NARS Ondine

4.2

101 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

INGREDIENTS



on 1/4/2009 11:38:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This by far is one of my favorite eyeshadows. To me it's that go to color that never fails me. It's a slightly shimmery taupe-plum that is a neutral to me. It's goes on smooth, pigmented and last a long time. You can warm it up or cool it down depending on what base you use or other e/s you pair it with. Very versatile and pretty. I love it so much- I have it as a single and part of the Holiday 2008 Pallette.



on 12/8/2008 9:24:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

NARS Ondine, I love this eyeshadow so much that I feel it deserves a review. This is a very unique color, it's a borderline of gray, taupe, and plum. In addition, it contains fine golden shimmers that helps to brighten and prevent this color from looking dull on the lids. I admit that I was a little intimidated by this color at first glance, as some people have mentioned, it does resembles the color of a purple bruise. But after reading all the positive reviews I finally convinced myself to pick up a sponge tip applicator at Sephora and lightly applied this color on my lids to see if it really lives up to the hype - and surprisingly, this color works for me! NARS eyeshadow in general are very pigmented and soft (similar to Stila but not as soft). Ondine is not a very pigmented shade in my opinion, it looks darker in the pan than the color that shows up on my skin. Although it contains golden shimmers, the eyeshadow blends beautifully on the lids. As a result, it really enhances my brown eyes without making my eyes look bruised (for reference, I'm currently NC/NW10 or MUFE face & body #38). The second I walked out of Sephora I instantly receiving compliments from strangers. It seems very bizarre to me because I never had anything like this happen to me no matter what eyeshadow I was using. So this eyeshadow is truly a miracle product for me, lol! Now for the packaging, it's a standard rubber compact that is known to attract dirt. I personally don't have problem with NARS packaging. The eyeshadow is retailed for $22 USD for 0.07 oz of product. It's expensive for an eyeshadow but this is one of the few colors I wouldn't mind burning a hole in my wallet for. I would definitely repurchase when I run out, HG! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/3/2008 10:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love ondine! It is a greyish taupe with silvery shimmering. The texture is ideal, not sheer, not opaque (you still can see the skin), not too shimmering, and it is very buildable and blendable. Sometimes I can detect a hint of purple, or a hint of brown, depending on which eyeliner color I pair it with. It is such a sophisticated and elegant neutral color. Whenever I have a meeting with important clients, I will reach for this. It makes my eyes wide open and shine, which is really hard since I am an asian with brown eyes. The greyish tone goes perfectly with my charcoal dress shirts and black suits. Oh, I love this angel, my HG...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

As a product: This is one of the thicker, velvetier shadows NARS makes, which, combined with it's dark colour and immense pigmentation, makes it ideal for a smoky eye. The color will last almost all day, shimmer is fine and not gritty, and a single pan will last forever, therefore making the $21 price tag almost justifiable.


As a color: Ondine is a basic shimmery taupey-plum. It's not as distinctly purple as say, the plum in the Habanera duo, but it's a nice brown-ish, taupe-ish purple with a shimmer in the pan that translates into a glow on the eyes. It almost seems neutral from some lights, but it has a slight cool tone to it.


As a whole: Ondine is a beautiful neutralish purple, but be careful of applying too much because it can appear "bruisey", especially on very fair skin. Not an essential shadow if you have other richer purple shades, but a pretty alternative to a taupe eye for day or a spin on the classic smokey eye for night.


Complementary Products: Light white higlight shade (i.e. NARS edie), a deep brown in the crease (i.e. MAC espresso), a plum eyeliner (i.e. Clinique Starry Plum), a sheer pinkey-plum blush (i.e. NARS sin), and a neutral rose lippie (i.e. Clinique sweet honey)

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2008 6:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this plummy color. When I first got into NARS, this was one of the colors I always wanted but I got sucked into the brights first. Eventually, I got it as part of the Sephora palette and it's one of my favorite neutrals with a hint of sparkle. I use it all over the lid to the crease. It's a great simple look. I can just use this or layer things on top for a more dramatic evening look. And it works great as a liner under the eyes. I would definitely buy this as a single.


on 2/28/2008 10:53:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I just got this shade a few weeks ago. I thought it was going to go on with a little more color than it does but it's still very pretty. Is a heathery greyish color with pale plum undertones and has some shimmer to it.


on 10/9/2007 3:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this eyeshadow! The color has been described well. It is incredibly versatile in that it works equally well with purples, pinks, browns, taupes and golds. It is my favorite shadow for an easy, work-appropriate smoky look. Just use Vanilla pigment as a wash from lashes to brow, then Ondine on the lid and into the crease. Use a bit more Vanilla on your blending brush and work that gorgeous color up toward your browbone a bit. This combo really brings out brown eyes and always gets me compliments. You can also tone down the purple and bring out a bit more taupe by lightly brushing BE Celestine glimmer over your finished work. For a more dramatic look, pat a bronzey creme shadow on your lids (I use a Cover Girl whipped shadow from last summer that has surprising staying power over UDPP but you could probably use a MAC paint or paintpot). Then pat Ondine over it with a small brush and blend with your highlight color. This really brings out the golden sparkle. I could ramble for days on the various ways to wear Ondine but I recommend you make the investment and try it out yourself!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/15/2007 2:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've had this product for over a year and it's a staple. The plummy, gold-shot powder is high quality and great for layering. Used wet, it makes a great liner as well. I have green-grey eyes and so this colour really brings them out. I agree with the reviewer back there that NARS packaging looks "dirty" after just a few uses. They need to do something about that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

great purpley simmer shade, goes great with my green eyes :) the only thing i really dislike is the packaging -- as is with all NARS products, as soon as you star using it the outer package looks dirty. that's and it's a bit expensive. but, the product itself is great -- sheer, buildable color. i like to use it for liner, too!


on 5/11/2007 9:12:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This is a plum shade shot with gold shimmer. I love ita s it really makes my green eyes pop! I like to wear it over AAE or nepal. It works great for day or it can be amped up for a gorgeous smoky eye. I think this would work for all eye colours.




Top Rated NARS Products

image

Coconut Grove

29 reviews
image

Bali

35 reviews
image

Ita Brush

42 reviews
Back to Top