Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.9(482 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Blove94 on 1/29/2014 7:40:00 PM more reviews by Blove94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I have been using this foundation since 2011 and I can say that this foundation definitely has it's pros and it's cons.

Pros:
It is high coverage and buildable
Wide selection of colors
Oil-free
Spf 15

Cons:
Gets oily after a couple hours of wear
Pink undertones (I have yellow undertones so it makes my skin look ashy)
Doesn't give a natural look (you can tell that you have foundation on)
Dries very very quickly
Doesn't have a pump
If skin isn't moisturized thoroughly, this foundation WILL accentuate your dry patches

I honestly won't repurchase this again. I have stuck too it for too long. I need a foundation that is light-weight, gives flawless coverage but looks natural at the same time.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 5starchikita on 1/22/2014 4:44:00 AM more reviews by 5starchikita

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite foundation. Ive been wearing this foundation, on and off for the past few years, and i think it is the perfect all round every day foundation for me! After using loads of other brands and never being completely happy with their longevity i finally found this dreamy one. Sand Beige is such a good match for my skin, I have wasted so much money over the years buying foundations that turned out to be way too yellow or pink for me.

I prefer having good medium coverage because of my pigmentation but I really don't like looking like I'm wearing a mask of foundation and this foundation still lets my skin show through so it's not at all mask-like (unless, of course, you apply a lot).


I wear this every day and it always remains in place ALL day..no smudging, transferring, caking, or settling. I do however use my Estee Lauder Double wear on my nose as i find it does wear off in this area and i need something with more "stick-ability" on my nose. I set my foundation with Dr Hauschka setting powder which gives it a lovely finish and feel.

I will definitely continue to buy and use this foundation for years to come.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 toofaced1112 on 1/17/2014 3:26:00 AM more reviews by toofaced1112

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I've been wearing the same foundation, on and off for the past...four years I think. Once I found what I believed to be the perfect one for me, after going through oodles of other brands and never being satisfied, i settled. I'm pretty sure I've worn every drugstore brand, as well as a few high end, but none of them memorable. My biggest headache with foundations,specifically towards DS, is that it's super difficult to find my (as close to) perfect shade. I know I'm not exactly one in a million, but shades that are geared towards medium/deep skin tones are usually too dark for me, and the other side of the spectrum is too light. hence my frustration. So basically I have to decide whether I wanna look dead, or dirty. When I decided to give this one a try, I did a lot of research and figured out that Toast would probably be my correct shade. i was SO ecstatic once I got home and tried it on to see that it was PERFECT!

I lean more towards full coverage foundations, not because I have a lot of skin issues, but because my face is plagued with freckles. i know, most people think they're adorable-I, however, do not, I hate them, and will do almost anything to keep them blanketed from the public eye. I have learned, though, that you should not rely on your foundation to cover all of your flaws-it's only meant to even out your complexion, and concealer can do the rest. I used my Pro Conceal first, a very thin layer underneath, and then stippled the foundation on top. It was seriously, flawless. Like..I was tempted to just sit there and stare at myself for a few minutes, I actually purchased the ever popular L'oreal True match foundation as well, but thus far, I'm pretty underwhelmed. My feelings towards it still remain to be seen....

I wore this all day today..maybe for a little longer than usual, partly because I was being lazy, and I also wanted to see how long it would last. It remained in place ALL day..no smudging, transferring, caking, or settling. I was surprised to still see my blush and contour, too. Usually at the end of the day, the only thing that's still evident is my concealer, and my eye makeup.

I'm so glad to have found my new favorite. I will probably have to update this, since this is so new with me, and I'm hoping to not experience any breakouts from this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 impact_player on 1/15/2014 6:26:00 PM more reviews by impact_player

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

(Shades reviewed: Buff, Sand Beige) I use Buff when I am my natural pale self and Sand Beige when I am tanner. I find both to be great color matches for me. If ever I stray from Colorstay in search of a new foundation (I just like to try new products), I seem to come back to Revlon, eventually. It is tried and true, I suppose. The coverage is great but because of that thicker consistency, I have resorted to buying a beauty blender which applies this so easily. In the past, if I used my fingers or a brush - even in a stippling motion - the result was sometimes cakey.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 tampants on 1/10/2014 2:16:00 PM more reviews by tampants

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was very excited to try this as my second liquid foundation ever, but really didn't like it that much. Coverage was ok, but it stuck to my dry patches and those areas did not look so nice. I used a beauty blender to apply and liked the finish of it initially. Only thing is, because of my dry patches it started to flake during the day and didn't end up lasting that long for me. Also I noticed a few small spots (whiteheads) by the end of the day, most likely caused by wearing this foundation.

