Unlisted Brand • Tazorac • Skincare - Face

rated 4.1(215 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.82%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gracious_Lady on 6/21/2012 8:09:00 PM more reviews by Gracious_Lady

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

After trying other retinol acne creams with very limited success, my Dermatologist switched me to Tazorac. I've been on Tazorac to varying degrees for last 13 years. There was a time 3 years ago that my skin got really bad so I went on Accutane. Since Accutane, my face is 200% better, with no acne issues. However, my Dermatologist still has me on Tazorac for maintenance... and it has "maintained" well. I haven't had any acne issues in 3 years! There are 4 types of Tazorac... two strengths in gel formulation and two strengths in the cream formulation. My perscription is the one pictured... white & gold tube 0.1% Tazorac cream. I have used Tazorac gel before and recommend it for very oily, acne-prone skin. If any strength of Tazorac is too strong, I heard from my dermatologist that I can apply it, leave it on for 2 minutes and then rinse it off and get the same effects. (Those directions are actually on my prescription, but I choose to apply it and leave it on all night, which is the standard direction for this med.) Anyway... Tazorac...Absolutely a mainstay in my beauty regime.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 utaliz08 on 5/16/2012 1:54:00 PM more reviews by utaliz08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Well hello Y'all. I just want to start off by saying that reading y'all's reviews I have hope that my face will get better by using Tazorac. I started using it friday and I seriously just want to stay in my room and never leave. My face is red, peeling and people don't look into my eyes they are looking at my skin. IT SUCKS. My face started breaking out about 2 months ago, I thought well it will clear up it usually does. I was attributing it to being in Nursing School, stress, not eating right and NOW THAT I AM DONE, STRESS FREE, BACK TO MY NORMAL HEALTHY LIFESTYLE. ITS WORSE. I am so ashamed of my skin that I don't want to go out a date with this cute guy, I don't want to go to the gym and I don't want to even meet up with friends. ACNE SUCKS. Anyways enough of my sob story, I started tazorac on friday....along with aczone and solodyn. I plan on taking pictures every week to map the progress. Right now skin is dry as hell, flaky and red....kinda irritated but doesn't itch. I started using Cera-Ve moisturizing lotion this morning and hopefully I see an improvement. I just want baby butt smooth skin for once. :) Wish me luck guys...I don't want to give up as all of y'alls reviews said your going to want to quit for that first month but it's worth the wait. Send the good skin vibes this way and I will keep yall updated.
God bless Y'all!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kjmakeupaddict on 5/5/2012 2:22:00 PM more reviews by kjmakeupaddict

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

So, let me start by explaining my skin type: I am 15 with light/medium skin, yellow undertones. My problem is not inflamed acne such as pustules etc., but comedones. Not the average blackheads one has in the creases of the nose but TONS of them all over cheeks/nose/chin. I do have some pimples here and there but nothing major. I also get milia sometimes. My skin is combination to oily but that might be due to puberty.
So, I started with the 0.05 percent gel for 2 months and it worked to some extent, but it removed only about 50% of the blackheads. Then I was moved up to 0.1 percent and have been using it for about 1.5 months now. All I can say is WOW. My skin is nearly blackhead free (except for ones in the creases of my nose) and I barely get pimples. It even helps to make my big pores (due to the blackheads) a lot less visible! Yes, it does make your skin red and flaky at first and I know this time sucks because you won't be able to look extremely weird with makeup on because it will all flake off but it's SO worth it in the end! My friends all envy me because of my skin! I do still have big pores but that is partly heredity and also too much sun exposure. ALWAYS WEAR SUNSCREEN WITH THIS!!! I wear SPF 30 everyday (Peter Thomas Roth's btw). Another thing that has greatly improved the appearance of my skin is Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Line + CeraVe's Moisturizing Lotion (basic one). Ladies, please give this a try. It is awesome. And also check out Paula's Choice - the best skin care line on the market IMO. No fragrance, harmful ingredients or colorants. Sorry for the long text but I hope I could help someone :)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lostsundaygirl on 4/18/2012 5:56:00 PM more reviews by lostsundaygirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Hazel    

My dermatologist recommended this to me after pretty much trying everything to get rid of hormonal acne, mostly small flesh colored comodones, which kept coming back time and time again. I ordered Tazorac from All Day Chemists and I've been pretty happy with the results, I'm on week 4 and it has definitely purged a lot of the comodones I had left.

Warning: the first couple of weeks is definitely not pretty but perfectly bearable. I made sure to use plenty of moisturizer like Kiehl's Facial Cream, covered up the redness with Missha's BBCream, and exfoliated with MakeUpArtistsChoice's Microdermabrasion Cream.

Some things that have improved: Texture of my skin is now very smooth and I think if I give it a couple more months it'll significantly improve my acne scars, gets the hard to surface comodones to purge.

Cons: Skin is still pretty raw and red with slight peeling.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rs02 on 4/7/2012 6:26:00 AM more reviews by rs02

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've had acne since I was 9 years old. I've been on so many treatments (bactrim, differin, benzaclin, doxycycline, etc.) tazorac has worked miracles for my acne! I usually get large, cystic pimples in my tzone & jawline, along w/ clogged pores. My dermatologist switched me from the 0.05% gel to 0.1% gel, and I've seen significant changes in my skin. Once I started using it twice a day, my cystic pimples decreased in size & my skin looks smoother. My skin purged & got super dry when I first started using it, but if you stick with it, it's worth it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 roxydoglover on 1/12/2012 3:53:00 PM more reviews by roxydoglover

