DHC • Deep Cleansing Oil • Cleansers

rated 4.2(1328 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* VicklePickle on 7/17/2013 2:14:00 PM more reviews by VicklePickle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This broke out in huge whiteheads and I rarely break out! This has scared me away from all oil cleansers. I have combination skin and don't think it needs any extra oil. I'm going back to my tried and true olay sensitive skin cleansing cloths.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susiej on 7/16/2013 6:56:00 PM more reviews by susiej

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Sigh- this just did not work for me. My skin is not *that* sensitive, usually it is my eyes that react or occasionally my lips but I knew from the very first time this touched my skin that it was causing a reaction. My face just started getting hot and red all over.

Really disappointing because I loved the idea of a one stop cleansing shop for eyes and face but alas it was not to be. My eyes also, unsurprisingly, took it really bad. I did my best not to actually get any in the eye but it is almost impossible when you are cleansing mascara off. They ended up bloodshot around the iris and sore.
But if I am going to be positive- it did dissolve all makeup successfully and rinsed off without a residue, which is what I had hoped for.

The other thing that bugged me slightly is that being in the UK I could only order from the website- and had a surcharge for being in a 'remote area'. It is really not remote in the least and delivery was just by Royal Mail, so it didn't make a lot of sense to me as to why I was having to pay extra.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 fijimountainss on 7/15/2013 2:41:00 AM more reviews by fijimountainss

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Black

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Lbf on 7/3/2013 8:37:00 AM more reviews by Lbf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

My skin feels so clean And fresh after rinsing. This is a must have for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 risathompson on 7/3/2013 3:29:00 AM more reviews by risathompson

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

This is pretty nice. I have normal-dry skin, that can feel incredibly dry if I dont use the right cleanser. This take off all my make-up very well without making my skin dry, tight, or oily. I feel comfortable not double cleansing while using this, and never broke out while I use the entire bottle. It is nice, but a tiny bit expensive for my budget, especially where I can get cheaper alternative. However, comparing with more high-end cleansing oil, this is affordable and effective in its own right.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 humbledaisy on 6/20/2013 10:29:00 AM more reviews by humbledaisy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I love this product. I always purchase several when DHC puts it on sale. Additionally, I like to have the smaller size around for travel, because you don't want to be taking that big pump bottle on a trip, especially if it's already open. I use foundation every day and I love how it just takes all of it off at the end of the day. When I've been without it, I felt like my face was not clean. (Sometimes at my boyfriend's house I use those cloths -- when I do, i just think, is my face clean? I don't think so.) I can also remove eye makeup with it, though I usually use Almay makeup remover pads. After I use this oil, I follow it up with whatever other cleanser I'm using, and that's my nighttime face-washing routine. The oil is gentle, but powerful. Can't imagine not using this.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* alt629 on 6/6/2013 4:48:00 AM more reviews by alt629

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love the smell of the oil (rosemary-ish) and the packaging is great (mine came in a smaller container with a cap over the pump which makes it good for travel). It removed makeup well. I followed up with my normal washing routine (Cetaphil & Clarisonic), but my skin still felt pretty oily afterward. That is okay with me if the results are good. But unfortunately, after the very first application and each thereafter, I had a new pimple when I woke up. In fairness to the product, oils have never worked well with my skin. I think this would be great for someone whose skin has a better track record with cleansing oils, though.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* domokun_nyc on 6/6/2013 4:20:00 AM more reviews by domokun_nyc

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I used an entire full size of this. I have also used Lumene's Lift Touch cleansing oil and Clinique's Take the Day Off Balm, which is a solid that melts into an oil.

I really, really like that the DHC rinses easily and doesn't leave a film. In that, it is far superior to the Lumene.

Also, as with most DHC products, the pump dispenser is good quality, works smoothly, etc.

What I don't like is that with constant use, my skin feels very tight and dry. (The Lumene and Clinique do not produce this result.) On the one hand, this cleanser is very good at its job of getting everything off my face, but in doing so, it's taking the moisture with it. I really noticed mostly around my eyes. My other problem with oil cleansers in general is they need to be used on a dry face and I like to wash my face in the shower. So I need to do my face first, which while not a terrible imposition, does require a minor change to my normal routine.

As a user of other DHC products, and knowing how popular this stuff is, I wanted to love it. Unfortunately, its tendency to dry me out overshadows its ability to rinse clean. Maybe it's impossible to have an oil cleanser that cleans effectively, rinses clean, and doesn't dry things out. At any rate, I won't be repurchasing this one.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 t0asty on 5/31/2013 1:53:00 AM more reviews by t0asty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I don't think I could live without this stuff anymore! I'm a few months post-Accutane (used for serious acne) and my skin is VERY sensitive and thin to the point I flush red when I'm hot. I have lots of scarring and wear a pretty thick layer of liquid foundation for oily/combo skin everyday (as well as MAC liquilast - waterproof eyeliner which DOES NOT COME OFF), and this is the only stuff I feel 100% takes everything off. (I follow up with a neutrogena makeup remover wipe and exfoliant just in case.)

I've tried using the cheaper dupes of this - namely Shiseido - but I just love the smell and how this is "natural" and only contains the following:

olea europaea (olive) fruit oil, caprylic/capric triglyceride, sorbeth-30 tetraoleate, pentylene glycol, phenoxyethanol, tocopherol, stearyl glycyrrhetinate, rosmarinus officinalis (rosemary) leaf oil

TIP: Don't apply to already damp/wet face. Oil and water does not mix-- I would directly gently rub in circular motions over face to work into pores/waterproof eyeliner/mascara until it takes it all off and then apply water afterwards to wash the oil off. I'd also follow up with another cleanser or wipe to make sure no oil residue remains on your face.

Best place I've found to buy it is on amazon - $21-25 with FS.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MichikoFliz on 5/22/2013 9:05:00 PM more reviews by MichikoFliz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I bought the small 70ml size to test out because my skin is very reactive to basically everything.

Firstly, I really love the packaging, the styling is up my alley. I squirt about 1.5 pumps, the scent is of olive oil with a hint of freshness from the rosemary, so I believe this is as close to natural as you can get with a commercial cleansing oil.

It cleans makeup well and leaves my skin squeaky clean. Probably too drying for winter.

My skin is going a bit crazy at the moment and I started using 3 new products so I am not sure what is causing me problems, but I don't think it is this., I will update if it is!

I want to try out Fancl Mild cleansing oil since that one I believe is slightly cheaper.

Update: I believe this is the product causing my breakouts, I've got no new giants pimples since I stopped using this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More DHC products

More Cleansers products