Jonathan • Silky Dirt • Styling Products

rated 3.9(131 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 GoldenGurly02 on 2/23/2008 2:33:00 PM more reviews by GoldenGurly02

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I actually received this item in sample-packet form as an extra from a swap. I tried it out and ABSOLUTELY love it!! I have straight blonde hair to about my shoulders with normal thickness. I use only a tiny bit while my hair is still wet/damp...exactly what it says to use; pea size. After I blow dry, my hair is thicker than ever and very bouncy! It doesn't feel greasy at all and it holds up all day...with no change! I'm very interested in purchasing the product in full-size, as I have fallen in love with it! This product is at the top of my list for styling products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beddheadd on 2/17/2008 5:35:00 PM more reviews by beddheadd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I use this product all the time, for different reasons.

My hair is chemically-induced wavy -- that is, I have been coloring it for long enough that it is now slightly wavy at the ends. Since it is so thick, I have it layered. So, I have slightly wavy (at the ends), thick, long and layered hair.

First of all, you use VERY little product. I probably use a pearl-sized dollop at most, for all my hair (and there is a lot of hair).

When I use this product on damp hair (before blow-drying but after towel-drying), it gives it an extra oomph and defines my layers better. It makes it feel more manageable (albeit, it is not super soft and silky) and gives it more body. I wouldn't put this too close to my roots, though, because it may end up making your hair look oily and dirty instead.

When I use this on already dry hair, I emulsify it thoroughly in my hands and work it into only my ends, to tame flyaways and to smooth out ragged ends that look frizzy.

The scent is very mild and fades off, even though I do agree with some of the other reviews that it smells slightly like Play Doh.

One full-size tube of this lasted me ELEVEN MONTHS. I like that is comes in a clear tube -- I used one of those toothpaste tube-flattener things when I was nearing the end of the tube and it worked like a charm on getting all the product out. It is one of the two hair styling products I have actually repurchased over the years!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cherna11 on 2/15/2008 7:42:00 PM more reviews by Cherna11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

A little truly does go a looong way. I also received this as a sample from Sephora. It's in a little pouch and whenever I use it I only use a pearl-sized amount, rub it between my fingers and apply only to my ends. I only use it after I straighten my wavy hair. It's such a great product! The sample I got has lasted well over 2 months, and it's about half-way gone!! The frizz-fighting and smoothing effect lasts until the next time I wash my hair. I don't mind that the smell reminds me of play-doh because the product does a great job at keeping my long hair frizz-free, shiny, and with some movement. It looks as though I naturally have straight hair... which is awesome. I will definitely buy the actual product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yellowcat on 2/12/2008 10:00:00 PM more reviews by yellowcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Girls with fine hair...don't despair...this will work for your hair...but you can only use a tiny dab. Don't put it near your roots.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* my_vanity_is_a_mess on 2/12/2008 6:20:00 PM more reviews by my_vanity_is_a_mess

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

wow this stuff is amazing. I got a sample from sephora, and put this in to a little container. I think there's enough to last atleast a couple of months, i use a very little amount of this just on the ends of my hair. I have fine medium length hair that i'm growing out, and it's bleached to almost platinum blonde..making it severely damaged and dry, but this stuff brings life right back to it. My hair feels silky and sexy. I think i might actually pay the insane price for this stuff when i run out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gnappulina on 2/11/2008 11:31:00 PM more reviews by gnappulina

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

LOVE this product! I also received a sample from Sephora and although it was expensive, I shelled out $24 (look online for price comparison because Sephora is NOT the cheapest!) and have no regrets. My hair is long and wavy from the middle to the ends and quite soft, so I NEVER apply this to my roots: only from midway down to the ends. I've gotten *so* many compliments since I've started using this, and believe it or not, I think my hair looks even better in high humidity when I'm using Silky Dirt. Any product that makes hair look even better in humidity than in cooler weather gets bonus points from me.

To women with finer wavy/curly hair: don't worry, because if you only use a small amount and don't apply it to your roots, it won't weigh your hair down. The directions aren't joking when they say a little goes a long way. Scrunching also helps this product's ability to not weigh down hair. I gave the price 3 lipsticks because it seems expensive, but the rate at which you use it makes it actually cost efficient. Packaging got four instead of five because I imagine that when I get to the end of the tube, I'll have a hard time squeezing out every last bit. The good thing is that the tube is transparent so you can see how much is in there.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lalalie_xoxo on 2/11/2008 11:15:00 PM more reviews by lalalie_xoxo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after getting a very generous sample from Sephora (not a deluxe sample, mind you, just one of those regular ones that you get on check-out online).

