Unlisted Brand • Solia Ceramic Ion Flat Iron • Hair Styling Tools

rated 4.0(114 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lifeismusic on 1/2/2009 8:08:00 PM more reviews by lifeismusic

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love this flat iron. It heats up quickly, it straightens my extremely thick and curly hair with ease and it doesn't fry my hair. I researched flat irons for 6 months before I made my purchase and this thing has done everything it said it would. I own the 1" flat iron and what usually took me at least an hour with my 2" Conair Flat iron (which usually heated up to 460 degrees) takes me only 4 minutes. Yes, thats right. FOUR minutes. I use a heat tamer spray and I don't even need to use hair spray. This thing is amazing. Trust me. This thing is the best thing EVER. For less than the more expensive brands, it gives you 5 (I think 5) different heat settings (most professional irons only have 1 preset one), heats up within seconds, and even does flips and curls. I would DEFINITELY recommend this to anyone who is looking for a new flat iron thats cheaper than a CHI and much more reliable.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 PinkLove04 on 12/28/2008 12:25:00 AM more reviews by PinkLove04

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

So i was looking for a great new hair straighter that would not do to much damage to my hair. I went on folica.com and i was blown away at the reviews for the Solia limited edition pink ceramic ionic flat iron so i got it from a family member for Christmas. When i first turned it on it immediately started blinking which is an indicator when it is hot. I felt the plate and it was still cold =[ after it heated up to 370 (which is beyond the normal temp i would use for my hair because the straight iron wasn't even really getting hot) it felt very soft going down my hair, when i finished straightening my hair it was pin straight which i loved but an hour later it was wavy again. It wouldn't even hold my waves straight, i would not recommend this product and cant wait to return it =( very disappointing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Shylilsweety on 12/9/2008 10:17:00 PM more reviews by Shylilsweety

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Not amazing. Decent straightener. If you buy it at folica.com then it's worth the price since they're on sale, free shipping, and a two year warranty. Not sure how long that will be.

I used this after using Chi nourish silk bath in the shower and then I used a Sedu blowdryer, so I'm not sure how effective the straightener is without the help of these other products.

I have mid-length thick wavy hair. Bleach damaged.

Pros: Soft, did not snag, heat up was fast, straightens better than say... a Conair or Revlon. I didn't feel like I was frying my hair. Hair actually looked healthy despite being bleach damaged and dead (I think the chi silk bath hair stuff and the blow dryer helped that though). You can achieve straight hair with nice volume with this and make nice flips! I hear it's durable?

Cons: You will probably not achieve a pin-straight hair with this if you have thick hair or wavy to curly hair. It took me 30 minutes just to get it straight looking. I could not get it pin straight even after the help of chi products and blow-drying and using this afterwords. My Nanotech (unknown brand?) Sally's Beauty store $70.00 straightener works just as efficiently when it comes to straightening. The product claims you can make curls with this. You can, but the curls are not amazing and don't hold for long. I suggest getting a curling iron, this was not meant for curling.

Hm.. I say it's worth the money if you purchase at folica since they have a nice offer, otherwise if you see if for more than 90.00 I wouldn't buy it.

GHD is vastly superior. I have never used Chi or Sedu so I can't compare. The Paul Mitchell Straightener is about the same as the Solia.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* rastaxcore on 12/7/2008 7:06:00 PM more reviews by rastaxcore

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Compared to my usual drugstore brand straightener, this thing is awesome. It glides through the hair and doesn't snag at all, the heat control is nice as well. My only gripe is that I cannot figure out how to make it do the flat iron curls. Oh well, I got the spiral curling iron along with the straightener so I have the best of both worlds :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Seejay75 on 12/3/2008 11:06:00 PM more reviews by Seejay75

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Okay, I've had my Solia for three years now, and I really like it. It does a pretty good job of straightening my hair, and quickly. My biggest draw is that it NEVER snags my hair, which happens with ANY iron I've ever used or had my hair done with (including the CHI). I will admit my hair does get frizzy in the rain, though. And I have noticed that even though I use a heat protecting spray, my hair still gets damaged and I need regular trims. Either way, it's been a great, long-lasting iron that has never caused me a big problem. If it does break, though, I might try the CHI.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 andf79 on 11/24/2008 4:52:00 PM more reviews by andf79

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had my eye on a more expensive flat iron (the FHI Runway iron at a whopping $450) but couldn't swing that expense so decided to try the Solia. I had been using an original 1" CHI but hated the way the CHI snagged and pulled out so many hairs every time I used it. I am much happier with the Solia. For one thing, the temperature control is a nice feature, after being used to just one heat setting on the CHI. My hair is fine and I use the Solia at about 325 degrees. The Solia makes it VERY shiny - more than the CHI did - and the Solia leaves my hair with more body than the CHI. I can also get my hair done faster. I'll probably keep lemming the Runway iron, but am very pleased with the Solia as a more economical purchase. I don't understand how the CHI can be more expensive when I think the Solia is a much better product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 nowornever56 on 11/17/2008 8:52:00 PM more reviews by nowornever56

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had the Paul Mitchell "Smoother" flat iron for about 3 years, and then my dad stepped on it... and it was pretty much a goner. I needed a replacement, and after seeing how much the hair board raved about the solia, and all the positive reviews here and on folica.com, i decided to get it. Overall, it definitely did not live up to expectations.

So about my hair, I have long (about 1.5" below my bra band in the back), frizzy hair. It is half wavy, have straight, and majorly poofy. I have to flat iron my hair almost every day. The solia does not help with frizz, and actually seems to cause more flyaways from broken hair towards the top of my head, which I am not a fan of. Also, it does not hold the straight-ness very well, like the Paul Mitchell. My hair will start to get wavy in the front even 30 minutes after I straighten.

The handle does not get very hot, so that is a plus. Also, it does not snag hair, and heats up really fast. I will live with it for a while, but overall, it is only average, not the miracle worker I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 petzgirl on 11/15/2008 8:35:00 PM more reviews by petzgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my 1st real flat iron, I love it! I'm 100% asian but I have really curly hair :( so it's a huge pain getting my hair thermally reconditioned all the time so I've just been flat ironing, and I eventually plan on wearing my hair curly once in a while once my relaxed hair grows out and I can cut it. I like how you can change the temp settings, my hair is kind of thick so my temp setting is at 370, I bought mine on ebay for around 60ish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glossy81 on 10/14/2008 1:38:00 PM more reviews by glossy81

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

i love this iron! okay, so for the last few years i've been using a Corioliss, that i got at a stand in the mall. it worked well, got my hair super straight, but i started to wonder in the last month or so whether it was losing it's effectiveness. it still got really hot but after styling my hair would look frizzy. for reference i have kinky curly hair and loads of it, when i say loads i mean hairdressers just want me to get a relaxer so they won't have to try to straighten it. anyway, once i decided to get a new iron, i did tons of research. of course, it needed to be ceramic and needed to go to at least 430 degrees, which is what i've been using my Corioliss on for years. i need extra high heat to get my hair super straight. the temperature thing helped to eliminate a lot of flat irons, (Sedu, HAI,etc.) in the end i was choosing between the Solia and the Paul Brown Hawaii. both go to 450 degrees. both got great reviews. the Solia has thousands of reviews, while the Paul Brown has very few but they are all pretty much 5 star reviews. i decided on the Solia because it was $85 dollars as opposed to the Paul Brown's $150 price tag. plus i would get the free flat iron stand from Folica if i got the Solia. i figured it was worth a shot and if i didn't like it i would send it back and get the Paul Brown. Well, this baby isn't going anywhere, i love it. it's much better than my previous flat iron, because it gets my hair super straight but it isn't too flat. it has nice body and movement. it seems to keep that straight look longer too. my hair looks gorgeous! would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zomgblah on 10/10/2008 10:56:00 PM more reviews by zomgblah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I love my Solia. It does what I want and more. Previously with my drugstore flat iron straightening time would take about 30-45 minutes, and it wouldn't even stay straight. I got so sick and tired of the wasted time and damaged hair that I went online and did some research. I was debating between the Solia or Sedu, but since the Solia was $20 cheaper and the reviews pretty much the same, I went for it. Folica.com delivered it on the exact day they told me (they have a map of the US that's color coded by number of days it takes to ship) and it came with a free flat iron mat (which is GREAT). The thing I love the most about the Solia is that its plates are on springs, so even if you clasp the iron as hard as you can there will only be minimal tugging. It heats up in about 45 seconds and gets hot hot. The area around the plates stay relatively cool so you can touch it if you want more control (I've heard the Sedu gets too hot to touch. Ouch.) I straighten, flip, and curl with my Solia. The waves it creates look very beachy because the edges are round and doens't cause kinks. Like all hot tools, it does inflict some damage, but if you find a good heat protector all is good. Overall, I hope my Solia stays as good as it is!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Hair Styling Tools products