Everyday Minerals • Matte Foundation • Powder

rated 3.8(379 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 tiffanyAYCH on 4/19/2011 8:40:00 PM more reviews by tiffanyAYCH

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I previously thought I looooooved Bare Minerals. The matte formula didn't give me issues but it was too dark. The original definitely promoted pimples. How do I know this? Because a week after switching to Everyday Minerals, my face looked WAY better. Specifically, the bumps I had around my nostrils and forehead (oily zones) disappeared altogether.

I tried the semimatte formula and it simply TOO dewy and sheer for me. I don't have terrible skin, I'll be the first to admit it, but I DO want to see a notable improvement when I apply foundation. SemiMatte didn't do that. I love the Matte formula because its the perfect balance. It's matte; however, it doesn't make you look like you dipped your face in tinted chalk. I found that Bare Minerals Matte made me WAY too matte. Everyday Minerals eliminates the shine; however, you still look like a human being. Light reflects subtly but naturally.

I'm still a student, so I have a gym class every day. If I don't reapply, I look mildly shiny by the end of the day, but it's no tragedy. My best method is to apply with a kabuki brush, then blot lightly with paper towel and apply a VERY thin layer with a regular foundation brush. Like one tap gets it taken care of. The key is to blot GENTLY, not rub. Blotting absorbs minimal makeup and maximum moisture.

My only word of warning is the shades. I'm chocolatey-skinned and the bronzed tan will fit me through the summertime; however, I'm not the deepest tone I know. It's possible that if you get markedly darker during season changes and you're a woman of color, you may deepen past their color range. Blending powders is easy for the price, so I suggest that as a solution.

What give this makeup the edge? PRICE!! It's dirt cheap (lol). I mean, I a trio of eyeshadow, foundation, and three more eye shadows for less than 40 bucks. And they don't skimp on quantity. These eyeshadows will last me at least a year, if not two. I also love mixing up custom eyeshadow colors with the ones i already have.

This is totally great makeup that I actually feel GOOD about buying. Quick shipping and low prices make it that much more lovable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sarah2202 on 4/11/2011 10:56:00 PM more reviews by sarah2202

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am still using my EDM order that I received 4 years ago, so this review is for the old matte formula.

Out of the 4 formulas, I like this one the least. Even with primer and moisturizer, I find it just doesn't adhere to my skin. My skin is what most people would consider "oily" but it is also dehydrated due to the use of acne products. This ends up providing gross cakey super light coverage. The ironic thing is that after an hour I look super greasy too.

I have a lot of post-inflammatory hyperpigmentation that I like to conceal and this formula is far too sheer to handle that.

The matte formula is terrible for me. I love the intensive formula because it gives me fuller coverage and adheres to my skin very well. My skin looks dewy, not oily afterwards. I will never buy the matte formula again. EDM has gone through some changes since my last order and it seems people are very dissatisfied. When I need MMU again (which probably won't be until 2012 since my last EDM haul was huge), I will be giving Alima a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ALF1969 on 3/18/2011 4:59:00 AM more reviews by ALF1969

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Well it's time for EDM and I to part company. I've been using EDM foundation for many years 5+ and was sure I would never use anything else. It went on smooth, lasted all day, didn't look like I was wearing makeup, no caking, perfect. I liked all the foundation formulations too (apart from pressed) and used them for different looks (o'glow for a natural look, semi for work, matte for evening and intensive in the summer etc). I stocked up (took advantage of the bulk buy discounts so I have not had to reorder since they changed their ingredients.
So I ran out and ordered another lot, and to my horror it's completely different! It goes on evenly but looks like a mask (bought all the formulations, even o'glow looks fake) and then after about an hour it goes caking and blotchy and I can see patches, especially on my nose, where the makeup kind of congeals, yuk. I tried using primers and finishing powders to prevent this but to no avail.
I emailed EDM asking if they still had any old stock or if they would consider making a batch [as I know from this forum and elsewhere that many of you don't like the new formulation with lauroyl lysine] but they never replied (not surprising given their customer service!). So I felt I should share this experience as I think many readers may purchase EDM based on reviews of the old foundation - which was awesome.
I've moved on Silk Naturals which hasn't been around as long as EDM and is (so far) very good indeed. Can't get a good colour match from any others e.g. Lily Lolo so this was the obvious choice. I used EDM golden medium in winter and olive medium in summer so need yellow and green undertones).
I hope this helps!

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bluestar21 on 3/8/2011 1:54:00 PM more reviews by bluestar21

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

A word about the samples: try out the ďfreeĒ kits! I was initially turned off because the colors looked way too bright on my computer screen. In real life, they are more natural looking. I ended up ordering a full size of one of the samples I got Ė Matte in Linen. The color looks great on me in most types of lighting. The thought of finding a *perfect* match from 34 colors in 4 finish formulations (and supposedly the same color can vary from each of the 4 finishes) is daunting. But I think this works for me. I use a foundation brush to apply it (one from Ecotools Ė see my review).


I have very oily skin, especially on my temples, forehead and nose. I felt like liquid foundation was contributing to the oiliness. Itís not reasonable to think that a powder can soak up or stop all the oil your skin produces in a day. This definitely helps, but I still need to blot frequently.


Pros:
*beautiful, natural finish in just a minute or two
*great, ethical company that doesnít do animal testing


Cons:
*You will need to reapply this. Itís powder. Itís not going to stick to your face indefinitely.
*Can look *slightly* dull/overly matte. I can see why the original glow may be appealing now.
*You may still need a liquid concealer under the eyes.
*Could look powdery if you apply too much


Overall, I LOVE this. Iím hoping that this is the foundation Iíll always use (although I might play around with colors and the different formulations)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 naicha on 12/2/2010 6:46:00 AM more reviews by naicha

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

When I first heard about EM, I thought it was everything I wanted from a powder foundation: light yet buildable coverage, completely natural and non-irritating, available in a myriad of colours. I love how it evens out my skin tone without looking like I'm wearing foundation and looks perfect when I first apply it, however I find that after a couple of hours it settles into my pores and really emphasizes rather than conceals them. It does a wonderful job on my sister, but unfortunately the almost creamy formula just does not give me the velvety and flawless finish I'm looking for.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelslynie on 11/22/2010 12:56:00 AM more reviews by kelslynie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love it! I have never found a mineral powder that works so well as this! It gives my face a glow, and it is so pigmented, you don't need to continue applying and applying it to work. It just does the magic with the first buff. I would recommend buying their flat-top brush to apply this. It works wonderfully. This powder is completely light-feeling, organic & great for your skin. I absolutely love it, I will never go back to any other mineral foundation ever again. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 VegasStar on 10/26/2010 11:44:00 PM more reviews by VegasStar

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This foundation is ok. It's a step up from liquid foundation, but there are better mineral foundations out there.

Cons - It appears somewhat powdery on my skin, the coverage is not as good as BE and it does not last through the day. It highlights each and every flake. I'm also not a fan of the packaging - the base is too wide and it's hard to get the product out without getting it all over the place. Will not buy again.

Pros - Non irritating. Inexpensive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Silverchair on 10/2/2010 1:53:00 AM more reviews by Silverchair

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have this in the matte and intensive formula in sandy medium. For reference I am a mac nc 40-42. Anyway the intensive is fine, the matte breaks me out. I usually use both over my dior nude or nars sheer glow for better coverage. Whenever I use the matte it has broke me out. I now have about four breakouts clustered by my chin and I rarely broke out all year. This really upsets me. I am going to discontinue use and if I still break out I will update.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jenallyce on 10/1/2010 11:17:00 AM more reviews by jenallyce

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use the matte formula in light tan for my nw25 skin, and I absolutely love it. I have been a die hard MAC studio fix wear-er forever. However, I started to dislike the cakeyness and noticed how I always seemed to be breaking out so I decided maybe I should try a new makeup without all the ingredients. I have tried bare minerals and the bismuth bothered me so I didn't want to try that again but I stumbled upon Everyday minerals. Not only does it not cause me to break out in anyway it feels light and looks great on. While yes by the end of my work day there isn't a whole lot left I don't really mind because it would have to be some serious stuff to stay put for 10+ hours. AND ITS SO CHEAP! Its great to find a makeup that is amazing, natural, and affordable. If you haven't tried this makeup give it a try!
I also just ordered their concealer, after I give it a go I'll edit to give a thorough opinion on that!

