Cover FX • COVER FX • Foundations

rated 3.7(267 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.64%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glamstep on 6/10/2012 1:28:00 PM more reviews by glamstep

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

There is totally a DUPE for this product that I own & love already & its the Maybelline Dream Smooth Mousse foundation. I bought CoverFx on vacation in Dubai when I had a massive breakout & could not find a DS nearby. My NC25 skin was matched to M30, M for Mediterranean yellow toned skin, it matches Maybelline SM in Creamy Natural to the T. Its a cream foundation, much like Maybelline & has great coverage, it hid my horrific allergic reaction completely. I found it more drying & difficult to spread & I used way more swipes of my brush (even after the reaction subsided) than I usually do with my Maybelline. It did last longer than Maybelline throughout the day though and that too under much more humid weather, but it also did not look as natural as my Maybelline. It claims to treat inflammation, with its Vitamin E/Bisabolol ingredients & maybe it does, but personally I would rather use skin care products/even medication to treat my skin rather than makeup. I have returned this in the states at Sephora & have gone back to my Maybelline. If this is your HG than try the Maybelline ($8 for 0.49 oz) vs ($42 for 0.4 oz) with a primer/setting spray will give you the same, if not better results. You will be converted, I promise.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DuchessofGrapes on 5/24/2012 5:32:00 AM more reviews by DuchessofGrapes

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great foundation. I love that it's oil-free, but still a cream. This is what I turn to when I have a breakout. It works great as a foundation and concealer. I spray a stippling brush with some toner and load it up with some foundation. I then, basically, "stab" my face so that I have dots of the foundation all over my skin. I swirl the brush around to spread out the foundation so that I have a very thin, even layer all over my face. Then I go back in with a concealer brush and add some more coverage over a spot or red area. Presto! I'll sometimes set it with some powder, but most of the times that I don't. It has great staying power and it's never broken out my skin. I'll definitely repurchase it in the future.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Baybeebubble on 5/6/2012 11:54:00 AM more reviews by Baybeebubble

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This really is one of my favourite foundations. I have continued to buy it religiously for the last 2 years, which says alot as I've always had a history of switching and changing every product I come across. It has AMAZING coverage without feeling heavy. A good moisturizer is a MUST if your going use the powder foundation . I use Cetaphil , without this on my skin first I can understand why some people find it dry and chalky . You really must use a moisturiser first then it goes on like a dream. A plus is that it doesn't break me out at all. This is def one of my top foundations , along with estee lauder maximum cover and B.E . Hope this helps guys x x

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 suchaclassylady on 4/23/2012 1:50:00 PM more reviews by suchaclassylady

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This has the consistency of a crayon. It's hard to apply and hard to blend. I gave it a 2 because it has good coverage, but my face felt dry after applying it. I prefer something that melts into my skin instead of having to use a spackle, melt it in my hand and rush to apply before it cools. Too much work for the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thathoneydip on 4/20/2012 12:41:00 PM more reviews by thathoneydip

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really love this product. I used to use this everyday before my skin cleared up, now i just use it on the weekends when i go out and i want perfect flawless skin. It provides the ultimate coverage. its amazing. However, you have to be careful when using this because it can come out rather cakey. I use my sonia kashuk Blending Sponge to apply this. i just simply dampen the sponge a bit. this way i only pick up a little bit of the product and it actually helps blend too, leaving a rather natural look. It always works great as a concealer. i use it under my eyes often. I always have to set this product though, because it would literally melt off my face lol. The only con about this i would say, is that it is NOT WATERPROOF at all. any contact with water ( like sweat ) and its gone. such a shame.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 hancid on 4/7/2012 2:29:00 PM more reviews by hancid

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

It was literally painful to use this product. The consistency is like dry mud, I don't understand if the one I bought was just old or if this is the way it's meant to be but it was impossible to spread this onto my skin! I tried heating it with a blow dryer to melt it so I could actually apply it to my skin but it did not help! I also tried putting some cream into it but it would not even adhere to the cream! I don't understand! I just could not get it onto my skin, it was SO DRY! I'm going to assume that mine was just defective because it was so bad. It was a very thick consistency though so that explains the name. The only good thing about it for me was the color, they come in incredibly pale shades! Anyway I had to return it, I really shouldn't listen to sales ladies anymore!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Agmacmillan on 4/6/2012 8:15:00 AM more reviews by Agmacmillan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I almost died when a local drug store started selling this product. I had seen it on sephora.com and I live in a really small town in Canada so when it was available to me I bought it right away. I got this last October and have been using it ever since. Bought the starter kit with the primer, the foundation and setting powder. Make sure you use their primer. I have tried other primers with it and it looks like crap. I really loved this because i have years worth of horrible red and purple acne scars. No matter what I do they won't go away. So I have been very self conscious of my appearance. This covered the scars so easily. I always take my time putting it on so I can watch the scars just vanish. Again their primer is key, not sure why but if you don't use it this make up will streak and settle in to pores and look horrible. Make sure you exfoliate very well daily as well cause if you have any dry skin say around a pimple, it will stand out like crazy. It's a lot of work to apply and get the coverage you want but if your willing to invest the time the results will blow you away. Definitely would buy this again.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Moopeh on 3/26/2012 4:51:00 PM more reviews by Moopeh

