MAC Tarnish Eye Kohl

4.5

92 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.3

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/2/2006 3:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I absolutely love this color. It's a really gorgeous shade...a deep, blackened green that has tiny hints of shimmer or glitter in it. Walks a fine line between darkest green and black. MAC calls it "twinkled black forest green". Sound pretty? It really is. I give the color a 5.

However, the problem I have with Tarnish, and why I've given it such a low rating, is because of my love hate relationship with it. Love the color, but hate the fact that it smears horribly.

The first time I purchased Tarnish I was so excited. I just had to have it after I saw it. Got it home and started playing around with the new things I'd bought, and imagine my horror when it smeared like crazy! I couldn't make it through a day wearing Tarnish, because it just does not last. It would end up all over the place. Finally, I exchanged it for some MAC eyeshadows.

Well, I had forgotten all about it for a while until I saw Tarnish again at my local MAC counter. I guess it had been so long that I'd forgotten why things didn't work out with it in the first place, because I bought myself another. Again, I took it home and tried wearing it out, to the same results. The problem is definitely in the eye pencil. I'm sorry to say it, because I really love the color, but I won't be buying it again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 6/1/2006 5:18:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I like this kohl, but I don't love it. I was hoping that it would be a bit more green, it seriously just looks like a soft black on me, unless you look at it up close. This is my first higher-end eyeliner, and I have decided that d/s kohls are just as good. I say skip these and go for Rimmel's kohls!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Black

I got this in a swap and I am in LOVE with it! This is a blackened forest green with slight green shimmer--I'm a sucker for greens and this is the perfect, perfect eyeliner for me. Not too bright, not so dark it looks black. Just right! Lasts forever, too, if I use MAC paint as a base.


on 2/4/2006 9:26:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this in a swap, and it is a great soft eyeliner pencil. Very deep green that is pretty. I have just started using powder eyeliner with a brush and find it is a more subtle way to line the eye, so i am finding i am not using pencils as much as i used to - but for a drop dead gorgeous, darkly lined eye, this is a must have. Night time only for me. it is pretty intense.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This was my first MAC eye kohl. I used it religiously since I did not own any black eyeliner at the moment. Tarnish was awesome. A really dark green with a teeny bit of glitter. When you apply it as a thin line, it shows up black. The more you pile on (or the thicker the line), the more the green shows up. The only thing that sucked was that it smeared easily. I always had to use my studio fix powder as a base and even then, the color would smear into the crease of my eyes after a few hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/19/2005 7:19:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Though i thought the green in tarnish would be obvious, i was wrong. This is a very blackened green almost black. I do love this and have no regrets getting this one. I love green eyeliners!


on 9/30/2005 12:54:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Tarnish is a beautiful blackened-green, not so dark that you can't notice it is greenish, but very dark and dramatic, and gives great definition to my almond-asian dark brown eyes. I usually only line upper lids, and the staying power is fine, no complaints really :) I like to use this and pat a lighter more shimmery green eyeshadow on top of it to soften the line and make the line more colorful :) I love it and would most definately repurchase if need be :)


on 8/28/2005 1:31:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I'm going to have to be a party pooper on this popular product and say that I was not pleased with it despite giving it many chances. I think the problem is that I was hoping it would be more greenish, kind of like the colored band at the top of the pencil. But on me at least, it just looks like some sort of version of black, not the dark green I was hoping for. I may as well just use a black pencil. Also, the kohls are not ideal for me, at least not for the lower lashline--I end up with smears within 45 minutes. Oh well, you win some, you lose some. NC30, brown hair , brown eyes.


on 8/27/2005 2:25:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My very first MAC eyeliner and my favorite= Tarnish. MAC says it's a "twinkled black forest green"--basically really dark green with shimmer. So pretty, I love it. It applies well, smudges and looks great. This and black mascara are enough!




on 7/30/2005 5:22:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Very unique dark green, almost black color. It looks great on my hazel eyes. Staying power is excellent. I just love it! Definitely my most-used liner.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top