Pureology Nanoworks Shampoo

4.0

120 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Ammonium Cocoyl Isothionate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Cocamidopropyl Hydroxysultaine, Sodium Lauroyl Sarcosinate, Cocamidopropylamine Oxide, Panthenol, Silicone Quaternium 8, Glycol Distearate, Glycereth 26, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein PG Propyl Silanetriol, Lactic Acid, Citric Acid, Maleic Acid, Camellia Sinensis (Green Tea) Leaf Extract (Green Tea), Wine Extract, Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Polyquaternium 11, Polyquaternium 7, Wheat Amino Acid, Hydrolyzed Soy Protein, Trideceth 12, Polamide 2 (Sunscreen), Cinnamidopropyl Trimonium Chloride (Sunscreen), Helianthus Annuus (Sunflower) Seed Extract (Heliogenol), Melanin, Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C), Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E) (Vitamin E), Super Oxide Dismutase, Butylene Glycol, Amodimethicone, C11 15 Pareth 7, Laureth 9, Glycerin, Divinyldimethicone/Dimethicone Copolymer, C12 13 Pareth 23, C12 13 Pareth 3, Trimethylsiloxyamodimethicone, C12 16 Pareth 9, PEG 150 Distearate, PPG 2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, Methyl Gluceth 20, Decyl Glucoside, Tetrasodium EDTA, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, DMDM Hydantoin, Iodopropynyl Butylcarbamate, Methylparaben, Aromatherapy Fragrance


on 7/22/2009 1:42:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have used other Pureology Shampoos (hydrate, volume and the Essential Repair) and was fond particularly of the Volumizing shampoo. I found the ER a little "slippery" - almost like there were alot of silicones in it. I have very fine near platinum blonde (its colored) and I have to be real careful. April 2008 I had a colorist BURN my hair- literally at the root line, so I had tremedous breakage to my then mid chest hair. I basically was starting over- that being said over a year later I have alot of regrowth but at the ends you can still see and feel the damage.

I had heard wonderful things about the Nanoworks line but hadn't wanted to shell out the big bucks for a SHAMPOO, I mean seriously, it just goes down the drain. Recently I had a 20% Ultra coupon and saw it sitting there. I smelled it and WOW.. Amazing. I figured I would get the small bottle and try it. I could barely wait to get home to shampoo my hair, the stuff smells SOOO good!!

My first try I decided to not to use a conditioner since it felt smooth. I did use a little Nioxin leave-in scalp treatment at my scalp and a little Pureology Split end repair on the ends. I let it air dry as always and WOW!!! Soft smooth and bouncy. I agree with other reviewers who said that your hair also feels "heavy"- In my case I would say it felt like it had more weight but not at all at the expense of volume and considering I didn't blow-dry that's saying alot.

A few more led to better results and I have alot more bounce and shine in my hair. I do think that there is the possibility of build up so I am planning on incorporating a clarifying treatment in once every other week.

Some reviewers take a lippie off for price- but I say you get what you pay for. (although i love Mill Creek Biotin shampoo @ $5) With what I went through with my hair- do I think the results are worth it what I paid for the shampoo? ABSOLUTELY. I firmly believe there are places you cut corners budget wise (mascara, nail polish etc) and places you dont.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/25/2009 12:44:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I give this 4 lippies because it is SO expensive! Even at my stylist discount price! I have to say though that it is an AMAZING shampoo. My hair doesn't even feel like it's colored. It feels thick and soft (and it's fine) and it's not flat! The shampoo is a opaque golden cream color and smells so good! I saw that another reviewer said the 10 oz bottle is like purchasing a liter since it is so concentrated. I do agree. I used maybe a quarter size if that and my hair is an inch or more past my collar bone. It lathered just fine and I can see how a smaller bottle would last just like a liter would. I read the reviews that some other people experienced a darkening effect on their highlights. I really think it's just from shampoo buildup. I've experienced the same thing with other heavier shampoos. You just need to clarify once a week and get all the buildup out and also when you use the nanoworks, make sure you rinse it out VERY well since it is so thick and concentrated. I will update if I experience the same thing. I definetely recommend this though! I don't know if i'd go all out on the conditioner. I LOVE John Frida Root Awakening moisturizing conditioner and recommend that as a conditioner. It is one of the best conditioners I've tried, even above many salon brands and it's about $6 at Walmart.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2009 1:12:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Wow~ mucho expensivo, I'd say!! But, I bought a trial size (which was $14 for a few ounces), and unfortunately, I love this 'poo! When I am finished with my other sulfate-free shampoos, I plan to invest in a full bottle of this one. I love the fragrance, the way it lathers, and the great condition it puts my hair in. I don't even need to condition every day when I use this; and I have fine, color-treated hair that gets blowdried daily. I like this better than the also, overpriced (IMO), Alterna Ten, which I think is still more expensive than the Nanoworks. I'm gonna start saving my pennies up for this one!


