmer. I chose dark blonde and was really happy with the results. I had glossy hair which was really a nice light brown but did fade to a nice dark blonde as well.

I will definitely use again although I'm not sure if I will use the same colour next time or whether I will try a darker, warmer brown.

My only criticism of Casting Creme Gloss is that there aren't enough colours available in NZ shops.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 villierstowngurl on 4/9/2012 5:12:00 PM more reviews by villierstowngurl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

The worst hair dye!!!! It turn my light brown hair BLACK!!!! I used the shade light brown to even out the colour of my hair and to add shine. I left it on for the recommended amount of time, but when I dried my hair it was black with a reddish tone! I'm so disapointed, I had finally got my hair back to its natural colour and was planning on going blonde in the next few weeks, but now I'm back to square one with black hair.

I immediately jumped in the shower and wash my hair three times with a strong clairifing shampoo and washing up liquid but it made no difference!

Do not use this product! It is a waste of money and ruined my hair!!!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 SignMeUp on 4/6/2012 9:34:00 AM more reviews by SignMeUp

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Dulled my hair, made it look like straw. I absolutely hate what this stuff did to my hair. Creme gloss is a very misleading name, as it worked opposite to what the name implied. I had to work really hard trying to rescue my hip-long hair after using this, to no avail. Had to cut several inches off. Hate.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Melony on 3/19/2012 2:06:00 AM more reviews by Melony

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I have porous hair which was dyed lighter about four years ago. I'm trying to get back to my natural hair colour. The bottom 3-4 inches of my hair is lighter than the hair on the rest of my head. It is not that noticeable as my hair is naturally medium reddish brown with blonde patches and extremely curly, however every 3-5 months I put through a semi-permanent colour to tone the light patches down and blend everything together. I don't like using permanent colours because they always seem to bleach my hair a shade or two back (noticeable when the colour fades out, which always happens with my hair). I usually use L'Oreal Casting - I'm not completely happy with the results I get but Casting seems to be the only quality semi-permanent dye left on the New Zealand market. Casting tends to skew toward reddish undertones in most of their browns, and always turns out much darker than the box picture which is probably due to my hair type. That's fine, it usually fades reasonably quickly (2-3 weeks). This time however, I am completely unhappy with the result.

My usual brown was unavailable, so I picked up a colour called 'Brownie' which looked like a warm chocolate brown with red undertones. The result: very dark, purple-red hair! It's Mahogany or Cherry, not Chocolate. It's not even a warm or natural red - it's cold-toned. I have tried shampooing my hair every day but so far the only thing that's faded a bit is the bleached patches at the bottom of my hair - which now look pinkish!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 starbabii on 2/16/2012 1:35:00 PM more reviews by starbabii

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I used the colour 360 black cherry on my brown (dyed) hair. I don't really like using permanent colours anymore because of past uses and the fact that it can ruin fine hair easily and i like to change my hair colour often.

I did every thing the instructions told me to do (except i left the colour on my roots a few minutes longer to even out the colour) and i have to say i was really impressed with the colour. And one thing i like most about it is that when the colour stars to fade it always goes a nice colour, not a orange or pink like you might think. There was actually no smell from the hair dye it actually smelt pleasant because of the no ammonia

I would definently buy this again because it is great coverage for different coloured roots and the colour that came out on my hair was quite similar to the picture on the box. It depends on your previous hair colour really. (i wouldnt recommend using it if you were bolnde thought).

i have has this hair colour on for about 8 weeks roughly and its still looking good. Its only just starting to show my roots.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 salice23 on 1/30/2012 7:35:00 AM more reviews by salice23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have naturally incredibly thick, shoulder length ash blonde hair that I originally went to a salon to go to a dark chocolate brown colour, with red tones (a nice $200 exercise, which I do not wish to repeat). When my colour started to fade, I jumped on the home dye bandwagon. After a few trial and errors with various dark brown dyes (I had black hair at one stage), I switched to Solfine Crema Colour, which really isn't as good as it's cracked up to be (in my opinion). So, recently, I have been trying to put a bit of purple in the underneath layers of my hair. My hair may have been too dark (was a reddy brown brassy colour at the time) to take in the purple, and I was getting fed up with having a brassy colour.