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

So I have put up a review before when my Tazorac was getting the (not so fun) job done, now writing this review 2-3 months later all I can say is... TAZORAC TAKES PATIENCE! That is honestly all that I can say (with the exceptions of bad reactions, etc.)
However, I believe that it truly helped. I am currently washing with Cetaphil and using Cetaphil normal moisturizer and applying Tazorac .05% every night--JUST A DROP and my face went from having clogged pores all over, large irritated pimples to just 1 or 2 blemishes, an even skin tone, and very smooth skin.
I had pimples along my jawline, hairline, upper lip, you name it! And that is just besides my raised clogged pores which seemed to only be accentuated when I put on makeup.
It is so nice to rub my hand over my face and not feel pain. It's so nice to put on makeup and not have to check my face in a mirror to make sure it wasn't all dried up or bloody. And it is also incredibly nice to have your loved one put their hand on your cheek and not having to feel uncomfortable
Ladies, TAZORAC WORKS, but if you quit within the first month or so, you are only interjecting what could be the start of a wonderful process to new skin.
I UNDERSTAND IT SUCKS AT FIRST, the dryness, the pain, the itchiness, the embarrassment, but please listen when I say to persevere through all of those things because I have been in your shoes. If I had known how nice my skin would be now, I would not have picked it and left the few scars I have left now. I can now GO OUT WITH NO MAKEUP ON and feel incredibly comfortable. For years, there was no chance I would do that in fear of seeing someone I knew in public and they would see what I really looked like.
I understand the pain and emotional roller coaster acne can bestow upon and individual, but honest to gosh, Tazorac really turned my face around. I really hope this helps, and please listen when I say that the dryness, itchiness, constant worry of what your face is looking like will end within 5 to 6 months, but it is up to you whether you can push through the hard times that come along with this topical.
I know we all want instant satisfaction with a product, to wake up and instantly have our face be clear, but Tazorac is not just a zit zapper, it is a face rejuvenation. It works deep down to get all the bad out and leave you with beautiful skin.
Good luck!
I

24 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 waldsen on 1/10/2012 8:22:00 AM more reviews by waldsen

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This was the only retinoid my insurance would cover, so I gave it a try.

Pros: it works and my skin breaks out less now, even tho I'm off the med

Cons: HUGE PORES that never go away :(

I know I'm not the only one with this issue, please keep an eye on your pore size.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 clafler1 on 12/29/2011 7:35:00 PM more reviews by clafler1

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely LOVE this product. It is quite pricey even with insurance but it has made my acne disappear in three months! I'm 21 and and for the past 2 years my skin has been worse than it was when i was in my teens. Made me so self conscious it was awful all over my chin and cheeks horrible redness and tender to the touch. I couldn't cover it up most of the time with makeup even. Finally i made an appointment to see a dermatologist and he gave me this along with duac which helped with redness and swelling, while the tazorac keeps my skin shedding so i don't get pimples. The only time i had a breakout was during finals but they were gone completely in two days! now my skin is smooth and soft and acne free. I will continue to buy this product even at 40 dollars a tube.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 adallago on 10/14/2011 12:22:00 PM more reviews by adallago

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using Tazorac .1% gel since I was 19 years old, which was (sadly) 12 years ago. Wow, has it been that long?? I had moderate acne/enlarged pores that didn't seem to respond to the other treatments (clindamycin, retin-a, doxy, benzaclin, etc). I've probably been through 8 tubes of this stuff in that time, and I don't plan on stopping any time soon. I credit it with halting much of the early aging signs that most friends my age have been exhibiting for a while. My derm has agreed that my skin definitely looks younger than my age might suggest. I can't believe that my most of my friends in their early thirties don't use a retinoid. I always tell them to get on the Taz!

I started out using the moderated contact method. I'd apply the gel after washing, and then rinse it off after 1 minute. After 2 weeks, I'd leave it on for 2 minutes. After 4 weeks, 3 minutes. I worked up to 5 minutes/night. After that I could leave it on over night almost every night. Every so often, though, I experience intense stinging while I'm lying in bed. I just rinse it off, and the irritation goes away. I can't really explain why that happens now and then, but it's not such a big deal.

I wasn't always a big Taz fan though. As a 24-year-old, it really didn't help much with my acne. I stuck with it through all that time, though, and I'm glad I did now. I took a break at age 28 to go through 6 months on Accutane. That really did the trick, and my skin barely breaks out since then. Now I turn to the Taz' to help with scarring, freckles and fine lines around the eyes. My doctor approved of my using it very close to my eyes so that I can get at the crows feet and crepes before they form. At times (in the winter) that's been too irritating. But I'd say after 12 years I'm pretty immune to the side effects.

One winter I got a pretty bad sunburn from a week's vacation in the Caribbean. That was the first time I ever saw the tiniest frown wrinkle on my forehead. For the next 6 months I very, very diligently applied my Tazorac every night to that area, and it really has greatly diminished. I never thought frown lines could respond like that to a topical. Lately I've been focusing my energy on the crows feet and eye baggies. The crows feet are pretty much nonexistent, which thrills me. I wish the freckles on my cheekbones would fade more, though. I am going to start some intense vitamin c treatments to see if I can change that.

My only fear with this stuff is that I've become immune to it, having been using it for so long. But I'll just keep using it: better safe than sorry!

Highly recommended :)

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sassylatina on 9/12/2011 4:44:00 PM more reviews by sassylatina

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I started using tazorac when I was 15. I used it twice daily (once in the morning and once in the evening) after washing my face. It was strong enough to fight break outs, but when my skin was not broken out it was mild enough not to irritate my skin. If I happened to be broken out, I could still use face make up and the acne medicine worked just as fine. If you use tazorac you won't need any fancy face washes or moisturizers to follow up - something over the counter like Cetaphil will do.

I don't care for the tin tube it comes in. On occasion the tube will get punctured and you have to be super careful when squeezing out the medicine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Skincare - Face products