Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.8(478 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 tampants on 1/10/2014 2:16:00 PM more reviews by tampants

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was very excited to try this as my second liquid foundation ever, but really didn't like it that much. Coverage was ok, but it stuck to my dry patches and those areas did not look so nice. I used a beauty blender to apply and liked the finish of it initially. Only thing is, because of my dry patches it started to flake during the day and didn't end up lasting that long for me. Also I noticed a few small spots (whiteheads) by the end of the day, most likely caused by wearing this foundation.

Someone with oily skin and no dry patches might like this, but it didn't work for me! Also, I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with sensitive skin, as it looks like it caused a minor breakout for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SamanthaSue11 on 1/7/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaSue11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros - long lasting, tons of colors to choose from, feels nice on the skin, doesn't break me out (normal-slightly acne prone skin), good coverage Cons - no pump, smells a little strong, can be a bit messy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/6/2014 6:56:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

*This review is for the Normal/Dry skin formula only, and it's not the SoftFlex one*
I've only used high end foundation since I started wearing it about eighteen years ago. Even though I wore it, I never really loved the way it looked. I have really fair, dry, sensitive skin so its tough to find something thats oil free, and moisturizing. It either looked too cakey, felt like a mask, accentuated dry spots, broke me out, wasn't the right amount of coverage, didn't have a light enough color, didn't have the right color, etc.. A few months ago I got sick of it, so I did a TON of research on different liquid/cream foundations. I read a lot about, and saw YouTubers talk about Revlon's Colorstay foundation, but mostly for the Combo/Oily formula. However, I knew there was one for my skin type so I thought I'd try it out. I've never used any drug store foundation before, so I didn't know if I would like it or not. I have been using it now for about two months and I am very impressed! It is oil-free, moisturizing, doesn't accentuate my dry spots, the perfect amount of coverage, doesn't make me break out, and it stays on my skin all day. It's everything I want in a foundation. I use 150/Buff and its the perfect color if you have fair, neutral coloring like me. I did have to buy two colors (Ivory was too light) to get my shade right, but I just returned the wrong one. And like everyone else I hate the packaging, I wish it had a pump, but I'll put up with it because it works so well. I just slowly dump a tiny bit on the back of my freshly washed hand, and that works just fine. I recommend giving this product a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Backmasking on 1/5/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by Backmasking

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Omg! HG foundation. This was (and still is) the only drugstore foundation I have ever bought. I had always bought high end foundation, simply because I was taught to believe that I should spend more on it and that drugstore products are inferior. I then discovered the makeup section of youtube and started learning more about other products, and found this little gem. Absolutely phenomenal product. High coverage, matte finish, SPF 15 (though I do always use SPF 30-50 before all makeup as well because of my very sensitive skin), has lasted 18 hours on me still looking perfectly. I haven't ever worn it longer than that.

It is very comparable to Estee Lauder Double Wear, imo. But I think this one lasts longer. I wear this on hot summer days, and days when I know I will need my makeup to stay put for the ENTIRE day. I tend to not wear it during the winter and switch to a creme foundation because of my very dry skin.

I pair it with Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Concealer and my makeup stays looking flawless until I wash it off. I do wish it had a pump, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimberlymichellex on 1/4/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by kimberlymichellex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I heard so much great stuff about this foundation, and I was really excited to try it out. I don't have a problem with acne too often, so I usually use a lighter/medium coverage foundation. I decided to find a foundation for when I have a breakout and need some more coverage. This stuff really has great coverage! It also has awesome staying power. It's wonderful, and the shade range is great so I didn't have trouble with that.
I was trying it out for about 2 weeks and it was great. However, I started getting a few very large, very deep pimples. These happen very rarely and usually one at a time. It also seemed to cause a few smaller pimples as well. I discontinued use for about two months and haven't had an issue with this acne type since then. I tried the product again last week for a few days, and the same thing seemed to happen.
Because this foundation really stays put, I figured that my current remover may not be getting all of it off, and my pores were getting clogged. A heavier makeup remover to cleanse the skin is probably needed for this foundation. This personally doesn't fit in well with my cleansing routine, and I don't often have to use a full coverage foundation. So, I don't know if I will be repurchasing this. Because the acne situation may be entirely personal, and could probably be remedied by using a different, heavier make up remover, I am not taking off a lippy for that. I do hope that this might be helpful if you are finding yourself with that issue though.
I also have mildly dry skin, especially in the winter in New England. This foundation seemed to cause a few dry patches, so I had to make sure to put extra moisturizer on these places. Given that this is formulated for dry skin, and I haven't had an issue like this with other foundations, I am docking a lippy for that.
Overall, there are some great things about this foundation, but it may cause some cystic acne depending on your personal skin situation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bimini156 on 1/4/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by bimini156