And that's when I stumbled upon L'Oreal's Casting Creme Gloss in Plum (316). I purchased it (after debating between Plum and Black Cherry), took it home and decided "screw it, I'm just going to use it all over my hair instead of the underneath layers". The colour turned out quite well - looks a little black in no lighting/low lighting, but in the light is a lovely rich shade of purple, and my previous red colour shines through at the tips slightly, which is pretty much what I wanted! My hair feels incredibly glossy and smooth and smells quite nice! The only thing I didn't really like about this dye was the application - I had to squirt it into a bowl and then use a hair dye colour brush (like they use when hairdressers bleach/colour hair) to apply it. But that's just the way I felt more comfortable doing it. It took me about 30 minutes to put the colour all over (I was running around, doing other stuff), and I left it in for 30 minutes, which is not what the instructions say, so don't go ahead and take my word of advice :P

I love the colour, I really do. Hopefully it will last the promised 28 washes! I just kind of wish they made this in a permanent!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Weltfremd on 1/24/2012 12:34:00 AM more reviews by Weltfremd

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I routinely dye my hair black and have done since I was about thirteen. I never had any problems with shades because well, black is black. The reason this one is so high up on my list of favourites is because of how beautiful it makes my hair. It's unbelievably shiny, soft and generally much healthier looking after using this dye and the effect lasts for quite a while.


I live in hope that they'll finally make a permanent version.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anotherpartofme on 1/14/2012 1:25:00 PM more reviews by anotherpartofme

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I tried 412 (Iced Cocoa) and I really liked the results. My hair was dyed with a dark brown permanent color half a year ago so I have big roots now (my natural hair is a bit lighter). I left this on like the instructions say and it came out exactly like on the photo. It didn't look black though unlike some people here, I was hoping for a darker shade! The color was really pretty and shiny but It's been 2 months since so it has washed out completely by now. I've bought another box and am going use it again!

p.s.: I tested the color like it says on the box and left it behind my ear for 48 hours before I dyed. There was no reaction so I felt safe to use it.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rachkat on 1/14/2012 12:39:00 AM more reviews by rachkat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I tried 319 plum visitingIreland last year. I Loved it! Color is perfect everytime. I dye my hair every 4 weeks. 15 minutes on the roots 5 minutes on ends and my hair is past my shoulders and thin.
Unfortunately can't find a dark purple semi permanent in Canada, so my family ships this over to me. Thank god! I took a lippie off because it and the conditioner stink.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NK207 on 1/11/2012 2:13:00 PM more reviews by NK207

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using the color 500 for the past 2 years now, coloring my hair every 6 weeks as my roots show very easily. This is also why I go for a semi-permanent, as there will be no line in where the roots show, and it doesn't damage the hairas much. I have naturally super straight hair and it absorbs color very easily. This review will be from start to finish of the process, on the color 500.


Choosing color: I think choosing color can be quite difficult, as the color names in Scandinavia for some reason are not the same as the ones in English. For instance, the 500 shade is called medium brown in English, but in Norwegian it says light brown: two completely different colors. Also, the darker colors are quite dark and one should look to other images for color codes, meaning that number 500 = 5 in other shades: look at the boxes at say the excellence, and you get the correct color. 415 = 4.15. Get it? ;) On a sidenote, in scandinavia this is an expensive hair dye compared to other high street/drug store dyes.


Allergy test: ALWAYS do a skin allergy test and wait 48 hours. I take a cotton bud and apply a tiny amount behind my ear, even though I have used the same color before.


Coloring the hair: First you mix the color and the developer by shaking the tube. It does take a while for it do properly mix, and I would leave it on the counter for a little while before starting to color the hair so it has time to develop. I usually wet my hair in the meantime. However easy the mixing is, I hate the packaging on this. The squishy tube is not practical and the nozzle lets out too much dye. The little oval hole in the cardboard box to hold it in place while you section your hair is useless, as the container is too heavy for it to stay in place. The gloves that comes with are waaay to big for me.


I like to start by doing my roots at my hairline first, then moving on to my other roots. Then I apply to the lenghts of my hair by sectioning a small piece of hair and massaging the color into the strands from root to tip. This goes pretty well I think, and even though I have very long hair (almost waistlength) there is always a lot of dye left in the bottle. I apply this to the hair and just keep massaging the color into the hairstrands. Then I let it sit for 10 minutes, not 20 as instructed. I prefer the color I get with this amount on time, as 20 turns my color a dark dark brown. However, DO NOT do this with the lighter colors as it can result in a very unhealthy greenish color (a friend of mine tried this...)


Wash out. Apply conditioner. I let this sit for...a while. I apply it, put my hair in a bun and watch tv/do something else. Rinse out.


Result: Even shade all over. but not flat-looking, as the dye absorbs differently depending on already existing highlight. So if your hair has sunbleached highlights, the color in these will be lighter. This gives a natural looking, very smooth and glossy finish. I do think it looks a bit fake-glossy immediately after, but after 3 washes the excess color is out and you're left with the actual result and it looks natural and pretty.



3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Oreal products

More Hair Color products