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Kinky, Fine   Eyes: Black    

Cover fx made my cystic acne outbreak bearable and allowed my skin to heal.


Description:
It's a buildable cream foundation with medium to full coverage. It comes a very wide variety of shades and is devoid of aggravating ingredients.


My Skin and Expectations:
Last summer I developed very painful cystic acne. I had not only cysts but blackheads whiteheads and run of the mill pimples all over my face. People said it looked painful, and it was. Part of it was hormonal, part stress, and it was horribly aggravated my mac studio fix (shudders). Having painful red cyts, hyperpigmentation marks all over my face, I needed full coverage, I needed good ingredients and I needed a proper colour match.


I have golden/olive toned skin. It's in the dark-medium to tan range depending on the time of year. NC37 to nc42. This makes finding a good colour match very hard, most ranges go pink or red once they hit my skintone depth. Coverfx in M60 is a great colour match for me.


Cons:
The downside to this foundation is you really need a primer for full coverage in this to look remotly natural. You can get away with some spot concealing that will blur imperfections, but to go the full hog and cover everything you need a primer, or else it was settle into lines and flakes and look fake and cakey. This makes an already expensive product more expensive. I didn't use to cover fx primer (overpriced), I use La Roche Posay's cicaplast as a primer (and also to heal and protect my skin). I was also never able to acheive "full coverage" You can still see a hint of my dark hyperpigmentation marks under the makeup, regardless of how many layers are expertly buffed, painted or dabbed onto the skin. Now that my marks are fading (thank you sunscreen) this can give me a flawless face, but when I really needed full coverage this did NOT provide it.


Pros:
But it did almost everything else right. Most importantly it let me skin heal. Retinoids (adapelene), Benzyl poroxide, it and high sulfur content masks here slathered on my skin day and night. I didn't realise at the time, but I was midly allergic to an ingredient in my moisturizer (the acne.org one) My face was often very red and sore. Cover fx did not aggravate it in the least, My breakouts did not worsen, and my skin improved, along with my self confidence. I would definitely repurchase.


Packaging:
I frequently disinfect my makeup pan, I spirtz the top layer with rubbing alcohol and rub it off using a clean washcloth or makeup sponge, this has made up for the only drawback about the product's packaging, it can be unhygenic.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 knhappyface on 3/23/2012 9:18:00 PM more reviews by knhappyface

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I love the coverage, and I love how it feels on my skin. I bought too light a shade (E0) which sucks and emphasizes that you really should get help from a knowledgeable employee when you're purchasing this.

I've only used it with both the Cover FX primer and setting powder. It is super easy to layer, and I found that it looks pretty natural, despite what others are saying. The one major drawback is that, even with the primer, it defines my pores and does nothing to minimize their appearance (as far as I can tell). As far as red marks and other discolourations, and even a couple small scars, Cover FX cream foundation covers them beautifully.

UPDATE: I bought the 160 brush to see if it would help with pore coverage. Unfortunately it didn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Valerie84 on 2/28/2012 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Valerie84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is probably the most coverage I've seen in any one product line. I use the Cover FX water based foundation in E4. The E means equal and 4 is the color. The color selection is very impressive:2 thumbs up for that. The first time I used it, I used it with a different primer (not Cover FX), and it didn't blend well. But I switched to Cover Fx Anti-Aging Serum primer, and it magically blended perfectly. Same with the concealer and transluscent setting powder, I had to switch to Cover FX brand for it to be compatible. Foundation is a bit rich, but that was expected because of its high potency and maximum coverage. Definetly need a good foundation brush to blend. Does not require much for the entire face. Also, I used this to cover pimples, and it turned them white as if I had used peroxide. And it has a tendency to sink into pores.
PROS: Does not require much and lasts long time, many colours to choose from, makes skin soft and supple, fast-drying, oil-free
CONS: A bit pricey, almost too rich, doesn't blend well with sponges or hands, do not find it compatible with other products, not good for pimples or large pores.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Cover FX products

More Foundations products