Lily Lolo • Mineral Foundation • Foundations

rated 3.8(158 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 janebeavan on 2/11/2012 12:21:00 PM more reviews by janebeavan

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I admit I have always been very sceptical about mineral foundations in general - I tried Bare Minerals once but it seemed overpriced, messy and made me look slightly shimmery which is not a good look for me as my skin tends to be a bit oily anyway. I read some great reviews of Lily Lolo and ordered some samples. I have been using it everyday for the past 4 weeks and really like it so far. It looks natural and gives quite reasonable coverage, far better than I had expected. It really evens out my skin tone and is not at all shimmery. BUT it isn't that great a absorbing oil though and I find I do need several touch-ups during the day.

I do think that skin preparation is absolutely key to getting the most out of this foundation. I have found that applying moisturiser before hand and really massaging it in (and I don't mean a quick rub with the fingers, I mean really massaging it in for at least 30secs) and leaving it to absorb for a few minutes before applying the mineral foundation seems to work wonders. I also use the super kabuki brush which makes the application process really easy. When I have used the foundation over hastily applied moisturiser it just doesn't work - it simply slides off and even looks quite cakey. Spending a few minutes massaging in your moisturiser and leaving it it absorb totally tranforms the way this foundation looks.
I use Blondie - which I intially thought would be too pale but actually is perfect for my fair-medium skin tone. The fact you can order small samples from Lily Lolo is fantastic as you don't have to spend loads to get the right shade. The foundation is also reasonably priced (compared to other mineral foundations anyway) and best of all totally natural and cruelty free. A little goes a long way and after 4 weeks I'm still using my sample pot.

I think this will be a great foundation to wear when I want a 'no-makeup' look but I don't think it will be an everyday foundation for me simply becuase it isn't mattyfying enough for me with my oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 elisajessica on 2/3/2012 8:24:00 AM more reviews by elisajessica

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I have this mineralfoundation in the shade Blondie which is a good light/medium shade. The foundation gives a good coverage and by applying several layers you get better and better coverage, which is something I need.
It evens out the skin tone and covers redness pretty good. I also like that it gives a matte finish, some mineralfoundations give a very sparkly and glittery finish but that's not the case with the Lily Lolo.

Now the the cons with this foundation. One thing you need to know before you buy Lily Lolos foundation is that it has got a very dry consistency and it feels a little bit drying for my skin. So if you've got dry skin Lily Lolo might not be right foundation for you.
I have acne-prone skin with dryness on the surface and for me this isn't the ultimate mineralfoundation.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 xxxspell on 1/6/2012 7:14:00 PM more reviews by xxxspell

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Been using this foundation for years and loved it. Half way trough my last pot I am ordering a new batch a some 3 months ago: I am happy that now the sifters have a cover , the white caps nowadays have the lily Lolo Logo instead of the old design but that is not a tragedy. However I detect a slight change in the formula : this stuff does not cover as well anymore, remains powdery longer on the face and eventually it won‘t befriend my skin and work with it, is not creamy anymore. I go back to using my older powder jar some days, then back to the new jar in disbelief and I think is defiantly a change there that I do not approve with. Have I gone mad, anyone else noticed this???????? Maybe I got a bad batch or something????

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Missy on 12/15/2011 2:07:00 PM more reviews by Missy

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for over a year now, so I thought I'd finally share my views. I've tried so many different mineral foundations, I've actually lost count. I started with Bare Escentuals, went onto Pur Minerals, Laura Mercier, Everyday Minerals, GloMinerals, Maybelline, Jane Iredale, Merle Norman, Meow Cosmetics, Avon, Sephora brand and probably 20 other brands I can't recall at the moment. I have to say there's NOTHING like Lily Lolo. My problem with most mmu is that they bond to your skin so intensely and you have to buff like crazy to get it all evened out. They accentuate flakes and are usually overly glimmery. And if you start with too little, the application takes forever and looks patchy. On top of that, they dry my skin like crazy and end up making me break out in a rash.
Lily Lolo is almost like a loose powder with coverage. You can start out with as much or as little as you want, brush it on and it never looks cakey or fake. You can apply layer after layer and it still looks natural. It doesn't pool around my pores or settle into fine lines or anything like that. It looks very natural and healthy and provides decent coverage (NOT full, but I HATE full coverage foundations that make you look like plastic). The shades are great for me, as I'm really pale. Those with darker skin would definitely have a problem with their shade selection. Overall, doesn't make me break out, coverage is good and it's comfortable on my skin.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 gardeniagogo on 11/20/2011 7:07:00 PM more reviews by gardeniagogo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Best foundation on the planet.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 juga24 on 8/14/2011 8:30:00 PM more reviews by juga24

