Philosophy • The Present Clear Makeup • Primer/ Corrector

rated 3.4(403 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 chaneal on 12/22/2011 7:21:00 PM more reviews by chaneal

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This product didn't work for me at all :( It only left my skin super smooth...but that only lasted for like 10 minutes. It also broke me out a little. I really wanted it to work but I had to return it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 mirapark on 12/19/2011 1:01:00 AM more reviews by mirapark

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a new primer since I ran out of my Make Up Forever one a long time ago and decided to try this one from Philosophy. I went to Ulta without anything in mind and the lady suggested this one for me, she put some on the back of my hand and I loved the way it made my hand feel and look. Since the back of my hands can get pretty dry, I liked how it filled in the little dry cracks on the back of my hand and looked so moist! So I was sold, it was considerably cheaper ($25) than the ones I were looking at from Benefit & Smash box and came with more or just as much amount of product.

However, the results were a different story... The direction tells you to apply this right after all your skincare routine then wait 2 full minutes for the product to soak in and seal the moisturizer before applying your foundation. So, I waited (more than 2 minutes actually) and then applied my usual foundation (Make Up Forever HD foundation in #127) with a synthetic brush. I didn't notice anything too special, as it claims to make your skin look "flawless" and "air-brushed."But I DID notice some flaking around my eye area, cakey-ness around my nose, and uneven application on my nose.

This problem was still there even when I tried applying the foundation with my hands instead of the brush and even tried to apply less of the product to prevent the "flaking" and the "peeling." None of those methods worked for me, I thought it would get better throughout the day and it did just a little.

Personally, I think my foundation looks better when I apply it without this "primer."

PROS:
1. It smells nice, like lavender
2. The soothing properties in the product apparently helps calm your skin at night
3. A little goes a long way, you don't need too much

CONS:
1. It peels off your face if you rub the foundation in too much
2. Doesn't really help your face look flawless or air-brushed
3. Cakes around your nose and under my eye
4. Hard to apply evenly around the nose
5. It didn't really help me control my oil
6. No SPF / sun protection

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michellerodgerscts on 12/13/2011 2:14:00 PM more reviews by michellerodgerscts

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have very oily skin...but it does need to be moisturized...so I use shea butter on my skin at night after cleaning, by morning it is all absorbed, and i can wash my face again (usually Murad or Dr. Bronners Tea Trea Oil soap) and my skin not be dry. I use this as my "moisturizer" in the morning prior to makeup application. I does fill in "holes" minimally, but for those of you that wear makeup, and have very oily skin, its just moisturizing enough to calm the skin, and base your makeup. I find that I am less oily throughout the day using this routine (as opposed to a regular moisturizer) and my makeup may stay on a little longer than usual (not that I can tell because I do not touch up during the day, only sparingly if I plan on going out after work). Overall...I think it does its job...I have a friend that has very dry skin, and she uses this after moisturizer, and she absolutely loves it as well, perfect for no makeup, or makeup wearers.


It claims that it will reduce some redness so your skin looks like you have makeup on, I cannot comment on this because my skin does not get red very often.


I think I have pretty sensitive skin (if I dont follow my cleaning routine) and this as NEVER broken me out....ive also used tons of different makeup techniques and brands, and it works seamlessly with all of them.


It sucks that its $25 a pop...but when I run out I will def repurchase because its great for everyday use...with that said...I dont use it everyday because I swtich between like 5 different makeup routines.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsVengeance on 12/8/2011 7:59:00 PM more reviews by MsVengeance

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I think this is a primer worth trying if you have oily or acne prone skin. It's supposed to be best under powder makeup but I wear it over Estee Lauder's Doublewear (which I also often mix with Illuminare's liquid mineral foundation), and I've still gotten a good finish with it.

If you've got big pores or even shallow acne scars, this stuff is REALLY good at smoothing over those little crevices. In fact, a couple of months ago I had this awful little depression in my face that I just could not cover, but I'd dip a toothpick in this stuff and I'd fill it in with that, then after it dried I'd layer on the makeup and it actually worked (this was the deepest acne scar I've ever had, but it was probably still considered shallow, and when I tried this technique with the real shallow ones it didn't work so well). Also, I don't wear powder, so this stuff gives my makeup way longer staying power and it definitely seems to keep the shine from overwhelming my face.