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have bought this foundation multiple times. Part of the reason is that Sand Beige is such a good match for my skin. I have wasted so much money over the years buying foundations that turned out to be way too yellow. So for me, hands down, this is the best foundation at the drugstore. I like the coverage and the staying power. In fact, I had decided a while ago not to waste any more money on other drugstore foundations. I love Mac's Studio Fix Fluid and also Estee Lauder's Double Wear. This foundation comes in as a close second. I did read on the Beautypedia website that this foundation has been discontinued, but I see no evidence of that in the stores in my area. Will stock up if they do. IMO this a very good reliable foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Rednails0007 on 1/2/2014 12:10:00 PM more reviews by Rednails0007

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been wearing this for over 2 months now, so I think it's legitimate to write a little review here. :)
I hope that those pros/cons and tricks will be helpfull for some of you.

MY SKIN:
29 years old, so fine lines are starting. :(
Acne prone/cystic acne being treated with benzoyle peroxide every day.
Medium olive tone/NC 25ish. (not a Mac pro speaking here...)

PROS:
Medium COVERAGE (can hide some small blemishes, not the bigger ones)
200 NUDE fits me well during the winter. I do feel that it's a bit lighter than the combo-oily version in 200 nude though, so bare that in mind is you switch between formulas.
Beige colors are great for medium/olive tone skins like mine.
Doesn't break me out (outer foundation can make me react in just a few hours)
Doesn't set into my FINE LINES at all!
PACKAGING (yes!): It's a sturdy bottle that I'm not affraid to travel with (leaking/beaking). To get the right amount of product, I just put a finger on the opening and turn the container upside down and then apply on one zone at a time, blending with a flat top brush to avoid stikes. Almost better than using a pump!
PHOTOS: No flashback and airbrushed look.
COMFORTABLE on the skin troughout the day, not too oily/too dry.
TRANSFER resistant. (in winter at least for me, I've never worn it yet in hot weather)
Doesn't really OXIDIZE on me: even if the shade is sometime not a 100% match, it is easy to fix blending a little bit down the neck and contouring a little.

CONS:
COVERAGE: I would have prefered this version over the combo/oily version only if it covered better my acne scars... I do have cystic acne, so the big red spots/scars do show trough this formula... :(
"Can" be hard to APPLY to makeup newbies (can be striky). TRICK: blend well with a flat top foundation brush. I think that sponges soak up way too much of the product.
"Can" be hard to REMOVE. My trick, use coconut oil and massage it all over your face (yes, even the eyes!) for a few seconds. When you feel that all your makeup is melted (even mascara), remove the excess with a towelette or tissues. Only then, you can wash your face normaly, treat and moisturize. It works like a sharm to me! :)
PRICE: a little pricy for a drugstore foundation here in Canada, but well worth the inverstment in my opinion. Trick: I keep an eye on specials when I glance at the makeup aisles.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hondurena89 on 12/29/2013 5:02:00 PM more reviews by hondurena89

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Okay if you like looking cakey buy this product. Also note that foundation is not meant to cover your flaws...thats what concealer is for. Foundation is meant to even skin tone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Ferrishyn on 12/24/2013 12:18:00 AM more reviews by Ferrishyn

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This was recommended to me by the sale clerk when I asked for something more full coverage at Ulta. She raved about this. She was wearing it and it looked flawless and not cakey. THAT'S what I wanted and grabbed it. I tried this foundation years ago when it first came out (yes showing my age) and did not like the heavy feeling or the tightness. So I was worried but she assured me they had changed the formula.

I got number 200 Nude, which is a perfect match for me (NW20). I have been wearing this for a month now since I bought it and wow, it is definitely my favorite fuller coverage foundation by far. I HATE cakey and heavy makeup and this is not that. It is fuller coverage and does not feel like it. I didn't need concealer and my skin is on the drier side. The new formula is great IMO because that heavy feeling is gone and the lighter feeling is there with no tightness.

This photographs good as well and I have had a lot of compliments on my skin since I have been wearing it lol.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 julinko on 11/10/2013 9:28:00 AM more reviews by julinko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I'll add my two cents on this foundation.
I have mature skin and I want my foundation to cover my uneven skintone but not look cakey.
I takes some practice but if I work it just right and add a bit of highlighter, this works quite well.
Let me also say that I have tried many many foundations over the years, from very expensive to d/s. I'll use this until I find something better that doesn't make my sensitive skin break out.
Thank you MUA for the headsup on this foundation

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products