Unlisted Brand • Malibu Tan - Hemp Golden Glow Skin Firming Bronzing Moisturizer • Self Tanners

rated 4.3(119 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* briii on 4/12/2011 1:24:00 AM more reviews by briii

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best self tanning lotion ever (: i'm pretty pale and have a hard time finding a self tanner that doesn't turn me orange. This lotion makes me look like I have a natural tan which I love. It smells amazing too! alot of sunless tanning lotions have a gross smell to them but this one smells great. It was pretty cheap too and the bottle lasts for a long time too. Overall this is a great sunless tanning lotion and i don't think I'll ever let this one go (=

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mishkee on 3/20/2011 10:59:00 PM more reviews by mishkee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was planning on buying the Hawaiin Tropics Island Radiance Creme but I saw this was cheaper and you get twice as much product. I'm so glad I did! It works great Ive been using this for about five days now. I put it on only my upper body and not my legs to see if it really worked and then I could compare. Five days later I look like I have a natural glow like I've been tanning for a few days or something. I haven't use a self tanner in ten years so I guess I was kinda expecting an orange glow like I used to get. This looks very natural. I will definitly repurchase!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 aliciavogue on 3/19/2011 2:16:00 AM more reviews by aliciavogue

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

So I bought this because I was so pasty white after this winter. I was in Wlamart and came across a Malibu Tan Hem Lotion Self-tanner. I hate spray self tanners and usually only stick with lotions because they're much more fool-proof and really it's really easy to get even coverage. It's also a plus that it's a gradual tanner. So far I'm on day two and I already have a really nice glow. This is a firming, moisturizing and self tanning lotion all in one. Also, what I didn't know until I got home and read the back of the bottle, It contains DHA which is an Omega-3 fatty acid which is GREAT for you. So far, I am loving this product. The only thing I don't like is the smell. I have a really sensitive nose and can smell this stuff on me all day. Al in all, it's a great, healthy and cheap alternative to tanning.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 peta40oz on 10/6/2010 8:21:00 AM more reviews by peta40oz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I applied this lotion in the morning after a shower and only smelled a *hint* of self-tanner scent later in the day. Of course this is probably because there was hardly any self-tanner in there. I received no color at all, except in random patches on my skin (around my belly button, on my knees). Horrible and so annoyed I bought three bottles of the stuff (there is no WalMart by me so when I was on vacation I stocked up).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 meaganh on 9/29/2010 12:37:00 AM more reviews by meaganh

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

i just bought this the other night at walmart, i noticed lately i was looking very white since summer is over. and i usually would just go tanning in a bed but when i get older i dont want to be super wrinkly and stuff, so im going to try to stay out of the sun and tanning beds. but every other self tanner ive used left me streaky and orange, the one specific kind i remember was by dove i think. but this stuff is great. it smells delicious, not that icky tanner smell. and its giving me a great even glow. i've only used it the past 2 days. i just get a shower and put it on afterwards. it doesnt take it very long to dry either. i put it on, do my makeup, then im ready to get dressed and go. im like a see through white usually lol but now i have a great glow going on. i just didn't like how my face was soooo much whiter then my body, so i just put some on my face and i'll see how that works out then write more about it. but hopefully its good. i do really wish they made this come in darker shades, and for a regular face mosturizer, but ohh well im still happy with it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mmton on 8/9/2010 10:52:00 PM more reviews by mmton

