La Roche Posay Effaclar K

3.8

213 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Salicylic Acid 1.5%) Aqua, Isonoyl Isononanoate, Propylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Salicylic Acid, Octyldodecanol, Zinc PCA, Sodium Hydroxide, Retinyl Linoleate, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide/Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Fragrance


on 4/26/2012 3:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This stuff is AMAZING!! I just turned 26 and my skin is changing and I'm suddenly getting zits like never before :/ I've been trying tons of acne products but since I have sensitive skin they all just made it worse, until I found this! I was using the Effaclar M for a while but I still had these really deep stubborn pimples that wouldn't go away! Since I've been using the Effaclar K all those pimples are finally coming to the surface and my skin looks a million times better. Seriously buy this stuff!



on 4/8/2012 5:14:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Green

I believe it's an effective product as long as you don't expect too much, cause it won't cure all your acne. But it will help.


My skin regime is washing with cleanser (such as cleanance etc), effaclar K and sunscreen in the morning.
When I return home I'll take off my make up and use a light moisturizer afterwards.
At night I'll wash my face with the cleanser again and apply triacneal. That keeps my face clear most of the time without drying my skin out (It's combination acne prone)


Back to Effaclar K


Cons:
1. The biggest downside for me is the SMELL. Seriously, it's the most offensive smelling skin care product I've ever used. Strong, acidic medicinal I'd say. It is a bummer but it doesn't linger long and I try to ignore this point but I was shocked at first.


2. Does nothing for my pores


3. Leaves my face a tiny bit greasy


4. Stings sometimes, but it's expected due to the AHA


5. I'm not sure if it's safe to use it during summer even with sunscreen


6. It's not really moisturizing. It won't dry your skin out but it won't add any hydration either


Seems there are many downsides but helps my skin stay clear, evens out my skin tone and eliminates blackheads. It's not expensive either and the tube will last around 4-5 months, so I believe it's worth it. I might repurchase in the future but I'll try Keracnyl creme first!


on 4/8/2012 2:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Amazing moisturizer for oily skin. I've struggled with having a very shiny face for years and nothing really helped as much as this. It leaves your skin so smooth and its not too over drying, it can be for certain people but for people with very oily skin like me its perfect. Worth the price!


on 3/24/2012 9:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

AMAZING! Boots was doing a promotion on this range; 2 for 15. It has radically changed the condition of my skin! My skin is still clearing up, I'm guilty for picking whenever I have a deadline coming up so it's like back to square one. But this is there to help me recover. It helped the pigmentation dramatically and the overall texture. I use this in the morning after my shower, and instead of the Effaclar Duo if I'm feeling a little more sensitive.
I've been using it for almost 2 months and I've got 1/4 of the tube left, but a tiny bit goes a long way. The only thing that bothers me is that is a metal tube, so its going to be annoying squeezing the last bit out. Other than that I'll be using this again. Hopefully my skin won't stop responding to it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/27/2012 2:34:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've used this over 2 weeks and is doing nothing to my skin. My pores and skin texture are exactly the same. I don't feel any dryness nor any changes.


on 2/6/2012 5:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is my moisturiser of choice.

I'm lucky enough to have very normal skin on most of my face, aside from a slightly oily nose. My skin isn't reactive (although it hates the sun and is extremely photosensitive). I'm 26 so don't have any wrinkles, but what I do have is slight pigmentation issue around my mouth as well as scars from when I've picked (I know, I know!).

This light moisturiser, designed for oily skins, works wonders on my skintype. It's a very light fluid and you would be forgiven for thinking it isn't doing much at all. But somehow, it manages to keep my skin in tiptop condition with barely any imperfections.

I don't like the metal tube this comes it, as I find the lid doesn't close very well which annoys me. The only other negative I can think of is that this doesn't provide enough moisture in very very cold weather.

Overall, I love this moisturiser and have countless tubes at home.

Oh, but before I forget, the formula has been recently 'reinforced' and I haven't tried the new version. Hopefully it will perform just as well as I will be bitterly diappointed if it doesn't.


on 2/4/2012 10:58:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

This product had no effect on my skin. It did not break me out, did not dry me out, but it did not improve my skin either (no change in texture, oil production, discolorations etc). I do like the light texture, it absorbs fast and has no fragrance. The packaging is hygienic and because it's a squeeze tube it's possible to use all of the product.


on 2/4/2012 5:25:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

At 34 my skin is oily/combo/acne prone. Not just a "pimple" here and there but actual cystic acne. I've tried everything (even a prescription topical prescribed to me)-with no results. I tried this after browsing a beauty blog that raced on and on about this as a primer. I don't use it alone-a bit drying, but apply before my moisturizer or my tinted moisturizer. So far, so good! Leaves my skin baby soft and although my acne is 100% gone, it's definitely on it's way and i will definitely be repurchasing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/23/2012 7:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a must try with Korres Pomegrante toner, then Effaclar K, and Korres Rose moisturizer by day and retin a at night! IT IS THE ONLY MIXTURE that has cleared up my adult acne that is caused by hormones and PCOS. I recommend for anyone to try this skincare routine if you have normal to combination skin, that is acne prone. My skin has never been so hydrated and clear. I couldnt be happier!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2011 12:31:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i actually recieved this in a swap and probably wouldnt have even thought of spending on an overprized cream with only salicylic cream as the active ingredient but i sure am glad i have it now. This stuff surely isnt amazing and you cannot expect over night results but if like me,you have oily,sensitive skin prone to bad acne flare ups and have light to moderate superficial scarring or pigmentation (phew!),you should definitely consider getting a sample.
I really like the texture and it absorbs pretty quick but if you over apply,it leaves a greasy film behind. I cant say i quite like the smell but im used to it now. Initially,for the first week or so,it will make you break out a bit but there wont be any scarring and you'l only get tiny bumps that go away quick. This is the purging period. This has to happen,because it pulls out all the gunk that would've erupted over the month into painful zits in a matter of a week. And no big pustules either. Once the unsightly process is over,you will notice that your skin looks more radiant,fresh and clearer. With continued usage,you rarely get any new blemishes and existing scars fade away. My makeup routine consisted of primer,heavy duty concealer,foundation and i had to blot continuously and reapply. Now,its just a thin layer of effaclar k,a light dusting of mineral foundation and my skin looks almost perfect. Iv used this for a month every day and night and there's still quite a bit of product left in the tube. I already repurchased though,just in case. I will probably switch to effaclar duo in the summer during the day because i heard its more mattifying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
522 Reviews
Lemon Juice
394 Reviews

Top Rated Treatments (Face)

Top Rated La Roche Posay Products

image

Lipikar Balm

34 reviews
image

Toleriane Ultra

74 reviews
Back to Top