MAC • Tarnish Eye Kohl • Eyeliner

rated 4.5(91 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.89%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 glitterbomb on 6/1/2006 5:18:00 PM more reviews by glitterbomb

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I like this kohl, but I don't love it. I was hoping that it would be a bit more green, it seriously just looks like a soft black on me, unless you look at it up close. This is my first higher-end eyeliner, and I have decided that d/s kohls are just as good. I say skip these and go for Rimmel's kohls!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LadyAmaryllis on 3/16/2006 2:29:00 AM more reviews by LadyAmaryllis

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

I got this in a swap and I am in LOVE with it! This is a blackened forest green with slight green shimmer--I'm a sucker for greens and this is the perfect, perfect eyeliner for me. Not too bright, not so dark it looks black. Just right! Lasts forever, too, if I use MAC paint as a base.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* isitfriday on 2/4/2006 9:26:00 PM more reviews by isitfriday

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this in a swap, and it is a great soft eyeliner pencil. Very deep green that is pretty. I have just started using powder eyeliner with a brush and find it is a more subtle way to line the eye, so i am finding i am not using pencils as much as i used to - but for a drop dead gorgeous, darkly lined eye, this is a must have. Night time only for me. it is pretty intense.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 triplecrownqueen on 1/7/2006 5:13:00 PM more reviews by triplecrownqueen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This was my first MAC eye kohl. I used it religiously since I did not own any black eyeliner at the moment. Tarnish was awesome. A really dark green with a teeny bit of glitter. When you apply it as a thin line, it shows up black. The more you pile on (or the thicker the line), the more the green shows up. The only thing that sucked was that it smeared easily. I always had to use my studio fix powder as a base and even then, the color would smear into the crease of my eyes after a few hours.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haseena on 11/19/2005 7:19:00 AM more reviews by haseena

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Though i thought the green in tarnish would be obvious, i was wrong. This is a very blackened green almost black. I do love this and have no regrets getting this one. I love green eyeliners!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dreamer81 on 9/30/2005 12:54:00 AM more reviews by dreamer81

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Tarnish is a beautiful blackened-green, not so dark that you can't notice it is greenish, but very dark and dramatic, and gives great definition to my almond-asian dark brown eyes. I usually only line upper lids, and the staying power is fine, no complaints really :) I like to use this and pat a lighter more shimmery green eyeshadow on top of it to soften the line and make the line more colorful :) I love it and would most definately repurchase if need be :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Nursie on 8/28/2005 1:31:00 AM more reviews by Nursie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm going to have to be a party pooper on this popular product and say that I was not pleased with it despite giving it many chances. I think the problem is that I was hoping it would be more greenish, kind of like the colored band at the top of the pencil. But on me at least, it just looks like some sort of version of black, not the dark green I was hoping for. I may as well just use a black pencil. Also, the kohls are not ideal for me, at least not for the lower lashline--I end up with smears within 45 minutes. Oh well, you win some, you lose some. NC30, brown hair , brown eyes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* TeeCube on 8/27/2005 2:25:00 PM more reviews by TeeCube

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

My very first MAC eyeliner and my favorite= Tarnish. MAC says it's a "twinkled black forest green"--basically really dark green with shimmer. So pretty, I love it. It applies well, smudges and looks great. This and black mascara are enough!



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lisaf6501 on 7/30/2005 5:22:00 PM more reviews by lisaf6501

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

Very unique dark green, almost black color. It looks great on my hazel eyes. Staying power is excellent. I just love it! Definitely my most-used liner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jiney17 on 7/21/2005 12:05:00 PM more reviews by jiney17

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

"Tarnish" is actually a pretty descriptive name--looks just like the tarnish you find on antique spoons, etc. This is a really, really, really deep, blackened forest green. So dark and deep that it looks black upon initial inspection. But, the color reads as "not quite black" on my PPP-MMM golden skin and really emphasizes my dark brown eyes (right now I'm wearing it with a pale, shimmery champagne-gold e/s as a wash--so nice). Makes a great smoky eye (and the color is more apparent when this is blended out) or an Egyptian-style/cat eye. Actually, I think those are your only options with this pencil since it is sooo soft and creamy. You can literally smush the tip with your finger (though it is rather hot and humid here) so if you want a more precise line, I'd try putting this in the fridge or freezer for a little bit. Even then, your painfully-wrought fine line will probably get all smudgy anyway. This is a richly pigmented kohl--you only need to gently press for a good color pay-off. Expensive at around 14 USD but not as bad as some brands and the quality is good. Would def. purchase when I run out.



ETA: Upped the rating to a 5. This looks even better now that I'm losing my tan--makes my dark eyes look warmer and browner and my skin seem creamier. I can also see more of the deep, gun-metal/smoky black-green now that I'm paler. It's still very creamy and hard to apply accurately but I solved that issue by smudging it on at my lashline and using a liner brush to smudge it and make it look nicer. Gorgeous!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyeliner products