St. Ives • Apricot Face Wash -- Blemish and Blackhead Control ] [DISCONTINUED] • Cleansers

rated 4.0(145 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients

This product has been discontinued


rated 5 of 5 MinekaC on 9/19/2009 11:35:00 AM more reviews by MinekaC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Blue    

I adore this face wash, but is it just me or did it suddenly become difficult to find? I know they changed their packaging, but despite that, reading all the labels and looking at the consistency. None of the stores (Walmart, Wegmans, Rite Aid, Target) carry it around here anymore. I've been reduced to buying it off of drugstore.com That's a touch ridiculous and annoying to me. But my skin is so sensitive and prone to break outs, that it's worth the hassle to keep my face happy.
Just wish it was still easy to get is all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 loveisblind on 9/4/2009 12:26:00 AM more reviews by loveisblind

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

My skin used to be pretty clear but this summer I started to break out. It wasn't too severe. I know some people have it a lot worse. I would just wake up every morning with a pimple or two on my face. I would use tea tree oil to get rid of the pimples but I really wanted something to prevent pimples from forming. I was so sick of waking up and finding pimples on my face. Well I have only been using this cleanser for 4 days now but I already love it. I don't use it all the time. I mostly use it when my skin is really oily or after I come home from work or school. It's helped to get rid of a few of my old pimples but I would say that it works best at preventing new ones from forming. It doesn't help to get rid of my blackheads but then again nothing seems to help that problem since I have very stubborn blackheads. I would recommend rubbing a bit of this cleanser in your hands first before you use it on your face. You should rub this gently on the skin. The exfoliating beads aren't too rough but you should still be gentle when washing your face with this stuff. I have pretty oily skin so this doesn't really dry out my skin but if you have dry skin already then this may not be the cleanser for you. Obviously there is no one product out there that can completely stop acne. Most of the time you have to use a few products to get rid of acne and really work at keeping your skin clear. This isn't a miracle cleanser but for $4 a bottle it is definitely worth it. I am so glad I bought it and I will definitely be repurchasing this again. It beats some of the more expensive cleansers I have purchased before. The real test will be around that time of month for me. I will update on how well it does then to help with acne.

***UPDATE*** Alright well its that time of month for me and I have been getting the usual pimples on my face. It's nothing major. It's just my usual time of the month break-out. I do not blame this cleanser for that and I won't lower my rating because of that. I still love this cleanser and I have a feeling I will be using this cleanser for a very long time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 anjel_kisses on 7/22/2009 8:45:00 PM more reviews by anjel_kisses

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Wow. I just bought this cleanser yesterday because my eye caught the new packaging and I am in LOVE. I have been a fan of the legendary apricot scrub but always wished for it in a cleanser form. The scrub is wonderful but I always felt like it was too rough, like rubbing sand on my face. This indeed answered my prayers.

The consistency is gel-like (think hand-soap) and comes in a no-fuss pump bottle making it so much easier to use with one hand. I love how the formula is gentle yet still contains some sparse apricot beads to deep clean. For this reason the bottle only recommends using it 3-4 times a week. It's also excellent for removing makeup. No traces of leftover eyeliner/mascara whatsoever. And the best part is that it's 2% salicylic acid unlike most cleansers that only carry 0.5% It's also oil-free (awesome) yet did not leave my skin feeling dry at all. (I have oily skin) Just smooth and squeaky clean =) Make sure to lather up on moisturizer afterwards! Best of all I only got this for $3 and change at Harmon's. Will continue to repurchase! Don't sleep on St. Ives ladies!

