Urban Decay • Urban Ammo Eye Palette • Palettes

rated 4.2(344 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* PiMehMeh on 1/31/2012 4:09:00 AM more reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first Urban Decay product and I loved it when I was using it. The colors are silky soft and easy to apply and blend, and the palette alone contains enough colors for all kinds of looks for day and night. I actually used the sponge applicators but I also use an eyeliner brush to double the use of this palette as colored eyeliner. It's pretty standard without primer, so primer is a must to maximize the intensity and duration of these eyeshadows—you might as well, for how much this retails for!

The eyeshadows are all shimmery and Polyester Bride (white) has a little bit of glitter in it. This is great for those who love shimmery eyeshadows but I would have loved to have matte shadows (especially the darker ones) in this palette as well to create more dimensional looks and to pop the included colors out even more. This would have been an incredible palette especially on the go, if only the eyeshadows had some variety in finishes instead of a single finish.

At first I loved the packaging of this palette; it's slim, sleek, has a foil and velvet design on the cover of the palette, includes a pretty large mirror, has a hidden magnetic closure, and I can appreciate the sponge tip applicators as well though many would prefer brushes or fingertips instead. However, the palette is difficult to keep clean over time because the eyeshadow is so soft. I see fall out in the palette over time, and have been lucky that despite having only a magnetic closure that the fallout doesn't escape the palette into my drawers! But the shadows do get all over the inside of the palette which is bad because it contaminates the color wells, especially the lighter ones. This isn't so much a problem of packaging design but more of a problem with the packing density of the eyeshadows—after all, they are very soft.

Although the palette does last a long time (more than 2 years for me... is that bad?) even with regular use, I do feel that its retail price is a little too steep in comparison to other brands of eyeshadow palettes that contain more product of quality (and variety in finish!) for a fraction of the price. The product itself is great! But the price is the only reason I wouldn't buy it again, knowing I have more affordable options.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MissPeony on 1/27/2012 2:11:00 PM more reviews by MissPeony

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Glitter fall out central! I do not recommend this palette for work!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 JuJu05 on 1/24/2012 2:09:00 AM more reviews by JuJu05

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I don't know how to describe this pallete so let me get straight to the point. A few excellent combo of colors, the pinks (grifter, last call) and white (polyester bride) and oil slick for black eyeliner with a wet liner brush. The green combo is pretty nice too, shattered with mildew with mauwi wauwi for brightner on the brow bone is a pretty good look too. Unfortunately, a brown smokey eye is really hard to do only because of smog, chopper, sin and mauwi wauwi; none of them have a neutral color over the brow bone. Hard to do a smokey look, unless one uses foundation or just uses another shadow. I love the packaging, it's pretty, tidy, neat. I love how these colors don't fall out. I love how oil slick is not too dark. I don't like shimmer so much. Some days, I come out looking like a 13 year old going to perform in the circus, other times, it's done just right. Would i buy it again? Nope, maybe a matte UD pallete, or better yet, Kat Von d

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Shimmershocked on 12/31/2011 12:11:00 PM more reviews by Shimmershocked

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Grey    

I absolutely love this! It was my very first "high end" palette! I think that it is excellent for beginners because it has a nice range of colors. Some of the shadows do contain large amounts of glitter but I don't mind. After you're finished with your eye makeup, just use a piece of tape to pick up the fall out. It takes like 2 seconds! I would recommend this palette to someone who is just starting out with their makeup collection and wants a nice variety of neutral and colored shades!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AmyAngel96 on 12/3/2011 10:06:00 PM more reviews by AmyAngel96

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Love, love, love this palette. I've had it for ages now (I don't wear makeup every day) and often if I'm going away for the weekend I'll just throw this in my makeup bag and that'll be it for eyeshadow. All the colors are gorgeous, some of them do have some glitter fallout, but that is fairly simple to manage.