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product last Summer and I absolutely loved it!! However, around the same time I used it I started breaking out in hives and my boyfriend convinced me I was allergic to peanuts!! After reading the other comments I realized it was this stuff all along. So ya, I'm allergic to it, but it's the only thing that gives me a natural glow. I still use it, but at the same time I have to use zyrtec (allergy pills)!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LexiJo on 7/12/2010 9:39:00 PM more reviews by LexiJo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great gradual self tanner except for the fact that it caused me to break out in a very itchy rash everywhere I applied it! I love the fact that it is gradual and that it does not have a color guide. It does NOT smell like practically every other DHA containing thing does. It dries pretty fast, moisturizes pretty well, and the color was a light, believable golden tan. I was really happy with this early on the second day, but by mid-day I was starting to itch. I didn't associate it with this self-tanner, so I applied it again the next morning (it smells good enough to apply in the morning and wear out in public throughout the day and not worry about reeking of fake bake). By the end of the third day I was covered in a very itchy raised rash...thank God I didn't apply it to my face! I stopped using it and the rash went away. When I gave it another try this week, boom, the same rash is back. Rats, because other than that I was really happy with it. Overall I'd highly recommend it if you're not sensitive at all and your skin can tolerate it. For sensitive girls, beware! Love the color, scent, moisturizing...hate the very itchy rash! I have seen others that have had this reaction too, so hopefully the company will address it and reformulate. I just wish I knew what ingredient I was allergic to in it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TacoFlavoredKisses on 7/3/2010 9:49:00 PM more reviews by TacoFlavoredKisses

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Pretty great for a cheap self tanner. I've tried so many high-end, costly products that didn't give me the results that this one did, and I picked this up from Wal-Mart for like $7? It's HUGE! The smell is not too bad, you can barely smell the DHA, and I am very sensitive to that nasty smell. It has a light tropical scent, it dries pretty quickly, and with just one use, it takes the harsh, blaringly white edge off of my pale skin. With subsequent uses, the color keeps deepening. I don't think this will produce a major dark, amazing tan, but for someone who wants quick, easy results without any hassle, this is it. Not the least bit orangey. I'm very happy I found this, thanks to MUA. I probably would have never picked this up if it wasn't for the raves I read on here. *UPDATE: This faded a little bit blotchy on me regardless of prior exfoliation, and also, the Kardashian tanning gel smells less like DHA and is SO much more moisturizing!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heathermrm on 6/13/2010 10:24:00 PM more reviews by heathermrm

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I cannot believe I have not yet reviewed this product - this has been my most favorite self-tanner for a year! However, mine (18 fl oz pump bottle purchased at Walmart for $5.77) is called Malibu Hemp Golden Glow Skin Firming Bronzing Moisturizer and my ingredients are different than those posted. My bottle says (I kept out the technical terms if a more common term was also used - example if coconut (cocos nucifera) oil is listed, I'm only listing coconut oil):


Water, Propylene Glycol, Coconut Oil, Cetearyl Alcohol, Polysorbate 60, Isopropyl Myristate, Cetyl Alcohol, Sorbitan Stearate, Dihydroxyacetone, Glycerin, Stearic Acid, Hempseed Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate, Erthyrulose, Hydrolyzed Citrus Aurantium Dulces Fruit Extract, Alcohol, Lecithin, Ubiquinone, Butylene Glycol, PEG-8, Bupleurum Falcatum Extract, Caffeine, Co-enzyme A, Sesame Oil, Jojoba Oil, Sunflower Seed Oil, Olive Oil, Tea Tree Oil, Green Tea Extract, Calendula Officinalis Extract, Cyclomethacone, Dimethicone, Sodium Gluconate, Potassium Sorbate, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben, Fragrance, BHT, Citric Acid.


The smell is divine, tropical, not overpowering and fades rather quickly -I get NO self tanner smell at all. The color payoff is even, non-streaky, pretty and natural looking (I'm VERY fair and detest anything orange - I would not leave the house if I looked like an oompaloompah and this stuff has none of that). It doesn't stain my hands; its cheap at Walmart. I have never had any adverse reaction (allergic) like I have had w/ quite a few self-tanners. Bottle also says it has "CoQ10 to moisturize, firm and reduce wrinkles while subtly enhancing skin w/a healthy glow." Don't really know if its done more than giving me a nice glow, but I'd like to hope/think it does and my skin does look pretty darn good and even!


I have used 3 bottles, am on my 4th and since another reviewer has stated Walmart may no longer be carrying, I'm stopping my my Walmart tomorrow and if they have any left, will stock up! HG material!


