Clinique • Moisture Surge Extended Thirst Relief • Moisturizers

rated 3.8(1055 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.67%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 amandadee97 on 9/8/2013 9:40:00 PM more reviews by amandadee97

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

First off, the clinique lady gave me the wrong product. I wanted the moisture surge intense, which I've used before and loved. I've used this before and it wasn't super great, but I figured I'd try it again.
It's definitely not moisturizing enough, if it ever makes it into my skin. It dries but it never seems to absorb. When I wash my face in the morning, it comes off and feels really slimy. After using it for three days, its caused a big zit on my forehead, where I've been mostly using it. Shame because it's so expensive, but it's a huge waste

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Catka06 on 9/7/2013 9:59:00 PM more reviews by Catka06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My skin is dry. Like, super ultra can't wear powder without pounds of moisturizer or I start peeling kind of dry. I used Clinique's 3 step program for most of my teenage years without much success, but there was nothing out there that didn't dry out my face worse or do absolutely nothing. After the hormone train left the station, however, I dumped it and have been skipping around ever since. About a year ago I'm staying with my mother, who loves and most likely owns all Clinique skin care, when I stumbled across the travel size of this stuff. SWEET LORD, HAVE MERCY. My dry skin is quenched, which I had previously thought impossible. I'm serious. This stuff got me through winter in Minnesota with no sign of flaking or redness. All of that being said I would not recommend this to someone who doesn't at least lean towards the dry side when it comes to their skin. I could be wrong but if it's doing miracles for me it's bound to ruin someone with severely oily skin's day. Also, loved that the travel size was at least in a squeeze tube - the jar thing blows in terms of keeping it clean. I use a q-tip which seems to help, but still. If they ever discontinue this stuff I might literally crumble and blow away. LOVE.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 fushigisushi on 9/5/2013 10:43:00 PM more reviews by fushigisushi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm already on my second jar of this stuff. I have very sensitive/break-out prone skin and I'm not normally a big fan of clinique products. However this moisturizer is simple, keeps the dry patches away, not to greasy, doesnt break me out - basically gets the job done. Its my HG until I find something more amazing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kentauride on 9/2/2013 11:15:00 AM more reviews by Kentauride

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Love this stuff. It is an oil-free gel type moisturizer. In the summer I have a hard time finding a moisturizer for under my makeup that doesn't leave a greasy film, this is it. It's not heavy enough for many skin types and weather conditions, but it's perfect for me for summer. I also like to use it when my sensitive skin is feeling irritated, the cooling sensation instantly calms it. I finished my first jar really fast and will probably buy the bigger container next time. I may pick up the version for dry skin as well and see how that works as a night moisturizer. Hate the jar packaging. I'd say that it isn't hygienic but I went through it so quickly I'm not sure that is really a concern... still I'd rather it came in a tube. Then I could throw it in my purse and take it everywhere.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Katie411 on 8/15/2013 11:05:00 AM more reviews by Katie411

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive   Hair: Brunette, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Love this moisturising gel.. It's great for oily skin and I can layer more moisturiser/oils underneath easily if I need to. Make up and spf goes on smoothly afterwards. It is quite expensive £30 ish for 50mls, but I'm fed up trying new things and so I repurchased this as it does work. Will continue to buy as it's gentle, non irritating and has improved my oily yet dehydrated skin. I've not used it in winter months but will see how I get on with it and some oils rather than using a thicker cream which might break me out/make my face oily.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Camille03 on 8/9/2013 9:46:00 AM more reviews by Camille03

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

so pricey.... though it does a great job at moisturizing my skin, where for the past couple of months i had dry patches on my cheeks. but then it broke me out after 3 usage. appearently, it clogged pores...... cause my nose was left with so many whiteheads hell no not gonna repurchase

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cindyx3rella on 8/4/2013 5:26:00 AM more reviews by cindyx3rella

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really liked this lotion at first, because it made my skin feel soft and plump right after use. As I used it more and more, I noticed that my skin would get dry after a few hours. The moisture is only temporary on my skin and actually ends up making my skin drier later on (I started to flake). Thus it became one of my take-to-the-beach lotions for temporary reliefs. Definitely not worth the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ohtobeinparis on 7/22/2013 6:45:00 PM more reviews by ohtobeinparis

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Silver, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Some time this spring, my skin decided it was time to become dry. As I haven't dealt with this except in cold winter weather, I've been on a quest to find a suitable moisturizer. This task has been complicated by an allergy to chemical SPF.

I've had good results with Clinique Perfectly Real foundation and City Block SFP 25, so I gave Moisture Surge a try on the recommendation of a SA. BAD IDEA! I had this on my face for literally two hours and had to lather hand cream on, my face hurt so much from being dehydrated. I looked like a prune ( not my usual look!).

This may be good for younger or oilier skin than mine, but my experience was a disaster.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 bethanaimeexo on 7/17/2013 4:20:00 PM more reviews by bethanaimeexo

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I use this as a mask after I have done a lactic acid peel as my skin is so dry and sensitive. This really moisturises it. I also use this overnight when my skin feels extra dry. Too expensive for me to consider purchasing again as I have other moisturisers that work just as well. I would like to try the eye cream version though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* csquared14 on 7/17/2013 1:34:00 PM more reviews by csquared14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

THIS STUFF. I look at it much in the way I suspect a woman looks at her first-born child.


To give you a sense of what I'm dealing with, skin-wise, I have bad skin. It's skin that has been improving significantly over the past year due to a very strict regimen, but to be honest, it really had nowhere to go but up. I have acne that needs constant treatment to be kept under control, which means that my skin puts up with a cocktail of products every day, not to mention the Clarisonic, the fact that I live in a polluted city, my treatment of the scars left behind by the cystic acne I managed to get under control, makeup, etc. I end up with huge dry patches, but am extremely limited in what I can do with them because most creams break me out. To be honest, I spent awhile just putting up with the fact that my skin looked flaky, because it was better than using products that managed to moisturize, but also made me look like a pizza.


Enter this product. I'd used other products in the Moisture Surge line with success, which is why I was willing to give this a go when I got it as a sample. With some trepidation, I tried it. And it's AMAZING. First, it feels so good. It somehow manages to be incredibly light and non-greasy, but also extremely moisturizing. It sinks in the second I put it on my face. It just feels...relieving, if that makes any sense. And it works. Instantly, and even in the harshest, coldest weather. I do tend to use it as a night cream more, since I still prefer a less-dense cream for the day. But it works and it has NEVER ONCE broken me out. I have tried many, many similar creams, and can literally not say that about one of them.


There are a few things. Mostly the packaging--if you have acne-prone skin, you're going to want to be careful about washing your hands or using a spatula to get this out, lest you contaminate the entire jar with germs. I usually transfer the cream from the big jar to the little sample jar I still have, which is easier to deal with. It's not cheap, but it's an acceptable price for Clinique's products and it certainly works better for me than more expensive skincare.


If you have dry, problem skin, I HIGHLY recommend you go out and get a sample of this. It's such good product.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Moisturizers products