Skinceuticals • C E Ferulic • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.7(261 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 bear26 on 6/9/2012 11:31:00 AM more reviews by bear26

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I was actually prescribed/ recommended this by my dermatologist and had a sort or clear skin when I went to see my doctor, except I was having tiny red bumps, small pimples around my mouth. The day after I started using it, I started getting a bad case of acne, like I never had before, multiple, cystic like acne, that took some time to go away, after I stopped using it got better but it took some time to clear up, the pimples just wouldn't go away. One of the ingredients is called Laureth-23 is a number 3 on comedogenic scale, I think this is the reason why I broke out, and when I checked the Skinceuticals webpage I saw that they do not recommend this for acne prone, so it's obviously not good for you, they do have different products for acne prone skin that are probably good, I would try Phloretin CF. CE ferulic was not only bad for me, I gave it to my boyfriend who has very nice skin and he broke out too, smaller acne but lots of them. I would not recommend for acne prone or oily skin, and it does smell quite bad.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rachaelvictorious on 5/13/2012 3:11:00 AM more reviews by rachaelvictorious

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Like the rest of Skinceuticals products I've tried, this one is over priced and hasn't done anything for my skin. I am down right angry that I paid so much money for something that didn't do !@#$ for my skin.

I found out that you can buy Vitamin C in whatever form you choose for about $5 for 30ml (last me two months and I use it all over my body), and other actives for a shockingly smaller price tag.

I mix my Vitamin C serum up every day to ensure I get the most from it. Takes me all of 20 seconds.

Actually, outside of my chem peels and sunscreen, I mix all my own skin care products and change the actives to suit my needs.

I can categorically say have had better success doing that, than using any pre-mixed product, and saved myself a boat-load of money in the process.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 medsmku on 4/13/2012 11:45:00 AM more reviews by medsmku

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for about 1 month now. I use this during the day, and Skinceuticals intense line defense at night.

Pros:

CE ferulic does not break me out in hives or irritate my skin the way phloretin CF did.

My skin is definitely softer, smoother, more even.

I have combo skin, and I think this stuff has helped even out some of that combo-ness (ie no dryness in the dry areas, much less greasy in the greasy areas)

I have a couple of fine lines to my left lower eyelid and left corner of my mouth (all only visible if you put a mirror up very close) that are definitely diminished.

Honestly, I can't say for sure if all of these great changes are due more to the line defense serum (I've been using both products simultaneously and for the same amount of time) or the CE ferulic or the combination of the two.

Cons:

I guess price, but I just don't mind spending this much when a bottle lasts so long, and the product ACTUALLY WORKS.

Yes, the smell, although I don't find it revolting, just sort of amusing, like, WTF? hot dogs?? Bizarre.

I'll definitely keep using it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mirandajulian on 4/5/2012 1:37:00 PM more reviews by mirandajulian

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I feel so conflicted about this product. I love how it makes my skin look BUT it does make me break out around my chin. I did keep it in the fridge and it did not turn (orangey) until about 12 months after buying it. When you buy this the liquid needs to be clear, if it is not then it has already oxidized and it is no longer effective. I will try Phloretin CF and see if I get the same result but without the breakouts.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 hunienunu on 3/10/2012 12:32:00 PM more reviews by hunienunu

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Why are there so many parabens and propylene glycol in their products???

Propylene glycol was originally designed to be ANTIFREEZE. Google it and you'll see the issues with this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jaeselle on 1/28/2012 2:43:00 PM more reviews by jaeselle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Iíve been using CE Ferulic for 6 years. I have always been a fan of Skinceuticals products and this one tops them all.

pros:
- This is antioxidant magic in a bottle, something in here reduces sun spots, and signs of aging (fine lines, skin tone, elasticity and smoothness) like nothing else. Overall I attribute this product to 1 of 3 main items that help my skin stay younger looking). It really imparts a glow from within.

- C E Ferulic is an antioxidant combination that delivers protection against photoaging - neutralizing free radicals, helping build collagen, and providing unmatched antioxidant protection. More protection means more youthful looking skin and better defense against environmental aging.

Contains:
- 15% pure L-ascorbic acid
- 1% alpha tocopherol
- the addition of ferulic acid doubles the already synergistic benefits of our original high-potency formula, C+E, transforming C E Ferulic into a super-antioxidant combination.

2 years ago when Phloretin CF launched I tried that and it didnít work as well, I have no noticeable results that topped CE Freulic. At $140 itís an investment but worth it and actually should prevent you form having to use multiple products antioxidant b/c this one is so great.

Cons:
- 1 thing I cannot stand about this product is the godforsaken small- it smells like liquid hotdogs. Because it works so well I keep using it. Not really fun if your SO smells your face after you emerge form the bathroom in the morning- hahaha. For that, it loses 1 star.

One thing I will mention- DO NOT get lured in for the discount price some e-retailers will offer- ONLY buy from unauthorized web retailers. DO NOT order the 6 sample travel sizes--- you cannot guarantee this product will be fresh. I only buy this directly form Skinceuticals or skinstore.com When you receive it, it should be light in color, almost translucent. Every time you open this bottle you expose the serum to oxygen that oxidizes the product and it becomes darker overtime and loses effectiveness, (that is the vitamin C becoming oxidized). I have found keeping this in the refrigerator helps.

Overall great product I would recommend to anyone- great antioxidant benefits.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sophiedee on 12/27/2011 8:59:00 PM more reviews by sophiedee

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this product for $200CDN at Holt Renfrew in Toronto. It was their last bottle, which goes to show you how popular it is, despite the price. I wanted to like this product, nay, to love it, but I guess that was not meant to be.

First off, the smell is beyond anything I have to date smelled in a skin care product. One reviewer likened it to salmon, and she was dead on. It is like rubbing fish oil all over your face.

Secondly, when I opened it, the color was already pretty dark. Skinceuticals claims that this is fine, and the product will remain effective even if the product changes color, but I'm skeptical. From what I know of Vitamin C, once it has changed color, it has oxidized, and is no longer effective as an antioxidant. The fact that you have to pull the dropper out of the bottle every time to use it only speeds up the oxidation.

Last, but hardly least, is the fact that, despite having paid $200 plus dollars, I couldn't finish the bottle. I had to force myself to use the bulk of it, and the last third I threw out. The more I used the product, the more it stung, and the more sensitive my face became, and I definitely did not notice any improvements.

Overall, I would not recommend this product. If you really want to try a Vit C serum, save yourself some money and try the La Roche Posay version, or a Paulas Choice product, which won't sensitize your skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 michellesulli on 12/26/2011 11:20:00 AM more reviews by michellesulli

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Red   Eyes: Other    

Excellent product. I finally found something to help with the bags under my eyes. For me, this is mostly due to inflammation which this product appears to resolve in less than 30 minutes. Also great in combination with Tazorac or Retin A. Provides very good antioxidant and sun protection. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 littlefangfang on 12/25/2011 12:35:00 PM more reviews by littlefangfang

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Good stuff. Makes my skin glow so nicely. Personally I think it's worth the money. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 k1000a on 12/11/2011 3:30:00 PM more reviews by k1000a

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this product! It protects my skin from free radicals, avoids sun spots and hydrates! love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Skinceuticals products

More Treatments (Face) products