Cover FX • COVER FX • Foundations

rated 3.7(264 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 suchaclassylady on 4/23/2012 1:50:00 PM more reviews by suchaclassylady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This has the consistency of a crayon. It's hard to apply and hard to blend. I gave it a 2 because it has good coverage, but my face felt dry after applying it. I prefer something that melts into my skin instead of having to use a spackle, melt it in my hand and rush to apply before it cools. Too much work for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thathoneydip on 4/20/2012 12:41:00 PM more reviews by thathoneydip

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. I used to use this everyday before my skin cleared up, now i just use it on the weekends when i go out and i want perfect flawless skin. It provides the ultimate coverage. its amazing. However, you have to be careful when using this because it can come out rather cakey. I use my sonia kashuk Blending Sponge to apply this. i just simply dampen the sponge a bit. this way i only pick up a little bit of the product and it actually helps blend too, leaving a rather natural look. It always works great as a concealer. i use it under my eyes often. I always have to set this product though, because it would literally melt off my face lol. The only con about this i would say, is that it is NOT WATERPROOF at all. any contact with water ( like sweat ) and its gone. such a shame.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hancid on 4/7/2012 2:29:00 PM more reviews by hancid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It was literally painful to use this product. The consistency is like dry mud, I don't understand if the one I bought was just old or if this is the way it's meant to be but it was impossible to spread this onto my skin! I tried heating it with a blow dryer to melt it so I could actually apply it to my skin but it did not help! I also tried putting some cream into it but it would not even adhere to the cream! I don't understand! I just could not get it onto my skin, it was SO DRY! I'm going to assume that mine was just defective because it was so bad. It was a very thick consistency though so that explains the name. The only good thing about it for me was the color, they come in incredibly pale shades! Anyway I had to return it, I really shouldn't listen to sales ladies anymore!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Agmacmillan on 4/6/2012 8:15:00 AM more reviews by Agmacmillan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I almost died when a local drug store started selling this product. I had seen it on sephora.com and I live in a really small town in Canada so when it was available to me I bought it right away. I got this last October and have been using it ever since. Bought the starter kit with the primer, the foundation and setting powder. Make sure you use their primer. I have tried other primers with it and it looks like crap. I really loved this because i have years worth of horrible red and purple acne scars. No matter what I do they won't go away. So I have been very self conscious of my appearance. This covered the scars so easily. I always take my time putting it on so I can watch the scars just vanish. Again their primer is key, not sure why but if you don't use it this make up will streak and settle in to pores and look horrible. Make sure you exfoliate very well daily as well cause if you have any dry skin say around a pimple, it will stand out like crazy. It's a lot of work to apply and get the coverage you want but if your willing to invest the time the results will blow you away. Definitely would buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Moopeh on 3/26/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by Moopeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Cover fx made my cystic acne outbreak bearable and allowed my skin to heal.


Description:
It's a buildable cream foundation with medium to full coverage. It comes a very wide variety of shades and is devoid of aggravating ingredients.


My Skin and Expectations:
Last summer I developed very painful cystic acne. I had not only cysts but blackheads whiteheads and run of the mill pimples all over my face. People said it looked painful, and it was. Part of it was hormonal, part stress, and it was horribly aggravated my mac studio fix (shudders). Having painful red cyts, hyperpigmentation marks all over my face, I needed full coverage, I needed good ingredients and I needed a proper colour match.


I have golden/olive toned skin. It's in the dark-medium to tan range depending on the time of year. NC37 to nc42. This makes finding a good colour match very hard, most ranges go pink or red once they hit my skintone depth. Coverfx in M60 is a great colour match for me.


Cons:
The downside to this foundation is you really need a primer for full coverage in this to look remotly natural. You can get away with some spot concealing that will blur imperfections, but to go the full hog and cover everything you need a primer, or else it was settle into lines and flakes and look fake and cakey. This makes an already expensive product more expensive. I didn't use to cover fx primer (overpriced), I use La Roche Posay's cicaplast as a primer (and also to heal and protect my skin). I was also never able to acheive "full coverage" You can still see a hint of my dark hyperpigmentation marks under the makeup, regardless of how many layers are expertly buffed, painted or dabbed onto the skin. Now that my marks are fading (thank you sunscreen) this can give me a flawless face, but when I really needed full coverage this did NOT provide it.


Pros:
But it did almost everything else right. Most importantly it let me skin heal. Retinoids (adapelene), Benzyl poroxide, it and high sulfur content masks here slathered on my skin day and night. I didn't realise at the time, but I was midly allergic to an ingredient in my moisturizer (the acne.org one) My face was often very red and sore. Cover fx did not aggravate it in the least, My breakouts did not worsen, and my skin improved, along with my self confidence. I would definitely repurchase.


