MAC Brush Cleanser

4.4

524 reviews

87% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), SD Alcohol, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Sodium Trideceth Sulfate, Hexylene Glycol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Isopropyl Alcohol, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Triclosan, Red 33, Blue 1.


on 11/2/2012 4:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a great brush cleanser. I mainly use this for spot cleaning my brushes after each use. Just dab a little on tissue and swirl the brush around it. Gets the make up right off. However, I don't use this for weekly deep cleaning (I use Elf brush shampoo or baby shampoo instead) because I would go through a lot if I do!



on 9/15/2012 8:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This is a great brush cleaner! It suds up and you can see the brush getting clean. I like that there is a little pour spout so you don't waste too much product and can get further into deeper brushes. I use this on all of my brushed and it works exceptionally well. Also there is little to no scent.


on 7/30/2012 1:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

The best brush cleanser I have found so far. I use this for spot cleaning every few days. I pour some cleanser on a paper towel and swirl my brushes in it. It gets rid of all the color and smells nice and fresh, and doesn't leave any residue on the bristles.


on 7/5/2012 8:08:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I bought this on a whim because I was running out of Sephoras brush cleanser. I thought this could replace it, but no, it didn't. Sephora's was gentle and moisturizing enough for me to spray it on the brush, wipe of on a rug, and then use on my skin after it dried. Mac's was a bit disappointing in that area, because I noticed that when I used this the same way it dried out the bristles and caused my expensive brushes to shed. Ouch... But for deep cleansing where you wash it off anyway it works beautifully. It removes the dirt and eyeshadow/powder/gel liners without a problem, and leaves my light colored brushes all white and nice again. I don't like how the bottle is designed to pour out so much product - but I guess it's because it really is meant for deep soaks where you use more product, instead of the one from Sephora you just spritz on.


I would buy it agan since it works so well, but it is a bit expensive since I use so much at a time, so if I find a cheaper alternative that works just as well (or better) I would most likely replace it.


on 7/1/2012 11:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I previously used the Clinique brush cleanser and bought the MAC one because it is cheaper and there is more in the bottle.

I took out the Clinique pump spray and used it in the MAC one. but had to cut it down a bit as the Clinique bottle is taller.

like many reviews mention on here, the MAC cleanser is more for quick and frequent cleaning as opposed to a more deep and less frequent clean, which is my downside. because I clean my brushes every week or every other week. so quite a lot of product builds up.

I need less of the MAC cleanser than the Clinique to remove more product from brushes. but still the MAC cleanser doesn't get the brushes 100% makeup free. it doesn't do a deep enough clean. I have to clean my brushes, let them dry then clean them again to get last dregs of makeup out.

this also made my brushes softer, which isn't always what you want. for example firm, stiff brushes like goat hair and kabuki bronzing brushes.

so can anyone recommend a good deep cleaning brush cleanser?

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I love this cleaner, especially for spot cleansing. Trouble is the bottle sucks, so I got myself a travel sized spray bottle and transferred it into there. This way I can spray directly onto the brush or onto tissue without wasting so much product - this is too expensive to waste! When using this I find that my brushes dry faster too, which is good for me as I wash my brushes just about after every use!


on 6/17/2012 11:28:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

i like this for spot cleaning, mostly, because when i deep clean with it i have to use a lot or product, thus wasting it, also it just doesnt deep clean very well, afterwards it just doesn't feel as clean as it should. it makes my brushes smell pretty good tho, ill give it that

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/28/2012 9:59:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I like this brush cleaner for lightly cleaning my brushes after I use them but it is definately not a deep cleanser. I dont like how it is not a spray bottle but it doesnt bother me that much. It runs out quickly and its expensive because I go through it so much. Overall I like it and would recomend it.


on 5/17/2012 12:34:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've been through at least 30 bottles of these over the past few years BUT the price really HURT my wallet!! SO i decided to find a cheaper alternative=99% alcohol.
which works just as good BUT is a bit harsh when dipped.. you can only spritz it.

this is gentle yet VERY effective. removed weeks of foundation and powder in a 10 second dip.

overall GREAT PRODUCT but costly overtime..
what i did was mix this with water so I would conserve the product.


on 5/10/2012 12:14:00 PM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Kinky, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

this cleanser did not perform well for me. i transfer some brush cleanser into a spray bottle to quickly clean my eyeliner brush and other brushes with ease. i formerly used the japonesque brush cleanser but bought this one since i use so many mac eye products. it just didn't do a good job plain and simple. i can't even waste time using the bottle up. i'm going to see if my mother likes it, if not, i'm dumping it. i've already refilled my bottle with my trusty japonesque brush cleanser and i won't go astray on this one again. too bad this one didn't work well at all.


Popular Misc Beauty Tools


Derma Roller
Derma Roller
72 Reviews
Mia
Mia
1048 Reviews
the sponge
the sponge
679 Reviews
Foreo - Luna
Foreo - Luna
37 Reviews

Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 8 by fionaman

Product Wars - Episode 19 by fionaman

Part 1: Sanitary Practice & When to Discard by EnKoreMakeup

Cleaning Brushes Basics by EnKoreMakeup



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top