Revlon • ColorStay Makeup with SoftFlex SPF 15 Normal/Dry Skin • Liquid

rated 3.8(461 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 JessikuhV on 9/21/2013 8:30:00 PM more reviews by JessikuhV

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best DS foundation I've bought so far. Mine didn't say with softflex and is for dry skin. I'm in Canada so I got mine for $14 which I'm not really crazy about for a DS foundation. I apply this with my sigma f80 flat top kabuki which gives the best application in my opinion. I have a bit of acne which it covers well. It has a medium coverage. I have to make sure I moisturize and exfoliate well before I apply the foundation or it shows my dry patches, despite the "for dry skin". I'm not very fond of the packaging only because there is NO PUMP! its a hassle when in a rush and more than needed can spill out. The foundation is very LONG LASTING so I never use a primer with it. The finish is somewhat matte for me, and doesn't tend to get oily on my oily areas. Would definitely repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pmburk on 8/20/2013 9:55:00 AM more reviews by pmburk

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I decided to give this a try after seeing so many reviews on YouTube, and am very glad I did. I am NW15 MAC and W1 in L'Oreal True Match, and I bought Buff, which seems to be a pretty good match for me. I prefer a matte, vintage look, and this foundation works amazingly well for that. If you lean toward pinup/retro/Dita style makeup, you'll want to give this a shot. It gives flawless coverage that can be built to full, and it dries to a matte satin finish. You do have to work quickly, as it dries very fast. I spritz my face with MAC Fix+ and then apply this using a sponge - this sheers it out somewhat (I don't need heavy coverage) and also makes it easier to blend. I set it with powder, and I'm good for the day. I get light to medium coverage that looks natural, not at all cakey. This and the Colorstay whipped hold up very well in the heat of a Texas summer, and remain matte. The only thing I don't like, for which I am removing 1 lippie, is that this isn't great for slightly dry or aging skin (I'm 38) that needs a little luminosity. It lasts wonderfully, but at the end of the day, it can look flat & dry. I do wish it came with a pump, but that isn't a deal-breaker. Overall I'm incredibly pleased with this, and will definitely repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloebeats on 8/16/2013 2:23:00 AM more reviews by chloebeats

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This is the best foundation I have ever tried! It lasts forever and only needs to be set with the tiniest amount of powder. It is quite thick and quick drying but if you work quickly and blend as you go, it isn't a problem. The colour range is great and you can build a flawless high coverage easily. My new favourite!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 amandadee97 on 8/8/2013 11:28:00 AM more reviews by amandadee97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I can't remember what shade I bought this in, but the match to my skin was pretty good. However, if I didn't blend around my jaw, it showed up really really orange on my neck. The foundation had okay coverage, I guess, but it felt very heavy on my face. It became very flaky throughout the day as well.
The biggest flaw in this product is the smell. It has a very strong chemical perfume smell. It goes away after a while, but it can--and did--really irritate skin. Ultimately, this product made my acne a lot worse. The packaging isn't great for acne prone skin, either, because the open top can allow bacteria to get in.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 giggles292 on 7/7/2013 8:48:00 PM more reviews by giggles292

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I vary in range from NC35-NC40 and wanted to find a dupe of my NC40 MAC foundation, which was discontinued so I tried this in 370 Toast, but it wasn't the same. It has a very thick and creamy consistency and applies on with a medium-full coverage but looks very fake on me. I tend to lean more towards medium coverage and normally just apply liquid foundation to my cheeks to even out my skin tone, but with this foundation I felt like it didn't blend out with the rest of my face too well so I found myself wearing too much of this. I stored this in the back of my makeup drawer until one day I tried to make my own tinted moisturizer and VOILA I found the perfect use for this. I mixed about 3/4 foundation to 1/4 clean and clear lotion and now I love it for those days when I just need a light coverage of foundation with SPF. Will I repurchase again? probably not but I'm glad this foundation didn't go to waste

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 edda1981 on 5/20/2013 12:14:00 AM more reviews by edda1981

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have very light skin and have a bit of a hard time finding light enough foundations. The lightest shade of this one, Ivory, matched perfectly. I have dry/sensitive skin and a lot of foundations make my skin look even more dry, but this one looks very natural. I apply it with a sponge and I find it's working out very well for me. The only complaint I would have is the packaging. I read somewhere they now have a pump, which is ideal. The one I got doesn't have the pump though, so you have to put it on the back of your hand and try not to pour too much. The foundation itself is so good and the color a very good match so I think I will repurchase when I finish this one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gemmaleee on 5/13/2013 6:48:00 AM more reviews by gemmaleee

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I got this on sale for $17 ( it's usually $30+ here in Australia) in the lightest shade, Ivory. I had previously been using MAC studio fix fluid in NC15, which was alot more expensive and not better than this.

It has good coverage, definitely buildable but you really need to blend fast as it dries/sets quickly. Packaging is great, also comparable to MAC Studio Fix Fluid. Very sturdy packaging, it travels around in my bag ALOT and never leaks or smashes or anything. Will be buying this again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lalala45677 on 4/27/2013 6:37:00 PM more reviews by lalala45677

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Being someone who normally goes for the combination/oily formula, I was reluctant to try the normal/dry one. I wear the shade "Buff", but I recently discovered something a bit odd about the two formulas.The shades in both formulas have the same name, but are two different colors! "Buff" in comb/oily is a fair shade with an olive tint. However,"Buff" in norm/dry is a fair shade with a yellow tint. Normal/dry "Buff" matches my skin tone much better than the combo/oily "Buff". Love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 miladias on 4/22/2013 12:09:00 PM more reviews by miladias

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

First of all, I should have bought the oily skin version, for I have oily, sensitive, acne-prone skin. The shade I got is a bit dark/orange for me, Sand Beige 180 (I'm nw20), but it didn't bother me much. I consider this a light/med coverage and it does not work for me as I have acne and rosacea so I end up applying a lot of it. I don't like it's finish because, duh, it's for normal/dry skin and it obviously didn't last all day. Don't get me wrong, I gave 3 lippies because I think it'll work just fine for those with the right skin type, isn't expensive and did not brake me out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 silvermouse on 4/19/2013 7:36:00 AM more reviews by silvermouse

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I'm very impressed by this foundation. I bought it on a whim because I'd heard great reviews from a trusted fellow Aussie Youtuber (Jodik76) and also because it was on sale for AU$25 (normally $36) and I'm so glad I did!

I should clarify that I have OILY skin. I've tried the old version for oily skin and found it incredibly heavy and mask like so I thought I'd try the normal/dry skin formulation. First off, it is full coverage but the satiny finish makes it appear more forgiving and almost natural. I pump (LOVE that the new version comes in a pump bottle) some onto the back of my hand, dab it on my face then buff it all in with a Sigma F80. I top it with a light dusting of powder to set it.
I notice instantly that my pores are less visible and the redness is reduced. I find that a fairly light layer makes for decent coverage but it is buildable for those who want more.

The reason I'm so impressed by this is the lasting power. On my oily skin, the normal/dry formulation lasts ALL day. I apply this at 6am at the start of my day and by 8pm when I get home, it's only a little bit shininer than when I first applied without my having to touch up/powder. My skin remains relatively satiny and oil free which is amazing for me!
As a surgeon, I have to wear a mask all day and most foundations I've tried transfer onto my mask, wearing off in the T-zone and exposing my large pores. This does not budge and I am so impressed!

Will definitely repurchase when this one runs out!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Revlon products

More Liquid products