La Roche Posay • Effaclar K • Treatments

rated 3.8(204 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 Skitzo on 12/7/2011 12:31:00 PM more reviews by Skitzo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i actually recieved this in a swap and probably wouldnt have even thought of spending on an overprized cream with only salicylic cream as the active ingredient but i sure am glad i have it now. This stuff surely isnt amazing and you cannot expect over night results but if like me,you have oily,sensitive skin prone to bad acne flare ups and have light to moderate superficial scarring or pigmentation (phew!),you should definitely consider getting a sample.
I really like the texture and it absorbs pretty quick but if you over apply,it leaves a greasy film behind. I cant say i quite like the smell but im used to it now. Initially,for the first week or so,it will make you break out a bit but there wont be any scarring and you'l only get tiny bumps that go away quick. This is the purging period. This has to happen,because it pulls out all the gunk that would've erupted over the month into painful zits in a matter of a week. And no big pustules either. Once the unsightly process is over,you will notice that your skin looks more radiant,fresh and clearer. With continued usage,you rarely get any new blemishes and existing scars fade away. My makeup routine consisted of primer,heavy duty concealer,foundation and i had to blot continuously and reapply. Now,its just a thin layer of effaclar k,a light dusting of mineral foundation and my skin looks almost perfect. Iv used this for a month every day and night and there's still quite a bit of product left in the tube. I already repurchased though,just in case. I will probably switch to effaclar duo in the summer during the day because i heard its more mattifying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GaddesdenGal on 11/19/2011 4:03:00 PM more reviews by GaddesdenGal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've used about four tubes of this. For me it is good at keeping breakouts of big painful spots, raised and under-skin, at bay but didn't help clogged pores. Since I've started using sk:n exfoliating cleanser in the evenings, effaclar K has just become a bit redundant to me to be honest. Maybe my skin is just enjoying the change. I used it in the mornings and it went on well under foundation but sometimes if I used clinique pore minimiser instant perfector instead of foundation I'd find the effaclar K made it ball up and rub off (it only happened when I wore both so had to be one or the other for me in the end as I found them incompatible). On the plus side it is nice and light and I never found it too drying. Also the tube is great you can get every last drop out and it's a good size to travel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 10/27/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

The only active ingredient is BHA/Salicylic Acid at 1.5%. Every other ingredient is pretty standard and found in most light-weight moisturizers. Save your money and invest in a cheaper BHA. I like Paula's Choice 1% myself, I think her anti-irritants really help keep the irritation BHA can cause to a minimum, but that's just my personal preference, there are a TON of affordable BHA products on the market. I honestly think most La Roche Posay products are over-hyped and over priced.

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ksheehy on 10/2/2011 2:21:00 AM more reviews by ksheehy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I <3 this product! It dried of the boils i get sometimes EVERYWHERE! and fast. It's cold and and feels nice, works great under makeup, and clears scarring

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 summerlovingbumming on 9/21/2011 7:46:00 PM more reviews by summerlovingbumming

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've tried everything under the sun from Retin-A to prescription strength topical antibiotics to the entire aisle of American drugstore products to all of the major French pharmacy lines dedicated to acne (Avene Cleanance, Vichy Normaderm, LR Effaclar, Biotherm, Nivea, Bioderma... the list goes on and on).

Quite literally THE ONLY thing that could ever control my acne - cystic and non-cystic all diminished within a week of using this during the hot summer months in Paris, and within a few weeks, my skin was not completely clear (a few hormonal spots here and there) but definitely under control. Helps exfoliate acne scarring, and used in conjunction with Effaclar Duo (the new LR spot treatment, better than Effaclar AI) is by far the MOST effective treatment I have ever used!

Even though I have to pay $$$ compared to home to buy in US, I'll never let go of this product. Use it as a night treatment, but can also be used as a great makeup base during the day (layered under a light sunscreen?), relatively non-drying compared to other anti-acne products.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 9/21/2011 7:31:00 AM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Very good treatment. Light and very good for getting rid of pimples faster.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Overload on 6/18/2011 12:59:00 PM more reviews by Overload

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I really wanted to love this product because I read so many positive things about it, but this just didn't work for me unfortunately! Like other La Roche Posay products I tried, this didn't hurt nor helped my skin.

I have gotten a lot of impurities lately and when I used this product it didn't got rid of those, but it didn't broke me out either. I used it every night before I went to sleep. I have tried it with a moisturizer on top and without, but both ways didn't help me. I also used it on my forehead (which is quite oily) and on my cheeks (which are quite dry) and I think it made thinks worse for my cheeks but better for my forehead. Anyway, I just don't know what to think of this, it doesn't do anything for me.

I do think the packaging is great, and the price too in Europe (I got it for 14 euros at 30 ml) but I would not repurchase because it doesn't work for my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Virenze on 6/17/2011 5:23:00 AM more reviews by Virenze

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

My skin has been suffering from acne for a long time. I got medication to treat the acne in my face. Most of the acne dissapeard after a half a year, but I could still feel some on my chin. I decided to try Effaclar K because I read so many good reviews on it. After a couple of days I saw a difference in my acne. They just shrunk and faded away. I couldn't believe that I didn't try this treatment sooner, but I'm happy I eventually found it. It's not really expensive (in The Netherlands), so try it if you really need something that will help to clear your acne..

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 hutchepsut on 5/23/2011 1:05:00 PM more reviews by hutchepsut

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I have blemish from time to time. I decided to get this LRP because I would like to switch to a cheaper option. I used Kiehl before. However, Kiehl doesn't help my small pimples under control. I akways try to wash my face in the evening carefully but still...I can touch some rough patches on my jaws and cheeks.

While writing this review, I have used LRP for 2 weeks -- 2 times a day. I apply on my face before moisturizer and sunblock in the morning and before serums and moisturizer in the night. I can notice that the number of my small pimples obviously is reduced and the dark scars after the painful acnes fade much faster than normal. The first point, I believe it is from LRP but the latter one, I am not sure because I also started taking Marine Q10 (Blackmore) as well.

I like its texture and clean smell. It absorbs fast. So, even though I have sort of oily skin, I still can wear it under my day cream and sunblock. The package is quite good..only the body of the tube is metal...I believe I will have a difficulty to get all of it out. On the top of everything, I am happy with the price. Kiehl I used before is around 1800 baht but this LRP is around 790 baht.

I save some money with the better result. I surely buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 devainilla on 5/6/2011 12:48:00 PM more reviews by devainilla

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I read all the wonderful reviews about this product, so I went and bought it. The first three days made my skin break out all around the noise, so I stopped. I only used it during the night around my t-zone, the next morning my t-zone was all greasy. I wait a few weeks and then try it again, and it was the same, so for me it just didn't work. I read in blogs and see photos of people using day by day and how it improves their skin, but for me is totally useless. Will not purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments products