Unlisted Brand • Drugstore Witch hazel • Toners

rated 4.3(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 TarynHart on 5/15/2010 10:26:00 PM more reviews by TarynHart

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Use this everyday on a cotton square after cleansing and before moisturizing. I hate the smell (some people don't mind it and some even like it). However, I put up with the smell because the effect and the price are worth it. Witch Hazel is an anti-inflamatory -- so, it calms down any irratation/redness, etc. It also does a good job of getting any makeup my cleansing left behind. It is the active ingredient in many toners, but if you can put up with the smell and very boring packaging, straight witch hazel is a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amhendy on 5/9/2010 11:21:00 PM more reviews by amhendy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, the smell takes some getting used to-however,its dirt cheap and does the same job as any other toner. I have tried it all, Lancome, Prescriptives, Sea Breeze, Proactive, you name it and I have probably tried it. This stuff does the job and its cheap. I thought I would try it because I noticed it as an ingredient in toners and I figured I didn't have anything to lose. You will most certainly need a moisturizer, I use cetaphil as a wash twice a day, followed buy hazel, and I follow with moisturizer after the hazel has dried. If you notice a break out at first, give it time, anytime you try something new your skin may purge. I noticed my skin is way less oily and my husband had a skin irritation after a nose surgery and witch hazel cleared it right up. He was skeptical that it would work until he watched it clear right up. This stuff is also good on the bikini line. UPDATE: We are experiencing a very hot spring!!! I did have to switch toners, this requires a lot of moisturizer -so combined with summer- not a good combo. Excess moisture in the heat made my skin a little too oily for my liking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 debj314 on 5/9/2010 4:43:00 PM more reviews by debj314

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I bought this a few weeks ago. I used to use this years ago and I love how it makes my skin look and feel. But....lately, the smell is more aggravating. I dont know if its b/c now I can smell better thanks to Neilmed sinus rinse! But when I used it last week it seemed as though I smelled it the whole day. So I am on the fense about returning this. My makeup looked great but the smell was so powerful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* untinnu on 5/8/2010 4:11:00 PM more reviews by untinnu

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hmmm...this is weird.
I've been watching Dickinson's Witch Hazel, and when I ran out, I went to CVS to purchase more, but decided to buy the cvs brand instead, since the ingredients were the same and it was a lot cheaper. During the whole time I used this, which was about 3 weeks, I was breaking out like crazy!!! But now that I went back to Dickinson Witch Hazel about 4 days ago, my skin is beginning to clear up. Not sure what is going on here.
Anyways, good toner though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jrbmua on 5/8/2010 3:18:00 PM more reviews by jrbmua

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ever since I switched over from an expensive BP toner to this...I've never noticed a difference so I'm sticking with this cheap toner. I only get ance during that time of the month and I use pretty good spot treatment for that.
*Update 5/21/12: Still using this as a toner and no problems. It is so cheap and more natural than other toners with so many ingredients. I just cannot go back to expensive toners, not when this does the main things I look for in a toner -simply to remove what my cleanser cannot fully remove. The money I would've otherwise spent on expensive toners, I am able to spend on moisturizer and finally...a Clarisonic Mia.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Asen on 5/2/2010 6:47:00 PM more reviews by Asen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Witch Hazel is one of the cheapest toners/atringents around and heres why i love it. Its 100% natural, cheap and lasts ages. I have combination acne prone skin and i believe a toner is necessary i don't care what beauty editors say that a toner is not recquired i see it as important step to give your skin a final go over to remove dirt that your cleanser has missed and to tighten your pores, to prevent entry of dirt and oil and Witch Hazel has the bonus of reducing redness and preventing and clearing up acne in my experience. In the Uk i buy my Witch Hazel from Boots "Boots Distilled Witch Hazel" or Savers they sell "Care X Distilled Witch Hazel" both exactly the same depends where i get to first. In the U.S from what i hear you have no trouble finding Witch Hazel in any drugstore I think the brand is Dickinsons. I would recommend Witch Hazel for Normal to Oily skin while if you have Dry to Sensitive skin i suppose you could use it but i think Rosewater as a toner is more suitable. Look back to the days of your Grandparents when the beauty products were limitted. Cold Cream or Soap and Water as a Cleanser, Witch Hazel as a toner, Nivea Créme or some other vanishing cream as a moisturiser and probably either Antiseptic cream as a spot treatment or god forbid rubbing alcohol lol. Give Witch Hazel a try people don't swear by it for nothing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MarieG801 on 4/12/2010 3:43:00 PM more reviews by MarieG801

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I put some witch hazel in a 2oz bottle with about 10 drops of tea tree & lavender oil and use it as a toner. It helps kill zits and durastically reduces any scars. I actually haven't formed any new acne scars from using this, since it disinfects and is anti-bacterial! It's also incredibly cheap and natural.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennifur75 on 4/11/2010 9:23:00 PM more reviews by jennifur75

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I put my witch hazel into a little spray bottle, so that elminates any packaging problems. I spray this onto my face every morning before applying my moisturizer and I love the way it feels. It "wakes" me up nicely. I also use it at night before I put on my night cream. Never put cream on a dry face! Using the sprays of the witch hazel gives you a slippery surface to smooth your cream in.

Cheapest and best toner EVER.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Skindz on 4/1/2010 9:39:00 AM more reviews by Skindz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I use the T.N. Dickinsons witch hazel and I have been using it for about 1.5 months. Previously I used my biore triple astringent toner but I wanted to try something more natural. I heard about witch hazel and how it's good for problem and sensitive skin. I love that this product is natural. I put it on a cotton bud all over my face, I let it dry and spray two pumps of my tea tree water (from Lush) over the top. This is a perfect combination. It keeps my t-zone balanced and my skin seems to be clearer. I think I will keep to this routine as it is not as harsh on my sensitive skin. The only things I don't like is the squirty bottle (I like open tops where I can just put it directly on a cotton ball) and the smell (but this smell doesn't linger around your face so it's ok). However, overall I recommend people trying this product. It's cheap, natural and accessible.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ile on 3/19/2010 10:04:00 PM more reviews by ile

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

IMO the best toner for oily/combination skin. Non drying, smells great (at least Humphreys does) and it is very refreshing. Also great for sensitive skin, since is natural and very gentle. Without a doubt my HG toner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Toners products