Guerlain • Terracotta Light Sheer Bronzing Powder-Blondes 01 • Bronzers

rated 4.4(115 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 TheCat7 on 5/26/2010 6:08:00 PM more reviews by TheCat7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

This is actually a pretty good bronzer.
I'm always on the lookout for a new bronzer, and this one fit my style. It comes in a compact with an ok mirror but I love how the powder is divided into a few "squares", so you get one "dark" brown, one lighter shade of brown, one pink shade and one gold shade, all in one!
You can sweep your brush over all four colours, or you could focus more on some than others, which is great.
All colours are very shimmery and pigmented, especially the golden one (which I sometimes use as an eyeshadow, looks great!) and because of this, I would not really use this powder for contouring. Also it just looks "ok" on your forehead (where bronzer is normally put to create shadows and dimension). However, this looks amazing on your cheeks, and because of the pink colour, you don't even need a blush to go with it!
This has a slight perfume-y scent, but it is very subtle and does not bother me at all.
So overall, I really like this product. You are kinda getting 3 in 1 - bronzer, eyeshadow and a blush!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kitkat73 on 5/26/2010 1:42:00 PM more reviews by kitkat73

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm very fair and it's extremely difficult to find a bronzer to suit my skin. Almost all make my face look dirty and/or orange and very "obviously bronzed" and for years I just stayed away. I discovered this because my mother had gotten "Les Blondes" instead of the regular Terracotta by mistake and thought it was too light for her. On a visit she insisted on trying it on me. With my phobia of bronzers I squirmed and tried to knock the brush out of her hand. Turns out, this is an absolutely gorgeous shade. It just gives me a fresh, healthy, "alive" look. I think the pink in it works with my skintone. However - after a while I noticed just how sparkly it was. In some lights it's just too obvious for my liking. I've since found EDM's soft bronzer which works better for everyday, and use this more for special occasions.

The packaging is beautiful, but the lid broke off my first compact pretty quickly. My second compact is about a year old and the powder looks almost untouched, even though I used this quite a lot last summer. (For some reason the mosaic of colours in this seems to "wear" unevenly. The shimmery areas look more used than the matte ones.)

I would absolutely love it if Guerlain would come up with a bronzer this shade with less obvious shimmer. Even the lightest in their regular series of matte bronzers is waaay too dark for me. Until then, if I ever empty this compact I may well repurchase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Ivy_Tamwood on 5/16/2010 6:40:00 PM more reviews by Ivy_Tamwood

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Tried this based on good MUA reviews. I'm a little conflicted about this product. On one hand, the color is GORGEOUS and truly perfect for ultra pale pink-toned PPPs like me. It gives a really healthy glow. On the other hand, in the light of day, I noticed a million sparkles on my face. I'm going to alternate with my Armani bronzer (which is AMAZING) and has no sparkle. I'm loving Terracotta for evening, but not sure about it for daytime.
UPDATE: I have surrendered to the sparkles as this bronzer is just too darn pretty to not use. I cannot rave enough about the perfect glow it gives your skin. I won't change the lippies from 4 to 5 though because of the sparkles (it would be absolutely perfect without). I have officially abandoned my Armani bronzer for this one (sorry, Giorgio!)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hothead on 5/12/2010 5:25:00 PM more reviews by Hothead

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have had this product for the last 18 mos.. and it is the only one which I don't ever have to work too much at -- it is the perfect color for my skin and when I apply it I get a great bronzey glow. I can use it in winter or summer and it never ever gives me that dreaded brownish/orange cast which dulls my complexion.

I love this powder and don't care how much it costs ~~ I will always repurchase.



1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 plussize1 on 5/12/2010 4:58:00 PM more reviews by plussize1

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

love it....if your a pale girl with the need for a bronzer b/c summer is coming then get this one........i went on the hunt yesterday and everything, i mean everything was muddy and dirty looking on me except this. iam a brunette but i chose the blonde shade, its perfect.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 greatglamdc on 5/10/2010 2:57:00 PM more reviews by greatglamdc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I layer this over Bobbi Brown Bronzer Light and it gives that nice shimmer, but not too much shimmer- to give you a sunkissed glow. I LOVE this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CafeMochaJunkie on 2/21/2010 7:59:00 PM more reviews by CafeMochaJunkie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

OMG - the reviews on this don't lie. If you are pale (I am NW20), this is for you, for certain! I've tried NARS Laguna, Lorac Tantalizer, Cargo Light Bronzer and they all ended up making me look orangey, sparkly or just dirty! NOT THIS ONE! It's GORGEOUS on and can be built up substantially without looking crazy. THIS IS FABULOUS and yeah, it's expensive, but so are the stack of bronzers I can't use, so there it is. RUN OUT & GET THIS!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Jennta on 1/8/2010 1:51:00 PM more reviews by Jennta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I'm a blonde with blue eyes & fair skin. The subtle, healthy glow this bronzer gives is fantastic. Just the right amount of shimmer, and not at all orangey or clownish. The only reason I have this a 4 out of 5 is that it is SO expensive!


2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 yourphatness on 11/5/2009 12:27:00 AM more reviews by yourphatness

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

OMG OMG OMG. If you're a blonde with light skin, then this is THE bronzer for you.
I don't even know where to begin in professing my love for this product. I have been using it for 3 or 4 years now, and have never encountered a better bronzer. It has the perfect amount of shimmer to give the most delicious glow! OMG, and you photograph AMAZINGLY with it on!

I sound like I'm twelve, raving this way.. but i swear by this product. I have acne prone skin, and this does not break me out. The color is fabulous!!! I highly recommend this bronzer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I think it was the bronzer that my bf fell in love with, not me :P KIDDING.. i hope..
But when wearing it expect LOTS OF COMPLIMENTS.


UPDATE: Causes break-outs. I don't use it anymore despite the amazing colour.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dresseduptothenines on 10/24/2009 7:54:00 AM more reviews by dresseduptothenines

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love it! I'm "pale and interesting" most of the time, but when I fancy a sun-kissed glow this is my go-to product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Guerlain products

More Bronzers products