Unlisted Brand • Tazorac • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(211 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 rs02 on 4/7/2012 6:26:00 AM more reviews by rs02

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've had acne since I was 9 years old. I've been on so many treatments (bactrim, differin, benzaclin, doxycycline, etc.) tazorac has worked miracles for my acne! I usually get large, cystic pimples in my tzone & jawline, along w/ clogged pores. My dermatologist switched me from the 0.05% gel to 0.1% gel, and I've seen significant changes in my skin. Once I started using it twice a day, my cystic pimples decreased in size & my skin looks smoother. My skin purged & got super dry when I first started using it, but if you stick with it, it's worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roxydoglover on 1/12/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by roxydoglover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I have put up a review before when my Tazorac was getting the (not so fun) job done, now writing this review 2-3 months later all I can say is... TAZORAC TAKES PATIENCE! That is honestly all that I can say (with the exceptions of bad reactions, etc.)
However, I believe that it truly helped. I am currently washing with Cetaphil and using Cetaphil normal moisturizer and applying Tazorac .05% every night--JUST A DROP and my face went from having clogged pores all over, large irritated pimples to just 1 or 2 blemishes, an even skin tone, and very smooth skin.
I had pimples along my jawline, hairline, upper lip, you name it! And that is just besides my raised clogged pores which seemed to only be accentuated when I put on makeup.
It is so nice to rub my hand over my face and not feel pain. It's so nice to put on makeup and not have to check my face in a mirror to make sure it wasn't all dried up or bloody. And it is also incredibly nice to have your loved one put their hand on your cheek and not having to feel uncomfortable
Ladies, TAZORAC WORKS, but if you quit within the first month or so, you are only interjecting what could be the start of a wonderful process to new skin.
I UNDERSTAND IT SUCKS AT FIRST, the dryness, the pain, the itchiness, the embarrassment, but please listen when I say to persevere through all of those things because I have been in your shoes. If I had known how nice my skin would be now, I would not have picked it and left the few scars I have left now. I can now GO OUT WITH NO MAKEUP ON and feel incredibly comfortable. For years, there was no chance I would do that in fear of seeing someone I knew in public and they would see what I really looked like.
I understand the pain and emotional roller coaster acne can bestow upon and individual, but honest to gosh, Tazorac really turned my face around. I really hope this helps, and please listen when I say that the dryness, itchiness, constant worry of what your face is looking like will end within 5 to 6 months, but it is up to you whether you can push through the hard times that come along with this topical.
I know we all want instant satisfaction with a product, to wake up and instantly have our face be clear, but Tazorac is not just a zit zapper, it is a face rejuvenation. It works deep down to get all the bad out and leave you with beautiful skin.
Good luck!
I

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 waldsen on 1/10/2012 8:22:00 AM more reviews by waldsen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was the only retinoid my insurance would cover, so I gave it a try.

Pros: it works and my skin breaks out less now, even tho I'm off the med

Cons: HUGE PORES that never go away :(

I know I'm not the only one with this issue, please keep an eye on your pore size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 clafler1 on 12/29/2011 7:35:00 PM more reviews by clafler1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely LOVE this product. It is quite pricey even with insurance but it has made my acne disappear in three months! I'm 21 and and for the past 2 years my skin has been worse than it was when i was in my teens. Made me so self conscious it was awful all over my chin and cheeks horrible redness and tender to the touch. I couldn't cover it up most of the time with makeup even. Finally i made an appointment to see a dermatologist and he gave me this along with duac which helped with redness and swelling, while the tazorac keeps my skin shedding so i don't get pimples. The only time i had a breakout was during finals but they were gone completely in two days! now my skin is smooth and soft and acne free. I will continue to buy this product even at 40 dollars a tube.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adallago on 10/14/2011 12:22:00 PM more reviews by adallago

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Tazorac .1% gel since I was 19 years old, which was (sadly) 12 years ago. Wow, has it been that long?? I had moderate acne/enlarged pores that didn't seem to respond to the other treatments (clindamycin, retin-a, doxy, benzaclin, etc). I've probably been through 8 tubes of this stuff in that time, and I don't plan on stopping any time soon. I credit it with halting much of the early aging signs that most friends my age have been exhibiting for a while. My derm has agreed that my skin definitely looks younger than my age might suggest. I can't believe that my most of my friends in their early thirties don't use a retinoid. I always tell them to get on the Taz!