EDIT - ok so maybe I was wrong. This stuff broke me out with cystic acne and also is ridiculously hard to remove. I'll try Clean & Clear's rave makeup removing cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Popcornshrimp on 7/16/2009 2:57:00 PM more reviews by Popcornshrimp

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I love the apricot scrubs from St. Ives. I prefer the sandy exploiters rather than the beads since it seems like you get a deeper clean with the more abrasive ingredients. This is a tad harsh if you really scrub hard (which I tend to do) and if you use it everyday, I got a case of the dreaded flakies. As for the blemish part, it works pretty good at keeping them at bay...better than some other things I've tried....but I was more concerned with white heads rather than pimples. I also got the St. Ives apricot scrub renew and firm and prefer that than this since it's less harsh (less sandyness) and doesn't dry out the skin as much. So I won't be repurchasing this, but I definitely will stick to the apricot scrub line.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 WickedCat on 5/13/2009 6:57:00 PM more reviews by WickedCat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

As many other reviewers mentioned this product is quite harsh for everyday use.. so instead I've used used it once every other day and used a gentle (non exfoliating) cleanser in between.

I've been using this for two months now and pretty much from the first two times I've noticed a huge difference! I had no more blackhead's around my nose! It left my skin smooth and soft and paired with a toner it made my skin great. You have to give it time (say a month) before you notice your blemishes fading in color. It can be drying so always remember to use a good moisturizer after. I didnt find it difficult to wash off because i'd lather it up on my hands first before spreading it on my face which didnt make it any different to wash off than other cleansers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* graceface07 on 5/6/2009 6:46:00 PM more reviews by graceface07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I think this is great for combo skin types. I am combination and I tend to get clogged in my t-zone. I used to use this when I was in high school and I recently remembered what great results I had with this. this time I grabbed two of them..one to keep in my shower to use as a scrub for my back and chest which also tends to get clogged pores. for some this may be stripping for everyday use but try using it as your 3 times weekly scrub. the beads are gentle - much better than the regular scrub which tends to be too harsh and you'll also get the perfect amount of salicylic acid for a deep clean. I have super super sensitive and reactive skin and I have never had any reactions to this - only positive results. I also have tried every skin product I think ever made including home remedies and very high end stuf and this little cheapie gem seems to be the only thing that agrees with my skin! I would say give it a week or two before you can judge this and I wouldn't use it both morning and night unless you are super oily. Over all between this and cetaphil my skin is in love.

I looked in 2 riteaids and a cvs for this with no luck! hope they aren't getting rid of it! I found it at a harmons beauty supply.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 captainlindarg on 5/1/2009 5:24:00 PM more reviews by captainlindarg

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't have much trouble with blemishes or acne on my face, but I do have a tiny bit of recurring acne on my body. I have been using this on my face with decent results for a while now. My face has stayed mostly blemish-free and, combined with my daily moisturizing regimen, incredibly soft. I can't say that it does much in the way of eliminating or decreasing blackheads, as mine have stayed the same. It is a little harsh for the face, but I found that if you just gently rub it into the skin it isn't a problem. It's also a little hard to wash off, so I took off one lippie for those things.

I recently tried this as a body scrub on the trouble area where I get acne on my body, and have noticed that I have zero blemishes left. I am extremely pleased with this.

All-in-all a good, cheap scrub. I will continue to repurchase this.

PROS: Cheap, good exfoliant, easy to find, helps get rid of blemishes, good body scrub
CONS: A little harsh for face, hard to rinse off

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 hyperj00 on 4/9/2009 9:54:00 PM more reviews by hyperj00

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Pros: Good exfoliating cleanser. Cleared up my skin and leaves it soft and smooth. Does not dry me out.

Cons: I have to be careful to smooth it over my skin gently and slowly or else it hurts and irritates my skin. It doesn't rinse off easily.

**Update: after using this for about a month, I am finding it drying and not exfoliating enough so I have dry flakes after I wash. Also, I broke out around my period the same as I usually do and this product didn't seem to help any. I am lowering it from 4 lippies to 3.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mgates31790 on 1/24/2009 11:58:00 AM more reviews by mgates31790

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love love love this face wash!
I have combination oily/dry skin and this product has evened out my skin all the while making it so incredibly smooth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 pishtosh on 1/18/2009 10:50:00 PM more reviews by pishtosh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Awesome cleanser for the price. I can trust this stuff with my skin; it never dries it out, makes it too oily, irritates it or breaks it out. A great, gentle cleanser to use on a daily basis to make your skin feel fresh and clean.

(Do wish it was a bit more portable though, like in a squeeze tube.)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More St. Ives products

More Cleansers products