Skinceuticals • C E Ferulic • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.7(258 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 mirandajulian on 4/5/2012 1:37:00 PM more reviews by mirandajulian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I feel so conflicted about this product. I love how it makes my skin look BUT it does make me break out around my chin. I did keep it in the fridge and it did not turn (orangey) until about 12 months after buying it. When you buy this the liquid needs to be clear, if it is not then it has already oxidized and it is no longer effective. I will try Phloretin CF and see if I get the same result but without the breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hunienunu on 3/10/2012 12:32:00 PM more reviews by hunienunu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Why are there so many parabens and propylene glycol in their products???

Propylene glycol was originally designed to be ANTIFREEZE. Google it and you'll see the issues with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaeselle on 1/28/2012 2:43:00 PM more reviews by jaeselle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Iíve been using CE Ferulic for 6 years. I have always been a fan of Skinceuticals products and this one tops them all.

pros:
- This is antioxidant magic in a bottle, something in here reduces sun spots, and signs of aging (fine lines, skin tone, elasticity and smoothness) like nothing else. Overall I attribute this product to 1 of 3 main items that help my skin stay younger looking). It really imparts a glow from within.

- C E Ferulic is an antioxidant combination that delivers protection against photoaging - neutralizing free radicals, helping build collagen, and providing unmatched antioxidant protection. More protection means more youthful looking skin and better defense against environmental aging.

Contains:
- 15% pure L-ascorbic acid
- 1% alpha tocopherol
- the addition of ferulic acid doubles the already synergistic benefits of our original high-potency formula, C+E, transforming C E Ferulic into a super-antioxidant combination.

2 years ago when Phloretin CF launched I tried that and it didnít work as well, I have no noticeable results that topped CE Freulic. At $140 itís an investment but worth it and actually should prevent you form having to use multiple products antioxidant b/c this one is so great.

Cons:
- 1 thing I cannot stand about this product is the godforsaken small- it smells like liquid hotdogs. Because it works so well I keep using it. Not really fun if your SO smells your face after you emerge form the bathroom in the morning- hahaha. For that, it loses 1 star.

One thing I will mention- DO NOT get lured in for the discount price some e-retailers will offer- ONLY buy from unauthorized web retailers. DO NOT order the 6 sample travel sizes--- you cannot guarantee this product will be fresh. I only buy this directly form Skinceuticals or skinstore.com When you receive it, it should be light in color, almost translucent. Every time you open this bottle you expose the serum to oxygen that oxidizes the product and it becomes darker overtime and loses effectiveness, (that is the vitamin C becoming oxidized). I have found keeping this in the refrigerator helps.

Overall great product I would recommend to anyone- great antioxidant benefits.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sophiedee on 12/27/2011 8:59:00 PM more reviews by sophiedee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product for $200CDN at Holt Renfrew in Toronto. It was their last bottle, which goes to show you how popular it is, despite the price. I wanted to like this product, nay, to love it, but I guess that was not meant to be.

First off, the smell is beyond anything I have to date smelled in a skin care product. One reviewer likened it to salmon, and she was dead on. It is like rubbing fish oil all over your face.

Secondly, when I opened it, the color was already pretty dark. Skinceuticals claims that this is fine, and the product will remain effective even if the product changes color, but I'm skeptical. From what I know of Vitamin C, once it has changed color, it has oxidized, and is no longer effective as an antioxidant. The fact that you have to pull the dropper out of the bottle every time to use it only speeds up the oxidation.

Last, but hardly least, is the fact that, despite having paid $200 plus dollars, I couldn't finish the bottle. I had to force myself to use the bulk of it, and the last third I threw out. The more I used the product, the more it stung, and the more sensitive my face became, and I definitely did not notice any improvements.

Overall, I would not recommend this product. If you really want to try a Vit C serum, save yourself some money and try the La Roche Posay version, or a Paulas Choice product, which won't sensitize your skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michellesulli on 12/26/2011 11:20:00 AM more reviews by michellesulli

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

Excellent product. I finally found something to help with the bags under my eyes. For me, this is mostly due to inflammation which this product appears to resolve in less than 30 minutes. Also great in combination with Tazorac or Retin A. Provides very good antioxidant and sun protection. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littlefangfang on 12/25/2011 12:35:00 PM more reviews by littlefangfang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Good stuff. Makes my skin glow so nicely. Personally I think it's worth the money. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 k1000a on 12/11/2011 3:30:00 PM more reviews by k1000a

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product! It protects my skin from free radicals, avoids sun spots and hydrates! love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tr0003 on 11/29/2011 6:14:00 PM more reviews by tr0003

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Nice product. Can feel it working immediately. Tightening pores and giving my skin some nice, plump texture in the morning.

Sinks in like a dream. Doesn't do anything for hyperpigmentation imho but just a good overall h- acid with Vit C for aging skin.

Price point is high but you get what you pay for. Do refrigerate to increase longevity.

Not going to try any serum "dupes" with C as I think this is the HG!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 nb55 on 11/28/2011 7:59:00 PM more reviews by nb55

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I had such a strong reaction to this product. I have fair skin with sun damage and t-zone acne that is sometimes hormonal. I got this with the B5 serum at skinstore as a kit. Within an hour I had a huge breakout with big red bumps on my forehead and whiteheads everywhere I had put it. I panicked and rinsed it off but the bumps remained. I am sure it didn't help that I had just done a Kate Sommerville ExfoliKate. I feel stupid for not having purchased the Phloretin CF, which the Skinceuticals website recommends for "problematic skin." I have sensitive skin, combination but I don't have oily, continually broken out skin. I chose the CE Ferulic because it has 15% Vitamin C and the Phloretin has 10%.

To be on the safe side, I would say to definitely get the Phloretin if you have any concerns.

UPDATE- After having a nearly immediate horrible breakout I have continued to break out this entire week, all over my face where I had applied the product (including on my neck). I kept searching online and apparently one of the ingredients is a major pore clogger (all of this searching that I should have done before buying, I just figured what harm could a serum do). Definitely start with Phloretin and patch test, something else that I know is always recommended but always fail to do. So, I have learned to do much more research and patch test!

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 sueg374 on 10/28/2011 8:05:00 PM more reviews by sueg374

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I really like this serum. The only reason I took off a lippie is it is very expensive. I was using philosophy vitamin c powder mixed into my moisturizer, which is also very good. The reason I made the switch is I like being able to put this serum on then put a moisturizing sunscreen on top (finding a moisturizer for combo skin that has adequate sunscreen that I am satisfied with has been a challenge). The serum absorbs quickly, is not greasy, and definitely has made my skin brighter. The only thing I would change about this is to package it in a pump so it doesn't get exposed to the air at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products