Packaging:
I frequently disinfect my makeup pan, I spirtz the top layer with rubbing alcohol and rub it off using a clean washcloth or makeup sponge, this has made up for the only drawback about the product's packaging, it can be unhygenic.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 knhappyface on 3/23/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by knhappyface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love the coverage, and I love how it feels on my skin. I bought too light a shade (E0) which sucks and emphasizes that you really should get help from a knowledgeable employee when you're purchasing this.

I've only used it with both the Cover FX primer and setting powder. It is super easy to layer, and I found that it looks pretty natural, despite what others are saying. The one major drawback is that, even with the primer, it defines my pores and does nothing to minimize their appearance (as far as I can tell). As far as red marks and other discolourations, and even a couple small scars, Cover FX cream foundation covers them beautifully.

UPDATE: I bought the 160 brush to see if it would help with pore coverage. Unfortunately it didn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Valerie84 on 2/28/2012 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Valerie84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably the most coverage I've seen in any one product line. I use the Cover FX water based foundation in E4. The E means equal and 4 is the color. The color selection is very impressive:2 thumbs up for that. The first time I used it, I used it with a different primer (not Cover FX), and it didn't blend well. But I switched to Cover Fx Anti-Aging Serum primer, and it magically blended perfectly. Same with the concealer and transluscent setting powder, I had to switch to Cover FX brand for it to be compatible. Foundation is a bit rich, but that was expected because of its high potency and maximum coverage. Definetly need a good foundation brush to blend. Does not require much for the entire face. Also, I used this to cover pimples, and it turned them white as if I had used peroxide. And it has a tendency to sink into pores.
PROS: Does not require much and lasts long time, many colours to choose from, makes skin soft and supple, fast-drying, oil-free
CONS: A bit pricey, almost too rich, doesn't blend well with sponges or hands, do not find it compatible with other products, not good for pimples or large pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 katlove on 2/23/2012 1:44:00 PM more reviews by katlove

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I don't know why this has such great reviews! The girl at sephora recommended i get this bc i have acne prone skin and i wanted to even out my tone ( have oily skin with redness around my nose and mouth) and so i got it. spent WAY too much on this JUNK. so disappointed with it. its thick, cakey, does NOT spread well. it completely washes me out too. it makes me look like i'm dead or ill, just not a good color match for my pale skin. after a few hours of wearing it, i can't complain too much bc it DOES sit on my face nicely but that doesn't pay off for the horrible texture and the fact that it doesn't match my color or go on well. compared to cheaper make up, this is not worth it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Beautyy on 2/20/2012 3:29:00 PM more reviews by Beautyy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I need a foundation with a lot of coverage. I have deep red scars on my cheeks from past acne that I need to cover up. I was told this would be the best foundation to use for that. I watched YouTube videos, I read reviews & unfortunately I fell into the hype of it. I finally went out & bought it. I couldn't wait to use it since everyone was saying such wonderful things about it. This foundation on my face was a complete nightmare. It gives coverage but in such an unnatural looking way. I tried to apply it every way possible & still got the same result. I really was not impressed at all.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 evesinkiewicz on 1/17/2012 3:10:00 AM more reviews by evesinkiewicz

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I have combination (in the winter at least), extremely sensitive, and extremely acne-prone skin. Foundation is my best friend and worst enemy. I love it for the obvious reason of covering blemishes, but then it causes more (usually) and either slides because I didn't apply powder over it or gets cakey because the powder mixes with the oil and cracks the foundation. However, I can definitely say I've found a pretty reliable best friend in this foundation. Yes, it gets oily on the oilier parts of my face but I go to school and so if I blot between our 90 minute blocks it's not a big deal. This is actually one of the foundations that don't look too terrible when it gets oily because it's already dewy so no cracking just some shine which I consider nowhere near as nasty as cakey. Application really sucks and takes a pretty long time versus liquid. Because this foundation is so thick, a little goes a long way but you REALLY have to work at it. It takes me like 15 minutes to get this stuff on which I consider kinda crazy because I can get blush, bronzer, eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, and lipgloss ALL on in 15 minutes. However, other than the price, that's really the only con. This is my go-to foundation for winter and I really love that I know it's not breaking me out. My skin sucks enough without making it worse.

BOTTOM LINE: I would recommend this to people pretty experienced with makeup that actually need the coverage. Also, they have to be willing to put the time into getting it on. Any skin type could use it (it looks okay on my dry and oily patches so any skin in between those would do okay). However, because of the difficulty of application, it's probably not worth it if you can find other products that work for you. This is all that's worked for me so far!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover FX products

More Foundations products