La Roche Posay Effaclar K

3.8

218 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Salicylic Acid 1.5%) Aqua, Isonoyl Isononanoate, Propylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Salicylic Acid, Octyldodecanol, Zinc PCA, Sodium Hydroxide, Retinyl Linoleate, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide/Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Fragrance


on 6/10/2012 11:22:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I'm so disappointed that this didn't work for me. Each time I used it, I get breakouts after the second or third day. It definitely did not reduce the size of my pores or reduce blackheads.



on 5/24/2012 12:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have been using this product for about a month and I have to say that it's pretty amazing for my skin. I started using it around the time I got the most awful and painful breakout I ever had, caused by OCM. My acne has never been severe and I'm rarely even subject to breakouts, so it was horrible. I'm pretty sure this product helped a lot with the clearing up, and now after a month that acne is almost gone. And I'm so glad because I though it would take months to go back to normal, and I just wanted to curl up and cry about how bad my skin looked. Even the scarring is not that bad and is clearing up pretty fast.
Overall, Effaclar K improved my skin tone and my newer clogged pores and blackheads cleared up in 2/3 weeks. The older ones are more stubborn. They've been there for years so it'll probably take some more time. It is helping those couple of dilated pores I have not to look so dilated, too. :) It did take a couple of weeks to start seeing results, but it was worth it.
Ilike it better than Effaclar Duo, since that tends to dry out my skin a bit too much. This one really doesn't. I'm not bothered by the smell either, it just takes a couple of days of getting used to. There are much worse smelling products out there. I'll come back and edit this when I have the chance to see all its effects on the whole of my face, once that nasty breakout has definitely cleared up.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2012 6:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Excellent product!!!

Used it for only one night and immediately saw the results the next morning! I did not wake up to oily skin; the bumps on my face seem to have flattened over night; redness have disappeared. It is a wonderful product for how it can keep pimples at bay, and yet not dry out your skin!

When applied, it also has a slight tingling session which I feel really good about. I picture it to be zapping my zits overnight.

The only thing might be that it flakes a little.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/6/2012 4:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

i am very impressed with this cream. i use it on daily basis and it improved my acne scars (it takes time though), and it definitely kept me away from new acne. even though at first the ingredients did not seem very different from avene products for oily skin, the efficieny of this product was so clear to me. just dont forget to use a good amount of sunscreen over in sunny days (i actually love the avene's sunscreen of 30 spf for oily skin). i read some instructions which say it may dry the skin, but its not the case with me and i use it all over the face (except around eyes) and not only on affected areas. it includes Salicylic acid 1.5%, and LHA (sort of AHA). but to the contrary of other AHA product that i tried (ducray), this one doesnt leave a greasy texture, doesnt cause acne and its effcient as i already wrote.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I never had too many pimples, but the ones I had here and there when I was a teenager were leaving huge scars. So yea, I took Accutane for over a year and my skin was amazing. However, 10 years later, my problem is back. I just felt like crying.
As I live in China and I don't have access to good medical products, I started using some tea tree oil, which was good to control my oily skin. However, I have two recent dark spots that I tried to treat with tea tree oil and Avene diacneal. Both did not work to fade them, and I developed allergy to the Avene one.
I decided to buy Affaclar k to see if my dark spots and scars get some better. I've been using it for a week, and my dark spots caused by acne faded like 80%. I like the fact that it doesn't dry out my skin, I don't have breakouts and there is no peeling effect (at least until now). I used it twice a day, followed by my Redermic. So far, I am very happy with it. I was thinking of using it together with Effaclar Duo, but I felt no necessity.
These are very happy words coming from someone who used Accutane before.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/26/2012 3:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is AMAZING!! I just turned 26 and my skin is changing and I'm suddenly getting zits like never before :/ I've been trying tons of acne products but since I have sensitive skin they all just made it worse, until I found this! I was using the Effaclar M for a while but I still had these really deep stubborn pimples that wouldn't go away! Since I've been using the Effaclar K all those pimples are finally coming to the surface and my skin looks a million times better. Seriously buy this stuff!


on 4/8/2012 5:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I believe it's an effective product as long as you don't expect too much, cause it won't cure all your acne. But it will help.


My skin regime is washing with cleanser (such as cleanance etc), effaclar K and sunscreen in the morning.
When I return home I'll take off my make up and use a light moisturizer afterwards.
At night I'll wash my face with the cleanser again and apply triacneal. That keeps my face clear most of the time without drying my skin out (It's combination acne prone)


Back to Effaclar K


Cons:
1. The biggest downside for me is the SMELL. Seriously, it's the most offensive smelling skin care product I've ever used. Strong, acidic medicinal I'd say. It is a bummer but it doesn't linger long and I try to ignore this point but I was shocked at first.


2. Does nothing for my pores


3. Leaves my face a tiny bit greasy


4. Stings sometimes, but it's expected due to the AHA


5. I'm not sure if it's safe to use it during summer even with sunscreen


6. It's not really moisturizing. It won't dry your skin out but it won't add any hydration either


Seems there are many downsides but helps my skin stay clear, evens out my skin tone and eliminates blackheads. It's not expensive either and the tube will last around 4-5 months, so I believe it's worth it. I might repurchase in the future but I'll try Keracnyl creme first!


on 4/8/2012 2:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing moisturizer for oily skin. I've struggled with having a very shiny face for years and nothing really helped as much as this. It leaves your skin so smooth and its not too over drying, it can be for certain people but for people with very oily skin like me its perfect. Worth the price!


on 3/24/2012 9:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

AMAZING! Boots was doing a promotion on this range; 2 for 15. It has radically changed the condition of my skin! My skin is still clearing up, I'm guilty for picking whenever I have a deadline coming up so it's like back to square one. But this is there to help me recover. It helped the pigmentation dramatically and the overall texture. I use this in the morning after my shower, and instead of the Effaclar Duo if I'm feeling a little more sensitive.
I've been using it for almost 2 months and I've got 1/4 of the tube left, but a tiny bit goes a long way. The only thing that bothers me is that is a metal tube, so its going to be annoying squeezing the last bit out. Other than that I'll be using this again. Hopefully my skin won't stop responding to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2012 2:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've used this over 2 weeks and is doing nothing to my skin. My pores and skin texture are exactly the same. I don't feel any dryness nor any changes.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
399 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top