I have thick, long beveled Filipino hair. It's not like the Japanese's hair... my hair has lots of volume and it's wavy. I've been a Frieda addict for the longest time when it came to hair styling products (I believe it has the most bang for your buck) but I dished out the 28 bucks for Jonathan because his product really makes your hair like it's been slept in or a day old. It gave my hair perfect control without weighing it down and even though I have thick and long hair, I still don't use that much on a daily basis, so the tube will last a while.

The smell is really nice, at least, I like it =) and so does my fiance! I'm not the type of girl who likes to spend a lot of time on her hair, so it's great to finally find a product that I can just put into my hair effortlessly in the morning and walk out looking like I've got a stylist at my beck and call.

I will most definitely repurchase (despite having to reach deep into my wallet)!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vintagehope on 2/10/2008 1:37:00 PM more reviews by vintagehope

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have medium-to-long fine, straight, layered hair. Super fine, the kind that falls out of ponytails. I've been trying to find products that texturize and basically make my hair look messier - not so flat and neat. My stylist introduced me to Short Sexy Hair's spray wax, which works decently but doesn't hold for long, and also weighs my hair down.

I tried this after another fine-haired friend recommended it. I thought it would be too heavy, but it brings out a slight wave in my hair, produced a piecey separation at the roots, and emphasized the funkiness/bluntness of my layers (which you normally can barely see).

I LOVE this stuff so far... I use an incredibly small amount, and it's true that if I use just a little too much, it makes my hair look dirty and weighed down. But with a little practice, it's perfect. I've gotten compliments on my hair from two random strangers since I first tried it a couple days ago, and I never, ever get compliments on my normally boring blah hair.

If you are a fine-haired lady, I'd say give it a shot at Sephora using their "Try Me" tube... it can't hurt. I'd buy again if I needed to, but this tube is going to last forever.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Chrysantza on 2/7/2008 9:33:00 PM more reviews by Chrysantza

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was introduced to this product via Sephora, which seems to love to give out Silky Dirt samples. I have short, very thick, curly hair and I believe this product is ONLY for those of us with curly, thick, and/or coarse hair - it will weigh down your hair if it's fine, thin or silky-straight. A pea-sized dab of Silky Dirt keeps my curls defined and shiny, not frizzy or poofy. A little goes a long way - take a dab, rub in your palms and distribute over damp to dry hair. Scrunch to style.

I like that it's vegan and cruelty-free. However, I did take one lippie off for the AWFUL SMELL. Maybe I have a sensitive nose, but today I could smell myself for hours! And it's a really weird, unpleasant scent, too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* WenchMartha on 1/31/2008 9:59:00 AM more reviews by WenchMartha

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I am NOT a Jonathan fan--even though I've bought this stuff for the ridiculous price of $28, lined his pockets, and even got caught up in his silly Blow Dry drama on A & E. That having been said, I love this stuff.

First off, my hair is almost 100% gray but colored dark brunette and is short (old-school Winona Ryder). Given that it's basically gray in a Clairol medium brunette's clothing, it's coarse and plentiful. I swear by John Frieda's Brilliant Brunette styling creme and still love it but this stuff holds like nobody's business. I use cheap hairspray generally but I may completely cut down on using it altogether with this stuff.

My hair takes 5 minutes to dry and style. I like to finish off and separate with this type of product and, as usual, got a sample off Sephora out of curiosity and, I admit, out of a gleeful sense of anticipation that I'd hate it and get to Jonathan-bash. Joke's on me. A tiny pea size accommodates my look, gives shine, gentle separation, and very nice hold. My daughter is vegetarian and ecologically-aware but I admit I'm not much. As a baby boomer, I should care more....just don't so much when it comes to beauty products. But this stuff is (allegedly) pure as the driven snow, vegan, and all that good "green" type of stuff so if you're into that, this would fit the bill.

The smell is a tad coconutty or something but that doesn't bother me or interfere with anything else I have on. I think the tube is going to last me eons (or so I tell myself to soothe the cost factor).

If you have fine hair with layers, forget it. If you have fine hair one length, REALLY forget it. If your hair is thick/coarse/wiry of any length, this will probably work but use sparingly.

Dammit, Jonathan. *sigh*

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jonathan products

More Styling Products products