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I used the shampoo and conditioner together. I really loved the way it felt on my hair. I have thin hair and it really seemed to give me volume. I would love to buy this again, but its just so expensive. I may give it another try but it will definitely be a splurge.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I had been using Pureology's Hydrate shampoo and conditioner and LOVED them. When I ran out, I decided to purchase the Nanoworks as I had read all the wonderful reviews. I didn't work very well for me. My hair felt kind of dry, kind of damaged, a little straw-like, and my scalp itched. My hair didn't shine anymore. It smelled really good though. I finished the bottles due to the crazy price I had spent but I have returned to the hydrate line.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/12/2009 12:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is a good product, however not good enough to justify the outrageous price. It smells good and it works better than drugstore brands, but thats about it. The last time I used this was when I was brunette so I'll try it now that I'm blonde again, maybe it will perform differently. I received this as a gift, however I would repurchase it for myself if I found it cheap enough. My mom paid $60 for both the shampoo and conditioner on Amazon, so try getting it there.


on 4/10/2009 3:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I'm gonna have to get on this bandwagon. I have short, fine but thick, base-color plus substantial highlights hair and have tried lots of shampoos. Either the color fades or the highlights fade or - without products - I'm just wearing a "hair cap." I do believe I'm not having the color fade and I can even get away with no conditioner. My hair looks fine just walking out the door. So it's great. But it's $53/bottle at Ulta. And in this economy...


on 4/6/2009 2:42:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

im writing this for my mom. she is 60 and her hair has started to fall out in the last couple of years so she has been searching for her HG since then. she colors her hair frequently to cover grays and gets highlights which dries out her hair. i bought her a bottle of this and the nanoworks conditioner about 3 mos ago and she says she has finally found her HG. she said she has very little fall out now, her hair has great volume and she cant get over how soft her hair has gotten. she also noticed having more vibrancy to her color. a bottle should last her about 6-8 mos (she has short hair), even with daily washing. pureology is very concentrated and for her hair type she uses about a pinky nail size. first, rinse out your hair well until its good and saturated then get some shampoo (or conditioner) and lather it up in her palms before applying to hair. if you shampoo every 3 days, rinse and repeat.


on 3/26/2009 4:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Green

My stylist told me this is great for damaged hair - to bring it back to it's baby like softness. It did the trick - but not that my hair is less damaged, I use the Hydrate Shampoo & Conditioner.


on 3/9/2009 9:48:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading the stellar reviews, I was excited to try this S & C combo. My hair is long and pretty normal, just a bit dry. I color it sometimes but not on a regular basis. I was just trying to find a shampoo and conditioner that was moisturizing so my hair wouldn't feel dry by the middle of the day. THANK GOODNESS I didn't jump the gun and buy a "regular" size bottle- I was lucky enough to find a trial size at Ulta, and THAT was $14. So, I figured, this product better be fabulous for me to shell out big bucks ($40 - $50) for a regular size. The first day I tried it, my hair did feel softer. But after using it for several days, my hair felt just as dry, if not drier, than before! I really felt that if this product could help really damaged hair, how could it hurt relatively normal hair? Well, while I wouldn't call the shampoo bad, I wouldn't call it good and considering the price is so over the top, I will never re-purchase. I don't even know if I will use up the little tiny trial size. Big waste and a disappointment! Nexxus therappe is much much better at a fraction of the cost!




Back to Top