Seche Vite • Dry Fast Top Coat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.0(1606 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 edmineralsgirl on 3/15/2014 9:25:00 PM more reviews by edmineralsgirl

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

After reading so many reviews raving this topcoat, I finally decided to try it out. Luckily, my nearby Sally's had a B1G1 offer! yay! First impression: wow this stuff smells horrible! It actually smells like gasoline! It has a water consistency, which I like because it doesn't pull off polish and leave bald spots. The top coat did live up to its rave reviews! My mani (base coat + 3 coats of colored polish) dried incredibly fast. Usually the shine on my mani becomes scratched and dull with other topcoats, but with Seche my mani remains shiny and intact without any chipping for up to 1 week! I'm excited I found this great nail product that will allow me to have salon quality nails at home. That said, unfortunately, I just don't think I can use this stuff regularly. The potent smell and warning on the bottle worry me (WARNING! This product contains a chemical known to the state of California to cause birth defects or reproductive harm). I will save this top coat for special occasions.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Amandarosemua on 3/14/2014 3:15:00 AM more reviews by Amandarosemua

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for a few months and it's the best fast drying top coat I've tried. It's important to remember this is not marketed at anti-chip, so it doesn't help much with that. I often do my nails late at night and need them to dry before I fall asleep, this stuff does the trick. My nails are completely dry in minutes, not just the top layer but all the way through. It smells awful though.. I've had my bottle for a few months and I do my nails about twice a week and I'm only about half way done, the consistency seems to still be the same. It is really shiny the first couple of days but it also dulls the colour of the polish. But if not for Sèche Vite I would have smudged polish all the time. Maybe I'll try something else when I'm finished with the two I have (I bought an extra just in case) but I'll probably end up back with Sèche Vite.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 misscynthia06 on 3/8/2014 5:44:00 PM more reviews by misscynthia06

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I will keep reciting this product for two reasons, first that it is a shiny and fast doing to coat that makes most polishes look amazing and second because thew isn't anything better that I have found.

This product needs to improve on the following ways:
Scent. . Omg this smells so horrible, it is strong like am industrial cleaner. I would not use this on children.
Goopyness.... Less than halfway through the bottle will congeal and need to be withe thinned or thrown out. Seche. Why not not just make smaller bottles? You are forcing us to waste product, it's not brain surgery just male a cheaper smaller pot of this.
Weird behavior. .. so you have probably heard Seche reacts oddly to certain polishes, and it is true and can be quite frustrating. Nothing like finishing a manicure and having it be totally ruined because sechev either causes shrinkage or the entire polish to peel off in one piece.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 gadgetgalz on 3/4/2014 11:29:00 AM more reviews by gadgetgalz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

My HG top coat!

When it's new, all nail polishes look heavenly nice. Also all polishes last longer and don't chip easily. Bad thing about it is just the formula running really thick at half bottle.I use few drops of OPI thinner and shake vigorously, left it for next usage so it won't get bubbly on my nails. But then again after few more usage, more thinner needs to be applied. Just throw away the product when it reaches 3/4 bottle and start with the new one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flowersgrimm on 3/3/2014 3:59:00 PM more reviews by flowersgrimm

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This is my favorite top coat I've ever used.
I can't survive without having at least 2 of these in my nail polish arsenal.
I paint my nails multiple times a week and I need something that will dry my nail quickly so I can get on with my day. I usually paint my nails at night and in 15 mins I can go to sleep and have no creases or bumps in the morning. After about 2 mins it is dry to the touch but the nail polish under is still wet. If you bump it it will smudge. The shine is like glass and I haven't really noticed the shrinkage like a lot of other people. This top coat is very thick and you will have to get a polish thinner,they have their own called Seche restore.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 sillhouette on 2/28/2014 9:41:00 AM more reviews by sillhouette

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It lives up to the label of being fast dry - my nail polish is dry within minutes of applying this! On the downside, it causes my polish to chip SO FAST. By the next day half my nails are chipped, once the nail polish literally fell off my fingers within 2 days. I think there are lots of other better top coats out there. Even my cheap, $3 drugstore one lasts longer than this one. Overhyped, will not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 berrycurious on 2/25/2014 2:12:00 AM more reviews by berrycurious

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

Ladies, this contains TOLUENE. Have you heard of those nail polishes that are "3-free"? One of those three is toluene. The following is taken from the US EPA website:
"Breathing large amounts of toluene for short periods of time adversely
affects the human nervous system, the kidneys, the liver, and the heart.
Effects range from unsteadiness and tingling in fingers and toes to
unconsciousness and death."
"Human health effects associated with breathing or otherwise consuming
smaller amounts of toluene over long periods of time are not known.
Repeatedly breathing large amounts of toluene, such as when "sniffing"
glue or paint, can cause permanent brain damage. As a result, humans
can develop problems with speech, hearing, and vision."

Seriously people, your health is far more important than how your nails look. I know a lot of people just think, "Oh, well the air quality with the smog and all are more likely to kill me than a little polish". C'mon, use your brains people. Painting your nails with a toxic potion, especially in a poorly ventilated space, is a CHOICE, an easier one to make than living far from a densely populated and polluted city. Repeated exposure WILL impact your health.

7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 amoyer2 on 2/15/2014 7:07:00 PM more reviews by amoyer2

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

This is the best top coat I've ever used! It dries so quickly and leaves a nice shiny finish. Excellent stuff. Will repurchase. Wish I would have known about this years ago.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 KatelynAriel on 2/1/2014 11:22:00 PM more reviews by KatelynAriel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This product has many positive reviews and I can see why it's very likable. First off, Seche is very affordable and convinient to find. I liked this top coat very much because at first, it gives off a beautiful glossy look over the nail polish. But on the downside, it seems that the shine wears off within the first couple of days. I also felt like I experienced more chipping with the top-coat then having my nails painted without any topcoat at all. Also, the formula gets goopy and thick after a while and the top of my bottle was completely glued to the bottle in which I couldn't get off and my husband who lifts weights couldn't even get off! So I just gave up on it. Anyways, it's decent but there are better top coats out there. I found Julep's top-coat to be exceptional :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jjp7401 on 2/1/2014 9:54:00 PM more reviews by jjp7401

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I bought this product because I was looking for a high gloss nail polish top coat to give my nails a gel look. I did notice a strong odor, but only when my face was close to the bottle. It wasn't overwhelming. It went on to my nails really smoothly and dried within a minute. I applied it over a basecoat and two coats of polish. My nails are extremely glossy and smooth. Seche covered up any imperfections that I had in my nail polish prior to the top coat. I'm in love so far. It was definitely worth the money to me. I've heard it dries up in the bottle very fast, but they sell a seche thinner that I will purchase if that happens.

UPDATE!
I'm noticing that my nails chip badly within a couple of days. Definitely not protective, but I'm not noticing a decrease in shine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Seche Vite products

More Top/Base Coats products