MAC • Satin - Era • Eye Shadow

rated 4.4(151 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 7/28/2010 1:32:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Everyone kept telling me Era *might* be good on me for a crease color, but I also kept hearing it may be too light. It is perfect! I was watching a tutorial on how to do deep set eyes on youtube (oxfordjasmine I think was the person) and she used Era in the crease with Femme Fi all over for a BEAUTIFUL bright butter cream eye. I was very, very intrigued as I also wear Femme Fi (or Shroom or Dazzlelight) a lot...and all over. I needed a subtle crease color that wouldn't make me look like I got punched ( I have very dark under eye circles and chronic allergy shiners). I have very deep set brown eyes surrounded by black/brown eyebrows and hair. My brow bone creates such a natural shadow, I try to use an all over butter cream wash color (then just liner and mascara) to make my eyes look big and bright. But I wanted to play with color and contour and could not find the right crease color to offer a slight shading...w/out being to heavy. Era is perfect, perfect, perfect for this. If I was much darker, I don't know if it would offer much of a change. But it works perfectly on my NW20 skin. I have tried Wedge, but that skews more tan orange on me. Era is similar to UD Naked...both soft neutral defining shades. Though, I would never use Era all over my lid and I would us UD Naked all over my lid.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 RainyDayAngel on 7/21/2010 3:44:00 PM more reviews by RainyDayAngel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I sheer, beautiful brown color, with a hint of gold. I love using Era in the crease of a pin-up look, or as an all over lid shade for neutral smokey looks. It's not a really pigmented color, which some people may not like, but the lack of pigment really makes it easy to blend. Hard to build up color. After a few swipes, what you see is what you get. But even sheer shadows serve a purpose. Try this color in your next "old Hollywood glamour" look. You won't be dissappointed!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* fustyluggz on 7/19/2010 7:03:00 AM more reviews by fustyluggz

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My review could really just be copied from missbish's word for word. It's neutral but looks *amazing*. Subtle but with a little something behind it. Effortless, really. I am very happy to have this color in my arsenal and will absolutely repurchase.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 pinkfrogs454 on 7/12/2010 7:57:00 PM more reviews by pinkfrogs454

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Makes a great base color. Wouldn't exactly wear alone though. Thought it would give more of a neutral even color to my light lids, but really does nothing. Kind of a purposeless e/s I think.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missbish on 6/21/2010 10:19:00 AM more reviews by missbish

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Era and I are best friends. Some of the other mac eye shadows can be a bit scary, and I'm not always sure if they have my best interests at heart.
Era is friendly, cosy, pretty and effortless. This shadow is very easy to blend, and on me is just the perfect lid colour that I am quit happy to wear by itself.
It is an excellent shadow for 'got-to-day-to-day' shades mu which I use and think most people do; taupes, light golds, browns and whites.
A real gem that needs to be placed on the lid in order to be assessed justly. On darker skin tones I also imagine this to be a useful blending out colour to soften edges.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 downtownbebebrown on 5/31/2010 11:09:00 PM more reviews by downtownbebebrown

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Hands down a great neutral color with a little extra. Blends great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* JoieDeVlvre on 5/19/2010 6:48:00 PM more reviews by JoieDeVlvre

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I wear Era on my lids on those days where I want something slightly sexier than Brule or Shroom, yet not quite as sexy as Patina (if that makes any sense). In numerical values I consider it to be 25% sexier than Brule and Shroom and 25% less sexy than Patina. Era blends beautifully with all types of brown shadows in the crease. The darker the brown, the sexier! Also, Shroom and Nylon compliment it beautifuly as a highlight.

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 rubytitania on 4/17/2010 5:41:00 PM more reviews by rubytitania

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Lovely and useful neutral colour. It's not too warm for my fair, pink-toned skin, but it doesn't have that greyish tint that some cooler browns/taupes have. It's a kind of coolish goldish pale beigey brown - if that makes sense! I like to wear it on my lid with Satin Taupe in the crease and Shroom to highlight, for a simple but polished everyday neutral look. There's nothing "wow" about it, but it gets a lot of use and I would buy it again.

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 debj314 on 3/18/2010 1:04:00 AM more reviews by debj314

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy   Eyes: Green    

I love this color when I see it but after I wore it for awhile it went ashy on me! Its a good crease color and I used to wear it with brule. I tried it as a lid color to no avail! I used this a long time ago and then bought it again and exchanged it for Modelette, I wanted a brown lid color,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cadabeijos on 3/18/2010 12:54:00 AM more reviews by cadabeijos

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Wow, this has got to be one of my favorite eyeshadows. It goes on like a dreaaaaam. So satiny smooth. The color lies somewhere between a nude and a light brown taupe, and is really versatile and wearable. Can use it daily and play it up with other colors for nighttime. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eye Shadow products