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have found nothing better than Lily Lolo, which I have been using for five years now. Every so often, I decide I'd like a change of pace... a new product that's easier to get in the States or the latest "It" foundation, but I have never been able to find a product as good as LL. I'm in the shade Porcelain. Finding foundation pale enough for me in the States is an enormous challenge and it seems the Brits get it right. It's not only the color that's perfect, though; everything from its buildable coverage, to its staying power, to its finish is spot on. I acquired VERY sensitive, acne-prone skin during my university years and this does not irritate my skin whatsoever. The trick to keeping it looking great all day is using it with the right moisturizer for your skin type, but I imagine that's true of any foundation. It doesn't need a primer to stay put 8+ hours. I use with sparing amounts LL's concealers in Blondie and Blush Away to cover hyperpigmentation and blemishes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 albinaalba on 7/27/2011 5:18:00 AM more reviews by albinaalba

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was hoping this product to be at least as good as the cheaper brands, but I was disappointed. It is not milled finely enough and accentuates blemishes and even fine lines as it settles in them. The sifter boxes are a bit easier to use, as the have more wholes, but on the other hand this makes the powder prone to spilling if not stored vertically.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 eatmyshort on 6/5/2011 11:38:00 PM more reviews by eatmyshort

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Violet    

my skin type: fair, combo, sensitive

here are some pros about Lily foundation:

it's very affordable and sheer

here are some cons about this foundation:

1. it itches (probably from their micas being chemically treated?) who knows
2. with it being sheer, it has zero coverage. It's great for people who have perfect skin . But if you have some imperfection like hyperpigmentation, freckles, zits, etc. you are going to be sorely disappointed.
3. Within a few hour, the whole thing just disappears. What ever little coverage has all vanish into thin air.


another fail mineral for me. I am sticking to lucy minerals for now

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 celiaj on 5/25/2011 3:23:00 PM more reviews by celiaj

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Don't let the pretentious name and cheap packaging put you off an otherwise very good foundation. Available in a range of colours, the excellent customer service team, who were very swift to resond to my query, should be able to advise you with regards to your best shade for your skin. Less expensive but containing more product than Bare Minerals, I was happy to have found a bit of a bargain.


My two complaints about this foundation are that the powder can be drying, or perhaps it serves to emphasise already dry skin - so blend, , blend, blend and secondly this product is not widely stocked so if you don't want to purchase from the internet you may have to put a bit of effort into tracking down a local stockist.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 naturalstuff on 5/15/2011 3:43:00 PM more reviews by naturalstuff

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I really loved this when I first got it, but after a week I couldn't avoid the fact that it was making my skin itch. I persisted because I really wanted to like it, but it just doesn't suit me. It has good and bad points. Its very matt, not shiny at all, does not settle and crease and completely covers my blemishes, but like the previous reviewer, I found it a bit dull looking and it clogged the pores on my nose. You can achieve good coverage with this and it gives great sun protection, but it is easy to put too much on and start looking a bit cakey or chalky. I am very fair skinned and find that Porcelain is a perfect match for my jawline area but looks too pale all over so I have to mix them a bit (its rare for a powder to be too pale for me). Blondie was too dark on its own. They have brought out another shade in between the two now, but I wont be buying it again because of the itching. Its also quite drying on the skin so you need a good moisturiser/primer underneath. Even though my skin can be a little oily I did develop a couple of dry areas on my cheeks. Samples are cheap so its definitely worth a try - if it suits you they have a great range of shades. The price is more reasonable than most natural brands, £12.50 for 10g and a little goes a long way. Ingredients: Mica, Zinc Oxide, Titanium Dioxide, Iron Oxides, Ultramarine Blue

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Lily Lolo products

More Foundations products