EDIT: 12-8-10
I am now using Alima Pure. MUCH better. Everday Minerals always looked chalky and no matter how i applied it brush or sponge I couldn't get it to go on even and smoothly.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetshiningstar on 8/30/2010 1:40:00 AM more reviews by sweetshiningstar

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I have been trying the sample foundations for about a week because I can't afford much for a good foundation right now, and drug store foundation powders just don't cut it for me (the colors). I'm Chinese and I use Golden Medium (it's summer); I almost got a lighter shade for winter also, but then the next morning, applying the foundation, I realized it'll probably blend in very well for me for the winter too (looks light in jar, even for winter, tho I might buy a sample of Light Olive). So very versatile, love the color match!

*I do use a 50/50 mixture of intensive (good coverage) and matte (for oil control).* I have combo skin that is more on the oily side, and this mixture still has a glowy look (natural shine, not powdery or oily, no shimmers- just not powdery), and I do have to touch up my t-zone at mid-day, but that's with any foundation that I use.

*Update, I tried the semi-matte as the base, with a light layer of matte over my t-zone, and the semi-might is SO much more BUILDABLE; it ends up covering MORE than my intensive. I'm thinking I'm not going to buy the intensive (not very buildable) and am going to use a mixture of matte and semi-matte. I was scared the semi was going to be too dewy/shiny, but like a YouTuber stated, "it just looks like skin," meaning the matte finish is more natural, having natural reflection instead of a powder matte finish, but still without the kind of shine that oil leaves.

I'm going to be honest- I got the samples wanting to get Bare Escentuals Matte. I used it before and loved the mattifying qualities, and no bismuth oxycloride in that formula (makes your skin itch and/or break out). Also, BE tends to charge more and have less in the (same-sized *deceiving*) containers (read the packaging) every time they make a new formula. The matte formula is more costly and holds less product, so does the Mineral Veil with SPF!! So I could not bear myself to purchase from BE because it felt very deceiving for me to have to pay more for less (and have them not be honest about it-jar are same sizes!).

I ordered Everyday because I couldn't afford BE, and didn't agree with the company on the price issue, and I had seen so many good reviews online of EDM.

Pros:
-Creamier than BE, thus not necessary to use wet for heavier coverage. Actually prefer to use dry (which I never preferred with BE). Applying this wet I thing have it more of a sheer coverage, opposite of what I wanted.

*In case you're wondering about wet application, spray your brush with a water bottle, tap in foundation as usual, spray again- some ppl prefer before or after, I do both).

-Both formulas I've tried lasts for me all day, but I do like the matte mixture in my intensive formula. Makes me feel covered and mattified. (After the update I'll be using Semi-matte and Matte).
-MUCH cheaper than BE (Promo and discount codes are offered on website, look for them! I have SO many products in my cart for under $70).
-For my oily skin, mineral makeup and powder foundations are MUCH better for oil control. So much better!
-Better color match than the Laura Mercier foundation powder I was so in love with before I could no longer afford because it only lasted me 2 months. :( But I did use it every day, for foundation and for as a setting powder for when I tried a Chanel liquid foundation (not good oil control- way too expensive).
-Much better than the color match of my Revlon Color Stay (don't know what to use that for now...).
-*TIP*- Your O-Glo sample can be used as a highlighter on your cheekbones, if you don't like that formula. I would only use this over a matte or intensive formula base (over the O-GLO or Semi-Matte it would probably get too glittery, tho it is still subtle on my face).

*Definitely try all 3 of the formulas mentioned if you have combo skin. You'll never know what works best until you try them! The first ones tend to me more buildable!

CONS
-As with mineral makeup, full coverage is hard to achieve without a VERY good concealer. I have not tried one yet from EDM, but I am ordering mint and intensive medium. I'm hoping this will prime my skin well for a clean canvas. :) I have read very good reviews on both of these. (I'll probably get another liquid foundation for *special* occasions, but I can deal with some acne scarring on a day to day basis.

I can't WAIT for my order! :D Wishes to you all!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Everyday Minerals products

More Powder products