La Roche Posay • Effaclar K • Treatments (Face)

rated 3.8(209 reviews)

Average Rating.3.8
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ivyn on 2/27/2012 2:34:00 AM more reviews by ivyn

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I've used this over 2 weeks and is doing nothing to my skin. My pores and skin texture are exactly the same. I don't feel any dryness nor any changes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 naz85 on 2/6/2012 5:00:00 PM more reviews by naz85

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my moisturiser of choice.

I'm lucky enough to have very normal skin on most of my face, aside from a slightly oily nose. My skin isn't reactive (although it hates the sun and is extremely photosensitive). I'm 26 so don't have any wrinkles, but what I do have is slight pigmentation issue around my mouth as well as scars from when I've picked (I know, I know!).

This light moisturiser, designed for oily skins, works wonders on my skintype. It's a very light fluid and you would be forgiven for thinking it isn't doing much at all. But somehow, it manages to keep my skin in tiptop condition with barely any imperfections.

I don't like the metal tube this comes it, as I find the lid doesn't close very well which annoys me. The only other negative I can think of is that this doesn't provide enough moisture in very very cold weather.

Overall, I love this moisturiser and have countless tubes at home.

Oh, but before I forget, the formula has been recently 'reinforced' and I haven't tried the new version. Hopefully it will perform just as well as I will be bitterly diappointed if it doesn't.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 agatka7 on 2/4/2012 10:58:00 AM more reviews by agatka7

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

This product had no effect on my skin. It did not break me out, did not dry me out, but it did not improve my skin either (no change in texture, oil production, discolorations etc). I do like the light texture, it absorbs fast and has no fragrance. The packaging is hygienic and because it's a squeeze tube it's possible to use all of the product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 SoCalNanny on 2/4/2012 5:25:00 AM more reviews by SoCalNanny

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

At 34 my skin is oily/combo/acne prone. Not just a "pimple" here and there but actual cystic acne. I've tried everything (even a prescription topical prescribed to me)-with no results. I tried this after browsing a beauty blog that raced on and on about this as a primer. I don't use it alone-a bit drying, but apply before my moisturizer or my tinted moisturizer. So far, so good! Leaves my skin baby soft and although my acne is 100% gone, it's definitely on it's way and i will definitely be repurchasing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jconfer on 1/23/2012 7:15:00 PM more reviews by jconfer

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a must try with Korres Pomegrante toner, then Effaclar K, and Korres Rose moisturizer by day and retin a at night! IT IS THE ONLY MIXTURE that has cleared up my adult acne that is caused by hormones and PCOS. I recommend for anyone to try this skincare routine if you have normal to combination skin, that is acne prone. My skin has never been so hydrated and clear. I couldnt be happier!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Skitzo on 12/7/2011 12:31:00 PM more reviews by Skitzo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i actually recieved this in a swap and probably wouldnt have even thought of spending on an overprized cream with only salicylic cream as the active ingredient but i sure am glad i have it now. This stuff surely isnt amazing and you cannot expect over night results but if like me,you have oily,sensitive skin prone to bad acne flare ups and have light to moderate superficial scarring or pigmentation (phew!),you should definitely consider getting a sample.
I really like the texture and it absorbs pretty quick but if you over apply,it leaves a greasy film behind. I cant say i quite like the smell but im used to it now. Initially,for the first week or so,it will make you break out a bit but there wont be any scarring and you'l only get tiny bumps that go away quick. This is the purging period. This has to happen,because it pulls out all the gunk that would've erupted over the month into painful zits in a matter of a week. And no big pustules either. Once the unsightly process is over,you will notice that your skin looks more radiant,fresh and clearer. With continued usage,you rarely get any new blemishes and existing scars fade away. My makeup routine consisted of primer,heavy duty concealer,foundation and i had to blot continuously and reapply. Now,its just a thin layer of effaclar k,a light dusting of mineral foundation and my skin looks almost perfect. Iv used this for a month every day and night and there's still quite a bit of product left in the tube. I already repurchased though,just in case. I will probably switch to effaclar duo in the summer during the day because i heard its more mattifying.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 GaddesdenGal on 11/19/2011 4:03:00 PM more reviews by GaddesdenGal

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I've used about four tubes of this. For me it is good at keeping breakouts of big painful spots, raised and under-skin, at bay but didn't help clogged pores. Since I've started using sk:n exfoliating cleanser in the evenings, effaclar K has just become a bit redundant to me to be honest. Maybe my skin is just enjoying the change. I used it in the mornings and it went on well under foundation but sometimes if I used clinique pore minimiser instant perfector instead of foundation I'd find the effaclar K made it ball up and rub off (it only happened when I wore both so had to be one or the other for me in the end as I found them incompatible). On the plus side it is nice and light and I never found it too drying. Also the tube is great you can get every last drop out and it's a good size to travel.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LizWords on 10/27/2011 6:40:00 PM more reviews by LizWords

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

The only active ingredient is BHA/Salicylic Acid at 1.5%. Every other ingredient is pretty standard and found in most light-weight moisturizers. Save your money and invest in a cheaper BHA. I like Paula's Choice 1% myself, I think her anti-irritants really help keep the irritation BHA can cause to a minimum, but that's just my personal preference, there are a TON of affordable BHA products on the market. I honestly think most La Roche Posay products are over-hyped and over priced.

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ksheehy on 10/2/2011 2:21:00 AM more reviews by ksheehy

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I <3 this product! It dried of the boils i get sometimes EVERYWHERE! and fast. It's cold and and feels nice, works great under makeup, and clears scarring

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 summerlovingbumming on 9/21/2011 7:46:00 PM more reviews by summerlovingbumming

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I've tried everything under the sun from Retin-A to prescription strength topical antibiotics to the entire aisle of American drugstore products to all of the major French pharmacy lines dedicated to acne (Avene Cleanance, Vichy Normaderm, LR Effaclar, Biotherm, Nivea, Bioderma... the list goes on and on).

Quite literally THE ONLY thing that could ever control my acne - cystic and non-cystic all diminished within a week of using this during the hot summer months in Paris, and within a few weeks, my skin was not completely clear (a few hormonal spots here and there) but definitely under control. Helps exfoliate acne scarring, and used in conjunction with Effaclar Duo (the new LR spot treatment, better than Effaclar AI) is by far the MOST effective treatment I have ever used!

Even though I have to pay $$$ compared to home to buy in US, I'll never let go of this product. Use it as a night treatment, but can also be used as a great makeup base during the day (layered under a light sunscreen?), relatively non-drying compared to other anti-acne products.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More La Roche Posay products

More Treatments (Face) products