Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(451 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 sciencegeek on 5/2/2014 12:46:00 PM more reviews by sciencegeek

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I know everyone and their cats seem to be using a cleansing balm to cleanse in the evening. Call me old fashioned but I don't really like to use a greasy substance on my face (this actually looks and feels like lard). This did an excellent job at removing makeup. No doubt. But I also felt like I had to rinse it off forever... The next day I had a white head. Can't say that this was the cause, but it bothers me to know that I am using something so rich in lipids on my skin... But if you like balms, go for it. It's a huge tub, unscented and works! You only need a tiny bit so it's excellent value for money. I would probably use it if I had dry skin. Even though this product is not for me, I am giving it 5 lippies because I can't fault it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maisonsteffi on 4/28/2014 10:51:00 AM more reviews by maisonsteffi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Very effective in removing makeup but caused major breakouts on my acne-prone skin. The first ingredient in this balm is Ethylhexyl Palmitate which is incredibly comedogenic. I have stopped applying this on my skin and instead been using it to remove waterproof mascara and eye makeup. This takes the most waterproof of mascaras very easily. The balm does not sting my eyes but causes them to blur temporarily when I haphazardly apply this. I will repurchase this out of laziness to look for alternatives in removing eye makeup.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Sklocker1 on 4/28/2014 9:38:00 AM more reviews by Sklocker1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Absolutely LOVE this cleansing balm - perfect for pre-cleansing! It is pretty much odor-less and takes away every bit of make-up (even water-proof mascara and stubborn foundation) effortlessly. It washes off nicely and quickly without leaving a residue. I have been using this for 4 weeks not and have not had any break outs or issues.
The only remark I would have (but is by no means a make or break for me) - the balm did not remove long lasting, matte lipstick all the way through. There were still some bits left in between creases - nothing a little toothbrush can't fix in a sec.

I would definitely buy this balm again! Every day I look forward to going home to take off my make up!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BlondeInDelhi on 4/16/2014 11:25:00 AM more reviews by BlondeInDelhi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Takes all makeup off without irritating even eyes, rinses clean, and doesn't cause pimples. It also lasts a long time. I've been using it about 5 times a week for about 4 months, and I'm only about quarter a way through the tub.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SleepyMilotic on 4/1/2014 2:59:00 PM more reviews by SleepyMilotic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I use this daily to remove my sunscreen (and makeup when i do wear it). It does a really really great job of gently removing makeup/SS. No harsh rubbing needed, just a gentle massage. Does not break me out or leave my skin feeling dry or greasy. Does not sting my eyes at all.

It has the texture of semi-solidified coconut oil in the jar, and once you begin to massage it onto your face it melts into a coconut oil like lotion. A little goes a long way. I've used it almost daily for about 1 month and am only 1/2 of the way through the jar. It's a bit expensive but at least it lasts a while.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JMG2012 on 3/25/2014 6:21:00 PM more reviews by JMG2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have searched high and low for a makeup remover that works well without killing my skin and this is it. I can't believe that it took me so many years to find it. I wish the container was not so big (for traveling) but then again I use this every day so I want a lot of the product. A little goes a long way so this will last forever. Does not irritate eyes and works with waterproof makeup perfectly with tugging, pulling and other issues. LOVE IT!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kamiller1972 on 3/21/2014 1:27:00 PM more reviews by kamiller1972

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is some good stuff! Doesn't break me out and it's very good at doing it's intended purpose...take your makeup off in one swoop. It's great for sensitive skin-no fragrance or parabens. It is rather pricey (about $30) and it's a tub, so if hygiene is a concern to you, this isn't gonna work. Other than that, this is a great product and would buy again if I have the available funds!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkbrush on 3/21/2014 5:05:00 AM more reviews by pinkbrush

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

LOVE this! I have dry skin and washing my face, scrubbing at it with harsh cleaners makes it feel tight and irritated. This product takes all my makeup off gently and doesn't strip my skin like other cleaners have in the past.

The tub is huge and I think it will last a long time, I probably use more of this than I should for an application, but even then it's lasting me a while. I've used it everyday since I bought it. Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* misanders on 3/19/2014 6:51:00 PM more reviews by misanders

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This didn't work for my skin. Followed directions and used this to take off my makeup and followed up with my usual cleanser. Unfortunately, this gave my pimples. I don't know why or what caused them, but each time I stopped using this my skin cleared up. Just not for me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* akneil on 3/14/2014 7:53:00 PM more reviews by akneil

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've been using this for about two months and I still have a TON of product left. This balm takes off my makeup very well, including eye makeup, a light massage of this around and on my lashes and it completely dissolves the makeup. I use a cleansing milk afterwards and my skin is perfectly clean. I don't feel like I need to (the balm doesn't leave a residue or anything, but I like to double cleanse).

This is a perfect makeup remover/cleanser for winter time when my skin is dry, and it hasn't created any problems for my skin. Makeup wipes are just too harsh on my skin, especially around my eyes.

Really love this stuff!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products