Lancome Hypnose Waterproof


177 reviews

57% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$$


on 1/22/2011 6:18:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I use Hypnose Onyx Black normally and really love that stuff, but since I'm outside a lot at work, I wanted a waterproof mascara with the same result my Onyx delivers.

Like the regular Hypnose and Onyx, you have to be a bit careful the first few days so you don't have too much mascara on the brush, however, I'm very impressed with the results. Long beautiful dramatic lashes that even survive heavy rain without any damage - no panda-eyes at all! I see no difference with the regular Hypnose or Onyx - beautiful curl, great pigment, and it gives a nice amount of volume and length to me.

However, I always use Cils Booster XL with all 3 of them and follow a strict regimen of using Rapid Lash every night (yeah, I'm a lash-maniac).

Removal is pretty easy with an oil-based eye-make-up remover. You don't need to rub at all, just press a cotton-pad with remover on the lashes gently for a minute to dissolve the mascara and than gently rub it off.

on 12/10/2010 1:34:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My Lashes: thin, long.
Buy again? Yes, but only if I can't find a better waterproof mascara.

Application works good (after some time) if you are loose on your hand but use rapid strokes without a lot of pressure.
Stays put, in shower too.

Smudges on eyelids during application (have to dip eye make-up remover to remove - messes up the rest of the make-up).
Spiderleg-lash warning.
A lot of rubbing to get it off during removal.

+ Curl holds really well (all day).
+ No flaking
+ Gives a fair amount of volume and lenght but not that fake lash length effect (for this try Collistar's Infinite Mascara - not wp though).

on 11/17/2010 10:58:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I normally use waterproof mascara. High end, low end, it doesn't matter as long as it's easy on. Since I tried regular Hypnose and loved it I thought this would work just as well. It's totally waterproof but doesn't go on as nice. It makes my lashes stick together. I don't want to "work" my mascara on. I just want to brush on and go. To it's benefit it wasn't clumpy and it doesn't smear. I think it needs a better brush. The formula is kind of thick and the brush doesn't smooth it out very well. I got good results with Maybelline Falsies WP and will probably go back to that.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I loved this product when I bought it originally. I used a different mascara prior to purchasing this one, which I LOVED, but sadly was too expensive.

This mascara is great, if you don't mind it drying out on you within a couple of weeks. I think that's the only reason that I wouldn't buy it again. For the amount of money it costs, I'm better off sticking with the one I know and love (despite the money). I would probably end up saving money by continuing to use my old mascara instead of repurchasing this mascara every month due to dry out.

on 10/13/2010 4:01:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Used to use Eternicils & loved it so much, but haven't ventured too much with other Lancome mascaras. I like that the tube "catches" a bit to make sure it's closed. When I first bought this I loved how it darkened & thickened my lashes, and dried quickly so the weight of it didn't uncurl my lashes, but it's only a month old & is dry & goopy now when applied. For the price, and the Lancome reputation, it should last longer than that IMO. Would not repurchase.

on 9/23/2010 3:21:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I have a very long lashes but no volume. thats why i dont think it suitable for me to use this mascarra, it acually very long lasting, quick dry n make ur lashes even longer, unfortunately not very good in volumizing ur lashes.

on 9/1/2010 10:54:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product does nothing for your eyelashes. It was orite at first, it added some colour and volume, a couple of weeks later and the mascara had dried so much and has become even stickier. The brush is pretty rubbish too, it does not grab every lash.

Overall for the big price tag on this product, it does not deliever at all.

Use this money to purchase something better.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Green

I really love this mascara. It truly is waterproof- no raccoon eyes after bikram yoga, swimming, long runs/sweatfests, hook ups or showers. That's really all I could ask for in a waterproof mascara. A bonus is that you get fat, sexy lashes with this product and the large wand makes it easy to apply quickly.

on 7/21/2010 9:10:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Olive, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this mascara and like others have already mentioned, it truly works!! I usually wear this one when I'm working out, clubbing or at work. It stays on, and it doesn't irritate my eyes (I wear contacts). I definitely recommend it, it's worth every penny!!

on 7/8/2010 6:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Okay, I love this mascara. I love the length and volume it gives plus it is really waterproof -- I've tested it the last few weeks at the gym and for other heavy sweat inducing activities with success. I don't find that it clumps any more than any other mascara I have used. I also like that it dries quickly without smudging. Occasionally, I have to comb out my left eyelashes since I am right handed and therefore I apply with the wand backwards. I think the tube is a bit bulky but I can deal since I like the formula so much. A winner in my book.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Top Rated Lancome Products


Foundation Brush

150 reviews

Rouge in Love

50 reviews
Back to Top