I started out using the moderated contact method. I'd apply the gel after washing, and then rinse it off after 1 minute. After 2 weeks, I'd leave it on for 2 minutes. After 4 weeks, 3 minutes. I worked up to 5 minutes/night. After that I could leave it on over night almost every night. Every so often, though, I experience intense stinging while I'm lying in bed. I just rinse it off, and the irritation goes away. I can't really explain why that happens now and then, but it's not such a big deal.

I wasn't always a big Taz fan though. As a 24-year-old, it really didn't help much with my acne. I stuck with it through all that time, though, and I'm glad I did now. I took a break at age 28 to go through 6 months on Accutane. That really did the trick, and my skin barely breaks out since then. Now I turn to the Taz' to help with scarring, freckles and fine lines around the eyes. My doctor approved of my using it very close to my eyes so that I can get at the crows feet and crepes before they form. At times (in the winter) that's been too irritating. But I'd say after 12 years I'm pretty immune to the side effects.

One winter I got a pretty bad sunburn from a week's vacation in the Caribbean. That was the first time I ever saw the tiniest frown wrinkle on my forehead. For the next 6 months I very, very diligently applied my Tazorac every night to that area, and it really has greatly diminished. I never thought frown lines could respond like that to a topical. Lately I've been focusing my energy on the crows feet and eye baggies. The crows feet are pretty much nonexistent, which thrills me. I wish the freckles on my cheekbones would fade more, though. I am going to start some intense vitamin c treatments to see if I can change that.

My only fear with this stuff is that I've become immune to it, having been using it for so long. But I'll just keep using it: better safe than sorry!

Highly recommended :)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sassylatina on 9/12/2011 4:44:00 PM more reviews by sassylatina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started using tazorac when I was 15. I used it twice daily (once in the morning and once in the evening) after washing my face. It was strong enough to fight break outs, but when my skin was not broken out it was mild enough not to irritate my skin. If I happened to be broken out, I could still use face make up and the acne medicine worked just as fine. If you use tazorac you won't need any fancy face washes or moisturizers to follow up - something over the counter like Cetaphil will do.

I don't care for the tin tube it comes in. On occasion the tube will get punctured and you have to be super careful when squeezing out the medicine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 cguess6 on 9/1/2011 3:22:00 PM more reviews by cguess6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

I have been suffering acne for at least 4 to 5 years, which I know is not many compared to others, but in all honesty, it only takes a few zits to knock your confidence no matter how long you have been suffering. I tried Pro-Activ, which was a joke. Then I moved to Differin .5% and it worked for a while, then as my dermatologist said it would, the product began to stop working as my skin got used to it. Then, I spent a year abroad in Europe and that completely destroyed my skin. My pores were all full and when I brushed my hand against my face, not only did I feel bumps all over, but it was also painful. Make-up was useless on my skin.
Then when I got back and went to the dermatologist, she put me on Solodyn along with Tazorac (.1%). The Solodyn didn't do much, but the Tazorac started working right away. My doctor then switched me onto Amoxocillin, which I reluctantly did, as being on an antibiotic as a treatment can really mess with your body.
I have been using Cetaphil cleanser and lotion twice a day and applying Tazorac + 1 Amoxicillin every night and I have seen major improvements. The Amoxocillin for me, was to attack the infection under my skin, which is why she put me on antibiotic. For my pores and deep zits she prescribed me the Tazorac. Unfortunately, yes, your skin gets pretty ripped up from the Tazorac which is definitely the downfall of this product as I am sure many are dissapointed after the first few weeks because who really wants to wait for clear skin when they are told Tazorac is a "miracle" acne treatment?
Well I am here to tell you that it is worth the wait, and the pain, the dryness, itchiness, flakey, red skin that Tazorac at first makes you suffer through is worth the wait. Annoying as it is to constantly see your face getting worse, it really is helping you. Tazorac works underneath the skin and resurfaces all the zits that have been building up. So whiteheads and regular zits are a bittersweet triumph because it is working, unfortunately, not as beautifully as you wished.
There was one week where my skin was so terrible and I really did not want to go out anywhere. I had barely any confidence and I didn't even want to go to my boyfriend of 2 years home because I felt like such crap. But after the first few initial weeks, it only gets better. I have been on Tazorac since June and my face is light years better than it was before! The trick with Tazorac is to really only use a little bit. I put a teeny tiny drop on both cheeks, forehead, and chin, which, honestly, is probably overdoing it. The more you use Tazorac, the drier and itchier your skin will get. If you are like me, and think that more is better, I was proven wrong by this product.
Before using Tazorac, I looked at reviews (most likely as you are doing), and I got the pants scared off of me by all of the horrible reviews, the thing is, the worst reviews you read are probably during the worse time that Tazorac works with your skin (ex. deep pore zits, whiteheads, painful zits, itchiness, flakiness that really cannot be helped). You really have to wait it out and see the results that you have worked so hard to get. Do not let it get you down, because trust me, I was almost at that point, but as soon as it got worse, it really was getting better all the while!
At this time, my skin is still a little bit itchy, but my problem area, the hormonal area where most people get it; chin, jawline, and hairline, is pretty much cleared up with a few zits still working with the Tazorac.
The thing about this product is you have to be patient, so if you are one who wants instant results, I would not recommend Tazorac. However, Tazorac works until your skin is completely clear, and keeps it that way with the occasional zit or two. Tazorac has worked wonders for me and I definitely recommend it to those of you who, like me, had suffered not only years, but had your confidence and self-worth destroyed by acne. This a long review, but I really hope it helps!

