MAC Satin - Era

4.4

154 reviews

83% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 9/21/2010 3:41:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this eyeshadow....its great all over the lid; in the crease on a light eyeshadow days; as a blending colour...Not too shimmery, not matte-just right!!! looove it



on 9/21/2010 3:20:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

First off, I have to say the the color in the picture at the top of this review is off. It looks to be more of a peachy color in the picture, which Era is NOT. Era is a sheer brownish color (tea with milk describes it nicely). It's the PERFECT neutral for us "more mature" ladies who don't want shimmer and sparkles on our eyelids. Truly worth every penny! I use Era all over the lid and if I want to darken up the outside corners/crease a bit, I top off with Soba.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.


on 8/29/2010 2:29:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I have had Era in my ES palettes for forever.. and I had rarely used it because I always used my Brule or Shroom.. until I decided that enough of replacing the Es I kept hitting pan on and that I would use this one equally.. well, I have been so impressed by the little ES that it is now in danger of hitting pan..lol.

it is a great neutral ES for most skin colors -- I use it on the lid but it could be used on lids or under brows for highlite.. as well as a tiny dab in the corners for more hilite or on the top of browbones for a touch of brightness and light..

in short.. it is one of those almost perfect products that everyone should have.


on 7/28/2010 1:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Everyone kept telling me Era *might* be good on me for a crease color, but I also kept hearing it may be too light. It is perfect! I was watching a tutorial on how to do deep set eyes on youtube (oxfordjasmine I think was the person) and she used Era in the crease with Femme Fi all over for a BEAUTIFUL bright butter cream eye. I was very, very intrigued as I also wear Femme Fi (or Shroom or Dazzlelight) a lot...and all over. I needed a subtle crease color that wouldn't make me look like I got punched ( I have very dark under eye circles and chronic allergy shiners). I have very deep set brown eyes surrounded by black/brown eyebrows and hair. My brow bone creates such a natural shadow, I try to use an all over butter cream wash color (then just liner and mascara) to make my eyes look big and bright. But I wanted to play with color and contour and could not find the right crease color to offer a slight shading...w/out being to heavy. Era is perfect, perfect, perfect for this. If I was much darker, I don't know if it would offer much of a change. But it works perfectly on my NW20 skin. I have tried Wedge, but that skews more tan orange on me. Era is similar to UD Naked...both soft neutral defining shades. But Era is more neutral where as Naked skews slightly warmer toned.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I sheer, beautiful brown color, with a hint of gold. I love using Era in the crease of a pin-up look, or as an all over lid shade for neutral smokey looks. It's not a really pigmented color, which some people may not like, but the lack of pigment really makes it easy to blend. Hard to build up color. After a few swipes, what you see is what you get. But even sheer shadows serve a purpose. Try this color in your next "old Hollywood glamour" look. You won't be dissappointed!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/19/2010 7:03:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

My review could really just be copied from missbish's word for word. It's neutral but looks *amazing*. Subtle but with a little something behind it. Effortless, really. I am very happy to have this color in my arsenal and will absolutely repurchase.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 7/12/2010 7:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Makes a great base color. Wouldn't exactly wear alone though. Thought it would give more of a neutral even color to my light lids, but really does nothing. Kind of a purposeless e/s I think.


on 6/21/2010 10:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Era and I are best friends. Some of the other mac eye shadows can be a bit scary, and I'm not always sure if they have my best interests at heart.
Era is friendly, cosy, pretty and effortless. This shadow is very easy to blend, and on me is just the perfect lid colour that I am quit happy to wear by itself.
It is an excellent shadow for 'got-to-day-to-day' shades mu which I use and think most people do; taupes, light golds, browns and whites.
A real gem that needs to be placed on the lid in order to be assessed justly. On darker skin tones I also imagine this to be a useful blending out colour to soften edges.

7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

Hands down a great neutral color with a little extra. Blends great.


on 5/19/2010 6:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I wear Era on my lids on those days where I want something slightly sexier than Brule or Shroom, yet not quite as sexy as Patina (if that makes any sense). In numerical values I consider it to be 25% sexier than Brule and Shroom and 25% less sexy than Patina. Era blends beautifully with all types of brown shadows in the crease. The darker the brown, the sexier! Also, Shroom and Nylon compliment it beautifuly as a highlight.

23 out of 26 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top