UPDATE (next a.m.) I stopped by my Walmart and there were 11 bottles on the shelf - I now own 4 of them! :)


UPDATE 8/1/10 - there are no more bottles at my Walmart. However, yesterday while browsing Sally's Beauty Supply, I noticed a bottle that was very similar looking from the same company (Creative Labs in Eagan, MN), so the next day (today) I returned to Sally's w/ one of my bottles of this and compared the 2 bottles side by side, ingredient by ingredient and WHOO HOO - its the EXACT same product - at Sally's its called Moist Hemp Bronzing Moisturizer. A 16 oz bottle is $8.50. I asked the SA if this was something new for them or if they were phasing it out or if it is a regular product kept in stock - she said they have carried it for a long time and as best she knows, there are no plans to change that. So - if you are looking desperately around for Malibu and can't find it, now you know where to go. :)

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tarapickholtz on 6/4/2010 12:54:00 AM more reviews by tarapickholtz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Other    

Yay, a self tanner with a pleasant scent! I was out to buy another bottle of Ocean Potion Ever Glow gradual self tanning lotion, which was one of the better smelling gradual tan lotions in my opinion, but haven't been seeing it at store anymore. I saw the Malibu Tan Hemp Golden Glow lotion at Walmart and decided to check it out. I took a sniff and noticed that it smelled kind of like bananas and coconut. If you don't care for tropical scents, you probably won't like this, but I really like the scent a lot. Great for summer! I also liked that it wasn't tinted, so that way I wouldn't stain my clothes after applying. It was between $5-6, so a great price, although the Ocean Potion stuff was even cheaper at $3-4 for a larger bottle. Either way, much cheaper and better smelling than other products. I can't stand the scent of Jergens gradual self tanners and many of the other popular brands (I've heard that some of the Coppertone ones are okay, so I'd be willing to give that one a try if I can't find the Malibu one again). I applied this pretty quickly after a shower without any special kind of exfoliating or using any other lotions. I still put a normal amount on my knees and elbows and even a little bit on my feet. It was nice and moisturizing and made my skin feel nice, yet wasn't sticky or greasy. I do notice that Ocean Potion can get a little sticky, so this was a big plus to me! I waited about 5 minutes before getting dressed again. In the morning, I noticed that I had a slight glow, which was great because I looked well rested and my skin looked more even. After two days, I could definitely notice the color a little more. Today was day three and I look forward to seeing how it turns out. I DO hope that if I apply this every day, I get a good amount of color. So far it's very natural looking and not super noticeable, and I would love a darker tan! Another wonderful thing... usually when I'm self tanning, after I shave my legs, the self tanner tends to come off and my legs look a little streaky. I just shaved and my legs don't have any streaks! Wonderful! I'm still applying it pretty quickly in just a few minutes and don't exfoliate, yet I still get even, non-streaky color. I just think you have to be patient and apply it every day to get noticeable results. This is fine, because I use a body lotion after showering every night, and this works great as a normal lotion. I even used it on my face and haven't had any breakouts from it. The tint on me is very nice, not yellow or orange or any weird color. I do notice a very slight DHA scent as the color starts to develop, but it's barely there. I notice that it fades off by the morning anyway. It's definitely much less noticeable than most other brands (again, only Ocean Potion is comparable for me). I'd definitely repurchase and am very happy that I gave this stuff a try!

My suggestion- just take a sniff of the product in the store before buying. The tropical scent stays noticeable for at least a few hours, so make sure you like it! I do! Also, remember that this is a gradual self tanner, so the results aren't going to be super noticeable and you won't get a super dark tan. I find that these are easier to use in the long run b/c they are faster to use, and your tan stays pretty even in color rather than being much darker some days, then fading, then dark again, etc. Try this out!

EDIT: I continue to get good results with this stuff! I still like the scent very much, although I still recommend smelling it first to make sure you like the tropical scent. The self tanner smell really is hardly, hardly there. Even with others that smelled pretty decent, I noticed a self tanner scent slightly more than this one about an hour or so after applying. This one has the least scent for me so far. I good a nice slightly darker color, although I do wish they had a version that got a little darker (I guess that would affect the smell though). One of my favorite things is that when I shave, my legs don't look streaky from the self tanner coming off. It seems to still look good!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Self Tanners products