NYX • Doll Eye - Long Lash • Mascara

rated 4.0(307 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 cindy604 on 10/21/2012 4:43:00 PM more reviews by cindy604

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Coming from Prestige's My Biggest Lashes, I was looking for a product that gave me similar definition with marginally less smudging. The NYX Doll Eye Long Lash mascara is it. Depending on how long the tube lasts, the rating may be upped to 5 lippies.


The product itself has a thinner formula than most mascaras, but that lends itself to really finely coating each lash and extending it to the skies. This mascara doesn't give extreme, thick, full volume even with multiple (4+) coats, but the separation and definition you get makes it look like you've doubled the number of lashes anyway. It holds a curl until the end of the day for me, and gives you 'doll-like' fluttery lashes.


It's harder to remove at the end of the day than Prestige's MBL, but that's why it doesn't smudge at all for me even through harsh Canadian winters where my eyes are watering in the wind and I'm constantly going from the freezing outdoors to heated indoors. I just use a bit of coconut oil on a cotton pad and swipe to remove any my Dr. Bronner's dilution missed.


The price is fair. I got mine online at Cherry Culture for $6.75 USD. The regular price is $9.00 USD, but it's constantly on sale. Without customs tax and shipping charges, it's a much better deal than buying it at Save-on-Foods in Canada which charges $10.99 CAD. As a plus (and a must for myself), NYX is cruelty-free and bears the rabbit symbol on all their products. A repurchase for me!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 LolaMay on 10/20/2012 5:28:00 PM more reviews by LolaMay

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My eyelashes are fine (not full), longish, and blonde.

PROS
*Cheap in price
*Slightly more wet mascara, but definitely not as wet as some Maybelline
*Dries quickly for the level of moisture in the mascara
*Nice brush

CONS
*Not as intensely black as I would like
*Does NOT hold curl, weighs my eyelashes down
*Not that lengthening
*Tends to clump, and I'm a pro at declumping my lashes :/

Overall, I am not impressed with this mascara. I'm glad I got it on such a good sale. I have to top this off with a waterproof mascara in order to keep any of the curl and add more black intensity. I would not recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jskellis on 10/17/2012 11:58:00 PM more reviews by jskellis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Thank goodness I got this half off with my employee discount. I usually trust mua's advice and as I write this review, doll eyes long lash has a 74% buy again rating.


I found that it lengthens very little, does not hold a curl, does not wash off with warm water, and gets clumpy very
fast.


It's not the worst but I had high expectations and this ended up being mediocre.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ketol on 10/9/2012 4:13:00 PM more reviews by Ketol

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Not a great mascara. It goes on easy, dries reasonably fast and lasts. But, Doll Eye? Heck no. Not even close. Read my full review on my blog:

http://invisibleinkers.blogspot.com/2012/10/doll-eye-mascara-review.html

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 dpet0153 on 9/9/2012 10:29:00 AM more reviews by dpet0153

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

This is a pretty good mascara. Not great. But pretty good. It only added a tiny bit of length, but my real problem with it is that it doesn't hold a curl. Like at all. And I know it's not a curling mascara, I know, but it makes my eyelashes stick straight down! But it's a fantastic lower lash mascara! That's where it really looks like dramatic doll lashes, on the lower lashes.
Update: after using it a few more times, I realized that this is just too wet and clumpy, so I'm taking off another star.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 raindropz on 8/15/2012 7:44:00 PM more reviews by raindropz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a fantastic mascara! I have short lashes, but use with a curler, this mascara definitely lengthens and defines the lashes and keeps the curl to boot! I don't use the waterproof formula, but haven't really had any issues with it smudging due to daily wear even when used on the lower lashes. I can't say enough good things about this, give it a try!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cksa on 8/8/2012 2:23:00 AM more reviews by cksa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go-to daily mascara. I have very fine Chinese eyelashes (darn it) and they naturally lift, so I almost never curl my lashes and curl hold power isn't a priority for me. I always use a primer (Natural Born Cosmetics) under my mascara.


Natural Born Cosmetics primer plus the Doll Eye Long Lash mascara is my favorite mascara combo. With them together, my eyelashes look like a freakin' doll's eyes. No kidding. For once, the advertising is real. You know how cartoon girl dolls have those eyelashes that just point straight up and are super obvious? Yeah, pretty much like that. I get length out of this, not so much volume, but the length it gives is pretty amazing. I can see my eyelashes in pictures when I'm just staring straight at the camera...in a torso-to-head shot. That's how long my lashes get.


With the Doll Eye Long Lash alone, I get very natural-looking lengthening of my eyelashes. Not the I-can-see-them-ten-feet-away eyelashes I get with primer underneath, but still very good lengthening. Again, no volume to speak of.


This is not a waterproof formula, and it did run on me when I got caught in the rain, and when I deliberately tried to get super sweaty and gross (don't ask me why). There appear to be little fibers in the mascara itself, so when it smudges, pigment runs as well as the fibers. In general, though, short of the super bad downpour or the deliberate sweatiness, the mascara never runs on me. It will flake onto my undereye area after an all-nighter, though. The upside is that it removes very easily with my normal oil cleanser. Yeah, oil cleansers are usually Borgs when it comes to non-waterproof makeup, but I find the lack of fuss in removal very nice. Hurrah for non-attempts at futile resisting!


Overall, I'd recommend this mascara to practically anyone, especially if you want extra length and aren't too worried about volume! Don't wear it in a heavy rainstorm or after a deliberate sweat session, though.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 XOXBunniezzXOX on 7/21/2012 1:13:00 AM more reviews by XOXBunniezzXOX

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I am a huge NYX fan. And I've been looking for a doll like mascara. Let me just tell you, I LOVE THIS! The packaging is definitely cool, because instead of the straight, round shape, it's all curvy and has a bit of an hourglass frame to it. It did not clump, and it did the job of giving me doll lashes. It did flake a bit after about seven hours for me, but the next day I tried it with a lash primer and it was all good. It combs neatly, the brush isn't large and bulky, and the forumla is REALLY good.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 preeti33 on 7/14/2012 6:38:00 PM more reviews by preeti33

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I havent used a number of mascaras for me to compare it to but I like this mascara. It gets the job done nicely. The best thing about this product is its wand. I am giving it 4 lippies hoping that there might be better product out there. Will not buy this again and will try different ones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Youniqu3 on 6/8/2012 10:01:00 PM more reviews by Youniqu3

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Black    

First, i must say that the package is beautiful! I bought it at a discount, and it was SO CHEAP! Didn't expect much from it at the beginning, because it was too cheap, but after using it, it wasn't bad at all!! It does give you a dolly eyelashes effect, brushes them pretty neat, and doesn't smudge on my eyelids at all -i have an oily complexion-
The only thing i hated about it is that, after applying it, if you sleep or touch your eyes, it'll make them clumpy and that's because of the wet finish texture it has.
Would only recommend this if you are looking for a decent cheap everyday mascara!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Mascara products