Jean Paul Gaultier • Classique EDP • Fragrances

rated 3.9(84 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.65%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 jmazarov on 10/14/2008 8:49:00 PM more reviews by jmazarov

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Believe it or not, this fragrance used to make me sooooo nausciouse when i was younger when my mom would actually douse herself in this!! ofcourse having to pass it by in the department store i decided to give it a whiff since i know ive matured fragrance-wise since then and i sprayed very lightly because this is extremely heady and flowery and not the type of fragrances i wear but i actually liked it alot...exvcept i like it on others alot more because when my friend sprayed it onherself it smelled alot better on her then on me so i guess it has to work with skin chemestry and unfortunatly doesn't quite cut it with mine, and it's too bad because it's such a gorgeous scent with great lasting power...by the way i tried the sheer one for summer but didnt like that one, Classique reccomended to all!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ceciliathegreat on 6/19/2008 7:16:00 PM more reviews by ceciliathegreat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

one of my new found favourites!!!

I got bored with Coco Mlle and I remembered that I've always loved the bottles of JPG ever since I laid eyes on them since I was in my early teens... so voila! I went out to try it to see if I liked the smell and I love it! It's quite similar to Chanel's Coco Mlle, not the initial whiff, but I guess they're called mid-notes or hind-notes? lol Anyway, I think the "base" of both perfumes are the same cuz they both have lots of orange and bergamot in them.
The bottle of course is beautiful, but I kinda like the EDT's etched bottle more than this EDP's "lacy" corset. I also got a small purse spray (7.5ml) with the main EDP bottle (50ml), together the package was 98$CAD.

I also tried the EDT--> kinda light and airy, not as nice as the EDP
Summer 2007 LE--> also light and airy, didn't attract me

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* slok87 on 5/31/2008 4:15:00 PM more reviews by slok87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Oh how I wish Jean Paul Gaultier and friends would put a fragrance I can wear in one of his sexy lady bottles. I love this bottle. I have a little glass bottle that looks almost like it that I got from the dollar store because, despite trying to trick myself into like how this or the edt smells, I cannot do it. I prefer the edp much, much more than the edt, but I find it problematic in that it is a lovely scent plagued by baby powder. Soft and sweet and lovely, this reminds me of root beer and then dries down into even softer root beer, finally quieting into a creamy, slighty sugared rum. Oh it would be so good if it weren't also peppered with baby powder the whole time. Actually, the only similarity I find between the edp and the edt is this powdery quality.


notes: Rum Essence, Rose Essence, Vanilla Orchid, Daffodil, Bourbon Vanilla, Sweet Amber, Sandalwood Absolute, Tonka Bean, Amber.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Farmona on 5/18/2008 5:58:00 AM more reviews by Farmona

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Amaaaaaaazing...! Very enjoyable fragrance with a lot of nuances. Sexy, sweet, feminine. Staying power is just incredible! Powdery a little but in a nice way. I can smell rose, rum, vanillla and musk and moreover - some ingredients I can't figure out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LittleGnome on 5/16/2008 3:28:00 PM more reviews by LittleGnome

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This review is for the EDP, which is richer and smoother than the EDT, in my experience. I also have the body cream of this, which is in line with the EDP. Gaultier wanted this to smell of a woman's dressing room, her perfume, flowers, powder, nail varnish, lingerie, maybe a cordial or cognac glass there, too. The fragrance itself is an ambery-vanilla floriental with distinctive notes of orange blossom in the top and rose in the heart. It has powdery, boozy, makeup-like notes as well but it's hard to say which note causes what - my personal take is that the indian ginger may smell a bit like nail varnish and the iris may provide the powder notes. It smells like what is supposed to - a sexy woman's dressing table and maybe some shell-pink, expensive lingerie. Here are the notes: "Bulgarian rose, Tunisian orange blossom, Chinese star anise, Italian tangerine; Orchid, Indian ginger, Florentine iris, ylang-ylang, rose; Reunion Island vanilla, amber, musk."

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snarkyharper on 4/19/2008 8:34:00 AM more reviews by snarkyharper

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Classique, indeed! This is beautiful, sweet and warm and sexy. This is one that gives me trouble in picking out individual notes, as it is so well blended and linear. Like Coco, it seems to have a scent all it's own and does not really invite comparisons. However, I have noticed just recently that the newer Narciso Rodriguez for Her has a somewhat similar sweetness in the drydown.


It remains relevant and wearable after all this time, and is still unique enough for me to always keep a bottle.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Katharine40 on 3/27/2008 4:16:00 PM more reviews by Katharine40

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

After reading reviews about how the GDP smelled "dirty" (as in sexy) and said "Do me," I was definitely intrigued! When I saw a sample bottle at Ulta, I had to try it. Much as I wanted to like this one, I just can't. All I smell is gingerbread, powder and some kind of very sweet floral that make me wrinkle my nose whenever I take a whiff. It's a shame, because it does have decent staying power.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 ellebasi on 3/7/2008 3:01:00 PM more reviews by ellebasi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

This one really made me sick! I applied it in the morning, thinking 'not to bad, a sweet feminin fragrance', but after a couple of hours it gave me a headache and I felt sick of the smell. Much too heavy for me, couldn't wait to come home and changed clothes immediately. I'm glad that nobody I know wears it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 girlmixalot on 1/26/2008 9:28:00 AM more reviews by girlmixalot

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I love the rum notes, the rose notes not so much, but unfortunetaly this turns sour on me after about 4 hours of wearing it. Good lasting power, but interestingly the Eau de Toilette beats the EdP in this department.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theseagrows on 1/3/2008 6:53:00 PM more reviews by theseagrows

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

the EDT was one of my signature scents in college. now i wear it once in a great while, but i still like it quite a bit. a little goes a long way, it's very strong at first, i like it better when it settles down and the spices come out and the florals tone down some. i tried the EDP and it was more subtle on my skin, which i liked better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Jean Paul Gaultier products

More Fragrances products