Unlisted Brand • Drugstore Witch hazel • Toners

rated 4.3(119 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.86%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 longereyelashes on 10/2/2010 7:26:00 PM more reviews by longereyelashes

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

There is nothing negative I can say about this old fashioned miracle juice!
It works amazingly on acne. I don't have much acne naturally but when I use witch hazel it all disappears. My skin also looks overall rejuvenated. The bottle goes fast, especially after I mixed the witch hazel with lemon juice for a lovely astringent. The smell isn't an issue at all either. Honestly, I like the smell of the witch hazel.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 MelissaIsTheBest on 7/25/2010 10:05:00 PM more reviews by MelissaIsTheBest

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

I cannot tolerate the smell! I bought this for my acne. Perhaps this product would have worked better had I been able to tolerate it longer, but from what I remember it was rather drying. No use in switching from one evil to another - especially if it stinks so bad in the process!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Banjos on 7/7/2010 2:52:00 AM more reviews by Banjos

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Witch hazel is a good, inexpensive toner for all but very dry skin. With 14% alcohol, one would think it would be drying but I have not found that to be the case. Although many on MUA have complained about the scent, I do not find it objectionable. It is not good but not bad either...medicinal/herbal, I would say. It has been around since Hector was a pup.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sarahhjosephinee on 6/19/2010 11:05:00 PM more reviews by sarahhjosephinee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I really like using this as a toner.. it smelled bad at first but I'm used to it now. I always feel like this really cleans my skin of what was left after my actual cleanser.. yay witch hazel! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CatherineSolo on 6/15/2010 7:35:00 PM more reviews by CatherineSolo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

After years and years of using Proactive, it stopped working for me, and I have, for the past few years, been forced to formulate a new skincare routine. And I have tried EVERYTHING.
I love toners, because they are refreshing, and a good one will balance my dry but acne prone skin. But after trying a million products and spending a ton of money, I have gotten sick of all the bells and whistles. So I decided to try something natural and simple. And I am liking it a lot. Although it's got a pretty high alcohol content, I actually don't find it drying, which it amazing, as everything dries out my skin.
But I think what sealed it for me was the way it's helped clear up the break-out I recently had after trying a bad oil on my face. Also, I got a facial today and the facialist said using witch hazel straight up is a great idea, which impressed me.
Will I repurchase? Yes, unless I find another cheap, natural product that is similar. I'd try out something like that, but I would come back to witch hazel if other natural products don't work like it.
That being said, it smells awful. But I hold my breath when I apply it. For the price & the results, I can hold my breath for 20 seconds. The smell doesn't linger *phew!*

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TarynHart on 5/15/2010 10:26:00 PM more reviews by TarynHart

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Use this everyday on a cotton square after cleansing and before moisturizing. I hate the smell (some people don't mind it and some even like it). However, I put up with the smell because the effect and the price are worth it. Witch Hazel is an anti-inflamatory -- so, it calms down any irratation/redness, etc. It also does a good job of getting any makeup my cleansing left behind. It is the active ingredient in many toners, but if you can put up with the smell and very boring packaging, straight witch hazel is a great product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amhendy on 5/9/2010 11:21:00 PM more reviews by amhendy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Okay, the smell takes some getting used to-however,its dirt cheap and does the same job as any other toner. I have tried it all, Lancome, Prescriptives, Sea Breeze, Proactive, you name it and I have probably tried it. This stuff does the job and its cheap. I thought I would try it because I noticed it as an ingredient in toners and I figured I didn't have anything to lose. You will most certainly need a moisturizer, I use cetaphil as a wash twice a day, followed buy hazel, and I follow with moisturizer after the hazel has dried. If you notice a break out at first, give it time, anytime you try something new your skin may purge. I noticed my skin is way less oily and my husband had a skin irritation after a nose surgery and witch hazel cleared it right up. He was skeptical that it would work until he watched it clear right up. This stuff is also good on the bikini line. UPDATE: We are experiencing a very hot spring!!! I did have to switch toners, this requires a lot of moisturizer -so combined with summer- not a good combo. Excess moisture in the heat made my skin a little too oily for my liking.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 debj314 on 5/9/2010 4:43:00 PM more reviews by debj314

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I bought this a few weeks ago. I used to use this years ago and I love how it makes my skin look and feel. But....lately, the smell is more aggravating. I dont know if its b/c now I can smell better thanks to Neilmed sinus rinse! But when I used it last week it seemed as though I smelled it the whole day. So I am on the fense about returning this. My makeup looked great but the smell was so powerful.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* untinnu on 5/8/2010 4:11:00 PM more reviews by untinnu

Age: Unknown   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Hmmm...this is weird.
I've been watching Dickinson's Witch Hazel, and when I ran out, I went to CVS to purchase more, but decided to buy the cvs brand instead, since the ingredients were the same and it was a lot cheaper. During the whole time I used this, which was about 3 weeks, I was breaking out like crazy!!! But now that I went back to Dickinson Witch Hazel about 4 days ago, my skin is beginning to clear up. Not sure what is going on here.
Anyways, good toner though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jrbmua on 5/8/2010 3:18:00 PM more reviews by jrbmua

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Ever since I switched over from an expensive BP toner to this...I've never noticed a difference so I'm sticking with this cheap toner. I only get ance during that time of the month and I use pretty good spot treatment for that.
*Update 5/21/12: Still using this as a toner and no problems. It is so cheap and more natural than other toners with so many ingredients. I just cannot go back to expensive toners, not when this does the main things I look for in a toner -simply to remove what my cleanser cannot fully remove. The money I would've otherwise spent on expensive toners, I am able to spend on moisturizer and finally...a Clarisonic Mia.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Toners products