25 out of 25 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beba53 on 8/17/2011 10:46:00 PM more reviews by beba53

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is the very best for slin with fine wrinkles,spots,sun damage,and to acheive a more uniform slin tone. I have used it off and on ( break a few weeks) and people stop me to ask what I use.

I use it daily during the day and have for the past 8 years,when I peel I have awesome baby like skin again. A must for me!!!

Caution:Must use sunscreen and this product can burn if not careful.
Those with senitive skin should not use.

:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NigheanRuadh on 6/16/2011 10:35:00 PM more reviews by NigheanRuadh

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely love this stuff. I had a derm right after high school and tried several products with virtually no change. Years later I still have huge pores (thanks mom) and occasional breakouts, trying everything from Proactiv to Murad, with next to no change. After the insistence of my doctor I got put on Depo. Which promptly wrecked my skin - cysts, large breakout spots on my chin and neck. I quit wearing makeup all together, and even my Pretika made no difference. I finally ended up with Taz, and with in days my skin started looking better, even my huge pores and blackheads were clearing. I started off at every other night (using the 0.05% gel), and gradually worked up to nightly use. Yes, there is peeling involved, but my skin has never looked better, and I've been using it for about 2 months now. I have finally settled in to a decent regime, and the Taz has made a huge difference. I will continue to use this again and again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GinaM98 on 6/14/2011 2:17:00 PM more reviews by GinaM98

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Quick background: I started having issues with acne at age 18. My skin used to respond well to systems such as Klear Action & ProActive but when I got pregnant I stopped using BP upon my doctor's advice. After I had my son I tried to resume the BP but my skin simply didn't respond to it anymore. I tend to get horrible cystic acne on my forehead and chin, and painful clogged pores around my nose. I would describe my acne as moderate.

When I started Tazorac, I had an idea of what to expect because I've done alot of research. My mother uses it, and has had good results but she has a totally different skin type (dry/mature). I took the advice of the skincare board and used it every 3rd day, and buffered with moisturizer (Aquaphor around my eyes and Complex 15 on the rest of my face). I noticed peeling immediately, and it was more than just flakes. My cheeks would peel in sheets, the way one might peel after a bad childhood sunburn. Within an hour of applying the gel, my skin would start to itch terribly. I could only tolerate leaving it on for about 3 hours before I had to wash it off because it itched so badly... After about a week I was irritated to the point where it hurt to lay my face on the pillow. My acne worsened significantly, but I figured I was just purging. The redness on my entire face was impossible to conceal so I made excuses to stay in the house. I looked terrible, but I figured this was par the course for treatment. It wasn't until my mother stopped by my house one day and was shocked by my appearance that I realized this was above and beyond the normal range of side effects. So, after all was said and done I lasted 3 weeks on Tazorac before quitting. I'm still not sure if I was having an allergic reaction to the product, or if my skin was simply too sensitive but either way I am glad I stopped using it.

I have since switched to Retin-A gel and I can already tell that this is going to be much better for me. I'm a bit red/flakey/irritated but it's very tolerable. The reason why I still give Tazorac 3 lippies despite it not working for me is because it worked so well for my mother. Her skintone is completely even and her face literally glows. She looks younger and more vibrant. If you use this product, be smart about it... Some redness is normal but if it's to the point where it hurts to lay your head on the pillow it's time to quit.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products