Bumble & Bumble Thickening Spray

3.6

256 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Alcohol Denat., Isopropanol, Vp/Va Copolymer, Polyquaternium-11, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Hydroxypropyltrimonium Honey, PPG-12-PEG-65 Lanolin Oil, Polysorbate 80, Sodium Chloride, Sorbic Acid, Potassium Sorbate, Phenoxyethanol, Alpha-Isomethyl Ionone, Eugenol, Limonene, Fragrance.


on 4/11/2012 7:43:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

It works, but not enough for me to repurchase. Still looking for something better!



on 4/11/2012 7:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

After reading another celebrity stylist raving about this in a magazine I decided to try it out. My hair is poker straight, very glossy but also very limp. I have tried so many volumising products over the years but nothing really works.

This stuff unfortunately makes my hair into a sticky, tangled mess. Can't say it added much volume or thickness either to be honest. Pretty disappointing for a product that's getting such a great rap all around. But oh well.


on 3/12/2012 2:25:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this product on a whim. I absolutely love it. I have fairly flat hair, and nothing seemed to help it.... except for this product!!! I love it. I noticed some bad reviews on it saying it makes hair crunchy and such. This could be due to using it on dry hair... hair needs to be wet before using this spray. Its meant as a prep for blow drying. This is definitely my new staple :)


on 3/6/2012 10:39:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I used this spray years ago and from what I remember I kind of liked it. I decided to repurchase it a few days ago in search for a thickening product for my fine hair. I tried it this morning and not only did the spray do nothing for volume, it actually left my hair like straw. To my surprise (and shock and horror), they have changed the formula and ALCOHOL is now the 2nd ingredient which explains the 'new' smell as well. What a rip-off for 21 pounds.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is awesome, I have very fine hair and it works great. The only thing I dont love about this is the price.


on 1/23/2012 2:20:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

What a waste of money! I shelled out $9 for a tiny bottle of this stuff and it does absolutely NOTHING. The only thing it did was make my hair alittle sticky and my scalp itch. Waste of money. I'm glad I didnt buy the full size. Most B&B products do not work for me, I don't know why I even entertained this "thickening spray" as having potential.

UPDATE: I found out that this DOES add some volume to wet hair if you blow dry..otherwise, it does nothing. Plus, the volume is minimal...Living proof volume cream works much better. B&B products just dont work for me..


on 12/28/2011 2:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

update:
after finishing my last bottle of this i realized i was pretty underwhelmed by this product. i found that there were other products that work way better and had less hype. overall rating from 4-3 stars. average product.
__
i've repurchased this product multiple times already and i do really like it because it does what is says. this product has a flexible hold and when used on damp hair will not produce any crunchiness or stiffness if blow dried in. i like to apply this all over when the hair is damp (along with undressing cream for added body and fullness) and then spray in sections and round brush each indivial section for ultimate body. i find that when i use this alone it doens't add a ton of body, but it's probably because my hair is very smooth and thick and has a tendency to be flat if i don't make an effort to give it volume. i would definitely recommend this to someone with finer hair that is looking for something low maintenance because i feel like it would work very well with that hair type and with thicker hair if you're willing to put a bit of extra effort but it will definitely hold when heat is applied to it. i wouldn't recommend this as a finishing spray though, i think spray de mode or does it all would be best suited for that.


on 11/12/2011 7:57:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Once I finally figured out how to use this on my hair, I'm happy with it. I've got fine, wavy long hair and spraying this on my roots was a mess - the product made my roots darker and straighter than the rest of my hair. I finally unscrewed the bottle, poured about half a teaspoon in one palm, and with the other hand daubed the product on my roots. I scrunched them, and let my hair air dry. Voilà. Works very well for me like that. On the rare occasions that I blow dry my hair, I skip this as when heated it makes my hair feel crispy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/23/2011 4:52:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I like this. Does is really do anything to my hair I don't know. But I just think my hair looks nicer after using this spray. It doesn't have a strong smell and don't feel like I have used anything. So yay, I will buy this again as I think it makes my hair looks nicer.


on 9/10/2011 12:22:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

THIS IS MAGIC....The trick is to experiment and find out how much to use for your hair type. I open the bottle, pour onto my hands and apply about 2 tablespoons of it to my roots and mid-lengths. My hair is colored, long and fine, though I have lots of it, usually, it falls flat!
In conjunction with a light serum applied onto the ends, this is THE BEST.
Look at the ingredients - Nothing that is harmful to hair, no alcohol etc.
Expensive but worth it!
I think that with hair products ( as with makeup in general) it all depends on our individual hair, skin etc etc. This works for me!
Usually with volume products, I end up with crispy wasps nest as I did last night after using the aveda thickening hair tonic, This one is super




Top Rated Bumble & Bumble Products

image

Sumo Tech

45 reviews
image

Brilliantine

153 reviews
image

Defrizz

104 reviews
image

Styling Lotion

104 reviews
Back to Top