I'm surprised at seeing people say this is only appropriate for young people or night time, I am 37 and have worn these shadows in daytime and to work often. I use Polyester Bride and Shattered the least, but have used them. A current fave look is Mildew on the lid with Smog in the crease; and Chopper is one of my favorite shadows. These are all on the shimmery side, but can be used intensely or more sparingly for a less intense look.

I have enough shadows that I doubt I'll ever use this palette up, but I definitely would consider buying it again... unless I'd managed to dupe most of the shadows in other palettes by then. I've already got two of Sin and Oil Slick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thepinkhedgehog on 12/2/2011 1:06:00 PM more reviews by thepinkhedgehog

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

This is my day to day palette, and it's a cross with the 15th anniversary as my favourite! All of the colours are completely wearable, I love last call and grifter, but mildew and shattered blend amazingly to make a beautiful green too. Not a fan of how easily it gets grubby from finger prints and shadow fallout but generally I love the design, pretty expensive looking but robust enough to stay closed in my bag, and given the fact that all 10 shadows are wearable, it's great value for £27 (or £24 in Debenhams sale!) As I've said before,I don't have a problem with glittery shades as pixie epoxy keeps them where they should be, but lots of others do complain, ammo's probably a palette for the under 30 or who do love their makeup vibrant, it's no naked palette!

Edit: Within about 3 weeks of getting this, the mirror cracked in my bag!not as sturdy as I thought,my preen palette's been kicking around in there for months without the slightest problem so it's maybe best kept at home or handled carefully :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AudgePodgeBup on 11/10/2011 6:44:00 PM more reviews by AudgePodgeBup

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this from Sephora on their Friends and Family sale. I've been eyeballing it for a while so I figured that would be a good time to get it! A few months ago my beloved Mildew shadow flung out of my makeup case and onto my bathroom floor and of course shattered into a million fine powdered pieces. I was so upset! There was no way I could've repaired it. When I found out that the Ammo palette had Mildew in it I got pretty excited because I didn't necessarily want to purchase a $17 shadow. (I bought mine back when they were NOT that expensive.) So this was perfect! For the price of 2 shadows I got 10! They are all very beautiful. I am excited to try them all out. So far I've only used Sin with Chopper and it's sooooo pretty and gives you such a beautiful glowy eye. I pair it with the Baked eyeliner. I love it! I'm excited to try Oil Slick over my MAC Blackground Paint Pot. I've swatched it on my hands and it was really pretty. I'm glad I got this palette. It's perfect size for travel and Urban Decay always has really good packaging for their palettes made of durable cardboard. :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 babygirlLAH on 11/3/2011 10:56:00 PM more reviews by babygirlLAH

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this during the friends and family sale at sephora and when I first
opened it I really only liked the top row of colors. The bottom colors were not appealing to me. I did about two looks with this palette but now I'm deciding to return this one back. For my first palette from urban decay it's not all that bad but I feel there are better palettes out there instead of this one. Plus there was some major glitter fall out on my face. My boyfriend even noticed and asked me why my face was so shiny. Yup, this one is going back.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* piinkcheeks27 on 10/25/2011 10:22:00 PM more reviews by piinkcheeks27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my VERY first palette ever! I love this thing because Im able to make a natural look and a dramatic one. Yes they glitter can be a bit much, but I tap my brush and most of the glitter falls off and im left with the color. Ive hit pan on Chopper & Sin (my fav combo!) I also am still in love with Smog! I think it makes any look really smokey w/o being black. Last Call is also gorgeous as a pink smokey eye! This palette is really worth the price and one of those classic palettes from UD<3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Bucephala on 10/14/2011 7:59:00 PM more reviews by Bucephala

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This palette has only a couple of shadows that would be day appropriate. I use this palette mainly for night looks because most of the shadows are very glittery. Don't get me wrong, they are very beautiful shadows but they can be hard to work with due to the glitter. You can create a variety of night looks it. I probably wouldn't buy this palette again just because it's not day appropriate. But I probably wouldn't have to buy it again because it's lasting a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Urban Decay products

More Palettes products