One thing I noticed though, is that this stuff dried out and irritated my skin when I was on accutane, so I would definitely test it first if you have sensitive or dry skin (lavender is a known irritant).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 debra5552000 on 11/18/2011 11:23:00 PM more reviews by debra5552000

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use this as a primer under liquid foundation. I often have long days where I want my foundation to look fresh as long as possible. I find using this product keeps my under eye concealer and liquid foundation in place longer. It has never been cakey on me. I love all of Philosophy's products but most of them seem overpriced to me. This one is worth the $20.00 for the tube, especially if you compare to the cost of other primers.

It doesn't do miracles, it's just a good primer.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 jenniferhearts on 11/13/2011 6:06:00 PM more reviews by jenniferhearts

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is the perfect primer to use before using any mineral based powder makeup. However, when used before any liquid, stick, or pot makeup, beware!!! The makeup turns cakey on the face and does not smooth out. But this is primer works very well before using mineral makeup (bare minerals, sheer cover, etc.). It evens and smooths out your skin's texture. It also helps keep the mineral makeup on throughout the day. When I was using sheer cover, I used this product. It toned down my redness on my face also. It made my face very light in color, not very alive looking. You will need a highlighter or luminator to brighten up your face after using. It serves a purpose, but is not multi-purpose. I would buy this again if I went back to using mineral makeup.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 starspex on 10/4/2011 8:01:00 PM more reviews by starspex

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

Oct 2011: I'm so glad I used my initiative & asked for a sample of this at Boots instead of just taking the plunge and buying on a whim. This is a mediocre product to me. It provides somewhat of a smooth surface but only helps my foundation look matte for about 45mins or so before oil breakthrough (by the time i've left home & arrived at work I'm already passed 'dewy' territory.)

Admittedly I have oil prone skin & it has been hot in the UK over the past week but in my mind those a the ultimate test drive conditions to see if such a product lives up to it's mattifying claims & this failed for me.

On the upside I'd say the presentation, packaging & size are decent for the RRP it's going for at 22.

I've ordered Pop Beauty's Face Magnet as another reviewer suggested it instead & I've since read numerous raves. Here's hoping it lives up to the claims for me. I'll be sure to do a review on that once I own it & have test driven.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 boogie1 on 9/16/2011 7:32:00 PM more reviews by boogie1

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been using this for a week, even with the mixed reviews I bought this. This does not work for my oily skin, nothing with the pores and fine lines. I am just not impressed with the product. The price is great. I am still looking for the best primer for my very, very oily skin with visible pores. I have tried smashbox, be, sephora, lg, hourglass, etc. This did not though break me out, but I was oily 2 hrs after putting this on.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Raevyn on 8/28/2011 10:12:00 PM more reviews by Raevyn

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for well over 2 years now, and it suits me very well.
I have combination skin that tends towards dryness in winter, and find this product stands up well against a hot Australian summer. I am extremely pale, and wear Make Up Store's matte formula foundation over the top, which needs hydrated skin and a good primer base for a flawless finish.
I used Laura Mercier oil free primer, and while I still like it I find this one much better - some days I don't use foundation over the top because it makes my skin feel soft and smooth.
One thing I will say - the packaging does need a review as it can be messy, however the 2oz bottle lasts for ages as you only need a little bit for the entire face.
Yes, you do need to wait a few mins for it to really settle on your skin, but it's not that big a deal, just do your eyes while you wait. About to buy my 3rd bottle, highly recommend it.

I'd also like to point out that while this product does contain Lavender Oil, which has been proved to be toxic to human skin cells, it isn't toxic until levels of 0.25% have been reached - that would mean 141 milligrams of this product would need to be pure lavender oil for any damage to be done. I highly doubt there is that much Lavender Oil in it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 caz5000 on 8/19/2011 10:09:00 AM more reviews by caz5000

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Been using this for about two months and I don't like it. I don't find it does anything for pores, or make my make up look any better or last any longer.

The product has now split, meaning the tube is filled with stuff that looks like cottage cheese and some water.

Complete waste of money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Philosophy products

More Primer/ Corrector products