Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1640 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.76%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 Jess28cna on 5/13/2014 2:48:00 PM more reviews by Jess28cna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I came across this nail polish at sallys beauty supply and it was on clearance, had heard awesome things about it and wanted to try it. I have relatively short nails, my nail beds are retarded, like deep and my nails point upward if that makes any sense. I envy those with flat nail beds. Anyways, on to the review. I used a 4 sided nail file to smooth edges, remove ridges and smooth them out, then used the Seche Vite Dry Top coat as a base coat. It dried super fast and I got busy at work and didn't have time to apply the color like I had planned on. That night, when I got home, it had peeled off completely on 5 fingers. By the next morning, after I had showered twice, it was completely gone off all 10 fingers. I tried it again, this time as a top coat like directed. Again, same thing happened. Not even 24 hours did it last. I don't know if its because of the way my nails are shaped, how they grow or if I'm just not using it right. Applied colored polish and let it dry completely, then used the top coat and it just doesn't stay on. Friend of mine used it and same thing with her, she has short nails, no overlay and she has the flat nail beds I so wish I had, and it came off in 2 days. Don't know what the hype is for this nail polish but I will not be buying it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 darthodis on 5/11/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by darthodis

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this top coat, but it's not perfect in my opinion.

Pros: makes my polish last at least five days without chipping, leaves a nice and shiny finish, dries very quickly.

Cons: it becomes really goopy when you're halfway through the product, the polish "cracks"/get "veiny" after a few days.

The smell has never bothered me.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 TheLauren on 5/11/2014 2:20:00 PM more reviews by TheLauren

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This isn't perfect, but it's the best top coat I've ever used, so for now I will continue repurchasing it. I'm currently on my second bottle and have been using it for a year and a half or maybe longer, about once a week.

Pros:
Dries rock hard super quickly.
No denting or sheet imprints.
Supershiny, and the shine lasts until you remove it, so you don't need to reapply it the way you do with other top coats. I get compliments on how shiny my nails are all the time.
Very smooth.
Seems to keep nail polish on longer, though it's not a miracle product. I start to get chips after 4-6 days, depending on the nail polish I use underneath.

Cons:
Smells terrible.
Gets thick and goopy before you finish the bottle, but it still lasts a long time, so this doesn't bother me too much.
It shrinks as it dries. I don't find this to be that big of a problem, but don't try to apply this underneath the tips, as many people suggest, because it will mess up your polish.
The side edges of my polish seem impossible to cover with this. I don't know if it's because it shrinks, or because it doesn't spread well, but it's weird.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 NoelleRidley on 5/2/2014 10:13:00 PM more reviews by NoelleRidley

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This nail Polish is the BEST!!! Drys rapidly, nice shine, and just all around nice. Buttt... When your half way through the bottle it gets weird. After applying the polish the next day all my polish will peel right off in 1 peice. The smell was horrible but using it almost 2-3 times a week it doesn't bother me. I would not recommending this top coat because of this reason.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 paigegibney on 5/2/2014 11:27:00 AM more reviews by paigegibney

Age: 19-24   Skin: Other, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Hazel    

Uhhhhh no. That's all I have to say about this top coat. I got a mini bottle at Sally's because it was on sale and all I've ever heard was amazing things about this. I tried it for the first (and last) time today. First of all, it smelled awful! Like chemicals. But I can get over that. I began using it and it was so thick that it literally stuck to the bottle as I pulled the brush away (kind of like when you step on gum and it sticks to your shoe). It was difficult to get my entire nail covered because I felt like it was drying almost as soon as it touched my nail. So yes, it dries very fast but so do other top coats. I'll be going back to my favorite top coat of all time, Orly's Polishield. It is 10x better than Seche Vite and doesn't have that nasty smell or goopy finish. Oh and also, read the back of your bottle next time you go to use it: "WARNING: this product contains a chemical known to the state of California to cause cancer". WHAT?!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ti4nna on 4/28/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by ti4nna

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Just ordered this topcoat because I am terrible at not smudging my nails after I spend hours on them. this stuff is amazing. literally, nails dry to touch in 2 mins, rock hard in 10. pressing on them makes no dents whatsoever. the smell isn't bad in my opinion. The shine it gives is amazing, similar to a shellac manicure. Also, I've read a lot of reviews complaining the brush doesn't reach the bottom of the bottle, but mine does. So I'm thinking they've changed the design ! All in all my new holy grail topcoat and honestly a steal at $8 in all honesty.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 CanadaGirlToo on 4/28/2014 5:49:00 PM more reviews by CanadaGirlToo

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This may be an excellent product, and many people live it, but I will never know. I could not handle the smell, and only put it on two of my nails before stopping. I returned the bottle to the store.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Selinaaa32 on 4/21/2014 1:20:00 AM more reviews by Selinaaa32

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is an amazingly fast drying topcoat. The only downside is that, over a while, the topcoat gets really thick, so make sure that when you buy the topcoat you should get a thinner as well.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 yoshiii on 4/20/2014 12:08:00 AM more reviews by yoshiii

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Dries incredibly quickly and not goopy at all. Helps increase shine of the polish. I personally didn't see the problem of it pulling the top layer down (but I have relatively short nails).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 bikerchick on 4/18/2014 4:47:00 PM more reviews by bikerchick

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Seche Vite makes me sad. It dries super fast, is super shiny, afordable, easy to apply, and it shrinks like no other. It will literally pull the top edge of my polish down and it looks like tip wear 2 hours after painting my nails. The polish shrinks in from the sides as well. It also turns very thick and goopy only half way through the bottle, some polish thinner fixes this but it's still a bit of a pain. And let's not forget to mention the smell! It is pretty strong smelling, even for polish. Sorry, Seche, never again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products