NARS • Ondine • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(99 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 amyzang on 7/3/2008 10:58:00 AM more reviews by amyzang

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love ondine! It is a greyish taupe with silvery shimmering. The texture is ideal, not sheer, not opaque (you still can see the skin), not too shimmering, and it is very buildable and blendable. Sometimes I can detect a hint of purple, or a hint of brown, depending on which eyeliner color I pair it with. It is such a sophisticated and elegant neutral color. Whenever I have a meeting with important clients, I will reach for this. It makes my eyes wide open and shine, which is really hard since I am an asian with brown eyes. The greyish tone goes perfectly with my charcoal dress shirts and black suits. Oh, I love this angel, my HG...

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VersaceBlonde on 6/5/2008 3:15:00 PM more reviews by VersaceBlonde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

As a product: This is one of the thicker, velvetier shadows NARS makes, which, combined with it's dark colour and immense pigmentation, makes it ideal for a smoky eye. The color will last almost all day, shimmer is fine and not gritty, and a single pan will last forever, therefore making the $21 price tag almost justifiable.


As a color: Ondine is a basic shimmery taupey-plum. It's not as distinctly purple as say, the plum in the Habanera duo, but it's a nice brown-ish, taupe-ish purple with a shimmer in the pan that translates into a glow on the eyes. It almost seems neutral from some lights, but it has a slight cool tone to it.


As a whole: Ondine is a beautiful neutralish purple, but be careful of applying too much because it can appear "bruisey", especially on very fair skin. Not an essential shadow if you have other richer purple shades, but a pretty alternative to a taupe eye for day or a spin on the classic smokey eye for night.


Complementary Products: Light white higlight shade (i.e. NARS edie), a deep brown in the crease (i.e. MAC espresso), a plum eyeliner (i.e. Clinique Starry Plum), a sheer pinkey-plum blush (i.e. NARS sin), and a neutral rose lippie (i.e. Clinique sweet honey)

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mintymintz on 4/17/2008 6:42:00 PM more reviews by mintymintz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this plummy color. When I first got into NARS, this was one of the colors I always wanted but I got sucked into the brights first. Eventually, I got it as part of the Sephora palette and it's one of my favorite neutrals with a hint of sparkle. I use it all over the lid to the crease. It's a great simple look. I can just use this or layer things on top for a more dramatic evening look. And it works great as a liner under the eyes. I would definitely buy this as a single.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Guru4u on 2/28/2008 10:53:00 AM more reviews by Guru4u

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I just got this shade a few weeks ago. I thought it was going to go on with a little more color than it does but it's still very pretty. Is a heathery greyish color with pale plum undertones and has some shimmer to it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ahappyplace on 10/9/2007 3:48:00 PM more reviews by ahappyplace

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this eyeshadow! The color has been described well. It is incredibly versatile in that it works equally well with purples, pinks, browns, taupes and golds. It is my favorite shadow for an easy, work-appropriate smoky look. Just use Vanilla pigment as a wash from lashes to brow, then Ondine on the lid and into the crease. Use a bit more Vanilla on your blending brush and work that gorgeous color up toward your browbone a bit. This combo really brings out brown eyes and always gets me compliments. You can also tone down the purple and bring out a bit more taupe by lightly brushing BE Celestine glimmer over your finished work. For a more dramatic look, pat a bronzey creme shadow on your lids (I use a Cover Girl whipped shadow from last summer that has surprising staying power over UDPP but you could probably use a MAC paint or paintpot). Then pat Ondine over it with a small brush and blend with your highlight color. This really brings out the golden sparkle. I could ramble for days on the various ways to wear Ondine but I recommend you make the investment and try it out yourself!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wuzzo on 9/15/2007 2:23:00 PM more reviews by Wuzzo

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've had this product for over a year and it's a staple. The plummy, gold-shot powder is high quality and great for layering. Used wet, it makes a great liner as well. I have green-grey eyes and so this colour really brings them out. I agree with the reviewer back there that NARS packaging looks "dirty" after just a few uses. They need to do something about that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 HorrorChick86 on 8/7/2007 11:58:00 AM more reviews by HorrorChick86

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

great purpley simmer shade, goes great with my green eyes :) the only thing i really dislike is the packaging -- as is with all NARS products, as soon as you star using it the outer package looks dirty. that's and it's a bit expensive. but, the product itself is great -- sheer, buildable color. i like to use it for liner, too!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* heaven07 on 5/11/2007 9:12:00 AM more reviews by heaven07

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This is a plum shade shot with gold shimmer. I love ita s it really makes my green eyes pop! I like to wear it over AAE or nepal. It works great for day or it can be amped up for a gorgeous smoky eye. I think this would work for all eye colours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NJKim on 3/23/2007 3:44:00 PM more reviews by NJKim

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a lovely soft purple with golden undertones that I use with a iridescent beige Shu Uemera base. NARS makes really lovely and dramatic colors that apply beautifully even with your fingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chicita on 1/24/2007 7:12:00 PM more reviews by chicita

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Yummay! Onedine is definitely a purple eye shadow (I'm looking at it on my eyes rite now) As a makeup artist I love it as a mid shade for a blue toned smoky eye or as the dark shade paired with desert / bronze colours, highly recommended it exudes smoky =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NARS products

More Eye Shadow products