Someone with oily skin and no dry patches might like this, but it didn't work for me! Also, I wouldn't recommend it for anyone with sensitive skin, as it looks like it caused a minor breakout for me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SamanthaSue11 on 1/7/2014 10:28:00 PM more reviews by SamanthaSue11

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Pros - long lasting, tons of colors to choose from, feels nice on the skin, doesn't break me out (normal-slightly acne prone skin), good coverage Cons - no pump, smells a little strong, can be a bit messy

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* prettygirlmo on 1/6/2014 6:56:00 PM more reviews by prettygirlmo

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

*This review is for the Normal/Dry skin formula only, and it's not the SoftFlex one*
I've only used high end foundation since I started wearing it about eighteen years ago. Even though I wore it, I never really loved the way it looked. I have really fair, dry, sensitive skin so its tough to find something thats oil free, and moisturizing. It either looked too cakey, felt like a mask, accentuated dry spots, broke me out, wasn't the right amount of coverage, didn't have a light enough color, didn't have the right color, etc.. A few months ago I got sick of it, so I did a TON of research on different liquid/cream foundations. I read a lot about, and saw YouTubers talk about Revlon's Colorstay foundation, but mostly for the Combo/Oily formula. However, I knew there was one for my skin type so I thought I'd try it out. I've never used any drug store foundation before, so I didn't know if I would like it or not. I have been using it now for about two months and I am very impressed! It is oil-free, moisturizing, doesn't accentuate my dry spots, the perfect amount of coverage, doesn't make me break out, and it stays on my skin all day. It's everything I want in a foundation. I use 150/Buff and its the perfect color if you have fair, neutral coloring like me. I did have to buy two colors (Ivory was too light) to get my shade right, but I just returned the wrong one. And like everyone else I hate the packaging, I wish it had a pump, but I'll put up with it because it works so well. I just slowly dump a tiny bit on the back of my freshly washed hand, and that works just fine. I recommend giving this product a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Backmasking on 1/5/2014 7:30:00 PM more reviews by Backmasking

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Omg! HG foundation. This was (and still is) the only drugstore foundation I have ever bought. I had always bought high end foundation, simply because I was taught to believe that I should spend more on it and that drugstore products are inferior. I then discovered the makeup section of youtube and started learning more about other products, and found this little gem. Absolutely phenomenal product. High coverage, matte finish, SPF 15 (though I do always use SPF 30-50 before all makeup as well because of my very sensitive skin), has lasted 18 hours on me still looking perfectly. I haven't ever worn it longer than that.

It is very comparable to Estee Lauder Double Wear, imo. But I think this one lasts longer. I wear this on hot summer days, and days when I know I will need my makeup to stay put for the ENTIRE day. I tend to not wear it during the winter and switch to a creme foundation because of my very dry skin.

I pair it with Estee Lauder Double Wear Stay-In-Place Concealer and my makeup stays looking flawless until I wash it off. I do wish it had a pump, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kimberlymichellex on 1/4/2014 10:30:00 PM more reviews by kimberlymichellex

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I heard so much great stuff about this foundation, and I was really excited to try it out. I don't have a problem with acne too often, so I usually use a lighter/medium coverage foundation. I decided to find a foundation for when I have a breakout and need some more coverage. This stuff really has great coverage! It also has awesome staying power. It's wonderful, and the shade range is great so I didn't have trouble with that.
I was trying it out for about 2 weeks and it was great. However, I started getting a few very large, very deep pimples. These happen very rarely and usually one at a time. It also seemed to cause a few smaller pimples as well. I discontinued use for about two months and haven't had an issue with this acne type since then. I tried the product again last week for a few days, and the same thing seemed to happen.
Because this foundation really stays put, I figured that my current remover may not be getting all of it off, and my pores were getting clogged. A heavier makeup remover to cleanse the skin is probably needed for this foundation. This personally doesn't fit in well with my cleansing routine, and I don't often have to use a full coverage foundation. So, I don't know if I will be repurchasing this. Because the acne situation may be entirely personal, and could probably be remedied by using a different, heavier make up remover, I am not taking off a lippy for that. I do hope that this might be helpful if you are finding yourself with that issue though.
I also have mildly dry skin, especially in the winter in New England. This foundation seemed to cause a few dry patches, so I had to make sure to put extra moisturizer on these places. Given that this is formulated for dry skin, and I haven't had an issue like this with other foundations, I am docking a lippy for that.
Overall, there are some great things about this foundation, but it may cause some cystic acne depending on your personal skin situation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bimini156 on 1/4/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by bimini156

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have bought this foundation multiple times. Part of the reason is that Sand Beige is such a good match for my skin. I have wasted so much money over the years buying foundations that turned out to be way too yellow. So for me, hands down, this is the best foundation at the drugstore. I like the coverage and the staying power. In fact, I had decided a while ago not to waste any more money on other drugstore foundations. I love Mac's Studio Fix Fluid and also Estee Lauder's Double Wear. This foundation comes in as a close second. I did read on the Beautypedia website that this foundation has been discontinued, but I see no evidence of that in the stores in my area. Will stock up if they do. IMO this a very good reliable foundation.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products